Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


139 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly Good!!
As a semi-pro acid-trance/techno and drum & bass DJ and promotor for 20 years, and a total Audiophile, I wasn't expecting too much from these, coz as a rule you do get what you pay for. But sometimes rules are meant to be broken, and these babies SMASH the rule book to bits! They have the same tech specs as Dr Dre's Beats and the shape, size and comfort of the seminal HD...
Published on 17 Nov 2011 by Mr. B. J. Waters

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deceiving Picture
They are good quality for money, but i will say the picture is a little deceiving, they are much smaller than they look in the picture.
Published on 17 April 2012 by Valerie Smith


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

139 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly Good!!, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone (Electronics)
As a semi-pro acid-trance/techno and drum & bass DJ and promotor for 20 years, and a total Audiophile, I wasn't expecting too much from these, coz as a rule you do get what you pay for. But sometimes rules are meant to be broken, and these babies SMASH the rule book to bits! They have the same tech specs as Dr Dre's Beats and the shape, size and comfort of the seminal HD 25's by Sennheiser. Having owned a pair of the latter, at 130, I wasn't expecting the HAS4X's to lay at the HD25's feet, let alone stand up to their shoulders! So, in laymans terms, what does all this mean in terms of sound? Alow me to help:

Low-end/Bass: The bass is strong, powerfull and amazingly tight, controlled and damn LOW, with a fast, punchey attack you just would never expect under 100! Add this to the fact that the bass NEVER becomes overpowering or gets in the way of the other frequencies, and the low, and even sub-bass low-end is catered for dynamicaly. Very impressive.

Low-Mid/Mid Range: This is the area that is the hardest for any headphones and speakers to reproduce without making it too weak, which makes it sound hollow, or too strong, which sounds too harsh, bright and down right awefull. These HAS4X's reproduce Mid frequencies with aplomb! Acid sounds are notoriously unforgiving, as they use all frequencies, from bass to treble, but mainly hang in the mid range, so if the mid is off in any way, you just won't get the spikey texture right, and I have to say that my Neurofunk d'n'b collection sounds fantastic through these babies! Guitars are handled with the same fidelity and controll, and again , my metal collection sounds awesome. I'm hearing instruments I never knew were in the song! There's Plenty of body to the sound, while incredibly managing to retain a good amount of transparency! Again, unheard of for under 100!

Treble/High end: The biggest mistake people make when reviewing ear/headphones, is not alowing them to 'run-in' for 24 hours. An engine won't run to it's best ability untill it's warmed up, and the same rule aplies to ALL music equipment! When you first listen to these, you may feel cheated, as although there is treble, it's not the over-bright, 'splashy' treble most people are used too with sub 100 'phones. WAIT!! Keep using them and you will start to realise that actualy, these have fantastic treble controll! They manage to reproduce the exact high end frequencies without adding any artifitial hiss, or splash. What I was Most impressed by was how capable these are at handling 'transients', like cymbal crashes, snare rim-shots and hi-hats etc. transients are the short, sharp, sudden and crisp treble sounds that normally get completely lost in the mix and even when they are present, they tend to sound splashy and loose. The HAS4x's handle transients astoundingly well! cymbals, rim-shots, snare drums and even triangles and tamborines can be heard CLEARLY in busy tracks, without being overpowering, and are sharp, controlled and have good attack.

What else can I add? The stereo soundstage is nigh-on perfect with an almost seamless blend throughout the frequencies, and even though these are not 'bright' sounding, don't mistake that for sounding muffled, as they are very open and airy. I really can't fault these headphones, as they sound as good as most in the 100-150 bracket. they are also SOLIDLY built, with a rugid feel and thick, shielded OFC cable that has nice thick rubber protection at all joints and terminals, as well as a gold jack plug for a quality connection to your Mp3 player, stereo amp etc. And they are really comfortable (and I've got a large size head!). I was even able to jump about and dance without them even moving, let alone falling off. I love these, and am SOOOoo glad I got them. I hope you are too, as they are destined to be a much talked about contender, and in my opinion, VICTOR, to Dr Dre's Beats! They look kick ass too, which is always a bonus. 10/10 from me :-D Hope this has helped. Going back to listen to my zen now through my lovely new HAS4X's to enjoy more quality sounds again ;-) 'Thagoatboy' B. Waters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best headphones for the money., 9 Sep 2011
By 
P. Duncan (Falkirk, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone (Electronics)
These are the best headphones for the money around.

I've recently used Seinheser, Philips and Sony and they're all rubbish compared with these JVC ones.
Skullcandy also have variable user reviews whenever I've spoken to someone who has used them.

The trick for JVC here is that there's no hinge for the speakers to rotate so no noise pollution from the headband or when moving your jaw/head.
Also, the deep sound is very clear.

The only down side on these is that the cable is short if not using a portable music appliance but this is minor as extensions can be had from 1.
There's no in-line volume control either which would normally add noise (hiss) so this is a big plus for me.

Total 5* effort JVC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter Brilliance, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone (Electronics)
I had the earphone version of these and they were brilliant but i wanted something more comfortable for long periods of time... these are amazingly comfortable and the sound is utter perfection for me... i love my bass and these headphones easily match the bass from my stereo system without distortion... fantastic price which means YOU SHOULD NOT MISS THESE !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone (Electronics)
v good my son loves them only problem is he cant hear me when he has them on- he thinks this is a good thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect sound, 19 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone (Electronics)
Bought these headphones to enable me to listen to television in the evening from my bed and have to say that I wasn't disappointed in the sound they produce. They replaced a set of expensive Sony ones that I'd been using but have to say that the sound was just as good. Feel a little tight round the head but not uncomfortable and perhaps through use they will loosen a little. Excellent value for money and would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone (Electronics)
Brilliant, compared these to the Sonys most my mates have, for the same price these are excellent, deep bass and although they have Ali of sound leakage, the sound is too good to care! Robust aswell, I snowboard wearing them and they can take hits! I'm not saying no helmet is good though :p
Very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone (Electronics)
When I ordered these a week ago I also ordered another pair of JVC 'Gummy' in ear 'phones after mine broke. These are my first pair of headphones like this, as I thought they would just be too large and ungainly and frankly look a bit stupid. However, I shan't be going back to in-ear after using these. They are by no means incredible, but they are definitely impressive. In comparison, in-ear phones sound tinny, and are also less comfortable. These do take a bit more settling to get comfortable, but once they are you're set. They aren't exactly as subtle as in-ear, but by no means look ridiculous. The bass they deliver is not exaggerated, especially if you have an equaliser, bass boost or similar function. As proof, I recommend dialling in all the bass you can, turn the volume up, and listen to the intro of 'In For The Kill' by La Roux, thank me later...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deceiving Picture, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone (Electronics)
They are good quality for money, but i will say the picture is a little deceiving, they are much smaller than they look in the picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grinning like a Cheshire cat!, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone (Electronics)
Amazing value for money! Been using them for the 3 hours since they arrived & can't stop grinning! The only drawback is the very short lead! If you're planning on using them with a home stereo you may as well order an extension now as there's no way a one metre lead is long enough. Happily they only cost 86p. Would've made sense to make the lead longer or include an extension. That's my only gripe though. Otherwise, they're comfortable to wear with excellent sound quality & seem reasonably robust too. Very happy with my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Price to Quality Ratio, 11 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone (Electronics)
i wouldn't say the quality of sound fits it RPP price of 39.99 but for around 22 it definately excells to other products around the 30 mark, beats my 30 skull candies, JVC XX offer firm and strong build of the product, and seem more attractive then other more expensive eye candy products! definately a best buy!

Bass tones are produced very well and strong without drowning out the treble, it also helps to have an equalizer to tweak your sound to perfection (Android power amp, can have a unique preset per artist/album) this helps through the genres i listen to such as drum and bass, dubstep and metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JVC HAS4X Xtreme Xplosives On Ear Headphone
Used & New from: 34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews