Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophie makes a scene!
I have to confess for having a real soft spot for Miss Ellis-Bextor and I have stuck with her through her career highs (Murder On The Dancefloor, Take Me Home) and lows (the low-charting of her second album). I have greatly enjoyed all her albums to date without exception and felt that her most recent offering 'Trip The Light Fantastic' was probably the strongest release...
Published on 12 Jun 2011 by Sam

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make A Scene
It takes a few listens to get into as as a bit different from her earlier work but if your a fan of Sophie then its worth a spin
Published 17 months ago by discofunkymonkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophie makes a scene!, 12 Jun 2011
By 
Sam "kingathon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make A Scene (MP3 Download)
I have to confess for having a real soft spot for Miss Ellis-Bextor and I have stuck with her through her career highs (Murder On The Dancefloor, Take Me Home) and lows (the low-charting of her second album). I have greatly enjoyed all her albums to date without exception and felt that her most recent offering 'Trip The Light Fantastic' was probably the strongest release of her career. Both of the singles that had had mainstream releases here had more than whetted my appetite and I was therefore greatly looking forward to this album and the fact its release date has been continually pushed back has only served my desire to get my hands on it. I'll do a track by track review with some of my first thoughts.

1.Revolution-What an opener, it's quirky and in-your-face and definitely starts the album with a bang. If I had to make a criticism it would be that it's reference to 'Murder On The Dancefloor' cheapens it somewhat and feels as though she is attempting to relive past glories but even this isn't enough to dampen the spirit of the song as a whole. 8/10

2.Bittersweet-The synthy second single. Sophie's distant, angsty vocals are suited to this superb Freemasons collaboration and it really did deserve a higher chart position than it gained. 9/10

3.Off & On-A Calvin Harris collaboration and it is a true album highlight. There is no doubt that this should be a single as it is truly sensational! 10/10

4.Heartbreak (Make Me A Dancer)-Although this song was released quite some time ago and normally I get bored of songs quite quickly this remains probably my favourite song on the entire album. The chorus is sublime and Sophie's vocals are once again very suited to this material. 10/10

5.Not Giving Up On Love- Another single and this one had the least success of those thst have been released to date. This is a shame as once again it's another great dance-pop song. 9/10

6.Can't Fight This Feeling-This is once again a brilliant song, my one criticism here would be that it sounds a little too similar to what has immediately preceeded it. If you just heard this then it would probably stand out, but in the context of the album it blends in a little. 8/10

7.Starlight-The most recent single and this is almost a 'ballad', but of course one with a pulsating beat and Sophie has always shone on this kind of tracks. Happily this is no exception and once again it's a worthy single. 9/10

8.Under Your Touch-This is probably the first track on the album which does feel a bit like filler, which is a shame because until this point it really is a filler-free track list. It's OK, it's definitely not bad, but it is forgettable. 6/10

9.Make A Scene-This song sounds completely different to anything Sophie has done before. It has an off-kilter beat, a chorus featuring a saxophone and sultry almost spoken verses. Needless to say I love it. 9/10

10.Magic-After the brilliance of the title track it would seem a hard act to follow it, but 'Magic' does it brilliantly. A really laid back, but equally melodic pop tune. The track starts off with some 'ooo ooo ooo's but it's what follows that is truly magic. 10/10

11.Dial My Number-This track is saved by a brilliant chorus in which some quirky, almost old-fashioned harmonies take centre stage. However until it reaches that point there is every chance that the track could be the second filler track. This should not be a single but it's perfectly pleasant to listen to as I say in particular the chorus. 7/10

12.Homewrecker-A superb title for a song. It doesn't quite live up to it's title, but it comes pretty close. I love the story-telling nature of this track and lyrically it is quite strong. The chorus lets down it slightly by not feeling quite as epic as it perhaps should, but overall a strong addition to the album. 8/10

13.Synchronised-The second ballad on the album and this has even more of a ballad feel than Starlight does. Sophie's vocals on the chorus are quite stunning and the chorus compliments the subtle, understated verses perfectly. The whole track is simply captivating! 10/10

