Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what Smallville should be like
This is Smallville at its best. This season blew all the others out of the water. Once again, Erica Durance and Alison Mack are outstanding as Lois and Chloe. There is not so much Clark/Lana will they wont they here which is a massive improvement. Micheal Rosenbaum gets better as Lex every season and here he is awsome.

The introduction of Oliver Queen/The Green...
Published on 30 Oct. 2007 by Daniel Potter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought this year would tank - more good than bad!
Season 6 is quite a mixed bag of stories and not all of them are great but all in all it pulls together as quite a good year. The storyline once again takes a darker turn by letting the legendary character of Zod out to play though only by his spirit possessing Michael Rosenbaum's Lex Luthor and also the idea that super-villains manage to find their way to Earth and once...
Published on 10 Nov. 2009 by Kristen Sherry


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought this year would tank - more good than bad!, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
Kristen Sherry (Kingston-upon-Hull, England) - See all my reviews
Season 6 is quite a mixed bag of stories and not all of them are great but all in all it pulls together as quite a good year. The storyline once again takes a darker turn by letting the legendary character of Zod out to play though only by his spirit possessing Michael Rosenbaum's Lex Luthor and also the idea that super-villains manage to find their way to Earth and once again it's all Clark's fault. On the upside there is the introduction of Justin Hartley as Oliver Queen, a billionaire playboy who masquerades as Robin-Hood wannabe Green Arrow. The relationships again take centre-stage: Clark & Chloe's relationship gathers strength upon the revelation that Chloe may have a meteor-power but then receives a blow with the introduction of Jimmy Olsen as Chloe's love interest who spends most of his time embracing paranoia about Chloe & Clark's relationship, Clark & Lois continue their like/dislike relationship with this season providing a couple of real high points between the two: Hydro sees Lois recruit Clark to help her expose Oliver's dual-identity only for her accomplice to switch alliances and receive a kiss from his "frienemy" in front of their target; also Crimson sees the pair venture into a Red Kryptonite-enhanced romance which offers the viewer a glimpse of Clark freely using his powers to impress Lois and she freely accepting him. Lionel Luthor becomes an an Obi-Wan-like mentor to Clark while the Lex/Lana storyline is portrayed as though the writers couldn't be bothered, plumbed certain sci-fi B-movies for storylines but really wanted to continue flogging the - should have been long-dead - Clark/Lana romance horse. This series also sees the departure of much-loved Annette O'Toole as her character seeks advancement in the US Senate. Favourite episodes: Zod, Sneeze, Wither, Arrow, Hydro, Justice, Crimson, Freak, Combat, Noir, Prototype & Phantom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what Smallville should be like, 30 Oct. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Smallville at its best. This season blew all the others out of the water. Once again, Erica Durance and Alison Mack are outstanding as Lois and Chloe. There is not so much Clark/Lana will they wont they here which is a massive improvement. Micheal Rosenbaum gets better as Lex every season and here he is awsome.

The introduction of Oliver Queen/The Green Arrow along with the return of Bart Allen/Flash or Impluse, Victor Stone/Cyborg and Arthur Curry/Aquaman makes the episode 'Justice' the best episode of the season. I hope this episode is only the first in which we see the beginnings of the Justice League.

The final episode 'phantom' is not the best finale of all of the Smallville seasons (that prize still belongs to the final episode of season 5). However, it is definatley the most sad. Will one of the characters RIP? My lips are sealed!

BRING ON SEASON 7!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars £17 for 22 BR episodes of a top noch TV show, 17 Aug. 2010
By 
F. Patel (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a fan of Superman since the 70s starting with DC comics, gravitating to Christopher Reeves during the 80s and for the past few years settling with Smallville. Well I'm not going to brag about the story lines as only you can decide if you like them or not. What I am going to tell you about is what you get for your £17:
1) Box contains 2 DVD slimline cases which contain 2 discs each. Also included is a small booklet which lists the episodes by number,short synopsis and chapters for each episode by numbers. (However this information is replicated on each slimline case minue the chapters)
2) Discs also include deleted scenes and a number of Special features such as:
Smallville legends: The Oliver Queen Chronicles
The Making of Smallville legends: The Oliver Queen Chronicles
Smallville Legends: Justice & Doom (cartoon)
Green Arrow: the Legend of the Emerald Archer
Smallville: Big Fans.
I have only watched the beginning of the last entry and its in High Def and tells the story of the Smallville fan club. Interesting to watch simply to see how far people can get carried away with their devotion to a TV series. Yes I'm a fan but only for the time it takes me to watch or read a story. I don't have a wall of weird in my house, neither have I named my firstborn lex or even dress him up in a tiny superman outfit.
3) Picture Quality all I can say is its out of this world and is a delight to watch in high definition.
4) Subtitles are English,French and Spanish.

If you want to show off your High Def TV for the price of a recent film release but with something at least 10 times longer. Buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vast and welcome improvement!, 4 May 2010
After the dull and often-times painful experience of watching season 5 of Smallville, season 6 comes as a real breath of fresh air. The city of Metropolis and the Daily Planet, staples of the Superman mythos, make frequent appearances (more-or-less in every episode, in fact), and we get to see Clark discovering more of his powers, while learning more about his Kryptonian heritage and his biological father, the enigmatic Jor-El (voiced by Terrance Stamp), while the colourful supporting cast continue to find their way in the world. Indeed, the supporting cast are sometimes (often-times) more interesting than Clark himself; even Lana Lang, Clark's whiny ex-girlfriend, who has easily been the most irritating character in the series to date, takes an interesting turn to the dark side this season in her relationship with Lex Luthor, and all the duplicitous cloak and dagger business that comes with it.

This season also marks the first appearance in the series of Oliver Queen (a.k.a. Green Arrow), billionaire playboy by day, masked crime-fighter by night. Sound familiar? Well, the word is the writers wanted Bruce Wayne (i.e. Batman) for this season, but due to the recent release of Batman Begins, the character was unavailable. Nevertheless, Green Arrow not only makes a fantastic substitute for Batman, but also introduces one of the lesser known DC superheroes to the uninitiated, such as myself.

My personal favourite episode this season? 'Justice', in which Green Arrow recruits Clark and three other young superheroes (each of whom has appeared in a previous season), Aquaman, Cyborg, and Impulse (renamed from the Flash due to copyright reasons) to take out a Luthor Corp lab, where Lex is conducting sinister experiments on people with kryptonite-related superpowers.

If you're feeling jaded after season 5, season 6 of Smallville will restore your faith in the series, big time. After the spectacular finale, I really look forward to seeing the conclusion in season 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps getting better!, 27 May 2008
This season has to be one of the best from the show. I think that Miles Miller and Al Gough are doing a great job with their own creative license for the show, Ok they don't take the show where Superman fans would expect, but so what, it's such a new exciting take on the whole Superman ethos. I love where they have been going with Smallville and they are on form this season

This season we see the entrance of "The Green Arrow", the hatred between Clark and Lex grows and we see a particularly superb episode that introduces "The Justice League", our future Superman, Green Arrow, Cyborg, The flash and Aquaman. We have an unbelievable wedding and a finale to blow your socks off.

I can't wait to see seasons 7, I just KNOW it will be awesome.

Another must purchase for the true Smallville fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville: Destinies Collide and the Justice League Arrives!, 28 Feb. 2010
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
After several seasons which dealt primarily with Clark and Lex becoming their own person against the challenges that had faced them in childhood, season five finally began to expand the show with new characters from the DC Universe and a shift in character allegiances. Season 6 however blows everything out of the water and changes everything we know about Smallville. Jonathan is dead, Lionel is an ally, Lana is now allied with Lex, Chloe is working at the Daily Planet and most importantly; Clark Kent and Lex Luthor have become the enemies they were always meant to be. This sets up Smallville for its most exciting season yet and things start strong in the very first episode ('Zod') and from there things dont stop. The season progresses with the welcome addition of Justin Hartley as Oliver Queen (Green Arrow) and this brings a new dimension to Smallville as Clark's horizon is expanded more as Queen makes him realise just how far reaching his influence could be. Tied in with Lex's Level 33.1 experiments, this brings the Justice League out into the open in 'Justice' which is the best single episode the show had produced until season 9's 'Absolute Justice'. Things also become more emotional as Clark's feelings for Lana turn into physical confrontation with Lex as he suspects the younger Luthor is manipulating his ex-lover into a forced marriage. The sixth season never lets up and gives us some very strong episodes and storytelling although Tom Welling could really do with some better dialogue because Michael Rosenbaum outshines and out performs him in every scene together. However Smallville has never been better than it is in this season and for anyone who has followed this show from the beginning, then you would be very wise to add this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallvilles best season yet, 15 Nov. 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
After a couple of rather lacklustre seasons, the sixth season of Smallville is quite simply the best that the show has so far produced. This season continues to see the introduction of more of the wider DC universe such as the heroes Green Arrow, Martian Manhunter as well as the beginnings of the Justice League. This year also sees the marriage of Lex and Lana, Kryptonian criminals escaping the Phantom Zone and ends with one of the best cliff-hangers the show has yet produced. It is difficult for me to pick a favourite episode of this season but I must say the episode `Noir' is a great change of pace and the season finale `Phantom' is also an excellent episode.

This is not to say that the season is perfect, the CGI is somewhat hit and miss in places and there are still some rather cringe worthy episodes, such as `Static' and `Hydro' but these are far fewer on the ground than in previous seasons. Overall though it seams that Smallville is heading in the right direction and I am greatly looking forward to season seven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I strongly recommend, 5 Feb. 2010
By 
I am a huge fan of Smallville. I strongly recommend buying of this edition of Smallville on Blu Ray. The quality of the picture is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Smallville ever?, 17 Sept. 2007
By 
I have been watching this season on E4 and love it. In season four I thought that the show was going off the boil, but here it is right back on form. For me Season 6 is the best Season yet. I can't wait to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting Good Again!, 14 Nov. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I severely went off Smallville for a while, It seemed that the series was never going anywhere. The characters were continually doing circles around each other in every episode. You'd get the pouty looks between Clarke and Lana during discussions abut they're relationship and after about 4 series (88 episodes give or take a few) of them being together/not together, it got old!!! It killed itself for me!!!
But having a year or two out has helped a lot, i rejoined the series in season 6 and it had improved on it's typical formula. You still get the filler between scenes where Clarke will be with Lex in an obviously rehersed argument. pout, then go.
But dispite these flaws, I still really want to love it! The characters have they're great moments, maily Chloe and Lois, who hold the scenes with they're well played characters. This series they introduce new main characters - super hero character Green Arrow, who's very welcome to bring a new dimension to the series that the characters cant do on they're own. I just hope that they do more with long lasting story lines, that span the series and dont go back to the strict one off epsodes, where everything cool gets undone by the end of that episode. Let's hope, cus season 7 looks to be awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smallville - The Complete Season 6 [DVD] [2007]
£5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews