Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars118
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2011
a really good story from beginning to end, rosie brings the characters alive, you lose yourself in the story you just have to keep reading, and a real tearjerker, just make sure you have tissues handy.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
Based on previous reviews I decided to take the plunge and buy this book, never having read any of Rosie's books before. I was hooked from the very first page. The personalities of the main characters were very credible and the story flowed very well. It was easy to follow without being predictable and I couldn't wait for the next opportunity for me to pick up the book. Would thoroughly recommend - buy it now!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
I find this book well reseaarched and if you know nuneaton you walk with Rosie from the beginning of the book right through to the end. I have read all of your books Rosie but this one really pulls at the heart strings and when you read it, its just as though you are part of it. This is a good read and the hankies should be at hand.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 February 2012
tear jerker,history ,romance,war,love,heartbreak this book as it all,a jewish family escape from germany to england at the start of world war 2,they settle in nuneaton and buy a shop,they soon become a well loved family by the neighbours,but they say all is fair in love and war but not in this case as Adina falls in love with a german pow,so what choice does the poor girl have and how does she choose,powerfull reading i could not put this book down,i would highly recommend this book to you if you are a fan of romance and you love a good tear jerker,make sure though you have a ankie ready.thanks amazon for a great price and free pp
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
Whatever you do, don't think you can read this book and leave it at the end of a chapter. Rosie has once again filled this story with goings on and cliff hangers that you can't help yourself but keep reading. the research done in the writing of this book shines through as, Rosie explores the lives of a Jewish family escaping from Germany at the start of the war and weaves local wartime facts of the goings on in Nuneaton into the story. As always, the characters are fully formed and believable and the story is well paced.
Another fabulous book and a good read. Well done Rosie!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
All Rosie Goodwin books have a great story. You will find it hard to put down. Need to read them all.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
An insight into the lives of Jewish refugees who fled to England from Germany during WW2, and the consequences of falling in love with a German prisoner of war. Also a very poignant ending!.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
I've just finished reading A Band of Steel. I found it aborbing with well rounded characters that drew me into the story.
The Schwartz family escape from Germany to Nuneaton where their life begins anew. Adina's story is cleverly woven making
it a page turner. An interesting and informatative book of intrigue and romance set around WW2.

Having enjoyed reading most of Rosie's books, I loved A Band of Steel, a unique book and one of Rosie's best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
Yet another excellent and very enjoyable story written by Rosie Goodwin. I am looking forward to reading another very soon!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Rosie Goodwin at her best.this story had me completely immersed in the characters.it was a completely different perspective and without given anything away I can honestly say I just found myself living.the whole story and was sorry to come to their last page of this kindle edition.I.certainly recommend it.to all rosie goodwin fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99
£2.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.