Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute guilty pleasure
This movie is an absolute gem.

The story as i'm sure you may know is about a modern day NYC girl and an 18th Century Duke who through a time hole meet up and fall in love.
Yes I know it sounds soppy, yes I know it sounds a little nauseating but this movie is pure joy

The acting and chemistry between Ryan and Jackman is beautiful and you can't...
Published on 19 Aug 2008 by James Walls

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Poor Blu-ray Release
If you're reading this you probably already know about the film; and if not there are plenty of reviews on the 'net detailing people's opinions. Personally, I bought this film based purely on the price at the time (Blockbuster's bargain bin ex-rental for £3) and its two stars - both of whom I really like in other films.
At the time I was very pleased to discover that...
Published on 14 Aug 2012 by Pantheon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute guilty pleasure, 19 Aug 2008
By 
James Walls (Nr Stroud, Gloucester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This movie is an absolute gem.

The story as i'm sure you may know is about a modern day NYC girl and an 18th Century Duke who through a time hole meet up and fall in love.
Yes I know it sounds soppy, yes I know it sounds a little nauseating but this movie is pure joy

The acting and chemistry between Ryan and Jackman is beautiful and you can't help but get so involved in the characters and their lives and loves.

The horseback scene is genius, you'll never be able to hear anyone talking about the Louvre without quivering, and the roof top dinner will become your benchmark for all future dates.

On a lighter side, the joy of the DVD is there are actually a few deleted scenes which somewhat change the story, but due to test screenings and some clever people realising what the scriptwriters didn't, managed to stop this slight, ahem, faux pas from being released in it's original form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Poor Blu-ray Release, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kate & Leopold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you're reading this you probably already know about the film; and if not there are plenty of reviews on the 'net detailing people's opinions. Personally, I bought this film based purely on the price at the time (Blockbuster's bargain bin ex-rental for £3) and its two stars - both of whom I really like in other films.
At the time I was very pleased to discover that the ex-rental DVD which listed no extras on the cover was actually pretty packed with bonus material - including a Director's Cut.
Well, I watched the Theatrical Release first and loved it.
A few days later I watched the Director's Cut and was totally underwhelmed - because (MILD SPOILER) the ending is given away within the first few minutes by seeing Kate at Leopold's house. Then, there were other scenes inserted which didn't particularly add to the film's story or charm. So, I never watched the DC again because, in my opinion, the Theatrical version is far superior.
So...that brings us to the Blu-ray. Well, if, like me, you prefer the Theatrical Version of this wonderful film you are going to be very disappointed with this release because it ONLY contains the Director's Cut. Even my ex-rental DVD has the option to watch either version. On this BD you only get one version.
Also, I agree with the previous reviewer, that the picture quality is not particularly great. It's certainly NOT blu-ray quality. Like other Miramax release (see my Teaching Mrs. Tingle review) they seem to have simply stuck a standard definition version of the film onto a blu-ray disc.
The features are all present (except the Theatrical Cut obviously) and there is an upgrade in the sound to a DTS-HD Master 5.1 track which actually is a big improvement.
However, even though I would happily give the film 4 stars, I can only give this BD release 2.
Personally, I feel that the cover should state that the version on the disc is NOT the theatrical version; but there's nothing warning you about this. I will admit that it's been 9 years since I'd seen the DC and upon re-watch it wasn't as bad as I remembered, so I'm keeping the BD. But, I would definitely buy again to get a remastered version of the Theatrical Cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...I Don't Want Him Dressed! I Want Him Resplendent!" - Kate & Leopold on BLU RAY, 1 Jun 2012
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kate & Leopold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
*** BLU RAY Reissue ***

Very old-fashioned in its own way - and possessing a great bunch of actors clearly enjoying themselves - "Kate And Leopold" is still a lovely movie to watch - even now.

Unfortunately the BLU RAY reissue of it is good rather than great. The print is pretty in some outdoor New York sequences for sure - streets - Central Park (a definite improvement) - but indoors it all too often falls down with blocking, grain and fuzzy definition. There are even embarrassing scenes where you can see Hugh Jackman's red lipstick! And you notice Meg Ryan's truly awful pout lips more than you should. She's a lovely actress and Jackman a debonair lead - I just wish the transfer did them more justice.

I was going to buy this to own - but I'd advise renting first 'before' you waste fifteen quid on it...or wait until it's cheaper at some later date...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just great fun, 24 Jun 2007
By 
Sofia (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
So, it's a rom-com with a time-travel twist - not an obvious combination but one that pretty much comes off if you don't take it too seriously (it is a rom-com after all).

The premise is that Kate's (Meg Ryan) ex-boyfriend discovers a portal to 1876 and follows his ancestor Leopold (Hugh Jackman) until he in turn follows him back through the portal to 2001. The ex-boyfriend then has an accident and that leaves Leopold free to roam and Kate and her brother nominally in charge of looking after him. You can pretty much tell where this is going, but the jokey detail (poking fun at the different use of language and the different customs in the two eras; the effects of all this time-travel on New York's elevator system) makes this an enjoyable ride.

Hugh Jackman is excellent and totally credible in the role of Leopold and at his best when marvelling at the new world or exposing the failings of those around him. Meg Ryan is predictable Meg Ryan. Her part is not particularly sympathetic but she plays it typically with a selection of faces and clumsy pratfalls for relatively pointless comic effect. Breckin Meyer as her brother is great fun but Liev Screiber as the ex is strangely lifeless.

As the "making of" documentary will tell you, the premise of the film is utterly ridiculous and does not support any kind of scrutiny, but if you accept it for what it is, it's great fun and definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly above average romantic comedy., 18 Dec 2004
By 
Elise (Southend on Sea, UK) - See all my reviews
Like most romantic comedies this will not shake you to your foundations with the originality of its basic premise. It's boy (from the late nineteenth century) meets girl (from the turn of the twenty-first). But it's nicely done and it looks more convincing than something so obviously daft (he falls through a rip in time and just happens to end up in the flat above the woman of his dreams).
I have to admit that Hugh Jackman is more of a reason to watch it than Meg Ryan (and that's not just from the looks point of view). Her character is cold and has a fairly unattractive personality, whereas his character is warm and charming. In fact you could wish that he ended up with someone more pleasant, really. Hence the three stars rather than perhaps four, romantic films should let us see why each of the characters falls for the other, and while Leopold is irresistible, Kate is definitely not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under the glossy surface, it's adult entertainment, 1 Jan 2004
Having seen this film unwillingly in the cinema, I was so charmed by it that I bought the DVD and enjoyed it even more watching it with a running commentary from the director. Viewed separately, the "bath" and "speech" scenes that were cut had me rolling on the floor.
It's an easy film to feel superior to if you're not tuned to its wry self-satire. An interesting essay could be written about its use of food as a metaphor for the two contrasting civilizations. Does is romanticize the past? Of course! Is the plot full of holes? Certainly -- but then, so is a Swiss cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy Rom-Com, 18 Feb 2008
By 
Eve (stoke on trent, staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantasy rom-com. That pitch doesn't really trip of the tongue or inspire you does it? Yes it's a romantic time travel comedy.

Two people both dissatisfied with where they are in life and something is missing, each other, how sweet. Even so the fact that these two get together doesn't so much feel like fate as convenience. Who doesn't feel like something or someone is lacking in their life?

I do feel I've seen Meg Ryan play this part a dozen times before, she plays it well enough but perhaps someone less well known for this particular role could have made it feel fresher?
The supporting cast, Liev Schrieber, Brekin Mayer and Bradley Whitford do very well and without their talents this film could well have been a stinker.
Hugh Jackman, is the best reason to watch, once again showing the charisma and ability that is making him a star.
Ladies may want to watch this alone, if you're watching with your partner they may have to tolerate your emotions ranging from thinking Leopold is something of a hunk to digging your elbow towards your boyfriend because he isn't as charming/chivalrous/romantic as Leopold.

The directors cut allows more exposition which makes it over all a better film. To really enjoy it you must switch off the part of your brain that knows that La Boheme came out approximately 20 years after Leopold was supposed to have 'leapt' in to the future. Simple gaffes that could have been avoided.
So sit back, switch off the critical thinking and enjoy some simple but pleasing romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...AND THE WINNER IS...HUGH JACKMAN!, 26 Jan 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kate & Leopold (VHS Tape)
Hands down, this romantic comedy is a Hugh Jackman vehicle, as he totally steals the show from Meg Ryan. Jackman plays the role of the Duke of Albany, Leopold Mountbatten, an English nobleman visiting his uncle in New York in 1876. At his uncle's behest, Leopold is to find a rich socialite to marry, so that he may replenish the family's depleted coffers.
While at a ball in his uncle's New York house, awash with rich and eager heiresses, he notices a stranger who had earlier caught his attention. He follows the stranger and finds himself in the year 2001, as he falls through a portal in time. Landing in the apartment of Stuart Besser (Liev Schreiber), the stranger whom he had followed, he soon meets Kate McKay (Meg Ryan), Stuart's former girlfriend of four years and a modern day Everywoman. Let the games begin.
What follows is nothing earth shattering. In fact, it is pretty predictable. Leopold and Kate fall in love, though the big question is why, as there is nothing to suggest why they should. Meg Ryan does her usual Meg Ryan thing, though she is starting to get a bit little long in the tooth to be playing the brash, cutesy ingenue. She is, in fact, getting to be quite tiresome in these sorts of roles, as she plays them all exactly the same, making them virtually indistinguishable one from the other. She needs to extend her range, before her adoring public stops adoring her.
Jackman, however, does a star turn with his gently effective and ingratiating portrayal of Leopold. He is simply sensational. Charming, handsome, and warm, with a light British accent that rings true, he is totally believable as a chivalrous gent from another time. Jackman totally upstages Ryan without meaning to do so. It is a good thing that he does. Were he not to have done so, the film would most likely have totally tanked. Clearly, Hugh Jackman is big time, leading man material.
Liev Schreiber is unappealing as the film's erstwhile time traveler and Kate's ex-lover, Stuart Besser, who, it turns out, is the great, great grandson of the Duke. Moreover, it is not believable that Stuart and Kate would ever have dated, much less have been lovers for four years, as there is no chemistry between them. Still, it is more believable than the relationship that blossoms between Leopold and Kate. The happy ending also makes Stuart's and Kate's former relationship somewhat distasteful, if not downright incestuous, in retrospect.

The rest of the supporting cast is fine with an excellent performance by Breckin Meyer in the role of Charlie McKay, Kate's somewhat goofy, but lovable, cute, younger brother. Bradley Whitford of West Wing fame also gives a winning performance as J.J. Camden, Kate's smarmy boss, who ultimately has second thoughts about what constitutes professional behavior and lets the cream rise to the top, so to speak.
All in all, this is a moderately entertaining film, all but forgettable, but for the memorable performance of Hugh Jackman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...AND THE WINNER IS...HUGH JACKMAN!, 9 Jan 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Hands down, this romantic comedy is a Hugh Jackman vehicle, as he totally steals the show from Meg Ryan. Jackman plays the role of the Duke of Albany, Leopold Mountbatten, an English nobleman visiting his uncle in New York in 1876. At his uncle's behest, Leopold is to find a rich socialite to marry, so that he may replenish the family's depleted coffers.
While at a ball in his uncle's New York house, awash with rich and eager heiresses, he notices a stranger who had earlier caught his attention. He follows the stranger and finds himself in the year 2001, as he falls through a portal in time. Landing in the apartment of Stuart Besser (Liev Schreiber), the stranger whom he had followed, he soon meets Kate McKay (Meg Ryan), Stuart's former girlfriend of four years and a modern day Everywoman. Let the games begin.
What follows is nothing earth shattering. In fact, it is pretty predictable. Leopold and Kate fall in love, though the big question is why, as there is nothing to suggest why they should. Meg Ryan does her usual Meg Ryan thing, though she is starting to get a bit little long in the tooth to be playing the brash, cutesy ingenue. She is, in fact, getting to be quite tiresome in these sorts of roles, as she plays them all exactly the same, making them virtually indistinguishable one from the other. She needs to extend her range, before her adoring public stops adoring her.
Jackman, however, does a star turn with his gently effective and ingratiating portrayal of Leopold. He is simply sensational. Charming, handsome, and warm, with a light British accent that rings true, he is totally believable as a chivalrous gent from another time. Jackman totally upstages Ryan without meaning to do so. It is a good thing that he does. Were he not to have done so, the film would most likely have totally tanked. Clearly, Hugh Jackman is big time, leading man material.
Liev Schreiber is unappealing as the film's erstwhile time traveler and Kate's ex-lover, Stuart Besser, who, it turns out, is the great, great grandson of the Duke. Moreover, it is not believable that Stuart and Kate would ever have dated, much less have been lovers for four years, as there is no chemistry between them. Still, it is more believable than the relationship that blossoms between Leopold and Kate. The happy ending also makes Stuart's and Kate's former relationship somewhat distasteful, if not downright incestuous, in retrospect.

The rest of the supporting cast is fine with an excellent performance by Breckin Meyer in the role of Charlie McKay, Kate's somewhat goofy, but lovable, cute, younger brother. Bradley Whitford of West Wing fame also gives a winning performance as J.J. Camden, Kate's smarmy boss, who ultimately has second thoughts about what constitutes professional behavior and lets the cream rise to the top, so to speak.
All in all, this is a moderately entertaining film, all but forgettable, but for the memorable performance of Hugh Jackman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute winner, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate & Leopold [DVD] (DVD)
A 'must have' movie featuring Meg Ryan and Hugh Jackman, ably supported by Liev Schreiber. For fans of modern romance with a touch of whimsy, this is one to add to your library. Originally purchased years ago in VCR format (!) it was time to add a DVD version.
For fans of Meg Ryan -and who isn't- this rollicking tale just ticks all the boxes. Do buy it, it is so affordable and will appeal to females and males alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kate & Leopold [DVD]
Kate & Leopold [DVD] by Meg Ryan (DVD - 2011)
£5.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews