Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice surprise, Paul at his most experimental
It's good to be thrown off balance every once in a while and this record certainly dose that! Before this, I'd only really heard stuff like "Flaming Pie" and "Flowers in the Dirt" - both containing great tunes but nothing quite as daring or uninhibited as this record. It seems that when McCartney is not thinking about the final outcome and just allows his mind to wonder...
Published on 3 Sep 2011 by Nick Stephenson

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Offbeat, with some great moments
Whoever said that out of the two reissues McCartney and McCartney II, that this is the best of the two needs their ears cleaned out. Where McCartney is an absolute classic, this is a pleasant enough album - most notable for how experimental it is rather than the music itself. There is some great stuff on here though and the sound quality of these remasters is superb. I'm...
Published on 15 Jun 2011 by G. M. Dobbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Offbeat, with some great moments, 15 Jun 2011
By 
G. M. Dobbs "gmdobbs" (wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
Whoever said that out of the two reissues McCartney and McCartney II, that this is the best of the two needs their ears cleaned out. Where McCartney is an absolute classic, this is a pleasant enough album - most notable for how experimental it is rather than the music itself. There is some great stuff on here though and the sound quality of these remasters is superb. I'm a McCartney fan and I love this album - I think the only other Macca album it resembles is Press to Play as both rely on unusual and surreal soundscapes, but if you're not a fan they you may be better avoiding this and checking out the more accessible stuff first, but McCartney becomes addictive and you will want to get this one eventually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice surprise, Paul at his most experimental, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
It's good to be thrown off balance every once in a while and this record certainly dose that! Before this, I'd only really heard stuff like "Flaming Pie" and "Flowers in the Dirt" - both containing great tunes but nothing quite as daring or uninhibited as this record. It seems that when McCartney is not thinking about the final outcome and just allows his mind to wonder and be excited by the process of making music (he never meant to put this out) that he comes up with stuff as original (and frankly barmy) as Temporary Secretary or Frozen Jap. The single 'Coming Up' has such a great feel to it because it is not polished! Yet he is still capable of excellent musicianship (his electric guitar playing interests me far more than say, Eric Clapton) and writes exquisite ballads like the closing track or Waterfalls. Sod the fact it's slightly self indulgent - it's called being highly creative! (and not always churning out schmaltz) A hidden gem of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Off The Wall, 5 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
Not your typical McCartney album,if your looking for pretty songs sung nicley forget it,`Yesterday`and `My Love`would not fit into this album at all,alot of electronic sounds,wierd voices and things that go bump in the night...ha ha ha...but when all said and done a brave and brilliant album,another reviewer said it was "his best solo album",well if it aint its dam near close to it,underated in my book,slated by the music critics but hey what do they know....not the place to start your McCartney collection,but when you got fed up with `Moon in June`...give it a try.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Macca, damn, you're nutty and brittle, 9 Sep 2002
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
Another curate's egg from the back catalogue of a highly underrated (Beatles work obviously excepted) and insane pop genius. 'Coming Up' is a brilliantly executed stoopid pop moment, a masterpiece of homemade disco. 'Temporary Secretary', one of Macca's loopiest tunes, must be heard to be believed. 'Waterfalls' is a lovely yet also deranged ballad. There's some bluesier stuff hanging around which is okay but less interesting. The synth-dominated instrumentals on what used to be Side 2 suggest that the permanently surprised one had been cocking an ear to Bowie's Berlin trilogy, but of course McCartridge being pop's premier optimist they come out all bouncy and happy, like. 'Darkroom' is wicked too. Altogether a funny, inventive pop record from an artist unafraid to be very, very silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me, McCartney's best solo album, 23 Dec 2005
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
McCartney II, it's Macca, by himself, writing music that nobody else could. I don't think there is any attempt to be trendy or particularly stylelized, or keep up with the new wavers or punks. I think the blight of McCartney's career has been people trying to second guess or expect a certain type of product from him. So when McCartney turns up with probably his most original release since he left the Beatles, a lot of people are unhappy that it isn't 'Band on The Run' or 'Venus and Mars' part two.
Prehaps as a result, McCartney II displays some of his outstanding melodys and dissonant styles of production that people never even tried to copy. "Temporary Secretary" is a good example of that. I'd love to see someone present me with another song with a structure anything like that. "Waterfalls", and "Summer's Day Song" show McCartney at his lyrical and melodic best, while ignoring nearly all production conventions. I mean, McCartney wouldn't even use a mixing desk when recording this album! Those who mock McCartney's collaborations in dance music, should check out "Darkroom", where he seems to predict or inspire several of the common motifs of the genre. And "One Of These Days" is one of those songs that would have been legendary if it had finished a Beatles album.
I am still amazed at how many people hate this album, but in my opinion it is a corker. Ok, Maybe 'Frozen Jap' or 'Front Parlour', might not be your cup of tea, but otherwise, you are getting eight superb Macca songs that have no parallel. But those of you who prefer your Macca trying to turn slight songs into another anthemic "Hey Jude" may have no interest here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, good in parts, but not up there with the four and five star albums he has produced., 19 April 2013
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
This is a curate's egg of an album and I have mixed feelings about it.

As he did after the breakup of the Beatles when he home-produced the great 'McCartney', Paul went home after Wings folded and produced this by himself, with the instruments plugged directly into the tape machine. It has that home-produced feel to it and there are tracks that sound, frankly, a bit rough. There are others, though, that are very good. So bear that in mind if you decide to buy this: it is quite idiosyncratic.

The album starts with 'Coming up' - an infectious rhythm and a catchy tune. Some people say that this side of Macca is lightweight and silly. The thing is, though, I challenge anyone to listen to it and then not have it in his / her head for the rest of the day. Once heard, never forgotten.

'Temporary Secretary' is one of those tracks that I like or dislike according to the mood I am in. 'Waterfalls' is a ballad that could have benefitted from higher production standards and a string backing, I reckon. A good melody though.

In all honesty, though some people love this album, I don't rate this as one of McCartney's best. Much of it is McCartney nurdling on his instruments at home to see what might evolve. But a Maccanurdle is better than most, so this album has its moments and it is worth owning and playing occasionally. I revisited it recently and found myself enjoying it more than I remembered.

It's interesting and it's certainly good in parts, but it's not, by any stretch of the imagination, up there with the four and five star albums he has produced. Three stars for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy but interesting curio, 6 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
One of the side-effects of the great success that The Beatles enjoyed was that it led them to believe they could release anything and it would find a willing audience. This attitude carried over into McCartney's solo work. Operating for most of the 1970's as his own producer and without anybody close to him to put the brakes on, he could easily go from the sublime Band On The Run to the ridiculous Mary Had A Little Lamb in a short space of time.

McCartney II, released in 1980, belongs to this same period. And in a way it's his last hurrah at putting out whatever he felt like, at least under his own name. In the future, experimental recordings would go out under aliases, such as The Fireman.

McCartney's next album, Tug of War (1982) would see him reunited with George Martin, and like the rest of his 80's albums and beyond, it would be solidly crafted, and therefore a little lacking in the wild and off the cuff moments that make McCartney II sometimes fascinating and sometimes just plain irritating.

The album yielded a couple of hit singles, Coming Up is a great slice of pop and Waterfalls is a lovely ballad, which he really needs to add into his live set.

A fairly unknown gem is the last track - One Of These Days - and Summer's Day Song is another strong song. Once you get past these, then your appreciation for the rest of the album may vary. The likes of Frozen Jap and Bogey Music are throwaway stuff which are impossible to imagine on Tug of War or Pipes of Peace.

Still we must be grateful that there was some sort of quality control in operation as some of the tracks included on the bonus disc - like Mr H Atom - are even less appealing.

A curate's egg then, but not without a certain wonky charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An oddball collection, but that is its charm., 11 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
Some of it kinda throwaway, very much homemade like its 1970 predecessor, McCartney 2 is certainly not for the casual fan. But its oddball nature is what makes it a charming little sidetrack from the Wings albums that preceded it and the (some might say) over-produced Tug of War and Pipes of Peace that followed. Coming Up is the ludicrously catchy single offering which most will remember, there are some instrumental pieces, and I suppose if I never hear Tempoary Secretary again I won't lose any sleep, but there are also some strong tunes here, particularly the curiously affecting Waterfalls. One to scratch your chin to....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent! Ahead of its time., 17 Jan 2008
By 
J. D. Weston "Joe" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
After a chance encounter with Temporary Secretary on the radio 1 i thought it was a new release! I was shocked to find this record recorded by Macca and being almost 30 years old.

Judging this album in its own right, it is fantastic. There is the pioneering electronica and sheer madness of Temporary Secretary, Secret Friend and Check My Machine, mellow blues on On the Way, Coming Up is a fun and upbeat number, whilst Waterfalls, One of these Days and Summers Day Song are decent ballads, Beatles-esqe if you like! Darkroom wouldnt seem too out of place on a Gorillaz album, the sheer variety on McCartney II means it probably has something to please everyone. If you are expecting to hear the Beatles, Wings or similar you'll want to ignore 80% of this album, but if you want 14 quality songs with about 5 different genres thrown in, this album is for you. If you've never bought a McCartney solo album before i definitely recommend this! Truly outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Farm, 13 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
Following his last ditch attempt to make Wings fly, here we see him return to the simplicity and quirkiness of his first solo record. He writes, produces, plays all the instruments and even makes the tea on this rather patchy affair.
On the plus side there are some fantastic ballads on board in Waterfalls, and the lesser known but far more effective One of These Days. There are some great rockers too with the hit single Coming Up and the unsung On The Way, which is an undiscovered gem.
Unfortunately there is also some of the niff naff and trivia which often make up the nether regions of McCartneys solo albums. Bogey Music is as worrying as it's title and much of the second side is a little bland - although the instrumentals are at least very pretty.
It's another case of McCartney not coming up with the expected and that in itself is to be applauded. This is even more noticeable on this reissue which has the long experimental synth workouts that were oringinally B-Sides to the attendant singles (Secret Friend is strangely exuberant - if a little long!).
McCartney was going through a very productive period around this time, as this album is flanked by the brilliant Back to The Egg and the pop mastery of Tug Of War. The quality here outways the filler by a fair ratio, and this is an album well worth further investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

McCartney II
McCartney II by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews