Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars43
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A Foreigner compilation? You don't say. By my reckoning this is about the 87th, and there's been another couple of additions since the new version of the band started touring and recording. So why should you buy this one?

Well, there isn't a reason really. I mean. if youdon't already have one, then this is a good one, and it's out at a budget price. It doesn't blank out the Johnny Edwards album as many of the compilations do, and it chucks in a few tracks from the "Classic Hits Live/Best of Live" record that came out in 1993. Again, most compilations don't bother.

There is nothing rare or unreleased, but you are getting all the hits in amongst the 38 tracks on offer, across 2 CDs, and it stops long before the reformation. There are some bog standard liner notes, along with album illustrations (including the comeback album "Can't Slow Down"), but it does fall foul of one of my bugbears, by not noting which track is from which album as they career across the years.

However, Amazon are selling it for £[], and you really won't get more quality for your money, than on this classic melodic rock.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
Pretty decent overview of the classic years but missing some killer tracks like Starrider which is a shocking omission as it's one of there most popular tracks from the first album. Spellbinder and I Need You from the first 2 albums would of been nice, and Night Life from 4 is also a surprising omission. Also no tracks from The Best and Beyond which is a shame as the excellent Soul Doctor should be here. Also very sad that there are no cuts from the underrated Mr Moonlight album on Lou Gramms return, White Lie which was a single and also Until The End Of Time at the very least deserve to be here. past that nice to see some underrated gems like Love Has Taken It's Toll, Inside Information, Out Of The Blue, and also nice to see the Johnny Edwards era represented here by some great tracks including the three most popular, Only Heaven Knows, Lowdown and Dirty and I'll Fight For You, it's a shame that When The Night Comes Down couldn't be replaced by the far superior Safe In My Heart. Overall it's a good overview of there most popular hits, but seek out the original now deleted Juke Box Heroes which includes a lot of these missing tracks
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
I had just seen Foreigner on their tour and although I had gone to support another band, I was so impressed with Foreigner. For that reason I wanted a memento of that night and chose this CD.. I was in no way disappointed as it has all the tracks I loved. Especially "Waiting for a girl like you". I would recommend this to anyone who appreciates what a REAL band is all about.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
Foreigner are one of those bands who most people who like rock are interested in but they don't seem to instill the loyalty or fanaticism of a Sabbath or an AC/DC. That could be explained in part at least by the feeling that they sold out to get the success they enjoyed, particularly around the time of Agent Provocateur. That they didn't release a fresh album for a generation until Can't Slow Down (which was actually rather good) didn't help either. You can't live off of memories forever and there's little doubt that Mick Jones' merry men drifted out of most people's consciousness.

That doesn't mean that the back catalogue should be ignored, however, and this collection proves that Foreigner have cut some stellar tracks. The obvious choices like Cold as Ice and Feels Like the First Time might be obvious but they are there for a reason - they rock. The album tracks (Double Vision, Head Games, Long Long Way) are well represented too. 4 is there with Urgent (possibly the best rock sax solo since Money) and the first of the two classic ballads, Waiting for a Girl Like You. I Want to Know What Love Is is the elephant in the room but it is a well-crafted song even if it does epitomise the aforementioned 'sell-out'.

It is good to see Unusual Heat represented, with some real crackers like Lowdown and Dirty, and Heart Turns to Stone from Inside Information was a real blast from the past. There is a pleasing variety on this compilation that does the job.

The real star is, of course, Juke Box Hero, which has to be one of the greatest rock songs ever written. Thankfully it's here in all its original glory and not the abomination that is the live version (with Zep's Whole Lotta Love - why, Mick, why?). You can't help but reach for the air microphone to try to emulate Gramm's soaring vocals.

There is some filler, like the live songs at the end of disc 1, and that is why there are only 4 stars (although 4.5 would be a better choice). Overall, though, this is a top-notch representation of a band that produced some really good songs. At this price, too, I challenge anyone to get better value from a rock purchase. Buy Can't Slow Down, too - a damn good album in its own right.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
Excellent, and if you can get to see the band live it's a fantastic show.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
i was listening to planet rock on the radio and a foreigner track ,i hadnt in ages, came on. i ordered the cd which is resonably priced and it came in time for christmas(a present for me from me). 2 cd's and 38 tracks later i still have it the car. if you want to hear some classic rock buy this cd. it has tracks you know and some you dont. overall a great buy!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
Could easily have been condensed down to a single CD to really encompass the Very Best of Foreigner - too much padding that only the die hard fans of the band will enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
Brilliant album. Decided to buy this album after seeing them in concert. Never realised how many great songs they have. Very happy with delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Missing the song Woman in Black and Though I Like Foreigner to leave out this track is a crime. Not heard of some of theier songs on here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Great album that takes me back to the 80s. Great days, hair, bikes and birds!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.