Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Somehow, in that unguarded moment of memory, he had managed to reach me"
Bryony Ashley's father is critically injured by a hit and run driver, and he's only able to live long enough to leave a cryptic warning that she's in danger, the rest of his words seem to make no sense at all. Or do they? Devastated, she returns to her cottage near Ashley Court, the family's ancient estate in England, which cannot be sold or broken up without the approval...
Published on 27 July 2009 by Misfit

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Touch not the cat
I love all Mary Stewart's books. . Touch not the cat is one you can not put down, one has to find out who LOVER is. Great book.
Published 16 months ago by Elizabeth Gemmell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Somehow, in that unguarded moment of memory, he had managed to reach me", 27 July 2009
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Bryony Ashley's father is critically injured by a hit and run driver, and he's only able to live long enough to leave a cryptic warning that she's in danger, the rest of his words seem to make no sense at all. Or do they? Devastated, she returns to her cottage near Ashley Court, the family's ancient estate in England, which cannot be sold or broken up without the approval of all members of the Ashley family. As she tries to sort the puzzle left by her father, Bryony also has a secret of her own to resolve - longer than she can remember she's had a telepathic connection with an unknown "lover" who she believes will reveal himself in the flesh to her when the time is right, and she's always felt it was her cousin James.

Ashley soon finds things amiss at the Court. Small, but valuable items are missing. A mysterious stranger spotted shuffling through church records, and a book of ancient records turns up missing. Who is the Cat her fathered referred to in his last words - the family emblem of the Scottish Wildcat and their motto Touch not the cat? Or is Cat for Cathy, the Underhill's daughter? How is it that the long neglected garden maze is the same design as the family emblem? Is there a secret tied into the pavilion at the center of the maze, and the Ashley ancestor who built it for his lovers? What secret does the book found in the old library with the same family emblem hold? What intrigues are her twin cousins James and Emory up to, and why do they need to set up alibis for each other?

Need the answers? Read it for yourself. Although this one started off a bit slow and it took me forever to see where Stewart was taking the story, once she gets all the lose ends wrapped up they all came together in a spectacular nail-biting finish in the midst of a whopper of a storm with deadly consequences. There are plentiful twists, turns and surprises that will keep you guessing and turning the pages. A definite must for Stewart fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable and Strangely Comforting, 21 May 2012
By 
Dolphin (Stuck inside a cloud) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Touch Not the Cat (Hardcover)
This is one of those books that I enjoy re-reading from time to time, in fact I have just bought it again in hard cover as my old paperback was in pieces.

In this era of portable phones and ever-present electronic communication, the concept of "thought transference" may sound tame and obsolete, but if one is prepared to be transported back to a simpler time (and, let's face it, for most of us fiction represents escapism), entering this novel's atmosphere will plunge the reader into a world at once disconcerting and curiously comforting.

The "gift" of the Ashleys provides an eerie recurring theme which runs through the story like a golden thread, and there is plenty of intrigue, dark deeds and greed-fuelled violence, however, the dominating element is romance. In this novel, Mary Stewart gives us an unashamedly romantic love story, in fact more than one, as there is a parallel subplot running alongside the main one. In fact, we are immediately made aware of the author's intent as the literary quotes that introduce each chapter are all taken from that quintessential celebration of love, "Romeo and Juliet". Several clichés are used to define some of the characters but the main players are richly nuanced and, as usual, we are never sure of who's who until the very end. The mystery here revolves around the last words of a dying man which seem to make no sense but, in time, provide the solution to many old secrets and also point the way forward for the heroine.

Lady Stewart really is a powerful narrator and many of the scenes, especially those taking place at night, stay with me as if I had watched a film, instead of reading a book. It's difficult to explain why but this story always leaves me with a warm glow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her Best, 1 Aug 2011
All of Mary Stewart's books are brilliant but this one, Thornyhold and The Ivy Tree are particulaly good, she writes with poise and flair and I for one get very involved in the story.
A brilliant writer, much missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars touch not the cat, 26 Feb 2012
This book was a great read if you enjoy romantic fiction with an added splice of crime fiction and a mystical edge. The scenes abroad and in England were pleasingly accurate and you soon discover Lady Mary Stewart has a descriptive talent second to none. It was my first book by her and I will be reading more. The characters were a range of gripping, scary, heroic, and loveable, and none of the outcomes of their actions were initially obvious or the events foreseeable. In fact there were quite a few unexpected surprises along the way, so if you normally get the answers quickly you may enjoy a bit of suspense in the unwinding of this strange story with its delving into mind transference, family jealousies and greed, and the trials of inheritance .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, 7 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This book is an enjoyable read and keeps you guessing right up to the end.The book is a great mixture of romance and exciting action, It was almost impossible to put down. A great read for a cold winter evening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars typical Mary Stewart, 5 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the typical Mary Stewart mix of romance and faerie- but so well written it draws you in nevertheless.
An original plot device - I didn't get the twist till quite late (as the writer intended!)
I was glad to rediscover it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch Not the Cat (Paperback)
Love Mary Stewart's books, especially her modern classic selection. This book continues the excellent series so far. I have a number of her modern classic books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touch not the cat, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch Not the Cat (Kindle Edition)
I love this book . Although outraged now it still has a nice ring to it as it did when I read it for the first time in the 80's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable mystery, 4 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Touch Not the Cat (Hardcover)
Two stories in one, as each chapter starts with a scene from a previous era which becomes more and more relevant to the main story as the narration progresses. All her young life, Bryony Ashley has experienced a kind of thought communication with someone whom she believes to be one of her cousins. When her father is killed in a hit-and-run accident, she has to return to the family mansion in England to deal with the legalities of her inheritance. Before dying her father tried to convey a message to her about danger, but his words make no sense and Bryony is left with more than one mystery to unravel.

This is superb entertainment, beautiful narrated, engagingly paced and full of surprises. The suspense element is masterfully blended with a strong romance and great characterization. One of the best novels by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love Mary Stewart, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favoutite of her books. I've read it many many times since my first read at 14. Still a jewel & no matter that I know the story, the writing is still a pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Touch Not the Cat
Touch Not the Cat by Mary Stewart
5.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews