Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halloween.com
Halloween Resurrection was first released back in 2002 and, my God, I cannot believe it's been that long! You may find it funny that I'm reviewing this on November 1 - the day after Halloween. The thing is, I actually like to sit down and watch this film every year on November 1. I've no idea what drives me to do it; just a little tradition of mine, I guess...
Published 20 months ago by Fox in the Box

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The film that ruins the entire series.
Why, when the Halloween series had reached such a successfully satisfying conclusion in 'Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later' did the money grabbing Akkads feel the need to undermine all that H20 had achieved, by completely rewriting the ending?

For those who havn't already seen Resurrection, it won't be giving much away to say that unstoppable killing machine...
Published on 27 July 2003 by vids-direct


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Demise of Laurie!, 13 Dec 2011
By 
Mr Welsh "Rob" (South Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Halloween: Resurrection [DVD] (DVD)
I must say this film was really good as a follow-up to H20 and whilst I was disappointed that Laurie was finally killed off, I feel it was a good way for her to exit the series, I am however disappointed that Josh hartnetts character didn't return! That aside this was a really good and I love how it was brought up to date so it was in-line with modern technology. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Film Will Have To Settle For The Bronze, 18 July 2004
It could never match up to H20, the best in the series but it comes close. Busta Rhymes is slightly poor but his karate fight scenes are quite fun to watch.
Busta works for Dangertainment and casts six kids to go on for a live internet show showing them exploring the house of evil itself. Michael Myers' house. The house where he killed his sister. Little do they know he still lives there in the basement. As you can imagine they find out in a series of superbly thought up killings including decapitation, throats slashed and pinned to walls by carving knives. It has them all.
The second best in the whole series, this Big Brother style slasher is great to watch, especially in the dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scary suspense gory clever, 27 Dec 2003
i can say i was more plased with this than any other halloween or horror.origanal halloween star jamie lee curtis returns once again and finishes the long suffering role of michael myers sister laurie storde.the opening sees what REALLY happened at the end of H20.The scream queen bows out of the series unfortunatley for good.but the series opens up a modern story line INVOLVING THE OLD MYERS HOUSE AND A LIVE WEBCAST in which freddie harrisruns a programme called dangertainment.THE FILM DOESNT SEEM TO MENTION ANY OF THE STORYLINES FROM THE PAST AFTER JAMIE LEES 15 MINS.the film has plenty of scares gore and is the best after h20 and the origanal.it is no dissapointnent if your a horror fan or halloween fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revealing, 1 Sep 2003
Halloween Resurrection is one of the best films that the Halloween series has churned out. That may not be the greatest of compliments, considering the diabolically poor H-4 to H-6, but this film actually to the Halloween formula. This movie answers the questions that H20 left unsolved. In the 7th movie, Josh Hartnett asks his mother "Where has he(Myers)been for twenty years?" This film answers that. But H-8 combines slasher with haunted house formulae and does it well. Nobody who has seen the movie can say that the Myers house was not spooky. So while H8 may be an appropriate time to bid farewell to Michael Myers, it also allows us to tolerate more sequals. In short, Halloween Resurrection has saved the Halloween genre by finally revisiting the brilliant original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scary suspense sick and gory, 28 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This is probably much better than h20 and the origanal.the opening seees scream queen jamie lee curtis reprise her role for the 4th and final time in the series as laurie strode.im not gonaa tel you wat really happened at the end of h20 and wot happens in the beggining oft his one because its a real surprise and its top.The film goes onto the next day and back to haddonfeild where the origanal was set. 6 students have been selected to spend halloween eve in the house of michael myers(the place at the beginning of the first one where he murders his oldeer sister) for a live internet show.the producer freddie harris(busta rhymes) and his co worker nora winston(tyra banks)have selected bill(thomas ian nicholas) rudy(sean patrick thomas) jen (katee sachoff) sara (bianca kajlich)and jim(luke kirby) and donna(daisy mcrackin)to explore americas worst nightmare!!!.halloween arrives and the 6 enter the house what they dont know is stage set and its all reality. people tune in to the webcast.BUT michael has returned home and is not pleased about his house guests one bye one he murders them one not nowing where theyve all gone(if you like gore this is the movie its really sick n scary).its a race against time for the reaning person/people to make it out the dark house alive.the film is great and is full of surprises and as you think its all ova right at the very end it makes you jump out your skin!!.
the halloween sequels i have to say do live up to the origanal and will continue to.but this modern horror will make you hesitate and think about whether youd go into and old house!!!
jamie lee curtis will not be in halloween 9 but it'd be good to see her son john(josh harnett) from h20 return as the characters from this movie are not worth putting in for a sequel except for sara and freddie who put on a good performance.this is the only sequel thtat alot of people think is the best cast you have origanal star jamie lee curtis and sen patrick thomas from save the last dance then busta ryhmes whos a great rapper and actor also the sexy tyra banks!!! and american pies thomas ian nicholas. wot more could you want?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Are you dumb enough to spend the night in the Myers house?, 17 Oct 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The title "Halloween - Resurrection" has an ironic dimension because at face value you would think it has to do with bringing back the character of Michael Myers from the dead, since he was killed by his sister, Laurie (Jamie Leigh Curtis) at the end of "Halloween H20: 20 Years Later." But actually what they are trying to revive here is the "Halloween" franchise. This 2002 film is a sequel to 1998 film, which makes it the eighth film in the series, which is a bit misleading because "Halloween III: Season of the Witch" had nothing to do with the rest of the series and movies four through six were completely ignored in the last two films (at least I think that they were) to explain the return of Laurie Strode. This also helps to explain the return of Rick Rosenthal as director, who directed "Halloween II," the original sequel in all this fun.
"Halloween - Resurrection" offers a rather lengthy prologue, the purpose of which is to effectively reset the Michael Myers story. The result is that I have not been so ticked off at the opening of a movie since "Alien 3" undid one of my all time favorite movies ("Aliens") by the end of the title credits. A similar affrontery is provided in this film, and, no, I do not buy the idea this is simply an homage to the beginning of "Friday the 13th Part 2." Anyhow, this film ends up starting off with one foot in the grave by opening with such a complete downer.
What is prologue is past when we get to the actual story of the film. At this point as an audience you simply need to have the same level of knowledge as the characters: what Michael Myers did in the first two "Halloween" films. The initial premise of the story is the old chesnut about a group of people who agree to spend the night in a haunted house, the brainchild of Freddie Harris (Busta Rhymes). In this case we are talking about six college students and the house in question is the Myers house in Haddonfield, Illinois, where Michael killed his sister Judith on Halloween night in 1963. But this particular old chesnut is provided with a 21st century twist: all of those young kids on the dinner menu are going to be wired with web-cams. There are additional cameras all over the Myers house. This is because this entire experience is going to be shown on the Internet.
This makes "Halloween - Resurrection" something of a meta-film experience, because eventually we are watching the kids at the party who are watching the kids at the Myers house being sliced and diced by Michael. Of course despite all the cameras and monitors nobody notices that anybody is being killed (those watching on the Internet just assume it is part of the show--at least at first). But in the end, all that technology might just make it possible for one of these kids to make it out alive. You would have thought that all this technology would make for a badly needed infusion of creativity into a slasher flick like this, but you would be mistaken. The point here is simply to add another level of voyeurism to the experience. The assumption is the audience can relate to this, which would explain why there are characters in this film who think having sex in this house while being watched on the Internet is a good thing. The fact this is an above average entry in the series speaks to the general shlock of the genre more than the relative quality of this film.
Final Comment: We understand now that Michael Meyer's driving goal from the very beginning is to kill his sisters. He gets Judith in the beginning of "Halloween" and spends most of the rest of the films in the "official" quartet trying to get Laurie. My assumption has always been that if he were to get to that point something significant would happen. Apparently not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class film, 29 Sep 2003
By A Customer
I thought the film was genius, i was expecting a cheesy ritual to bring him back to life but i was totally shocked... Class film.Look forward to seeing the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than 1,2,3,4,5,6 & h20, 27 Dec 2003
By A Customer
after the fantastic ending to halloween h20 every one thought that that ws the final in the series -wrong!.the film series continues.but this 8th movie continues not failing number 1 and h20.Resurrection is the most modern in the series and stars for what looks like the final time-jamie lee curtis as long suffering sister of michael myers.laurie now is in a mental home because she killed an innocent man instead of michael-weird yes but youll have to watch the film to get what i mean.After 15 minutes into the film and a finall conflict between laurie and michael the series becomes a FULL CIRCLE.Before the film moves onto the main story the only main thing wrong with the opening is we dont find out what happened to lauris son john.I myself thought the series should've continued with josh harnett.But it returns to haddonfeild the town in which the series first started and jamie lee curtis was being stalked.Now michael is home and there is a webcast taking place in his home with 6 contestants jen,bill,sara,rudy,donna,jim.the story is reasonable not as strong as h20.but the film is gory with plenty of scares and alot of killings some of which will have you with your hands in your head.the fil certainly lives up to the origanal and the soundtrack is better than the origanal.the director does a ten times better job on this than he did halloween 2.so my overall comment is excellent it will make you jump gritt your teeth and the laurie strode fans wont be dissapointed because she makes an excellent exit and busta rhymes tyra banks sean patrick thomas thomas ian nicholas and new scream quenn bianca kajlich wholl probably be in no.9.the ending is the best in the franchise 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gr(8) sequel!, 26 Oct 2003
After spending much time post Halloween H20 feeling down at the fact that Michael Myers had been eliminated, the first news I heard of this film cheered my spirits greatly.
I wasn't sure what to expect, but I wasn't disappointed. Halloween Resurrection closes the old era, and begins a new era of 'Halloween'.
Some of the original creepiness experienced from the original is present in many parts of the film. This is achieved by the use of the infamous Myers house setting and the implementation of gullable teenagers.
Still, it does not surpass the original film, yet it is one of the better sequels.
The fresh injection of famous celebrities adds excitement and a new, fresh look to the saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In our virtual world what is reality?, 31 July 2007
By 
John Carpenter is always just as good as good can be because he knows his trade and he knows how to pull the strings that are going to frighten us, terrorize us or just gross us out, and there are many strings that must not get entangled. And they don't. The main point with Carpenter is that he manages to produce and set up some crucial moments when we don't know who is who and where we are, in reality or in virtuality, in a real murder or in a fake hoax. And that is when we get over the limit and manage to believe the unbelievable. Carpenter is also extremely good at keeping the film in dark shadowy half lights that are necessary for him to play on the depth of the picture and to hide what is going to come out of the dark without any due process of announcing itself. You must not look for any deeper or wider meaning, because there is none, except that we accept to be the eye of the camera, or we accept the camera to be our eye, hence we accept to be voyeurs inside a film that is itself a voyeuristic adventure since we capture the action through cameras and TV screen relayed onto the internet and a portable telephone. We are confronted to at least two if not three levels of voyeurism with the organizers of the first level becoming the direct victims of the adventure, and then the guinea pigs of these becoming the victims of the voyeuristic and exhibitionistic game they had accepted to get into. And even further the audience of these two levels on the Internet becoming themselves victims of the game because they believe it is a game even when it turns more than sour. It is the use of a portable telephone via an instant messenger that will enable this voyeuristic audience to become compassionate. And we, the voyeurs of Carpenter's film, are like innocent angels victimized by Carpenter and his tricks and what's more we enjoy it and would like to see some more, so that we even know, accept, desire and enjoy the very last punch line that closes this film without closing Michael Myers' eyes: he is eternal because after all this is reality TV and not any virtual fable told by some perverse deranged greedy film director.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine & University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween: Resurrection [DVD]
Halloween: Resurrection [DVD] by David Geddes (DVD - 2011)
9.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews