Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute guilty pleasure
This movie is an absolute gem.

The story as i'm sure you may know is about a modern day NYC girl and an 18th Century Duke who through a time hole meet up and fall in love.
Yes I know it sounds soppy, yes I know it sounds a little nauseating but this movie is pure joy

The acting and chemistry between Ryan and Jackman is beautiful and you can't...
Published on 19 Aug. 2008 by JamesW

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Poor Blu-ray Release
If you're reading this you probably already know about the film; and if not there are plenty of reviews on the 'net detailing people's opinions. Personally, I bought this film based purely on the price at the time (Blockbuster's bargain bin ex-rental for £3) and its two stars - both of whom I really like in other films.
At the time I was very pleased to discover that...
Published on 14 Aug. 2012 by Pantheon


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute guilty pleasure, 19 Aug. 2008
By 
JamesW (Nr Stroud, Gloucester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This movie is an absolute gem.

The story as i'm sure you may know is about a modern day NYC girl and an 18th Century Duke who through a time hole meet up and fall in love.
Yes I know it sounds soppy, yes I know it sounds a little nauseating but this movie is pure joy

The acting and chemistry between Ryan and Jackman is beautiful and you can't help but get so involved in the characters and their lives and loves.

The horseback scene is genius, you'll never be able to hear anyone talking about the Louvre without quivering, and the roof top dinner will become your benchmark for all future dates.

On a lighter side, the joy of the DVD is there are actually a few deleted scenes which somewhat change the story, but due to test screenings and some clever people realising what the scriptwriters didn't, managed to stop this slight, ahem, faux pas from being released in it's original form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Poor Blu-ray Release, 14 Aug. 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kate & Leopold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you're reading this you probably already know about the film; and if not there are plenty of reviews on the 'net detailing people's opinions. Personally, I bought this film based purely on the price at the time (Blockbuster's bargain bin ex-rental for £3) and its two stars - both of whom I really like in other films.
At the time I was very pleased to discover that the ex-rental DVD which listed no extras on the cover was actually pretty packed with bonus material - including a Director's Cut.
Well, I watched the Theatrical Release first and loved it.
A few days later I watched the Director's Cut and was totally underwhelmed - because (MILD SPOILER) the ending is given away within the first few minutes by seeing Kate at Leopold's house. Then, there were other scenes inserted which didn't particularly add to the film's story or charm. So, I never watched the DC again because, in my opinion, the Theatrical version is far superior.
So...that brings us to the Blu-ray. Well, if, like me, you prefer the Theatrical Version of this wonderful film you are going to be very disappointed with this release because it ONLY contains the Director's Cut. Even my ex-rental DVD has the option to watch either version. On this BD you only get one version.
Also, I agree with the previous reviewer, that the picture quality is not particularly great. It's certainly NOT blu-ray quality. Like other Miramax release (see my Teaching Mrs. Tingle review) they seem to have simply stuck a standard definition version of the film onto a blu-ray disc.
The features are all present (except the Theatrical Cut obviously) and there is an upgrade in the sound to a DTS-HD Master 5.1 track which actually is a big improvement.
However, even though I would happily give the film 4 stars, I can only give this BD release 2.
Personally, I feel that the cover should state that the version on the disc is NOT the theatrical version; but there's nothing warning you about this. I will admit that it's been 9 years since I'd seen the DC and upon re-watch it wasn't as bad as I remembered, so I'm keeping the BD. But, I would definitely buy again to get a remastered version of the Theatrical Cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute winner, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate & Leopold [DVD] (DVD)
A 'must have' movie featuring Meg Ryan and Hugh Jackman, ably supported by Liev Schreiber. For fans of modern romance with a touch of whimsy, this is one to add to your library. Originally purchased years ago in VCR format (!) it was time to add a DVD version.
For fans of Meg Ryan -and who isn't- this rollicking tale just ticks all the boxes. Do buy it, it is so affordable and will appeal to females and males alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy Rom-Com, 18 Feb. 2008
By 
Eve (stoke on trent, staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantasy rom-com. That pitch doesn't really trip of the tongue or inspire you does it? Yes it's a romantic time travel comedy.

Two people both dissatisfied with where they are in life and something is missing, each other, how sweet. Even so the fact that these two get together doesn't so much feel like fate as convenience. Who doesn't feel like something or someone is lacking in their life?

I do feel I've seen Meg Ryan play this part a dozen times before, she plays it well enough but perhaps someone less well known for this particular role could have made it feel fresher?
The supporting cast, Liev Schrieber, Brekin Mayer and Bradley Whitford do very well and without their talents this film could well have been a stinker.
Hugh Jackman, is the best reason to watch, once again showing the charisma and ability that is making him a star.
Ladies may want to watch this alone, if you're watching with your partner they may have to tolerate your emotions ranging from thinking Leopold is something of a hunk to digging your elbow towards your boyfriend because he isn't as charming/chivalrous/romantic as Leopold.

The directors cut allows more exposition which makes it over all a better film. To really enjoy it you must switch off the part of your brain that knows that La Boheme came out approximately 20 years after Leopold was supposed to have 'leapt' in to the future. Simple gaffes that could have been avoided.
So sit back, switch off the critical thinking and enjoy some simple but pleasing romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...AND THE WINNER IS...HUGH JACKMAN!, 26 Jan. 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kate & Leopold (VHS Tape)
Hands down, this romantic comedy is a Hugh Jackman vehicle, as he totally steals the show from Meg Ryan. Jackman plays the role of the Duke of Albany, Leopold Mountbatten, an English nobleman visiting his uncle in New York in 1876. At his uncle's behest, Leopold is to find a rich socialite to marry, so that he may replenish the family's depleted coffers.
While at a ball in his uncle's New York house, awash with rich and eager heiresses, he notices a stranger who had earlier caught his attention. He follows the stranger and finds himself in the year 2001, as he falls through a portal in time. Landing in the apartment of Stuart Besser (Liev Schreiber), the stranger whom he had followed, he soon meets Kate McKay (Meg Ryan), Stuart's former girlfriend of four years and a modern day Everywoman. Let the games begin.
What follows is nothing earth shattering. In fact, it is pretty predictable. Leopold and Kate fall in love, though the big question is why, as there is nothing to suggest why they should. Meg Ryan does her usual Meg Ryan thing, though she is starting to get a bit little long in the tooth to be playing the brash, cutesy ingenue. She is, in fact, getting to be quite tiresome in these sorts of roles, as she plays them all exactly the same, making them virtually indistinguishable one from the other. She needs to extend her range, before her adoring public stops adoring her.
Jackman, however, does a star turn with his gently effective and ingratiating portrayal of Leopold. He is simply sensational. Charming, handsome, and warm, with a light British accent that rings true, he is totally believable as a chivalrous gent from another time. Jackman totally upstages Ryan without meaning to do so. It is a good thing that he does. Were he not to have done so, the film would most likely have totally tanked. Clearly, Hugh Jackman is big time, leading man material.
Liev Schreiber is unappealing as the film's erstwhile time traveler and Kate's ex-lover, Stuart Besser, who, it turns out, is the great, great grandson of the Duke. Moreover, it is not believable that Stuart and Kate would ever have dated, much less have been lovers for four years, as there is no chemistry between them. Still, it is more believable than the relationship that blossoms between Leopold and Kate. The happy ending also makes Stuart's and Kate's former relationship somewhat distasteful, if not downright incestuous, in retrospect.

The rest of the supporting cast is fine with an excellent performance by Breckin Meyer in the role of Charlie McKay, Kate's somewhat goofy, but lovable, cute, younger brother. Bradley Whitford of West Wing fame also gives a winning performance as J.J. Camden, Kate's smarmy boss, who ultimately has second thoughts about what constitutes professional behavior and lets the cream rise to the top, so to speak.
All in all, this is a moderately entertaining film, all but forgettable, but for the memorable performance of Hugh Jackman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...AND THE WINNER IS...HUGH JACKMAN!, 9 Jan. 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Hands down, this romantic comedy is a Hugh Jackman vehicle, as he totally steals the show from Meg Ryan. Jackman plays the role of the Duke of Albany, Leopold Mountbatten, an English nobleman visiting his uncle in New York in 1876. At his uncle's behest, Leopold is to find a rich socialite to marry, so that he may replenish the family's depleted coffers.
While at a ball in his uncle's New York house, awash with rich and eager heiresses, he notices a stranger who had earlier caught his attention. He follows the stranger and finds himself in the year 2001, as he falls through a portal in time. Landing in the apartment of Stuart Besser (Liev Schreiber), the stranger whom he had followed, he soon meets Kate McKay (Meg Ryan), Stuart's former girlfriend of four years and a modern day Everywoman. Let the games begin.
What follows is nothing earth shattering. In fact, it is pretty predictable. Leopold and Kate fall in love, though the big question is why, as there is nothing to suggest why they should. Meg Ryan does her usual Meg Ryan thing, though she is starting to get a bit little long in the tooth to be playing the brash, cutesy ingenue. She is, in fact, getting to be quite tiresome in these sorts of roles, as she plays them all exactly the same, making them virtually indistinguishable one from the other. She needs to extend her range, before her adoring public stops adoring her.
Jackman, however, does a star turn with his gently effective and ingratiating portrayal of Leopold. He is simply sensational. Charming, handsome, and warm, with a light British accent that rings true, he is totally believable as a chivalrous gent from another time. Jackman totally upstages Ryan without meaning to do so. It is a good thing that he does. Were he not to have done so, the film would most likely have totally tanked. Clearly, Hugh Jackman is big time, leading man material.
Liev Schreiber is unappealing as the film's erstwhile time traveler and Kate's ex-lover, Stuart Besser, who, it turns out, is the great, great grandson of the Duke. Moreover, it is not believable that Stuart and Kate would ever have dated, much less have been lovers for four years, as there is no chemistry between them. Still, it is more believable than the relationship that blossoms between Leopold and Kate. The happy ending also makes Stuart's and Kate's former relationship somewhat distasteful, if not downright incestuous, in retrospect.

The rest of the supporting cast is fine with an excellent performance by Breckin Meyer in the role of Charlie McKay, Kate's somewhat goofy, but lovable, cute, younger brother. Bradley Whitford of West Wing fame also gives a winning performance as J.J. Camden, Kate's smarmy boss, who ultimately has second thoughts about what constitutes professional behavior and lets the cream rise to the top, so to speak.
All in all, this is a moderately entertaining film, all but forgettable, but for the memorable performance of Hugh Jackman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romance, advertising and time travel, 12 Aug. 2005
By 
Francisco (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Stuart is a man who has discovered the secret to time travel. He goes back to 1876 to see what it was like. He is observed by Leopold, a duke whose family is from England, who gives chase and ends up in modern times.
Kate is Stuart's ex and works in advertising. She is gunning for an upcoming promotion. The impression is given that, like most cynics, Kate is cynical due to her past life.
Charlie is Kate's actor brother who is often round.
An event causes Stuart to be indisposed and the other 3 mix together. Can Leopold warm her cold heart? Will he return to his own time? What will happen to them?
Yes it's a romantic, time travel, comedy full of all the old cliches and, yes, it does start the way that you'd expect such a film to start (I'm talking about the bit where we get back to the present). However, it gets better once it gets going.
In short it's starts off very typical but it's an above average film of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking!, 3 Mar. 2007
Not the film that is shocking. I was refering to the other reviews!

I place this film in my top 5 films ever.

Meg Ryan is amazing as per usual, Hugh Jackman has enough charisma and good looks to make you melt, Breckin Meyer is so funny and cute, and Liev Schreiber is just wonderful. And I'm just warming up!!!!!

This film not only captures the essence of a top quality romance, but has added depth with the time travel element. And, ok, as with a time travel film there are invariably flaws in the plot, but one has to accept these as part of the genre, but it in no way detracts from the remainder of the film.

It really is a film for everyone. Humour, which is actually quite rare in Rom-Coms (well, they rarely make me laugh), sci-fi, classic romance, and and good looking cast.

Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars romantic hugh jackman movie pass the popcorn:), 1 Jun. 2009
By 
Ms. S. Newman "dixiepoe" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this has to be one of the nicest movies i have seen in a long time a english aristorcractic inventor(of the elevator) called leopold follows a modern day man called stuart back into the modern day age from 1867 where he meets the neighbour and ex grifriend of stuarts kate. both kate and leopold are bemused by their way of life and after a few akward hiccups then begin to bond and fall in love leopold the quientisessntil gentleman makes kates ( and any female movie watchers..) heart melt as he trys to win her over using his old age techniquies kate being a modern woman is trying to win a promtion and is slightly afraid of falling in love again
leopold has once chance to go back to his era is this the end for kate and leopold ?? one way to find out is too watch it ! it is a girly movie but guys could get a few tips off mr hugh jackman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silly but Sweet, 6 Oct. 2010
By 
Amy Connolly "book addict" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
As romcoms go it's pretty average. There's more comedy bits than romance bits, but they are funny enough that it makes up for it. The plot is actually more original (time travel involved!) than the typical romcom so that makes it more interesting.

I'm not a fan of Meg Ryan so that probably why I can't rate it higher. I do love Hugh Jackman though. This isn't his greatest film by far (in fact, bit of a flop) but he does good and it's always enjoyable just to watch him.
I also love Liev Schreiber so that added to the enjoyment.

A sweet and easy going film for a girls night in. I've seen it I don't know how many times. It's definitely a guilty pleasure.
If you like other Meg Ryan films you'll like this one. Similar to: Maid in Manhattan, Runaway Bride, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kate & Leopold [DVD]
Kate & Leopold [DVD] by Meg Ryan (DVD - 2011)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews