Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tangle Of Nordic Rainbows, 21 Nov 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oh Land (Audio CD)
Oh Land is the nom de guerre of Nanna Oland Fabricious, a singer/songwriter
and producer from Denmark and what a treat her album truly is! There are eleven
tracks in the set and I will admit to having been captivated by each and every one.
Her style might best be described as well-wrought electro-pop and Ms Fabricious
really does understand the meaning of a good tune. The recording is full of them!

Although singing in English she delivers her fayre with a slight Nordic
accent which adds quirky and seductive colour to her vocal performances.
It's a very good voice, mixed well-forward and commanding centre-stage with
easy charm and nimble, unaffected simplicity. A star in the making methinks!

The melodies are strong and memorable; the vocal harmonies crisp, dreamy
and utterly delightful. Jump to 'Lean' for a small dose of heaven! It is a
string-infused composition which allows Ms Fabricious to display the full
extent of her gifts as a singer. She slips and slides up and down the scale
like a nightingale! Her upper register is particularly impressive; clean and
sure and with a lovely warm, ringing tone which sounds entirely natural.
'Wolf & I' (I wasn't there I promise you but appreciate the sentiment!) is
another cracker; the slightly dubby beats supporting a sparkling arrangement
full of shadows and moonbeams! 'Son Of A Gun' has the kind of ridiculously
addictive choruses which lights up the sky and brought a big toothy smile
to my face. So too the incandescently confident 'White Nights', which is
almost too ebullient for its own good. Pop music doesn't get much better!
The curious final confection 'Rainbow', however, made my tail wag as top
track. Against a dangerously almost-discordant percussive backdrop we witness
an artist with a singularly robust musical vision shining like a small sun!

Utterly tantalizing from top to tail. An album which grows in stature with each listen.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior pop princess, 21 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OH LAND-OH LAND (Audio CD)
Pleasantly quirky superior pop from Danish songstress. Should be huge, but in the current GaGa (music is secondary) climate, probably won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh Land (Audio CD)
It's a long time since I've heard such a great album from a FEMALE artist. Normally I do not find many female artists on the music scene (sorry!) that I like and feel like listening to more than twice -mainly because they sing too female! But Oh Land ARE very femail both in vocal and attitude! SO what is it than moves me then...I am still trying to figure that out -while playing the CD over Again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars o land, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OH LAND-OH LAND (Audio CD)
was very happy with this album as i bought it after hearing one of their songs on a tv advert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album., 1 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Paul Richardson (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh Land (Audio CD)
I bought this album for the track 'White Nights' which was used in Littlewoods Christmas TV advert 2012. It is a real 'earworm' track, but I was delighted to discover that the album contains other equally good songs. An unexpected gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars future superstar, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh Land (Audio CD)
WOW. we dont here enough of this fantastic original singer on air. loved that white nights was part of the christmas advert for littlewoods cant wait for her british tour .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh Land (Audio CD)
Chanced on her music on You Tube and like the syle and performance talented and creative, I like what she does to my ears
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super-talented and sophisticated, 17 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh Land (Audio CD)
Quirky, surreal, sexy, colourful, creative, spacey, hypnotic... And that's just the album cover! But in this case the picture on the cover is a perfect taster for what you will find inside. Welcome to the weird and wonderful world of Oh Land.

Oh Land is the stage name for Nanna Oland Fabricius, a Danish electro-popper who now lives in New York. She trained to be a ballerina, but because of a leg injury she had to quit and instead became a singer. With a classy name and personal history like that, and looks like a Norse Goddess of beauty, how could Oh Land fail to sound ultra-cool? Who knows if the ballet world has lost a great talent, but the music world has certainly gained one.

It's hard to know how to describe her music. I've seen comparisons with Little Boots and Lily Allen. But frankly these British singers are distinctly pedestrian in comparison with the super-talented and sophisticated Oh Land.

May be it is because of her unwillingness to lower herself to the lowest common denominator that Oh Land is not better known. When I first chanced across her, I thought it was self-evident that she would soon be a global sensation - the Sound of 2012 and what not. Yet instead there are surprisingly few Amazon reviews, and this album has generated little publicity. Of course, anyone who has heard the album is blown away.

Do yourself a favour by joining this select club. Then spread the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific album, 29 Dec 2012
By 
PAUL KING "eldrinod" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OH LAND-OH LAND (Audio CD)
I bought it second hand, I was surprised it was ex rental though, choc full of stickers. Still a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh land, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Oh Land (Audio CD)
Order arrived within 5 days of placing it! Bought for niece for xmas & would buy similar products again. 10/10 for amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oh Land
Oh Land by Oh Land (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews