Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars25
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2011
Firstly I have to say how fast the TV was delivered. in two days flat!! Amazing service. For FREE !!!!

Nervous about switching from my LCD to Plasma after reading reviews about plasma
tv's being tricky to manage it was with a degree of faith i placed the order for
an LG 50" PV350T, but the price just seemed too good to miss.

a) arrived ultra quick, in perfect condition
b) contrary to what id seen on the net, it was easy and quick to install using the
basic factory functions. I will use the expert mode later when im ready.
c) connected to my Sky + HD switched on and away we went.
d) stunning HD clarity for this price and fully enjoyed the 3 hours of speedway
in HD
e) watched a few channels in SD and it was still good though you really need HD to
get the real beauty of this tv. cinema - sports - normal pre sets
f) haven't watched my Blu Ray on it yet so im eager to see how it goes, but from
what ive already seen its going to be Great !
g) im not going to use any game consoles on the tv so i don't expect to get any
'burn out' but my little one has watched plenty of nick jr and the alike
which all use the logos in corner and some letter boxing, but absolutely no
ghosting whatsoever.
h) the sound is far better than my LCD tv plenty good for basic tv watching ample
volume & clarity. I use a theatre system for audio on films which works well.
there is only fibre optic audio connection for theatre systems, mine is a bit
older and uses RCA connections which this plasma tv does not have outputs for
that was the only disappointment, I have had to buy a multi box instead to go
thru : sky - blu ray to TV. very minor niggle though. the tv does have RCA
INPUT for audio - game consoles. but NO RCA OUTPUT.
i) 2 HDMI inputs, one on the back one on the side ? why they are not both on the
back or both on the side is a mystery. 2 Scart Inputs, HD games console
inputs,
video L-R Audio Inputs, ethernet & USB plus various Computer connections.
j) colour tuning from the menu function is a bit too fussy and should be easier
to navigate to using the remote. Navigation on the remote could have been
slightly more user friendly. Minor niggle
k) All in all my first few days impressions are that this is a fantastic deal
in the current climate its worth grabbing one of these now, it IS a 2011 Model
so its not a unit they have just stopped making or about to discontinue.
Full HD & 50". under £600... Bargain
33 comments|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
A great full featured plasma tv with an awesome picture from bluray or freeview HD which only requires an ariel input. Only 2 HDMI inputs and although it has a LAN input it doesn't have iplayer or the like. The next model up has this for £20 more @ £599 with 4 HDMI inputs.

A super slim frame makes this a less dramatic jump from say a 32" which is what I used to use.

The only thing to watch is Plasma screen burn in the first few months of use- try to avoid any static images (ie games or logos in screen corners) and turn brightness down for first few months.

Conclusions

A steal for such an amazing package
44 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
Very nice big TV at a very reasonable price, especially as I didn't want to pay for 3D facilities which I did not need. The HD tuner is really excellent, and the sound quality seems very satisfactory for built-in speakers. This is a set without any unnecessary bells and whistles - just two HDMIs (I use one for my Humax PVR and one for my Sony Blu-ray). The TV also has an internet connection which I haven't used, as my Blu-ray already has this, but it seems to offer all the usual facilities. I found the LG menu system slick and easy to use. You do need to tweak the settings to get the very best picture, and make sure to de-select the "green energy-saving" mode. Only one negative point - this is a very shiny plasma screen, and needs careful positioning in the room to reduce daytime reflections which can be very distracting from the TV image. Re. instructions - use LG's excellent electronic handbook which comes on disc, rather than the weedy printed leaflet. Having come from a 40-inch LCD, to this, I think that a 50-inch screen is definitely the way to go. Night-time viewing of high-def broadcasts or blu-ray is a bit like having your cinema.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
Great TV! For this price it is a STEAL!!! (seen these for £700 on some other sites)

Out of the box and up and running in no time, Really easy to setup and menu's are very easy to use!
Ran Sky HD, PS3 and Bluray's and the Picture is awesome! I would recommend usuing Vivid setting for Bluray's and revert back to standard for normal TV Sky etc! (The TV stores settings in memory so when you switch from hdmi 1 and 2 ie Sky box to PS3 it stores the setting you use for each input so no need to keep faffing when switching from Vivid to Standard Mode).

The TV also look's great in my sitting room, Always the talking point when a friend or relative comes around.

The only negative's I can think of is that it is very Glossy! The screen is very reflective and needs to be ideally positioned facing away from a window!

Also had to wedge 2 strips of cardboard under the rear of the stand as the TV leans back slightly (this is just because of the sheer size and weight of the screen)

Very Very Happy and I never want to leave my house! Love it! :-)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
We ordered this TV to replace a 6 year old previous LG. After trying the new 3D range, we were not sold, so we went for this TV, which was a much larger size and about half the price.

It's a stunning TV and the quality is outstanding, I would recommend this TV to any prospective buyers!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
I was a bit sceptical at first with plasma technology , but going into currys , i noticed plasma screens offer far better viewing angles and very little (if any) motion blur compared to its LED / LCD counterparts.

So when i read the reviews , this seemed like a good bet , and in fact , it was.

positives....

Brilliant screen , colour , contrast , and incredible performance when watching a blue ray movie and at the fraction of the price of a similar sized LED based screen.

Connect a usb HD and you can play MKV files , again excellent , although MKV files with 5.1 dts will not play sound.

I bought a sony blue ray BDP S480 from amazon for £99 and this player can play all the MKV files even with 5.1 DTS and that too is amazing - so i am not too bothered the TV does not play 5.1 from a USB directly connected.

I connected a cheap indoor aerial (£3) and now I have BBC/ITV and a couple more channels in stunning HD! and I mean it , BBC HD football is amazing , trust me , its like from black and white to colour - Simple to set up too.

SD movies are great too , but virgin media sd - using scart is quite poor - but i do not need that anyway.

Overall - highly recommend - Bargain at this price for blue-ray and hi-def MKV files and freeview HD.

Sound is good too ,

negatives...

only drawback to this TV is that the stand is too light for the TV and will lean forward without extra support , so either needs to be fixed to a wall or pedestal style stand.

its 50 inchs and quite heavy - about 28 kg so very awkward taking upstairs.

Its Plasma technology so need to be a bit careful with images that stay on screen for long periods so that screen does not burn in the image.Nowadays , this is no more an issue as most channels have a semi-transparent logo.If like me you only watch blue ray or MKV files then this is not even an issue.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
Decided to take the plunge and upgrade our TV to HD.
The LG replaces a Panasonic Quintrix DDM 100Hz with what we regarded as a perfect picture until we unpacked the LG.
This LG plasma TV is easy to set up and has a fantastic picture.
I have no hesitation in recommending this TV and as always great service from Amazon.co.uk
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
An excellent screen at an excellent price

This was my first LG product so I was unsure of the quality. I have owned the TV for about a year now and I am very happy.

It offers a real home cinema experience and the navigation and controls are very intuitive. The quality of picture is good for sport, movies and games including dark sreens and fast moving sequences.

There are lots of plugs to add games, sound and satellite TV inputs

We are now buying a second TV for the house and will pick LG again

Recommended
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
This is a fantastic television for a great price, yes you have to fiddle with the picture settings to get the desired picture you want, but that is not a hardship. Other than that minor gripe i have nothing but praise for this television.

I also have to say the service from amazon was fantastic, i ordered it just before six on a thursday night and got it on the saturday morning before ten. That was with the free super save delivery, so i can not praise amazon enough.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
There's Plasma, there's LCD and there's LED all fighting for your money but despite all the recent technology advances in the latter, the facts remain the same. Plasma still offers the wider range of colours and most accurate picture representation. LED's produce a bluey-white and LCD's just don't deliver a picture as easy on the eye as Plasma.

The LG50V350T is currently only £495 for a 50 inch monster, that's a ridiculously low price for a TV that should be around £700 at least with all the features it processes. This is the PDP type Plasma, thinner with a "Razor edge" bezel around the frame unlike the more power consuming and heavier versions of the past. This also has a longer screen life than its predecessors and better quality glass on the front, a necessity if you have young kids! The base allows for a useful swivel left and right and a wall mounting option is evident at the rear with four screws in a universally standard position.

Very simple to assemble out of the box, took me no longer than 15 minutes but I did used to sell and assemble these things for a living so it may or may not take the average person 5 or 10 minutes longer. The remote is large and easy on the had with all the usual suspects and a very good "info" button that tells you everything about the channel and program you are watching down to its broadcast resolution and selectable hard of hearing options. There is also a built-in signal booster or amplifier for the channel reception and tuning in the tv to Freeview is easy as pie. The Freeview HD are the real jewel in the bunch, they show you what your TV is capable of, especially the two BBC HD channels as they show purely full HD content at 1080i unlike the Channel 4 and ITV HD channels that show a mix of upscaled, 720p and 1080i features. There are only four HD channels on Freeview compared to the 90 other standard definition channels on offer but they are worth it especially when you see the football in high def running smooth as silk in judder-free 600hz.

Word of advice, once in the display menu, turn of the intelligent sensor and APS settings if you really want to get the best out of your picture. This feature is nice for saving energy but it leave the picture very dim. There is also an advance setting menu below the standard settings for colour, brightness etc that allows for even intricate picture adjustments for the optimum display!

Sound on this TV is very good, not great. It will easily please those who can live happily with variations of basic stereo sound but not the more demanding sound connoisseurs out there. It has ample settings and levels to deliver pleasures for the ear.

Menus on all LG TV's are the simplest to follow, very large menus with nice easy to read fonts and simple navigation. The media playback on this TV is excellent, the USB port on the side of the set will play back all your music, pictures and virtually every video format out there including MKV's, AVI's, MPEGS and even Apple's stubborn MOV format.

The only real let own with this TV is the HDMI connections, these are the ones you need to connect high definition devices to in order to get the best picture quality. YOU CAN NOT GET TRUE HIGH DEFINITION THROUGH ANY OTHER CONNECTION! Unfortunately LG has skimped on the HDMI and placed only two on the set, one in the rear and one on the side which is not a great place for an HDMI but it is set much further in from the side panel so as to hide the would be offending drooping lead at least. 3 HDMI's would have been a smarter option, that said all the other connections are perfectly situated with an RGB socket for a computer to turn the TV into a very large PC monitor which can also display at 1920 x 1080 resolution unlike the majority of TV out there that only manage 1360 x 768 even if the set is capable of full HD in TV an external modes! My solution to the HDMI problem was to buy a splitter that cost only £5 on Amazon, this allowed me to connect my WDTV streamer, My X-BOX 360 and my Blu Ray player with no hassle. Proxima 3 Port HDMI AUTO Switch Hub 3x1 Mini HDMI Splitter / Switcher Hub (3 input 1 output) v1.3b for HDTV/Sky HD/Blue Ray/PS3/Xbox 360/Virgin, 1080P Full HD supported -- Promotion Price

This TV also comes with a lint free cloth to clean the screen, I will advise to get proper screen cleaning solution that will not build up scratches over a period of time like normal household cleaners.

And that's it, I simply can't believe what a bargain this is at the price, a real quality Plasma TV for under £500 pounds, get it before it goes back up!
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)