14.Cut Straight To The Heart-The third and final ballad and this track has some beautiful instrumentation on it. It features Sophie's emotive vocals once again and perhaps it's only failing is not being quite as strong as 'Synchronised'. 9/10

Overall therefore Sophie has produced a coherent and quite frankly brilliant album which is (virtually!) devoid of filler. The strength of many of the tracks mean I feel unable to award it any less than five stars. For me this is up there with her best work and would be a worthy addition to any Sophie's fan, or indeed pop/dance music fan. I for one hope this hits the top ten although on the back of the performance of recent singles that seems unlikely, but at least from me it comes highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pop/ dance album for the summer, 13 July 2011
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
Last summer i couldnt get enough of Kylie's Aphrodite which was crammed full of killer tunes. Well this year, it seems Sophie Ellis Bextor's long awaited fourth album will fill that void this summer.

Long delayed, poorly promoted and singles that should have charted better if more had taken notice of them- all this has worked against this album being as big a hit as it should be.

Whereas Lady Gaga produces some great singles and some not so good ones and frankly poor and overrated albums, Sophie is the full package- great singles and a great album.

It is clearly evident that this album has had a lot of time and energy gone into it... it's a shame she hasnt made a bigger splash with it. There isnt a duff track among the 14 set.

My highlights-
Not Giving Up On Love- such a great song, short, snappy, but very instant, sticks in your head- should have been bigger last year

Starlight and Straight To The Heart- two very laid back, chill out tracks, i especially love the darker edge to Straight To The Heart

Off and On- may be a Roisin Murphy reject, but it is another great song with single potential

Homewrecker- love this song, very catchy

Bittersweet and Heartbreak - both may be quite old now but they are still fantastic songs... some of her best work...

Without doubt this album is Sophie's finest hour to date... she has immersed herself in dance music this time, she knows what works and sticks with it, this means the album is very cohesive and sits well as a collection of songs rather than some singles with filler around them.

People, dance music fans in particular, dont know what they are missing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Sophie, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
Fabulous - poppy - electro - all the things that one has come to expect from Ms Ellis-Bextor and more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite summer album!, 14 Oct 2011
By 
D. L. Carroll (Merseyside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
Every track is great...it reminds me a bit of Madonna's Confessions album....great for exercise....I have played it death...buy it, you won't be dissappointed...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album so far, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
This in my opinion is the best of all her albums. Each song is different from the last and fantastic in it's own right.

Very enjoyable listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album and production let down by poor marketing and record company., 29 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make A Scene (MP3 Download)
I consider this an excellent album, so many songs on there that aren't just fillers. Songs that you can tell had heart and soul put into them. I'd say it has to be one of Sophies, if not, her best. It has I feel been et down badly by bad marketing and poor choices. Why oh why did 3 or more singles come from this album before it was even released. Publicity for it was terrible, if non existent. The album deserves so much better than it go in the charts. Sadly these days it seems more about how you market and what money you throw at an album than it does about the talent and excellence of the songs. Sophie is I feel, VERY underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Killer no Filler!, 30 Jun 2011
This review is from: Make A Scene (MP3 Download)
This album is worth the money just for the title track alone. Even at my grand old age, it made me want to go to Ibiza to bop the night away, watching the sun rise.

I would call the album the cousin of Fever by Kylie. Apart from the last track, it's upbeat and none of the tracks particularly feel like fillers. Why the magnificent Heartbreak Make Me a Dancer wasn't a massive hit, I don't know. This is the perfect album to listen to on a Saturday night as you have a glass of wine and get ready to go out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
a truly amazing, a must in any collection drive, Sophie Ellis-Bextor pure and a truly remarkable price, thanks for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift greatly received, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
Bought this for my other half, it went down a treat. Camp as hell and good fun, a good pre-night out soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make A Scene (Audio CD)
Absolutely LOVE this album. All the tracks are excellent and I definitely couldn't choose a favourite. Sophie Ellis-Bextor at her brilliant best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make A Scene
Make A Scene by Sophie Ellis Bextor (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews