Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is one of the best books I have ever read
This is one of the best books I have ever read. The story is brilliant and even believable. The characters are interesting and in depth and parts of the story fit into fantasy as well as sci-fi.

I can't really say any more without ruining the story or the ending but this book is great and would easily match star wars or lord of the rings if it was ever...
Published 19 months ago by chris

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth your time.
In the future, humanity destroys the Earth with their constant wars and by ravaging the land without giving anything back. Earth's end is in site. The European Space Organization (ESO) secretly builds a vast colony ship (named the Lovelock), trains key personnel to crew it, and readies over four thousand coldsleep pods for the humans chosen to begin life anew on another...
Published on 31 May 2007 by Detra Fitch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth your time., 31 May 2007
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Helix (Mass Market Paperback)
In the future, humanity destroys the Earth with their constant wars and by ravaging the land without giving anything back. Earth's end is in site. The European Space Organization (ESO) secretly builds a vast colony ship (named the Lovelock), trains key personnel to crew it, and readies over four thousand coldsleep pods for the humans chosen to begin life anew on another world. Terrorists object to anyone leaving Earth, thus ESO must keep everything as secret as possible. With only minor interference, the Lovelock launches, taking with it the only real hope the human race has for survival.

Five hundred light-years later (one thousand years standard Earth time), Lovelock is torn apart by a series of explosions. A skeleton crew is awakened from coldsleep and they must scramble to save the frozen colonists by crash landing on the nearest possible location: a polar section of a Helix - a vast, spiral construct of worlds, wound about a G-type sun. While most of the colonists remain in coldsleep, the four surviving crew members of the Lovelock proceed up-spiral in search of a habitable section. They will encounter extraordinary and vast landscapes, alien races, and begin unraveling the mystery of who created the helix.

Meanwhile, elsewhere on another tier of the helix, a race resembling lemurs has been under the control of the Church for millennia. The Church is all-powerful and makes all decisions for the people. Ehrin Telsa, owner of Telsa Dirigible Company, mans an expedition of the western plains for usable resources. Of course, the Church sends a representative with them, Elder Cannak. When they come across an alien (not human), the people on the expedition are amazed to learn that the Church already knew of the aliens and their strange technology, even though the Church swears no other race and no other world exists. Elder Cannak and the Church are hiding many secrets. While Ehrin wants to learn, Elder Cannak and the Church begin their well planned genocide of all alien races.

*** This novel begins with Joe Hendry on Earth as he is recruited by ESO. From then on, the book continues to follow (mainly) Joe for the entire story. The sections following the lemur-like race follows (mainly) Ehrin. However, the author does not do a good job of describing what Ehrin's race looks like for the readers until Joe's crew actually meets them, pretty far into the book. This caused me, as the reader, some confusion since I had already made my own mental image of the aliens and am suddenly forced into changing that image.

There was strife between two of the four surviving bridge crewmembers. When all became clear to me, I could not help but believe that the strife sections probably made for a sub-plot in the story during the author's writing, yet so much had to be cut (due to word count from the publisher?) that it ended up weak. All-in-all, this is a decent read. Not the author's best by far, but worth your time and money. ***

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is one of the best books I have ever read, 13 Jan 2013
This review is from: Helix (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have ever read. The story is brilliant and even believable. The characters are interesting and in depth and parts of the story fit into fantasy as well as sci-fi.

I can't really say any more without ruining the story or the ending but this book is great and would easily match star wars or lord of the rings if it was ever (hopefully) made into a film by someone that cared.

My recommendation to anyone that loves sci-fi or fantasy is to read this book, and then read it again as the details are so impressive and subtle you may not notice everything on the 1st read and even if you do this book could be read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable novel, whatever genre it might be considered to belong to, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Helix (Mass Market Paperback)
I don't know all the subgenres and technicalities of science fiction, but I know when I enjoy reading a book, whatever it purports to be, and I enjoyed reading this book. It's a bit like a blend between an armageddon/apocalyptic novel and a sci-fi to me.

The story starts with the imminent demise of Earth as we know it, destroyed by the humans and their industrial wastes etc. Joe Hendry, a disillusioned space engineer, is living a subsistence life on the coast of Australia. His daughter is chosen to take part in a secret mission to take colonists to a new planet to try and start the human race's fight for survival again. Hendry unexpectedly is able to take part in this journey. The set-up is quick in this book, and we are fairly soon into space and heading towards what is hoped to be humankind's salvation, a new planet. But when the ship crashlands, the survivors find something they never expected to find.

Meanwhile, we read of a young dirigible builder and entrepeneur, Ehrin, who is facing battles of his own against the Establishment in the form of a repressive and conservative Church power. Ehrin's dream to find what his father hinted at before his own untimely death leads him into dangerous ground.

The blend of sci-fi and imagination, widely diverse characters and characterisations, landscapes and motivations left me quite happily turning the pages rapidly in this novel; I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I am glad there is scope for further novels; in fact I have purchased Helix Wars on the strength of my enjoyment of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, pacey and absorbing world-building sci-fi., 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Helix (Kindle Edition)
Just tremendous. Some fantastic, world-building sci-fi, a massively intriguing universe literally filled with possibilities, character arcs you really care about and a great adventure story with some very big ideas. I was totally gripped throughout, can't recommend it enough to anyone who likes their sci-fi in the Prometheus vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helix's awe subdued by anthropomorphic aliens, 8 Aug 2012
By 
M-I-K-E 2theD "2theD" (The Big Mango, Thailand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Helix (Mass Market Paperback)
Eric Brown has had two things going for him: (1) he has penned a large and diverse bibliography with earth- and space-based stories, each as enticing as the next and (2) he has continually introduced stories highlighting characterization. These two broad elements of Brown's writing were prevalent in the first three Brown novels I've read: The Fall of Tartarus (2005), Engineman (1994), and Guardians of the Phoenix (2010). The first hiccup came when I read Brown's newest novel, Weird Space: The Devil's Nebula, which mainly failed because I expected a strong story with a strong cast. Undeterred, I was eager to dig into another Brown novel--Helix, at 526 pages, was begging to be read!

Rear cover synopsis:
"Five hundred years from its launch, the colony vessel Lovelock is deep into its sub-lightspeed journey, carrying four thousand humans in search of a habitable planet. When a series of explosions tear the ship apart, it, it [sic] is forced to land on the nearest possible location: a polar section of the Helix--a vast, spiral construct of worlds, would about a G-type sun.

"While most of the colonists remain in coldsleep, the surviving crew members of the Lovelock must proceed upspiral in search of a habitable section. On their expedition they encounter extraordinary landscapes and alien races, meet with conflict and assistance, and attempt to solve the epic mystery that surrounds the origin of the Helix."

------------

In 2095, the Earth was under the corruption of the people she housed, a natural extension the people being so corrupt on the personal level that it was inevitably mirrored in society at large (13). Even at the national level, "eighty percent of other European countries... suffered from civil wars, plagues, societal breakdown" (41) because of the "droughts, rising sea levels and resource wars" (16), dwindling the Earth's population to mere millions. The one hope remaining, secreted against attacks by neo-Luddites, was the construction of a orbiting colony ship. Onboard were to be four thousand cryogenically frozen colonists and a small crew to oversee the piloting an engineering. One of the corpsicles was to be Chrissie and one of the crew was to be her father, Hendry.

While "cruising at just under the speed of light" (79), the main engines blew "a parsec away" (83) from their destination. "Running on auxiliaries" (81) at "thirty percent efficiency" (82), the colony ship is able to make atmospheric entry on the frigid yet inhabitable surface below (improbable???). One thousand years had passed [erroneously stated as five hundred in the book's synopsis] since the ships departure but most of the six-man crew are able to walk from the massive wreckage of their colony ship. Besides Hendry the smartware expert, one African nuclear engineer (Friday Olembe), one Taiwanese pilot (Lisa Xiang), one American pilot (Greg Cartwright), one Inuit cryonics specialist (Sissy Kaluchek) [ha!], and one Italian medic (Carrelli) also make up the crew... but two of them perish soon after landing, one from injuries sustained during the another by the lethal hands of the hostile aliens.

One thousand colonists, including Hendry's daughter, are killed in the tumultuous descent but the four-man crew forge on to find a most hospital region of the tract they've landed on. When they peer into the sky, the wondrous sight of a coiled helix around the sun awes them. Themselves, on the lowest polar region of the Helix, the sight above them is spectacular: "each curving tier is make up of thousand of individual worlds... like beads on a rosary, each world turning... on a horizontal axis" (161) with "landmass in the entire helix to contain over ten thousand planets the size of Earth" (160). [Compare with Niven's Ringworld: a surface area a billion times as the Earth's surface.] Their procession to the next rung is aided by a mysterious elevator system but soon hampered by the same mechanism... this the world home of the city of Agstarn.

Agstarn is ruled by the Church, an institution dedicated to eradicating dissent even when the truth opposes the Church-sanctioned stance, according to its Book of Books. The intellectual veil of the Church is synonymous with the permanent veil of cloud of gray which hangs over their world. Ehrin's father was dissident an a well-known dirigible mogul before "an accident" saw the company transferred to Ehrin. Ehrin approaches the Church with a proposition to explore the mountainous regions by dirigible for ore and for contact. Given that the Church stance is that their world is a platform which "floats in the limitless sea of the Grey" (127), any discovery could be seen as heretic.

Worlds collide when an alien from an adjoining planet contacts the exploration team. Suddenly, their reclusive nature is shattered and unlimited opportunity seems to be at Ehrin's feet. Then the humans from the colony ship are captured, traded, and beat into submission by the church, whose sudden appearance is wrongfully blamed on Ehrin. The three alien races will soon find themselves part of something much bigger than their own species' destiny. Outside of the city of Agstarn and over its seas, the Helix beckons them to "wonder at the vastness of the construct, awe at the fact of its existence, curiosity at the mystery of its provenance" (358).

------------

The alien cast are perhaps more interesting than the human crew of four. Ehrin is the heterodox but his fiancée is the daughter of the Elder of the Church. The friction between the two appears to be playful at first but it soon becomes the crux of their explorative frisson. The humans, on the other hand, bring with them the troubles which besought them on Earth--self-pity and acute distrust. A bubbling love story softens the friction between the four of them, but a back story seems drive a wedge between one of the crew and the rest.

I didn't think that the aliens were too exotic. Ehrin is a member of a bipedal one-meter all weasel-like species, while two of the other species mentioned in the book are also bipedal and exhibit very anthropomorphic actions, attitudes, and inventions. The most irksome quality found in Helix, and in many early science fiction books, is the ease of translation (instantaneous or prolonged). The answer for the ease of translation is ludicrous, as if all languages are based on algorithms and predictability (e.g. look at what a mess the English language is). The further up the Helix the team ascends, the more interesting the aliens become and the closer they come to the truth of the Helix.

The ultimate quest for the truth of the Helix is convoluted. The four-man crew are to find a new world for the frozen colonists to inhabit; instead they are eager to find the answers to the mystery of the Helix, a secret which hampers their duty to the three thousand colonists. They may need help settling the colonists somewhere upspiral, but heading straight into the lair of "the Builders" may not be their best bet. Making due in the polar subregions of the Helix may have to suffice, but the stubborn crew persist on exploration.

Taken as a whole, the book reminded me of two novels: (1) obviously, Larry Niven's Ringworld is another world which has mysterious origins and is inhabited by an untold number of aliens and (2) Louis Trimble's The Wandering Variables (1972) where a xeno-social experiment is being conducted on a planet. One character hypothesizes, "...the tiers were developed expressly for air-breathers, who were then brought here, if they were brought here, perhaps as some kind of experiment" (230). The wonder that the Helix inspires if most welcome to modern science fiction... that sense of wonderment seems to have been lost somewhere along the way in favor of page length, profits, and sequel upon unending sequel.

Funnily enough... though written in 2007, Eric Brown has seen fit to actually MAKE a sequel for Helix, entitled Helix Wars (2012). Where Niven failed in Ringworld was his hesitant attitude in exploring the full depths of the possibilities in Ringworld. Eric Brown did just right in touching on different worlds on the Helix, a mere sample of the thousands of possibilities. When Stephen Baxter says, "This is the rediscovery of wonder," you can only expect big ideas or concepts to bud from Eric Brown. Hopefully, with fingers crossed to the point of breaking, Helix Wars, though dully titled, will be as exciting as Helix but with a wider range of alien variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charmingly simple and old fashioned science fiction., 3 Jan 2012
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Helix (Mass Market Paperback)
Helix is my first Eric Brown novel although I have had Kings of Eternity on my wish list for some time. I really rather enjoyed its nave charm and simple narrative; if I had attempted to write a science fiction novel when I was sixteen after having been immersed, as I was, in the works of the old masters of the genre then this is the type of story I would have produced, albeit without Brown's evident penmanship.

A classic tale of space colonisation and alien contact, it is delightfully full of clichés, implausibly contrived plot developments and borrowed themes (the bigoted hegemony of Agstarn owes more than a passing nod to Lawhead's superb and much re-read `Empyrion'). Don't read this book expecting a multi-threaded or convoluted plot, atmosphere or any `hard sf' techno and you won't be disappointed. I enjoyed it enormously, linear, simple, derivative and un-challenging though it is and I look forward to equally enjoying Kings of Eternity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better as it goes on, 2 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Helix (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this had a slow start. There was only one character you really cared about; the others didn't seem that interesting. But as the story goes on, the interaction between the four main individuals develops very nicely.
The overall story is one of discovery, with a classic bad guy to boot. A bit heavy-handed on the "intolerant religion" bit though.
Having read a number of Eric Brown's novels recently, I thought at one stage this wasn't going to measure up compared to the others. I'm glad to report, having just finished the book, that it definitely does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old Fashioned Fun, 31 May 2008
By 
Richard M. Seel (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Helix (Mass Market Paperback)
The glowing reviews by Stephen Baxter and Peter Hamilton led me to expect modern space opera. Instead, I kept being remined of Stapledon, Rice Burroughs, and even Wells. Despite the occasional sex scene - rare in SF but tastefully done here and integral to the plot development - my overwhelming sense was of a 1930s scientific romance.

This didn't spoil my enjoyment; Helix is a perfectly good read and the notion of the Helix itself, one step up from Ringword, is a nice conceit. But I didn't ejoy it as much as Niven's Ringworld nor did there seem to be the same breadth of imagination.

The use of two narrative voices, from different species, was good though again nowhere near as well developed as in David Brin's brilliant second Uplift trilogy. The characters were reasonably well sketched but I didn't really care what happened to them - not that I ever doubted that it would all be alright in the end.

So, to sum up. Helix is a perfectly adeqaute novel, a good read, but probably not one to keep on youur library shelf and read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 10 Dec 2007
By 
Ben (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Helix (Mass Market Paperback)
*no spoilers in this review*

I picked this up without high expectations, knowing nothing of the author and without reading any reviews. The back cover suggested a human-centered story similar in a way to that of Halo, which didn't inspire me greatly, but I'm glad I made the effort. Any concerns I may have had were quickly gone and the story quickly sucks you in and the balance is much less human centered than the cover suggests. From the outset the story is expertly crafted and features a perfect balance of storytelling from two viewpoints. It's never boring and during the first half in particular there is at times a great sense of adventure and wonder.

Sci-fi can at times be filled with characters with unpronounceable names, pointlessly descriptive terminology, and annoying central characters, but this is not the case here. The writing is very modern and conveys events with admirable skill. If you enjoy the likes of Star Trek and Stargate as I do then I think you will enjoy this. Helix itself would make a very good series.

The anti-church sentiments are reiterated more than required and the last few chapters slightly short, but for the most part all characters are well rounded and you're left wanting to more.

This is a very smooth, enjoyable read and one of my favourite books, I can't wait to pick up more of Eric Brown's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So much wrong but much to like..., 3 July 2007
This review is from: Helix (Mass Market Paperback)
There is so much wrong with Helix but there is also much to like. The central conceit of the story - that there is a huge, helical structure that houses thousands of cylindrical worlds - would lead one to expect a 'hard' SF novel but that isn't the case. The titular helix is a feat of imagination and not one of engineering and Brown clearly has no idea (or concern for) how or why it was built or even why the structure is a helix rather than any other shape. His characters are lazy constructions that rely on silly coincidences to generate personalities. The background stories pad out the tale to no effect. Pages of set up regarding Hendry's daughter all come to nought. The Kaluchek/Olembe dynamic is played out over 500 pages and then negates itself when the basis of their conflict is discovered to be false. These are all faults that could have been resolved with some editorial direction and the excision of a hundred or so pages.

The curious thing is that, even with all these gripes, Helix is enjoyable. It's fast paced, cinematic and wondrous. The reader is carried along at such a rate that faults are smoothed over due to the sheer speed of the narrative. Read as Space Opera (as opposed to Science Fiction) it is entertaining and engrossing.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Helix
Helix by Eric Brown
3.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews