Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grindhouse spectacular!
Okay, there is absolutely no need to tell any more about Vol. 1's plot unless you've just jumped down here without looking at the top reviews. Anyway, Tarantino's most recent BIG project was Kill Bill, a two-hour epic of blood and hate. From the opening credits to the final cliffhanger, this flick has Tarantino written all over Uma Thurman's triangularly shaped forehead...
Published on 12 Feb 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
This is an ok film and that's about it. I don't mind slow films, but this felt like just the scene setting for "Kill Bill 2". I already have the second film, so will see if that gets better.
There are a couple of good fight scenes, but that's about it.
Published 12 months ago by Hynes


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grindhouse spectacular!, 12 Feb 2004
By A Customer
Okay, there is absolutely no need to tell any more about Vol. 1's plot unless you've just jumped down here without looking at the top reviews. Anyway, Tarantino's most recent BIG project was Kill Bill, a two-hour epic of blood and hate. From the opening credits to the final cliffhanger, this flick has Tarantino written all over Uma Thurman's triangularly shaped forehead. He's resurrected his trademarks like the jumpy time sequence, very deep morals found only between the lines, crime bosses, that kooky dialogue we've all come to know and love, and even some newer tricks have come out of his sleeve like the amazing anime sequence and homage to even more obscure film genres we've never heard of.
There is, of course the issue of violence and gore associated with this film. Anybody who can laugh at Monty Python's infamous Black Knight scene can cope with it but even still will be shaking their heads in a mix of emotions somewhere between sheer horror and pure hilarity. One scene within the climactic battle scene was even purposely put into black and white in order to keep an R rating. Overseas in countries used to that level of ferocious death, like Japan in particular, it was shown in full bloody color, while if seen over here by our children's minds the entire project would've had an NC-17. It's truly a shame when true art can't be expressed to the world in its full glory (or whatever you'd personally want to call it). Another problem about the film is the cutoff in the middle of the script. Howard Stern said that he would've loved to see it in its complete four-hour length, and even though salivating can be good I'm a little tired of waiting after this many months.
Still, despite the little concerns, this is a fantastic movie. And yet, there is a certain magic about it that's almost impossible to explain. From the deep benevolent yearning to pick up The Bride and cuddle her with her bloody teeth, to the way you can truly relate to those times when hate has surged through your body like a powder keg as it does hers, you can feel this movie. Not in a Braveheart sort of way with naught but bagpipes to carry the emotion, but in a true and real way. Uma Thurman's already been nominated for a Golden Globe in this. Hopefully she'll win and when the next installment (which will completely outdo the first, I already cheated and looked at the screenplay) comes around I'll be the first in the theater for the midnight showing. And oh yeah, buy the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kill or be killed..., 31 Aug 2004
By A Customer
So by now everyone knows the plot and storyline to Kill Bill. The Bride (a very sexy but deadly Uma Thurman) is beaten and shot beyond belief on her wedding day when she tries to leave a squad of assassins known as the Deadly Viper Assassin Squad. She survives but is comatose for 4 years. Then she wakes up...
From thereon, it's blood and limbs all the way. To those of you who don't like too much violence, I am sorry to say that Kill Bill is not the film for you. A shame as I would like to recommend this film to everyone. Tarantino has delivered another trump card in film making here and it would be a travesty to miss out on it.
You may have gathered that the film is good, but why? Well there is a whole list of plus points ranging from the well orchestrated bloody fight scenes to the equally bloody but informative Anime sequence half way through the film. The dialogue is as clever as it is witty and blunt. A high percentage of the films dialogue is spoken in Japanese with subtitles which doesn't distract you from the film as much as some people think it does. As always I find the Tarantino soundtracks to be a tad quirky but they do always work. The soundtrack here is no exception. Included are songs from Nancy Sinatra, the theme from the Green Hornet and the RZA tune from the trailer. You know the one. Knowing nods and winks to past samurai films, costumes and fight scenes make this an entertaining film all round.
There will be some of you who just don't get the whole idea of the film. From the cheesy opening feature presentation, through the Anime and the spouting bloody limbs everywhere. It's homage to films gone by, mainly Japanese and it's brilliant.
Overall, yes it is bloody and yes there is foul language and yes there are disturbing scenes. But yes it is one of Tarantino's best films and brings something a little different to the screen. Buy it, rent it, whatever...just watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 16 April 2008
By 
Lee J. Ridgard (Chesterfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you already own this on one disc there is no point in buying this copy unnless you want the stell case because it has exactly the same features just spread over two disc instead of one but either way the steel case is awesome the price is good and the film is also awesome wherth buying if you havent done already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LUCY LIU REIGNS SUPREME, 30 Oct 2004
i never liked lucy liu much before this movie, especially with her alleged treatment of bill murray (im a huge fan) in Charlies Angels
..but for me this movie is all about her, and i really think she steals the show. from the DVD menu upwards
all the best parts and lines in this movie involve lucy liu. from the hilarious 'Scharlie Brown' sequence, the fabulous cartoon story showing her history and progress as one of the worlds top female assassins (great rooftop sniper sequence), and of course the extra extra bloody gangland head splicing scene with eurovision contest style accompaniment
she plays the character tremendously well with poise and humour. and in my opinion she is the cornerstone of this movies greatness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great bluray transfer!, 1 April 2010
I've always loved this movie. The bluray transfer is excellent, I can't even begin to tell you how much fun it was to watch Kill Bill in high definition. It is definitely worth getting this bluray. I wish they would release the uncut version (which, to my knowledge, only is available in Asian countries and, among other things, contains an extended version of the fight in the House of Blue Leaves in colour) on BD in Europe as well. Pretty please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Jun 2005
Kill Bill is a favourite of mine because of the clever way in which it has been made. The opening scene shows 'The Bride' (Uma Thurman) being shot in a Texas chapel by her former boss, Bill. The movie then jumps from past to present to show how she goes about getting her revenge from the five who massacred her family and tried to kill her.
What is really amazing about this film is that Tarantino plays with different types of imagery. Overall the film is very violent and to almost censor the blood and gore he employs black and white imagery and cartoons. The cartoons are strong in conveying what is happening very well and at the same time prevent the need for actual people, stabbing and lots of blood. The same is done with the black and white imagery where the focus is more on what is happening than the blood being shed.
All in all this is an absolutely FANTASTIC film, cleverly done and with a brilliant soundtrack. Uma Thurman gives a cracking performance. Definitely one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Roaring Rampage of Revenge!, 7 April 2005
By 
LJG Carson (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
It's been a while since Jakie Browne, but Tarantino is back with his first of two revenge flicks "Kill Bill" and let me tell you something, they are HOT!
When a female assassin (Uma Thurman) decides its time to leave her profession, marry some guy and concieve her child outside a world of blood and massacre, her ex-lover and boss, Bill (David Carradine) takes the news badly and sets out, along with his band of assassins (Lucy Liu, Daryl Hannah, Vivica A. Foxx and Micheal Madsen) to put an end to the wedding and take care of The Bride once and for all. Refusing to die, The Bride rouses from a four year coma and begins to write up a death list for those who betrayed her.
This is pure Tarantino. Only he could blend genres of Spagetti Western, kung-fu, anime and japanese samuri flicks together to produce one of the best films released in 2003. There is never a dull moment in this movie. You will be gasping in all the rite places as Uma slices her way through "The Crazy 88", you will find yourself literally on the edge of your seat as you watch the tense showdown with O-Ren Ishii in eerie silence and you will be gagging to see the concluding chapter of the story. The cast deliver strong performances, wicked dialouge dripping in dark humour and many impressive stunts. The fast pace of the film is accompanied with a killer soundtrack that you will never forget. The only problem with the film, which is quite disappointing, is that is really all you get on the DVD, apart from a "making-of", trailers and two music videos of the
5,6,7,8s. Deleted scenes? Director's Cut? Hello?

A fantastic and thrilling movie which is definitely up there alongside the other Tarantino classics. A word of advice: Never deprive yourself of movies like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Violent, cool, sick, stupid, fun., 1 May 2004
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After six years after the boring Jackie Brown (in my opinion, sorry if you love it) Quentin Tarantino has resurrected something else. He resurrected John Travolta, now he has resurrected the 70s kung fu type of movies.
The action sequences in this film are really fun, but some of the sword fighting can be a bit stupid, you see arms and heads chopped off and showers of blood fires out from them. The sword battles are enjoyable to watch though.
I think this has quite a good cast, we have Quentin's favourite leading ladie Uma Thurman. We have Lucy Lui, who is an interesting character, and the film tells you about her childhood history. Sonny Chiba, Quentin's favourite martial artist has a short appearence, and we hear the voice of David Carradine, who plays Bill.
The film acts the same as "Pulp fiction" a bit, when it gets to a new bit it tells you the chapter on the screen, there is tons of fun dialogue, a lot in chinese too. Quentin also tries to make this film look like the 70s, he uses the classic music and films the scenes like them. He puts some scenes in b&w aswell. He uses a lot of interesting characters like The bride, Bill, woman with eye-patch, and the Texas sheriff, who was quite cool. This one isn't as violent as everyone says it is, it's gory, but not violent, and it comes to a brilliant climax that all of you should have seen on a trailer or something. Be warned: If you don't like annimation scenes, you might wanna watch out, there is a scene whioch tells you about the history of Lucy Lui's character, and it's an annimation sequence. Quentin has made a brillaint comeback after the failure of Jackie Brown. Can't wait for part 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Blu-ray for Kill Bill Vol 1, 26 Mar 2009
I was already a fan of the film. Some friends were not convinced this was worth the upgrade from DVD. The Blu-ray blows it away. I actually did an upscaled 1080p DVD side-by-side with Blu-ray test. The difference was astonishing. The desert scenes were washed out on DVD whereas they came across sharp and colourful on Blu-ray. Any scenes where Uma was in the middle-ground on DVD her face was a jumble of pixels whereas on Blu-ray you can see her face in fine detail. I'd also heard complaints about the animated sections being lower quality. To my eyes they still looked far better on Blu-ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge is a dish best served cold..., 16 Aug 2004
By 
The Bridesmaid (stubbington, a.k.a ROCKVILLE) - See all my reviews
... and this is a film best seen again and again!!
Having been a fan of Quentin Tarantino's unrivalled style and utterly unique films, i knew Kill Bill would be a great one to watch. After, i knew it was an unbelievable, powerful and brutal work of art!
Tarantino teams up again with Uma Thurman, (who played a great part in Pulp Fiction...THAT dance with Travolta...) to make KILL BILL, a tale of bloody revenge. You know the rest.
The 'roaring rampage of revenge' is not only a charismatic and vivicious film, but has such a great sense of style that it's one of those timeless movies you can watch over and over again, and i believe it will become a classic in years to come.
Uma Thurmans portrayal of the Bride (HINT; to know her real name revealed in the second film, look at her plane tickets!!!) is a great performance, with the other characters including Lucy Lui, Daryl Hannah,Michael Madsen, Vivaca Fox, Sonny Chiba and David Carrandine (well, in theory) contributing to the violence and brillaince of the film. True, it is an ultra-violent film, but not senslessly. In some scenes, it's reverted to black and white or even anime to minimise the gore, but instead of removing anything, it only adds to the unique-ness, all-round fun and style of the film. The black and white echoes the martial arts films of the seventies and the anime is just for some fun (as well as a lot of blood!).
In short, some people love it, some people hate it, others just think its unnecessarily bloody, but my thoughts, and the thoughts of everyone else whos given it good reviews, is that KILL BILL is Tarantino's best yet film, is brutal, slyly funny, powerful and thought-provoking, and is essential to any film collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae25c51c)

This product

Kill Bill: Volume 1 (Blu-ray)
Kill Bill: Volume 1 (Blu-ray) by Quentin Tarantino (Blu-ray - 2011)
7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews