Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Foreigner compilation? You don't say.
A Foreigner compilation? You don't say. By my reckoning this is about the 87th, and there's been another couple of additions since the new version of the band started touring and recording. So why should you buy this one?

Well, there isn't a reason really. I mean. if youdon't already have one, then this is a good one, and it's out at a budget price. It...
Published on 9 Aug 2011 by Mr. H

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better
Pretty decent overview of the classic years but missing some killer tracks like Starrider which is a shocking omission as it's one of there most popular tracks from the first album. Spellbinder and I Need You from the first 2 albums would of been nice, and Night Life from 4 is also a surprising omission. Also no tracks from The Best and Beyond which is a shame as the...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by posh@oldfield.dk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Foreigner compilation? You don't say., 9 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
A Foreigner compilation? You don't say. By my reckoning this is about the 87th, and there's been another couple of additions since the new version of the band started touring and recording. So why should you buy this one?

Well, there isn't a reason really. I mean. if youdon't already have one, then this is a good one, and it's out at a budget price. It doesn't blank out the Johnny Edwards album as many of the compilations do, and it chucks in a few tracks from the "Classic Hits Live/Best of Live" record that came out in 1993. Again, most compilations don't bother.

There is nothing rare or unreleased, but you are getting all the hits in amongst the 38 tracks on offer, across 2 CDs, and it stops long before the reformation. There are some bog standard liner notes, along with album illustrations (including the comeback album "Can't Slow Down"), but it does fall foul of one of my bugbears, by not noting which track is from which album as they career across the years.

However, Amazon are selling it for [], and you really won't get more quality for your money, than on this classic melodic rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Pretty decent overview of the classic years but missing some killer tracks like Starrider which is a shocking omission as it's one of there most popular tracks from the first album. Spellbinder and I Need You from the first 2 albums would of been nice, and Night Life from 4 is also a surprising omission. Also no tracks from The Best and Beyond which is a shame as the excellent Soul Doctor should be here. Also very sad that there are no cuts from the underrated Mr Moonlight album on Lou Gramms return, White Lie which was a single and also Until The End Of Time at the very least deserve to be here. past that nice to see some underrated gems like Love Has Taken It's Toll, Inside Information, Out Of The Blue, and also nice to see the Johnny Edwards era represented here by some great tracks including the three most popular, Only Heaven Knows, Lowdown and Dirty and I'll Fight For You, it's a shame that When The Night Comes Down couldn't be replaced by the far superior Safe In My Heart. Overall it's a good overview of there most popular hits, but seek out the original now deleted Juke Box Heroes which includes a lot of these missing tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with this item, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I had just seen Foreigner on their tour and although I had gone to support another band, I was so impressed with Foreigner. For that reason I wanted a memento of that night and chose this CD.. I was in no way disappointed as it has all the tracks I loved. Especially "Waiting for a girl like you". I would recommend this to anyone who appreciates what a REAL band is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Steal for the Price, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Foreigner are one of those bands who most people who like rock are interested in but they don't seem to instill the loyalty or fanaticism of a Sabbath or an AC/DC. That could be explained in part at least by the feeling that they sold out to get the success they enjoyed, particularly around the time of Agent Provocateur. That they didn't release a fresh album for a generation until Can't Slow Down (which was actually rather good) didn't help either. You can't live off of memories forever and there's little doubt that Mick Jones' merry men drifted out of most people's consciousness.

That doesn't mean that the back catalogue should be ignored, however, and this collection proves that Foreigner have cut some stellar tracks. The obvious choices like Cold as Ice and Feels Like the First Time might be obvious but they are there for a reason - they rock. The album tracks (Double Vision, Head Games, Long Long Way) are well represented too. 4 is there with Urgent (possibly the best rock sax solo since Money) and the first of the two classic ballads, Waiting for a Girl Like You. I Want to Know What Love Is is the elephant in the room but it is a well-crafted song even if it does epitomise the aforementioned 'sell-out'.

It is good to see Unusual Heat represented, with some real crackers like Lowdown and Dirty, and Heart Turns to Stone from Inside Information was a real blast from the past. There is a pleasing variety on this compilation that does the job.

The real star is, of course, Juke Box Hero, which has to be one of the greatest rock songs ever written. Thankfully it's here in all its original glory and not the abomination that is the live version (with Zep's Whole Lotta Love - why, Mick, why?). You can't help but reach for the air microphone to try to emulate Gramm's soaring vocals.

There is some filler, like the live songs at the end of disc 1, and that is why there are only 4 stars (although 4.5 would be a better choice). Overall, though, this is a top-notch representation of a band that produced some really good songs. At this price, too, I challenge anyone to get better value from a rock purchase. Buy Can't Slow Down, too - a damn good album in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loveeeeeeee it, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Arrived in time fro me.well parcel no problem on delivery all according to satndards.It was as good as said on the add i am happy to buy it again if I will be looking for presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Juke Box Heroes, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
My husband likes this,so he bought it for himself,and he plays it a lot,so it must be good for him too do that.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 1 Jan 2014
This review is from: Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Blast from the past this one . Got me singing along too. All the best songs good quality listening. A good price and delivered earlier than i thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Nov 2013
By 
brent cole (forsbrook stoke on trent england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
great cd a must for all their fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Missing the song Woman in Black and Though I Like Foreigner to leave out this track is a crime. Not heard of some of theier songs on here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars foreigner cd, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
i was listening to planet rock on the radio and a foreigner track ,i hadnt in ages, came on. i ordered the cd which is resonably priced and it came in time for christmas(a present for me from me). 2 cd's and 38 tracks later i still have it the car. if you want to hear some classic rock buy this cd. it has tracks you know and some you dont. overall a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of
Juke Box Heroes: The Very Best Of by Foreigner (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews