Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophie makes a scene!
I have to confess for having a real soft spot for Miss Ellis-Bextor and I have stuck with her through her career highs (Murder On The Dancefloor, Take Me Home) and lows (the low-charting of her second album). I have greatly enjoyed all her albums to date without exception and felt that her most recent offering 'Trip The Light Fantastic' was probably the strongest release...
Published on 12 Jun 2011 by Sam

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make A Scene
It takes a few listens to get into as as a bit different from her earlier work but if your a fan of Sophie then its worth a spin
Published 17 months ago by discofunkymonkey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright, 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: Make A Scene (MP3 Download)
Some good tunes on the album that are catchy and fun. Needs to be listened to quite a bit to really get into it.

Slow, ballad style songs need some serious attention!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Latest Album, 9 Aug 2011
By 
A. Wray (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make A Scene (MP3 Download)
Was going to see Sophie Ellis Bextor at Kew so thought I would get her latest album. Only listened to it a couple of times but it sounds good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MAKE A SCENE., 21 July 2011
This review is from: Make A Scene (MP3 Download)
I BOUGHT MAKE A SCENE CD BY SOPHIE ALLIS BEXTOR HAS I THINK SHE I A GREAT SINGER I HAVE A FEW OF HER CD AND I PLAY THEM MOST TIME'S.
LES PARSONS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!!, 27 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. C. Obst (South West London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
Great new material of Sophie Ellis Bextor. She probes one more time that there is no need to wear silly costumes (Lady Gaga) to be a respectable artist.
Love this new CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album !!!, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
Although the album was delayed a year, it is one of the best albums of the career of Sophie and one of the best CDs of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Magic!", 15 Jun 2011
By 
Greg Fowler "laterdanish" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make A Scene (MP3 Download)
Brilliant pop album , one of the years best - if not THE best of 2011. Don't write her off - she's hugely talented!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophie's Back On The Scene (With A Bang), 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
Sophie Ellis Bextor hasn't had much chart success of late and to be honest it is flabbergasting as the material she is producing is epic and anthemic. Amazingly she has been around for about 11 years and this only her 4th album, which has been pushed back several times with the first single being released almost 2 years ago, and the album being released in Russia 2 months before her home country but oh boy it is worth the wait

Revolution - 10/10 - Awesome start with a thumping beat, fab lyrics and a real aggression - potential single!!!!
Bittersweet - 10/10 - This didn't set the charts alight yet is timeless and almost anthemic with a fab beat
Off And On - 10/10 - One of the catchiest tracks with an infectious chorus and super verses resulting in a classic
Heartbreak - 9/10 - Still a great song but heard it so much that it is now a little old to me but i still love it
Not Giving Up On Love - 10/10 - A chilled relaxing summer smash that again should have been bigger - one of my faves
Can't Fight This Feeling - 9/10 - too familar to other tracks and not as memorable but still a great track
Starlight - 10/10 - Another epic laidback anthem which has beautiful lyrics and a great chorus - i love it
Under Your Touch - 8/10 - The most filler like track which is lacking something that would make it superb
Make A Scene - 10/10 - A really unique and different song that is not like any other artist - original yet awesome
Magic - 9/10 - Another anthemic mid-tempo tune with gorgeous lyrics but the chorus needs a little more 'wow' factor
Dial My Number - 10/10 - This is a really great uptempo song about stalkers and with a Sophie twist -sheer elegance
Homewrecker - 9/10 - A great song however it again is missing something that stops it from being fantastic
Synchronised - 10/10 - An amazing song with a fantastic choruses on the record - i want this to be a single!!!!
Cut Straight To The Heart - 10/10 -a great song to close with, a little darker and an epic finish

Overall, Sophie's 4th album is surely her best record with some killer songs, sure some of them have been heard and played to death on radio and in clubs but it still perfect to listen to and to chill out to - well done Sophie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four long years... but it was worth the wait, 13 Jun 2011
By 
M. D. Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
Finally, after endless delays, Sophie Ellis Bextor has released her fourth studio album, and I'm pleased to say it was worth waiting for.

This is her most dance-influenced album to date, as indicated by the two earlier singles 'Heartbreak Make Me A Dancer' and the criminally overlooked 'Bittersweet'. It's awash with infectious toe-tappers from the opening Cathy Dennis penned 'Revolution', the sassy sax of the title track and the epic Richard X production 'Magic'. However, it's not a non-stop dancefloor party; there are gorgeous mellower moments like the dreamy 'Starlight', the sweet, romantic 'Synchronised' and the album's powerful closer, 'Cut Straight To The Heart'.

Sophie has hinted at a change of musical direction for her next album - if so, she's ended the dance-pop era of her solo career on a high note, and I look forward to see what she comes up with next.... but please, don't make us wait another four years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long awaited stellar record, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
At last, Sophie Ellis-Bextor, the Queen of dancefloor as she was and is still called (easygoing and refined girl, very witty in interviews, lovely accent) releases her fourth album after four long years of awaiting. I admire her person and her albums since 2001 and her first self-titled release at the age of 21. She's an artist who did not specially had the light spotted on her the way she deserves (not as much as Alicia Keys, Sia, Kylie Minogue among female singers that I really like). It was the time when "Murder on the dancefloor" was on every one's lips, not only in France but also in UK, Europe as well of course as in Russia where she still a superstar. Then after her last album "Trip the light fantastic" a struggle emerged with her record company : different views, a restless situation, her album release in stand-by, etc. So she decided according to her own words to overcome the situation and she created her own label which let her the ability to choose how, when and where to release her next albums, including I hope, the production of other talented artists. This one in particular gives us a beautiful, inspired, charming, elegant album. One of those that count in a lifetime of an artist, with such an accomplishment in composition and lyrics. It's a classy, glossy, electro-pop album, featuring the hit singles "Heartbreak make me a dancer" -available since one year-, as well as "Magic", "Not giving up on love" with famous dutch DJ Armin Van Buuren, and "Can't fight this feeling" with the french DJ Junior Caldera. The sound of this album is very catchy ("Revolution", "Off and On"), very enthusiastic and Sophie's voice had never been so pure since the last album the so well titled "Trip this light fantastic".

I can't say I find a song lower in quality than another (except maybe "Make a scene" which is a typical grower) as the album grows slowly and takes a different angle from the song "Starlight" until the end : there's an impressive set of seven songs that just blew my mind until the climax with the two acoustic songs, the most delicate part of Sophie's personality and talent. Then she sings with some sort of a whispering sing, a very pure and soft voice. She moved me like never she did before, apart from the songs "Me and My Imagination", "Love is here", "Catch you" (a very catchy song indeed), "Today the sun's on us" (a brilliant and touching song) and "Move the mountain" . The B-Sides have also not to be forgotten : "Mr Friday", "Move to the Music", "Love is the law", "Colour Me In", "Down with love". Listen to them is falling in love with them. These titles are not so well-known but some of them are true gems. "Cut straight to the heart" is maybe the most intimate song she ever wrote and it's the perfect closure for her album. "Make a scene" was a long and eagerly-awaited album, and I'm not disappointed at all. She had recently declared that her next EP will be exclusively acoustic, without any note of electronic music. It's definitely sounds intriguing, and I'm very curious to hear the first songs of what could be a surprisingly different and deeply original album. So we can predict she should amaze us once again with another tone but the same voice again. She's a great singer and I just love her moves when she dances. All in all, "Make a Scene" is a perfect mix of modernism and classical electro with synths that sound like 80's vintage legacy. The only very bad news for the moment is that her album is not planned to be released in France in CD. We can have it from the sellers only. It's released in Luxembourg, Netherlands, Germany, UK, Russia for Europe. On I-Tunes for France only. French admirers have a good reason to be annoyed by that. Anyway I hope she will embrace success and then not to be forgotten like Nerina Pallot was in the early 2000's with her song "Little Patience", then suddenly her album in import was out of stock and did not had a second important release here in France. I'm also waiting for an official french release of her so remarkable album "Make a Scene".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed..., 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
I must admit after reading the reviews and hearing Sophie's previous releases and tracks I was a little disappointed with the sameness of each track on the album. Even the hit "Heartbreak (Make Me A Dancer)" seems to blend very easily with the rest. However, having said this the album is good, and a grower, its just not the grear album I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make A Scene
Make A Scene by Sophie Ellis Bextor (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews