Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grindhouse spectacular!
Okay, there is absolutely no need to tell any more about Vol. 1's plot unless you've just jumped down here without looking at the top reviews. Anyway, Tarantino's most recent BIG project was Kill Bill, a two-hour epic of blood and hate. From the opening credits to the final cliffhanger, this flick has Tarantino written all over Uma Thurman's triangularly shaped forehead...
Published on 12 Feb 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
This is an ok film and that's about it. I don't mind slow films, but this felt like just the scene setting for "Kill Bill 2". I already have the second film, so will see if that gets better.
There are a couple of good fight scenes, but that's about it.
Published 16 months ago by GH


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge is a dish best served cold..., 16 Aug 2004
By 
The Bridesmaid (stubbington, a.k.a ROCKVILLE) - See all my reviews
... and this is a film best seen again and again!!
Having been a fan of Quentin Tarantino's unrivalled style and utterly unique films, i knew Kill Bill would be a great one to watch. After, i knew it was an unbelievable, powerful and brutal work of art!
Tarantino teams up again with Uma Thurman, (who played a great part in Pulp Fiction...THAT dance with Travolta...) to make KILL BILL, a tale of bloody revenge. You know the rest.
The 'roaring rampage of revenge' is not only a charismatic and vivicious film, but has such a great sense of style that it's one of those timeless movies you can watch over and over again, and i believe it will become a classic in years to come.
Uma Thurmans portrayal of the Bride (HINT; to know her real name revealed in the second film, look at her plane tickets!!!) is a great performance, with the other characters including Lucy Lui, Daryl Hannah,Michael Madsen, Vivaca Fox, Sonny Chiba and David Carrandine (well, in theory) contributing to the violence and brillaince of the film. True, it is an ultra-violent film, but not senslessly. In some scenes, it's reverted to black and white or even anime to minimise the gore, but instead of removing anything, it only adds to the unique-ness, all-round fun and style of the film. The black and white echoes the martial arts films of the seventies and the anime is just for some fun (as well as a lot of blood!).
In short, some people love it, some people hate it, others just think its unnecessarily bloody, but my thoughts, and the thoughts of everyone else whos given it good reviews, is that KILL BILL is Tarantino's best yet film, is brutal, slyly funny, powerful and thought-provoking, and is essential to any film collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece deserving of its critic reviews, 29 April 2004
Unfortunately i missed Kill Bill at the cinema's because i wasunsuccessful in getting in, but i rented it out at a later date and i haveto say, it was worth the wait! I loved the way in which Tarantino relatedback to the classic kung fu and samurai movies of the old, which i love bythe way. The fight scenes came fast and furious and left you anxious formore, but i found that this film wasn't a gore-filled bloodfest my mateshad built it up to be, yes it was bloody but not in a sense that it wassickening to watch, i felt that it took the right amount to make the filmgive of a vibe of an old skool samurai flick. Much of the people that ihad spoken to about this film had told me that it was really good becauseof the action, but i felt that it seemed to have a deeper meaning as faras martial arts enthusiasts were concerned. It was filled with intricatedetails referencing themselves to the classic kung fu, and i loved everyminute of it. A must buy for everyone concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 27 April 2004
By A Customer
There is only one thing to say about this film and that is that it is oneof the best films ever. I was expcting a lot from Kill Bill and am pleasedto report that i wasn't disapointed. The story is fantastic andTarantino's usual witty dialogue never fails to make you laugh. It may beone of the most gore filled movies ever, but then again it is a QuentinTarantino film, and he makes it (relatively) easy to watch. Uma Thurmangives a great performance and does an excelent job of keeping youinterested throughout the movie, and with the rest of the cast, reallyhelps you to feel for her character. The only problem I can think of isthat the chiling Michael Madsen doesn't have a big part in it, but thenagain I can wait for the second installment for that.
All in all Kill Bill is a truely magnificant return to form from Mr.Tarantino and well worth a good look. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part 1 of 2, 3 May 2004
I went to see this film expecting to be disapointed. When you wait for something 6 odd years you tend to get that way.
Sat in the dark as exited as if it were the first time, the Shaw Brothers logo comes down and I know with unflinching certainty that I love this film, It took less than 10 seconds. Sure there is alot of violence, lets face it we went to see a QT film, but it is done in a way that all you can think about is all the cheesey kung-fu flicks that this film pays homage to (the blood is gloriously red) and that this isn't meant to shock its meant to make you sit up and say that this is the coolest thing you seen in a long time.
Now I know people have heard the anime bit in the middle interupts the flow of the film, well buy it and then tell me how you would do it any other way.
Great fun, great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino's greatest masterpiece?, 3 Aug 2004
Kill Bill (Volume 1) begins with a precisely choreographed showdown between 2 members of the 'Deadly Viper Assasination Squad' (DVAS). It is soon revealed that Uma Thurman's character (known only as the 'Bride'), is on a revenge mission against other members of the DVAS, after being beaten into a coma lasting for the past 4 years! Her first target is O Ren Ishiee (played by Lucy Lu), overlord of Tokyo's crimescene. The 'Bride' chooses to dispatch her enemies with a Samuri sword, and the prequel to the showdown with O Ren is one of the most action packed, hilarious scenes I've ever seen. For all you 'Battle Royale' fans out there, note that O Ren's teenage sidekick is none other than 'Chigusa'! As expected from Tarantino, the soundtrack is spot-on, especially music from the 5,6,7,8s (check out 'Woo Hoo'). Some overly cheerful music in amongst blood spattered antics takes some of the seriousness of the film away (otherwise Kill Bill would simply be an endless bloodbath). I must admit that at first I thought 'not another Tarantino film full of violence and bad language.' How wrong was I?!! This is unlike any of his previous films, and he shows a much more mature approach to film-making, focussing on the beauty and art of fighting rather than just a mindless shoot-out.
I don't usually enjoy watching violent films, yet I found myself rooting for the Bride, willing her to tick off names on her 'Death List', until she reached her goal....to Kill Bill. Buy this film if you want to see Japanese manga, Samuri fighting, the brilliant Uma and a wicked soundtrack all rolled into one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great bluray transfer!, 1 April 2010
I've always loved this movie. The bluray transfer is excellent, I can't even begin to tell you how much fun it was to watch Kill Bill in high definition. It is definitely worth getting this bluray. I wish they would release the uncut version (which, to my knowledge, only is available in Asian countries and, among other things, contains an extended version of the fight in the House of Blue Leaves in colour) on BD in Europe as well. Pretty please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars part of this complete breakfast..........., 12 Feb 2004
By A Customer
First off, let me state that while I have enjoyed all of his movies, I have not, until now considered myelf a "Quentin Taratino fan." Second, I must elaborate on what one other reviewer wrote; the ladies of KILL BILL's Deadly Viper Assassination Squad (aka. DiVAS) would eat Charlie's Angels for breakfast with a side of wheat toast and a glass of orange juice. If you want an action movie with REAL women, see KILL BILL. The ladies of Quentin Tarantino's latest picture are beautiful without ridiculously tight or revealing costumes. They are sexy without laughable, double ententre dialogue. These women smart, strong, and dangerous.
At it's heart KILL BILL is a simple revenge-action picture (albeit a excellent one). However, the film centers around the best-written female characters that Hollywood has seen in the last 25 years. And not one or two, but many.
KILL BILL is a glorious synthesis of the Spaghetti Western, the Hong Kong Action Flick, Japanese Anime, the Samurai films of Kurosawa, the Mob Movie, and even a touch of the Errol Flynn Swashbuckler, from across the entire history of cinema. It is not a complex, emotional film, but a relentlessly enjoyable homage to every "popcorn movie" made before it. Plus Tarantino manages to add an unprecendented layer to these genres: women. Go see KILL BILL. You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh great, another bloomin review, 31 Aug 2004
By A Customer
Yup - I just felt I had to do it - as if there aren't enough reviews already right? I remember now how I felt a couple of months back when, with very little money in my account, I stumbled upon Kill Bill, and saw all the reviews back then. The thought "Hey, I STILL haven't seen this?" crossed my mind and I spent the remainder of my balance on my now most prized possession, not including my stuffed piggie - the latest QT film to be released on DVD.
Make no mistake - this film is not for those who are even the slightest bit squeamish. The blood and gore are, as expected from Tarantino, all there, no barriers between you and the reality of a samurai sword.
I'm not going to go into details about the plot as most people have already, but what I will say is that QT was looking for a challenge in this movie - he wanted to stretch himself. Now by looking at the action scenes (which Q has kept rather limited in his previous films, but now they contain, at most, over fifty people!) and the anime scene, which is my favourite of the whole film, you can see the big differences in this film and his previous works.
If you're looking for a film rich in history, not bound by the blockbuster rule of "to Hell with it, let's shove any old characters in a room and let em battle it out with not thought as to why", then this film is for you.
If you're a fan of Samurai/Spaghetti Western/Revenge films, then this film is for you.
If you're a fan of Uma Thurman/Lucy Liu/Daryl Hannah/Vivicia A. Fox (practically unseen since "Independence Day")/Sonny Chiba, then this film is for you.
And lastly, if you see yourself as a movie buff who just HAS to know what's new, fresh and exciting in the world of filmmaking, you could do much worse than Tarantino - he is, after all, a movie buff himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars '...well this is me at my most sadistic.', 11 July 2004
I have one word...Phenomenal! This Quentin Tarantino picture is extrodinarily made. With sensational score, outstanding acting and sharp dialogue. This film may lack dialogue and story, but it keeps you glued to the screen, as you watch the Bride wreak havoc as she sets out on a 'roaring rampage of revenge.'
The film centres around the character 'The Bride' (Uma Thurman) as she is left for dead, pregnant at a wedding chapel in El Paso, after being shot in the head by former boss 'Bill' (David Carradine) four years later she awakens from a coma, and sets out on a violent, bloody revenge, on the people who betrayed her on her wedding: Vernita Green (Vivica A. Fox), Oren Ishii (Lucy Liu), Bud (Micheal Madsen), Elle Driver (Daryl Hannah) and of course, Bill.
Volume 1 tells the tale of her and Vernita's ugly meeting and her trip to Okinawa to collect a Hatori Hanzo sword (the best swords to be made)and travel to 'The house of Blue leaves' where the Queen of the Japanese criminal underworld Oren Ishii, and her army the crazy '88's' are staying.
The film is very stylised, and very colourfull, with an outstanding cast. I found it very clever that he used Chiaki Kuryama (from Battle Royale fame as Chigusa) to play Oren's 17 year old bodyguard 'Go Go Yubari', Pei Mei as The Brides master and Gordon liu as Oren's head army leader. Along with Julie Dreyfuss (Sofie Fatal) as Oren's best friend and David Carradine as bill. This film may be very differente from his other classics but it is still...Sensational!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Blu-ray for Kill Bill Vol 1, 26 Mar 2009
I was already a fan of the film. Some friends were not convinced this was worth the upgrade from DVD. The Blu-ray blows it away. I actually did an upscaled 1080p DVD side-by-side with Blu-ray test. The difference was astonishing. The desert scenes were washed out on DVD whereas they came across sharp and colourful on Blu-ray. Any scenes where Uma was in the middle-ground on DVD her face was a jumble of pixels whereas on Blu-ray you can see her face in fine detail. I'd also heard complaints about the animated sections being lower quality. To my eyes they still looked far better on Blu-ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill Bill: Volume 1 (Blu-ray)
Kill Bill: Volume 1 (Blu-ray) by Quentin Tarantino (Blu-ray - 2011)
9.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews