Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Introduction To The Poor Relation Of Jamacian Music
Lover's Rock is something of the poor relation of Reggae music. Whilst the likes of Dub, Roots, Ska, Dancehall, and just about every other genre has considerable kudos with collectors and music lovers, Lover's Rock is probably best described as the musical equivilant of the genre's version of Easy Listening. Whilst that may be the case, it's also true to say that this...
Published on 10 Dec 2011 by pjr

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as I expected
some of the artist I did not recognise, not keen on some of the tunes on this CD. Probably give it away to a charity shop or someone I know!!!
I think it could have been put together better, there are lots of lovers rock tunes about and these just wasnt cutting it for me.
Published 10 months ago by yvonne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Introduction To The Poor Relation Of Jamacian Music, 10 Dec 2011
By 
pjr (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock (Audio CD)
Lover's Rock is something of the poor relation of Reggae music. Whilst the likes of Dub, Roots, Ska, Dancehall, and just about every other genre has considerable kudos with collectors and music lovers, Lover's Rock is probably best described as the musical equivilant of the genre's version of Easy Listening. Whilst that may be the case, it's also true to say that this is one of Reggae's most durable sub-genres.

Trojan have linked with Island records to plunder a wider back catalogue for their recent reissue series giving their current releases (each representing one specific genre) the chance for buyers to chart the history of Jamaican music from its beginnings through its key developments. This compilation covers one of the widest date ranges beginning in 1976 and finishing with a song recorded in 1990. Its cast list is almost as broad and impressive as the timespan it covers.

Essentially Lover's Rock is music for lovers. It's lighter in touch, more soulful, and contains nothing of the politics, bravado, sonic boundary testing, or innovation that any of the other genres it spans. This is about songs and melody, pure and simple. One key ingredient is the fact that it relies heavily on taking songs of the day and giving them a Reggae makeover. At its worst it can be rather tame and almost bland, at its best it matches, even betters its source material, and is good as the best pop music of the day. It was a time when even the biggest stars could be tempted into cutting a track which would have a lighter more radio friendly appeal. So the likes of Freddie McGregor, Dennis Brown, Gregory Isaacs, Keith Rowe, and Matumbi all may have had a reputation built outside the genre but they are found here.

The whole series is a great overview but bearing in mind there's a compilation containing many of the biggest hits Trojan Presents: Classic Reggae - The Soundtrack To Jamaica this collection can focus on the less familair tracks of the time. Thus names like Vivian Weathers, Kotch, Marie Pierre, and JC Lodge may not household names to many but the more serious reggae fans, yet they're here rubbing shoulders with some more familiar names. The start could easily have gone back a couple of years, but 1976 clearly was a point when reggae was hitting a goldmine of quality and there is much to like here. It's soulful and presents itself chronologically so you trace the changes in recording technology and the popular sounds of the time are charted, so by the end there is an almost digital feel about the sound.

This is 40 tracks of exceptionally high quality and contains some underrated anthems of the time and some lesser known gems in equal quality. Barry Biggs' lovely "Wide Awake In A Dream", Dennis Brown's "Love Has Found Its Way", and Freddie McGregor's "Lovers Rock, JA Style" are ones likely to be familiar to fans of reggae and highlight what great singers each were as well as the wonderfully high quality of song writing there is here. Yet it's some of the lesser known acts who make this compilation stick out above its budget price range. Shiela Hylton's cover of The Police's "Bed's Too Big Without You" gives the song an edge, it's powerful, brilliant and thoroughly deserving of a better legacy. She's one of many here who have dropped off the radar despite this actually charting at the time. Marie Pierre is given two tracks here highlighting her sweet soulful voice but whilst "Walk Away" is very nice indeed, "Can't Go Through With Life" is quite possibly the best thing on the compilation. I'd never heard this track before and find it hard to believe this didn't cross over to the pop charts unlike many of its contemporaries did at the time.

The plethora of covers (along with the Hylton and Biggs tracks already mentioned) include a nice sweet cover of "Easy" by Jimmy Lindsay, Marcia Griffith's digital remake of "Fever" which actually sounds truer to the original than any of the other Jamacian versions of the song I've ever heard, John Holt smooching "You'll Never Find Another Love Like Mine", Kotch proving that "Wonderful Tonight" can sound good with a reggae groove attached, and Janet Kay doing a lovely version of "Lovin' You" - although she can't hit that big note, it's a decent cover - to name a few here. There are also lots of great original pieces songs too. Ruddy Thomas' "Loving Pauper", and Keith Rowe's "Groovy Situation" being a couple of good examples. There are a couple of less impressive tracks here. Boris Gardner's "You're Everything To Me" may be the biggest hit but it really highlights what is actually wrong with the genre as it rarely manages to rise above the turgid.

The compilers have done a pretty good job here. This is a considered set which neatly avoids the bland, and sometimes tuneless end of the genre, also avoiding adding a huge number of tracks easily available elsewhere. This, in particular, is considerably to its credit. A nicely varied set providing a really good introduction to reggae's most unjustly maligned genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes yes yes, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock (Audio CD)
buy this, classic reggae and rock steady and you will be glad you did. havent sung along to "just bought" albums for ages.
Enjoying as much as when I first heard them ******* years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, sweet lovers!, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock (Audio CD)
Fantastic collection of Lovers Rock. I have found it very hard to get past the first 7 tracks on CD 1 and in fact am constantly repeating the J sisters and Elizabeth Archers tracks (tracks 6 & 7). I think these two tunes some up the best lovers, sounding slightly out of tune, wonderful. I am actually trying to locate them on vinyl which appears to be easier said than done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revival, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this album as the songs are from when i was a young woman,and they bring back many happy menories of times gone by when i was in my youth,before i had my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock (Audio CD)
Heard this cd in my daughter's car and fell in love with it. great lovers rock cd, bring back the good old days.I now have my own and play it in my car. delivery was fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My kind of music, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. Vilma F. Brandon (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock (Audio CD)
Brings back loads of memories for me and my friends. Good party vibes, continue to enjoy it at home and in the car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories!, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock (Audio CD)
Love the old time tunes, they are classics now. Will probably wear it out. Good buy, good music to the ears
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Lovers Rock, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock (Audio CD)
Some real good old reggae tunes, definately one to play on a Sunday morning ! Or turned up in the car on a sunny day x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Lovers rock it!, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock (Audio CD)
Takes me right back to my teenage years as I grew up listening to the originals and those old 45 and 12 ins are well scratched. Thanks Trojan for these classic originals. Doing my ironing is now pure pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 40 Lovers Rock MP3 tracks for less than 5.00 ... x, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OMGsh ... look what I found... all the old time... way back when... Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock Reggae Tunes... that bring back so many good memories... this is so definitely a must for u to have... look how cheap it is !... x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock
Trojan Presents: Lovers Rock by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews