Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Bliss!
A co-worker of mine had this on down the Stockroom in work last year, meaning I had the chance to listen to it throughout the day. I then bought this not long after and, by all means, this compilation is simply Bliss!

At the time of writing, it is a Public (Bank) Holiday at home here today, so I had the pleasure of chilling at home today, drinking a cold one...
Published on 6 Aug. 2012 by Fox in the Box

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK Fred
Good collection besides the latter part of cd two. I would of added a Gregory Isaacs,Sugar Minot,Frankie Paul,Freddie Mcgregor,and Dawn Penn track instead of the last five tracks.
Published 23 months ago by D. Bibb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Bliss!, 6 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack to Jamaica (Audio CD)
A co-worker of mine had this on down the Stockroom in work last year, meaning I had the chance to listen to it throughout the day. I then bought this not long after and, by all means, this compilation is simply Bliss!

At the time of writing, it is a Public (Bank) Holiday at home here today, so I had the pleasure of chilling at home today, drinking a cold one and listening to this compilation. It really is the business and succeeds greatly in getting you moving and, above all, smiling!!

So far, CD 1 is the best for me. In fact, there wasn't a song that I disliked there. CD 2, however, is slightly questionable, but I really say that gently, as it is still very good.

Bottom line, this album was released in order to provide "the essential introduction to the sound of Jamaica", at least, according to the album's back cover. May I say, it provides such a service really quite nicely, so do add this to your collection. Well worth the purchase!

Hope this review helps. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reggae Light, 28 Aug. 2012
By 
M. Fermor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack to Jamaica (Audio CD)
This album represents a jolly introduction to mainstream reggae. It is full of classic summertime tunes that are sure to lift the spirits and make you smile.

Disc 1 is certainly more interesting than Disc 2, although both of them together serve to cover a broad sweep of reggae tunes.

If you have not listened to much reggae before then this is a good way in. However, it merely scratches the surface of a genre that can offer incredible potency with its social and political critique. Additionally, there is a bias towards vocal content and there is a distinct lack of some of the instrumental features one would perhaps associate with the genre.

If you want a happy, uplifting compilation then this is definitely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great driving music, 20 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack to Jamaica (Audio CD)
This has been my driving music since I got it - it's summery and upbeat enough to cheer up the motorways. It has a great mix of tracks, with loads of old classics and some newer ones too. So far Disc 1 is my favourite, but Disc 2 will get more of a listen later I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack to Jamaica (Audio CD)
Many of the good classics. And in cronological order. I would recommend this to all reggae fans. I am bringing this as my soundtrack when we drive around jamaica this summer :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A platter of gems., 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack to Jamaica (Audio CD)
A wide range of wonderful songs from artists best not forgotten. No more to be said; simply an excellent collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack to Jamaica (Audio CD)
Trojan presents one of the best cd's of reggae I've heard in ages value for money and great original reggae tunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get skankin'..!, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack to Jamaica (Audio CD)
This has rekindled my love for the reggae beat. Disc 1 is my favourite, particularly the original ska tunes. They have such an infectious happiness, no-one can resist, even had my 86 year old mother tapping along, and believe me, that's a big deal! Disc 2 isn't quite as good, find myself skipping through a few. Overall, a really good musical history lesson of the reggae vibe and totally recommend as an introduction. I actually think a ska revival is well overdue! :-) xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Reggae - Soundtrack to Jamaica, 1 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack to Jamaica (Audio CD)
What a brilliant CD! I have never been so chilled out driving to work listening to music, however Longshot Kick the Bucket does keep resounding in my head all day long!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack to Jamaica (Audio CD)
I've played this CD almost every day since I bought it. I'm in agreement with other reviews in regard to the best CD. Number 1 is the better of the two. Fabulous tunes that make me feel so good. It's usually played when I walk my dog and the temptation to have a bopp around the park is almost irresistible. Brilliant stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great feel good music, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack to Jamaica (Audio CD)
I bought this for my dad as a Christmas gift and kept the download for myself. I love reggae and ska s I knew most of the tracks but some not so known on there too. Great for party music or to get through the chores. Definitely recommend if you're looking for old school reggae. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews