Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zod is Coming...
Clark Kent is back; armed with only super powers and flannel shirts, can he save the world from Zod...?

In season 5 of Smallville, Lana Lang and Clark Kent finally get it together. Clark, who has temporarily lost his powers, feels he can finally be honest with Lana. However, their happiness is be short-lived as Clark's powers are restored, and he is forced into...
Published on 21 Aug 2007 by Nolene-Patricia Dougan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bit hit and miss
as much as i love smallville, this isn't the best series. it has quite a few highs - in particular the last scene of 'lexmas' which is equally exciting and heartbreaking, and whoever thought to put michael rosenbaum and james marsters in a show together is frankly a genius. however some of the episodes just plod along as if they were saving everything for the finale -...
Published on 31 Oct 2007 by taylorgirl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly good, a few weak episodes, 1 Nov 2006
The thread that held the different episodes together for me was not the final disintegration of the Clark and Lana relationship (so inevitable that it was boring), but the growing relationship between Lex and Lana. The chemistry between both actors works well and some of the scenes were more touching that anything that happened between Clark and Lana. Lex feelings for Lana have fleshed out the vulnerable side of his character and it's clear that this may be the pivotal relationship for the future of all the other characters. I just hope the writers let the relationship develop, without Lana still hankering after Clark. Its over, let it stay that way. The Lionel and Martha relationship is a nice use of the older characters but I miss the old Lionel. Lois is good for a few one liners but I hope they don't make her a more major character - I've seen one too many Lois Lanes and they need to do more with Chloe, a good actress reduced to a side kick role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another hit an miss season, 5 Mar 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Season five of Smallville seems to have inherited season fours rather mixed bag approach to its episodes including some absolutely stunning episodes alongside other quite terrible episodes. Season five continues the trend of introducing existing characters into the show with the appearance of superheroes Aquaman and Cyborg, and the supervillain Brainiac. This season also sees the 100th episode of Smallville and fortunately the episode Reckoning is brilliant succeeding in being exciting as well as one of the most emotional episodes Smallville has produced. Overall season five is good, as long as you can look past its bad episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half good, half really quite pants, 12 Oct 2006
By 
K. J. Verma - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a major SMALLVILLE fan and have been for ages, but now I must speak out!

Smallville is losing the plot. By the end of this season, it's clear it's NOT about what it originally was. The main culprits are the writers who have given time to useless 'spectacle' moments while leaving characterisation to the changeable and weightless wind.

As a Clark/Lana fan, I enjoyed the first few episodes, though in a wider general sense, they lacked gravitas and verged on absurd, ie. episode 'thirst'. After 'Reckoning' things take a turn for the worst and Smallville becomes like a bad bad soap opera with recycled dialogue and issues, everyone stalling.

Lex gets more 'evil', though the shows writers have yet to take his character to somewhere really dark - its hinted at many a time, but he has yet to be 'the villain'. Chloe is solid as ever. Lana sucks, her character doing a complete 180 half way through the season, you're left blinking and wondering what show the writers were watching all this time and thinking 'can this get any worse?'

Many of the episodes were nigh useless. Martha and Lois are great throughout. Some episodes tried to go back to the tried and tested formulas with 'freak of the week' strands but again, this is drawing thin and tiresome. The show needs a serious injection of class. So much of it is now cheese.

The Cw needs to bring back the original writers so we can have progressive CHARACTERISATION.

(don't get me wrong, the cast can act, yet they're all stuck in a loop of the same dialogue and same expressions)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Idea what it is about, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where has this come from, I have no idea what it is or what it is about. Hate anything stupid, and it looks stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The newer packaging spoils things a bit!, 28 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with a previous reviewer that the box spoils the presentation of our Smallville collection a bit. I don't know if the later seasons are going to be presented in this newer (cheaper looking) packaging, but I was liking the style they had going with the previous seasons. I think that maybe they chose this more compact (cheaper) style because they were wasting far too much money printing those nice little insert booklets for us that contained the episode summaries. We aren't getting one with this set. The episode summaries are printed onto each side of the slim DVD cases instead. These money saving methods can be kinder to storage space though, because this is a slimmer season set. Just display it by its spine, as the edge showing the seperate DVD case spines looks horrible. But, at the end of the day, it's Smallville, and I am sure this season is as good as all of the others have been to watch. The cheaper packaging doesn't really change the content or quality of the individual episodes, does it? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's with the box?, 23 Oct 2006
I have all five series...The first four series look great on my shelve, but the fifth one is packaged completely differently and looks out of place!

Besides that, this season is fantanstic. The things you've been expecting, happen, but not in the way that you think.

A definite must have for all smallville fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Oct 2006
The Lana/Clark thing gets boring, but Kristin Kruek is such a great actress. Erica Durance that plays Lois steals the show ! She is a brilliant actress and really brings the show to life, Tom wellings acting is also getting better and Annette Otoole is fantastic as usual, the cast make it a great season, although theres still quite a bit of cheese. Over all its the best season and is far better than the new movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best season yet, 9 Jun 2006
By 
M. P. Hughes "top_marks" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes this This has a lot of comic book characters in it, it also has a few references to the justice league. which is funny although i don't really like justice league because superman can kick butt on his own without a load of wannabees hanging off him.

its a very turnabout season with twists galore, you never know where the writers are going but you know where they have to get to.

No flights and no tights smallville rules. There will be a sixth season, yes superman returns this summer but he is returning after being away for years from the last movie. He went back to Krypton. Young clark still has to finish uni and that could take up to another 3 years. Smallville can't end yet and it doesnt become superman until he puts on the cape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Glad I checked the discs!, 26 Jan 2012
I purchased Smallville Season 5 and was looking forward to it arriving, I even signed up to Amazon Prime so it would arrive the next day. When the Dvd's arrived I decided to check them for scratches, as the box was a bit bashed. As I was doing this I noticed that the boxset has disc 1 & 2, and then 3 & 4 twice instead of 3, 4, 5 & 6. I called customer service and there is nothing they can do other than accept a return on the item. These things should be checked before they are posted out to avoid unhappy customers. My first time using the 2nd hand service on Amazon so I am reluctant to use it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smallville - The Complete Season 5 [DVD] [2006]
Smallville - The Complete Season 5 [DVD] [2006] by Annette O'Toole (DVD - 2006)
15.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews