Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2012
An excellent place to start with ska if you're new to the Trojan compilations. If you've got the many older three-disc boxes and the 2010 two-disc sets then yes there is indeed a lot of duplication, although the mastering is noticeably cleaner here than on the pre-2010 stuff. There are a few less common tunes which are worth the modest price of this release alone; also alternative versions of 'King of Kings' (lovely, with some great sound effects) and 'Sammy Dead' to the previous Trojan releases.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
These 40 tracks of the best known mainly vocal ska tracks is a good compilation for the newcomer and at a great price.
Ska lovers have probably 90% of these songs on other compilations and the great ska instrumentals are too few to rank this more than 4 stars.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
There are dozens of compilations exploring this upbeat reggae sub-genre, many with similar sounding names, track-listings, and cover art, all of them seeming to feature 'Long Shot Kick De Bucket'. If you don't believe me just check out the likes of Ska Mania,Ska Explosion, and Ska: AKA. This broadly chronological, double CD of early-to mid-1960s Jamaican ska may be another entry in the seemingly inexhaustible catalogue of Trojan compilations, but with a slightly offbeat selection policy it at least feels like it hasn't been put together by a record company executive in accounts. Highlights of the slightly stronger CD1 include Bob Marley's finger-wagging 1962 debut 'Judge Not', Jimmy Cliff's early hit 'Miss Jamaica', and Derrick and Patsy's bouncing duet 'Housewife's Choice'. CD2 standouts from The Blues Busters ('Wings Of A Dove') and Byron Lee & The Dragonaires ('Tear Up (aka Fat Back)'), are welcome reminders of what English groups like The Specials, Madness, and The Beat, saw in this onomatopoeic musical form - which was developed from US jump R&B, jazz, nascent soul music and mento - when they revived it successfully in the early 1980s.

However, it could have been even better if they had some more instrumentals amongst the 40 tracks to complement the likes of saxophonist Tommy McCook's 'Out Of Space', and trombonist Carlos Malcolm's stampeding cowboy theme 'Bonanza Ska'. Perhaps because of the relatively modest pricing the attention to detail isn't always that great here either. (Lee Perry's excellent 'What A Good Woodman' is called 'Such A Good Woodman' in Record Collector editor Ian McCann's uncritical overview.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
A must for all die-hard rude boys everywhere. I challenge anyone to listen to ska without feeling the need to dance. This album condenses all that was great about Jamaican roots music into a 2 disc set. I also bought the Trojan reggae collection which in my humble opinion is an ideal companion to this album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Loved every track on this absolutely brilliant SKA album. Some classic SKA sounds, a truly must have album. Superb quality Cd boxset, Excellent quality services in every respect possible. So very many THANKS!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Great for our collection of old hits. We laughed as we sat in and listened to the tracks of an era gone but brought back many memories of when we were kids and our parents used to play and dance to! Thanks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
A ray of sunshine through the dreich sky of western Scotland. The first CD is better than the first (maybe just my taste) but both are great quality recordings. Braw.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
I bought two of these albums and gave one to my daughter, she loves it and so do I. They arrived as promised and were well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
All these cd s are great value, and such fun to listen to
I would definitely recommend this- great to dance to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
you can dance all night with this it is just great to here the old time music and you just keep mouving
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)