Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2013
Great film! Don't overlook this film. It's not really one for the family to sit down to - not because of violence of sexual scenes but it's graphic enough where it should be - instead of most modern-day films where it's overkill on special effects, violence or sexual scenes that really just leave the viewer wishing they hadn't bothered. No, this film is cool - cool in an understated way & brilliantly cast. Every part of the film is good, and both my wife & I were definitely left having watched a good film & feeling entertained.
No problems recommending this film to family or friends. Enjoy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 September 2015
This off-beat stylish 1990s violent underworld thriller has a dark foul-mouthed humour running through it and tells the tale of Andy Garcia’s Jimmy the Saint, an ex-gangster attempting to run a legitimate business but unexpectedly made an offer that he can’t refuse by Christopher Walken’s Man with the Plan, his former boss, a psychotic paraplegic in a wheelchair. The screenplay is riddled with characters with similar nicknames such as Critical Bill, Pieces, Franchise and Mr. Shhh. In my opinion, the use of affected street-patois on occasion borders on the painful, and if it wasn’t for the sporadic menace and brutality you would think that the film was a parody of gangster-noir and Tarantino-esque movies (perhaps it is). Garcia is excellent as the smooth, suave protagonist and the crew he enlists to assist him in carrying out his assigned task consist of quirky characters superbly played by a range of well-known actors. However, it is Walken who dominates proceedings with his scenery chewing performance as he spews out colourful profanities, mostly directed at Jimmy, his frustrations coming to the fore when he finds out that things didn’t quite work out as planned. You just know that it will end badly for all concerned. Definitely a minor classic of its genre.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 February 2015
With a terrific, unusual cast, a superbly crafted screenplay by Scott Rosenberg, and atmospheric direction by Gary Fleder, this latterday film noir is a delight.
Andy Garcia is told by local Denver kingpin Christopher Walken (in his most haunted, cold-eyed mode) to put the frighteners on the fiance of his paedophile son's onetime girl. So Garcia gets together a dubious gang from 'the old days' to carry out what ought to be a simple job.
Guess what? It isn't simple, and a lot goes wrong.
That's it from me for plot. But it's a good plot, with interesting, and often very funny detours along the way.
The whole cast seems entranced by the film they've found themselves in, and appear to be having a ball. the rather underrated Garcia is just great, Christopeher Lloys makes me realise how much I like this veteran actor, Walken chews the scenery as much as only he could from a wheelchair, Treat Williams is perfect as a disturbed wild card, William Forsythe is solid and likable as the family man of the gang, Bill Nunn (as the character Easy Wind) gives great value, Jack Warden is wonderful as a kind of Greek chorus commenting on and explaining the story to buddies in a local cafe, Steve Buscemi (who else!) is suitably minimalist as the drolly named contract killer Mr Shhh, Gabrielle Anwar is mistily romantic as Andy's angelic on-off lover, while Fairuza Balk is brilliant as local messed up punk girl Lucinda.
You'll also find bluesman Buddy Guy in a couple of scenes, and Don Cheadle crops up briefly too.
The varied soundtrack is well chosen - and any film that starts with Tom Waits growling out Jockey Full of Bourbon and ends with Warren Zevon singing the 'title song' is going to have something going for it.
Other reviewers have mentioned Tarantino as an influence, but I didn't get that at all. It looks further back than that, to those dark forties dramas, only with a nineties look and feel. If anything, it's less self-consciously 'cool' than a Tarantino movie. More like the Coen Brothers at their darkest and drollest, I'd say.
Garcia's controlled performance is what anchors the film, but he's helped no end by some of the best in the business, and a script any actor would want to get their chops round.
One to watch more than once - a keeper.

As the man says: huge drinks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
A great little movie that i had the privilege of seeing at the cinema and more recently on DVD.

One reviewer states that this is derivative of Tarantino, i don't think so. Tarantino just rehashes old movies he thinks no one has heard of. For example, reservoir dogs is a remake of City on Fire and I imagine everyone and their aunt knows inglorious bastards is a remake of a little know Italian exploitation move.

Anyway to this movie. It has everything. A killer cast, Christopher Walken, Christopher Lloyd,Andy Garcia et all. A good story and an excellent soundtrack which includes songs from Tom Waits and the criminally underrated Warren "werewolves of London" Zevon. Overall a better movie, in my opinion, than Tarantino could ever dream of making.

Pop the DVD in the player, have a beer or two to hand and enjoy this underrated classic.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
One of a host of Tarantino-inspired mid-1990s slick, violent crime thrillers Things to Do in Denver... really should be terrible. But, despite some overdone dialogue (there are several forced attempts to coin odd phrases) and the clumsy device of customers from Jimmy's 'afterlife' video messages business providing commentary, it's got a good, surprisingly sweet heart.

Some careful direction and fine acting really gets across the sense of friendship among the luckless hoods. Andy Garcia is very good as the more-or-less reformed nice guy but everyone else chips in with worthy performances from a decent ensemble cast - including Fairuza Balk as a spiky hooker, Christopher Lloyd as a porn projectionist with a mystery disease, Treat Williams as a headcase old friend, Christopher Walken as a wheelchair-bound local crime boss and Steve Buscemi as a near-silent assassin.

It's not a classic awaiting discovery but it is a couple of hours of good, solid entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
I bought this video for a friend who had expressed interest in it! I did not think it would be my cup of tea, but I loved it! All the actors in it give superb performances, and the storyline is enthralling! Well worth a watch!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Thanks to Tarantino, there was a spate of cool hip gangster movies in the 90s and I think this is one of the better ones. Good cast, nice dialogue, interesting story and some nice cuts. Very much of a time, but I think it's stood up well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2012
What can i say about this film it came out shortly after pulp fiction and somehow people claim it's a pulp fiction rip off this film shares barely anything in common with pulp fiction other than they're both crime drama's. I recommend this film to everybody i know not only is the cast great,consisting of christopher walken,steve buscemi,william forsythe,andy garcia to name a few. the whole cast is outstanding you get a little background to each character which is nice and the dialogue in this movie is great. andy garcia is the standout performance in the film he plays jimmy the saint an ex gangster if you like pulled back in by mob boss chris walken. To sum this film up i would go as far as saying this would be in my top 10 film's ever! it's original and definitely an underrated gem!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Black as night!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)