Customer Reviews


525 Reviews
5 star:
 (406)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job!
I read through a number of product reviews for various luggage scales before finally plumping for this one ... and I'm very glad that I did (so far at least!)

Using the item is simplicity itself, which is not a bad start. The design of the handle is also perfectly suited for the job. I have read several reviews of other products where the handle is either...
Published on 13 July 2011 by The Cookster

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit tricky to use
The scale is well built, comfortable to hold and against known weights the accuracy was mostly within +/- 5%. However the reasons for the 3 star rating are:

1. If the object to be weighed is not exactly central on the strap there can be a significant error in the reading. I weighed a 3kg handbag off centre and the scale recorded it as 10.5kg!

2...
Published 18 months ago by Gimli 54


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job!, 13 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duronic White LS1008 /W Digital 50KG Capacity Luggage/Bag/Suitcase Scales with straps and batteries (Electronics)
I read through a number of product reviews for various luggage scales before finally plumping for this one ... and I'm very glad that I did (so far at least!)

Using the item is simplicity itself, which is not a bad start. The design of the handle is also perfectly suited for the job. I have read several reviews of other products where the handle is either uncomfortable, or it can only be held in one hand, rendering it unsuitable for weighing heavier bags. No such criticism could be levelled at this product as the design allows you to easily pick up the case to be weighed with either one or both hands.

Also in the product's favour is its size. Not only is it light - therefore not using up valuable weight allowance by its inclusion in your holiday luggage - but it is also incredibly compact making it a doddle to slip unobtrusively into any one of your bags.

However, the most important function of this product is its ability to weigh bags accurately - if it falls down there then all of the other niceties count for nothing. Well, I tested this product as soon as I unpacked it. The first plus point was that it weighed the same item consistently, without any of the inexplicable variations that can occur with some luggage scales. Secondly, it is accurate! I double-checked the weight measurements given by the Duronic scales against my old, trusted method of standing on my bathroom scales with the bag and deducting my own weight. The results were identical - but with the huge advantage with the Duronic scales that I don't have all the faffing around! (And I can't take my bathroom scales on holiday with me for the return journey!)

I now know that I can rely on this product to do the job I bought it for and it is going to make things so much easier. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 27 Jun. 2011
By 
EJ (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duronic White LS1008 /W Digital 50KG Capacity Luggage/Bag/Suitcase Scales with straps and batteries (Electronics)
I bought this to avoid being clobbered with huge excess charges by easyjet. It's comfortable to use with a 20 KG bag, since the handle is curved and is designed to be held using your whole hand. By contrast some scales only provide room for 2-3 fingers on the handle, which other reviewers have suggested can be uncomfortable with their scales.

The scales are very simple to use - you just press the button, wait till it beeps /sets the scale to zero, then lift. After a couple of seconds the weight 'fixes', so you can then put the bag down and check the weight. Again, with some other scales you are somehow meant to read the scale while holding a heavy bag.

Lastly, the scales seem pretty accurate - my estimate of the weight corresponding to within a couple of hundred grams to the weight registered at the airport. Having said this, I did note that if you try picking the bag up a few times in a row, perhaps from different points, the weight can vary (e.g. 18.9, 19.1, 19.2 KG). So, I'd recommend trying a few times if you are anywhere close to your baggage limit and then erring on the side of caution...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job It's supposed to pretty well., 4 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duronic White LS1008 /W Digital 50KG Capacity Luggage/Bag/Suitcase Scales with straps and batteries (Electronics)
Well for £8.99 to ensure you don't go over your luggage weight allowance and get stung for £35 per kilogram of excess, this is an excellent buy!
My scale was exactly as pictured and described, turned up within the week and worked..... well, satisfactorily shall I say.
I checked out its accuracey with some known calibrated weights at work and it was plenty good enough for the task at hand, within 0.2kg at 20kg.
The only gripes I have with it are;
1) The "audible" beep I could hardly hear and I'm far from deaf!
2) The device should be of equal lengths either side of the lifting strap mounting point to make it easier and more comfortable to lift with two hands!
Otherwise, great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Luggage Scale Ever, 15 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duronic White LS1008 /W Digital 50KG Capacity Luggage/Bag/Suitcase Scales with straps and batteries (Electronics)
This is the 3rd luggage scale that I have owned. The first was an analogue and was hard to get an accurate reading the second was digital but you could only use it one handed and you had to lift it so high to get the suitcase off the ground that it was becoming increasingly difficult to use. This is definitely the answer. You can use both hands to lift it and the scale is clear and straight in front of you. It seems to be of very high quality and at less than half price it is a real bargain - strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Travel Scales, 6 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Duronic White LS1008 /W Digital 50KG Capacity Luggage/Bag/Suitcase Scales with straps and batteries (Electronics)
I purchased these scales after a lot of research and am really pleased with them. They give a bleep as soon as the weight has stablised and gave the exact same reading as the airport scales. These are very good value and look nice too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLOBETROTTER, 5 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Duronic White LS1008 /W Digital 50KG Capacity Luggage/Bag/Suitcase Scales with straps and batteries (Electronics)
handy item, very useful if you are limited with weight,no more hunting for a weighing scale, and the LCD battery is superb and it is light, a must have for every traveller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential travel accessory!, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duronic White LS1008 /W Digital 50KG Capacity Luggage/Bag/Suitcase Scales with straps and batteries (Electronics)
Don't give your money to the airlines by exceeding your baggage allowance! Spend it on the Duronic LS1008 instead. Apart from saving your hard earned dosh you will have the comfort of knowing that you will have a problem free check in at the airport.

Lightweight so it is easy to take with you when travelling and the weight corresponds very accurately with that at the airport. Very easy to use and the weight is shown on the top so you don't have to bend down or lift the luggage high up to read. Also the weight still shows when the bag is left down which is helpful if you have excess weight.

As essential when travelling as a travel plug adaptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit tricky to use, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duronic White LS1008 /W Digital 50KG Capacity Luggage/Bag/Suitcase Scales with straps and batteries (Electronics)
The scale is well built, comfortable to hold and against known weights the accuracy was mostly within +/- 5%. However the reasons for the 3 star rating are:

1. If the object to be weighed is not exactly central on the strap there can be a significant error in the reading. I weighed a 3kg handbag off centre and the scale recorded it as 10.5kg!

2. The weighing units which are set before use (ST, LB, KG)are in very small print and are quite difficult to read in anything other than good light.

3. I cannot hear the 'beep', and I do have good hearing.

Altogether this is quite a disappointing purchase and although I will keep the scale I can see me going back to my reliable old spring balance when I pack to go flying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, I find myself trying to find things to weigh, 27 Aug. 2012
By 
Dabbler (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duronic White LS1008 /W Digital 50KG Capacity Luggage/Bag/Suitcase Scales with straps and batteries (Electronics)
A very handy little unit, that works very well. I tested its accuracy with some calibrated scales at work and it is correct to within about 100 g. You hardly notice it's there when you pack it in your hand luggage.

There were some issues though.
1. It would've been nice if the display had a backlight and perhaps had slightly more contrast.
2. The adjustment to change it between pounds kilos and stones is a little fiddly.
3. The beep could be louder as well.
4. Also the description should be changed to say strap not straps. You only get that is permanently attached to the scales that loops over in order to go through luggage handles.

All in all a nice unit that could do with some tweaks to make it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good , handy and reasonably accurate, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duronic White LS1008 /W Digital 50KG Capacity Luggage/Bag/Suitcase Scales with straps and batteries (Electronics)
Its light and handy , so easy to carry with your. Really useful when flying in the budget airlines which have specific weight limits and you can end up paying a lot for extra weight. It pays its price within one trip by saving you from paying anything extra, because you have made sure your weight is under the limits.

You can set scale setting to stones(st) pounds (lb) or kilograms (kg) , and make sure you set it to the right one, else you can have some false tensions or false sense of comfort :)

It probably not 100% accurate, but its reasonable accurate.

Overall a decent product and would recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews