Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars McCartney just being McCartney...
I bought this album on vinyl when I was about 15 (in 1982 or so) - having already exhausted the Beatles back catalogue, I set about moving onto the solo releases - but isn't that what everyone does? - and I absolutely loved it.
Twenty or so years later, I still think it's a great little record. If you like Paul McCartney, then you'll love this album - every song...
Published on 7 Jan 2004 by Mr Sean ONeale

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A gentle little album, that just happens to be of historic importance
So this was it: the end of the Beatles. Although Ringo Starr had released his Sentimental Journey a month earlier, nothing on it actively suggested the band was finished. Meanwhile, McCartney casually told the world (via a press release bundled in with the album) the Beatles were splitting up. It's not surprising that it met with some hostility, particularly from the...
Published 13 months ago by O. Derwood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying just for Maybe Im Amazed, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney (MP3 Download)
Some classic McCartney , Every Night and Maybe I'm Amazed but also some fillers. Once you hear Junk you will whistle it for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pauls break up album, 15 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mccartney (Audio CD)
This is a historically important record. From a man who rarely ever gives anything away in interviews, this is a clear document of where Paul truly was at the end of the Beatles. And the answer? All over the place.

If ever there's ever an album where it seems to be the product of a mad scientist, this is it. Paul McCartney is a genius. There is no question about it. His imagination and musical abilities have made him the most successful songwriter ever and this record shows him as close to the edge as I think he's ever been.

Written during and in the immediate aftermath of the break up of the Beatles. Macca went away and recorded and produced this all by himself, and it serves as I say, as a portrait of a man in crisis.

At times the beauty of McCartney comes out, at times the darkness of despair comes out. The world at this point seemed to be against him. The world was against him for breaking up the Beatles (as it had been claimed) and his three best friends, the other Beatles, were all seemingly against him too. All he had was Linda.

I think a lot of drink was drunk, a lot of tears shed, and he responded the only way he knew how, by making a record.

Don't by any means expect a polished record.. this is not polished! Its rough, raw, and the most exposed Paul McCartney has ever allowed himself to be. The whole record though is sprinkled by his effortless magic. He sounds like he was on the brink but still its clear, musically, he's a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has some good moments, but could have been better!, 28 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mccartney (Audio CD)
In view of his solo Beatles-era tracks (eg Come And Get It, Martha My Dear, Blackbird), this album has to be a disappointment. There are virtually no piano-led tracks - the exception is the wonderful Maybe I'm Amazed, and contrary to Paul's answer to his own question, it would have sounded so much better if George and Ringo had been present. It comes as little surprise to learn that Paul was very depressed after the break up of The Beatles, and was, by his own admission, drinking heavily. This album shows someone who doesn't really care about the end result, but with sonegs like Oo You, That Would Be Something and Teddy Boy (from the Let It Be sessions), it still contains some classic McCartney material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful creative album, 12 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mccartney (Audio CD)
At the time of this solo album the beatles had just split, but the album sounds like nothing like what paul did the beatles. I like every track but the tracks less than brilliant were the total music tracks like Momma Miss America. The tracks that stand are That Would Be Something, Man We Was Lonely and Maybe I'm Amazed.
Mainly a good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Grown Genius, 21 Dec 2004
By 
John Heaton (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mccartney (Audio CD)
Don't even begin to compare this album to 'Abbey Road' as that album is possibly McCartney's peak as a Beatle or otherwise which is a pretty difficult standard for ANYONE to match but here we have a collection of inspired gems that showed that McCartney without The Other Three could be just as rewarding in the context of a solo career. It's a different mood for sure but frequently he displays the sure-fire touch of genius that has graced his Beatles output. Who can argue that 'Maybe I'm Amazed' is not up there with his absolute best?....but let's not forget the forgotten gems from this album: 'Every Night' is about the most moving tender love song Paul has ever written, and that would include quite a few as we know. 'That Would Be Something' is beautiful in its simplicity and inspired melody....in 1970 the combination of his voice and such a melody was utterly captivating...and it has absolutely stood the test of time this one. Just listen to it. The bass playing is simply inspired. 'Junk' and 'Teddy Boy' are unaccountably Beatles rejects, no doubt because of the Klein situation and if it was due to some sort of Lennon 'quality control' then I'm sorry John, you got it wrong here...Big Time. Perhaps ' Man We Was Lonely' may have struggled to find its way onto a Beatles record, but that is just one more reason why the split was not the disaster it was held out to be at the time. The split gave George the freedom to do 'All Things' and Ringo the freedom to do the sublime country album that is "Beaucoups Of Blues" not the mention the freedom it gave Lennon to record his timeless first solo album which so eloquently expressed that The Beatles Dream Was Over. Or for Paul to record a song like 'Man We Was Lonely' without looking over his shoulder. Sad maybe that this band had to split up but can anyone really maintain that there was enough room for John, Paul, George and Ringo on a single LP anymore? They would have would have to release about 6 Double White Albums during the first half of the 1970s. I for one can appreciate the solo records as some sort of of culmination of the Beatles story, with no noticeable drop in quality until at least 1975. Or in my opinion not 'til the mid 1980s. We fans got four time more music as a result of the split and we should be grateful for that. An this album is where it all started, discounting earlier Zapple releases which don't really count in my opinion. Yes the way this band split up was a shame but the solo years 1970-1975 were up there with the group's output in terms of quality with very few exceptions. Here on this album McCartney is displaying the effortless melody and talent that few other artists have been capable of. McCartney in 1970 still walked on water as far as I'm concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overall mood tinged with sadness and tenderness..., 27 Jun 2000
By 
C. Cleveland (Dryden, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mccartney (Audio CD)
This album is several things: a declaration of independence from the Beatles, the first of three "homemade" albums, and a staking out of personal musical territory. Without big production, without his comfortable home in 'the best band in the world', McCartney simply says on the album: "This is what I do. I make music." The results, I think, are impressive. Among the lesser known songs, That Would Be Something combines a tone of delicate longing with some fine vocalizing; Man We Was Lonely has both folk and country flavors, and Kreen Akrore is an early example of purely instrumental McCartney. It's a complex, eerie, musical study in desperation, absorbing and moving. Not even Paul McCartney has written a better love song than Maybe I'm Amazed, of course, and the whole album is full of unexpected sounds that still sound fresh. McCartney is always intense, and intensely musical, even when he works mostly with himself. The overall mood is not typical of this most joyful of pop voices, but is tinged with sadness and tenderness. But even without his usual wacky humor and soaring elation, his music haunts and compels attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney (Audio CD)
Great value for money. Very interesting DVD footage. Came well packaged,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all good, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney (Audio CD)
every track could of been the beatles but no mr paul excells as usual i love it timeless stuff !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How it should have stayed !, 26 Jun 2006
By 
Arthur Dooley (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mccartney (Audio CD)
Paul McCartney's first...and easily finest...post Beatles solo album offers us a frustrating vision of what might have been if....

If Paul Mac hadn't sold his rock & roll soul to the devil and become 'Sir' Paul. If catchy pop a la Wings, hadn't taken his fancy and if he had moved in musical direction back to his Hamburg days instead of taking his Wings over America.

'McCartney' is a very minimalist record with Paul laying down all the instrumentation himself and recording it on a basic recording set up. The pared back sound is refreshing in an era when the pomp and excess of Prog rock was taking over. Instead we have a clean and simple mix of vocals..Paul & Lindas..and the sharp cut of guitar, drums and keyboards. Each element distinct and crisp.

For such a basic home made record,recorded when he was living 'rough' in his basic cottage on the Kintyre Peninsular, 'McCartney' offers one of his greatest and most enduring tracks. 'Maybe I'm Amazed' is powerful and emotionally uplifting today as when I first heard it in 1971.

If only he had stayed true to this concept of making records 'in the rough' he might have avoided his fate as an establishment crony. Sir Paul of Daily Mail-shire.

His genius deserved better !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney (Audio CD)
Item as described. Fast delivery. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

McCartney
McCartney by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews