Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller by a promising author..!
"The Gamblers" by Martin Stanley, was the first thriller I read by this great author and I am positively surprised with it. A book packed with pacey action all the way through. It may be a bit violent at times, but hey, that may be the way it is in drugs and money lending circles. I am now looking forward to read more from this author!
Published 16 months ago by Mac Paco

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff - but not for me
This isn't my usual type of reading - but I gave it a good shot. The style wasn't for me though. Too much bad language, some very irritating characters that I'd rather avoid in fiction as well as in life. Biggest reason for not finishing it though - it didn't "take me there" (good job too - some nasty folk!).

Top marks to Martin for writing a novel though,...
Published on 19 May 2011 by Mick Heath


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller by a promising author..!, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gamblers (Kindle Edition)
"The Gamblers" by Martin Stanley, was the first thriller I read by this great author and I am positively surprised with it. A book packed with pacey action all the way through. It may be a bit violent at times, but hey, that may be the way it is in drugs and money lending circles. I am now looking forward to read more from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gamblers, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Gamblers (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book after a friend on facebook had read and raved about it, it is in the genre of books that I usually read and have read many of this type from various authers both famous and relatively unknown.
The author of this book was unknown to me prior to my friends posting, I have to say that It was one of those books which are very hard to put down and kept me gripped from start to finish, I have been waiting for the chance to read more from Martin and I have just downloaded another of his books " The Hunters " and look forward to reading it asap.
Read this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bristol based massive attacks., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gamblers (Kindle Edition)
I've read a couple of novellas from Martin Stanley's increasingly impressive back catalogue before this one, and they've been entertaining blasts of violence and witty dialogue, bereft of morality and generally ending with a winner-takes-all finale that leave the taste of blood in your mouth. So when I jumped all the way to the beginning and picked up this huge and ambitious debut novel, I was hardly surprised when he gave me more of the same. What surprised me, however, was just how grander the scale would be.

It's the tale of several men, each with their eyes on a final score which will see them leave the life they're living for good. There's Liam, a drug dealer whose own men have got designs on taking him to the cleaners. He's got a huge deal coming up, which involved Colombians, cocaine, and 750k of Liam's hard fought money. The thing is, Spike knows all about the money, and he's got his own plans to take it. Then add to the mix overweight gambling addict Mike Kandinsky who, in an act of fate, overhears Spikes plans, and comes to the conclusion that he and his equally deadbeat friends can liberate the cash for themselves. And finally there's corrupt cop Dave McManus, who feels like getting involved so he can disappear with the wife and kids for good. The story bounces from double cross to double cross before culminating in a bloody and violent conclusion where any of them will be lucky to get out alive.

So yeah, I said it was ambitious. It is. Martin Stanley carefully and professionally constructs a superb piece of crime fiction filled to the brim with potty-mouthed scumbags, bone crunching violence, and filthy sex. he weaves the plot strands tighter than a Bristolian yardie's dreadlocks, and not one strand is left dangling. Seriously, at any given moment there are two or three parts of the story working overtime but Martin Stanley controls them with the finesse of a snake charmer with twenty years experience under his belt. The dialogue is clever too. It's got the Guy Ritchie vibe to it, in that it's far from realistic, but it's very funny with a huge amount of words in its vocabulary, and the author has an astonishingly large bag of one-liners at his disposal. As a fan of character-focussed fiction I would have maybe liked a little bit more time spent with the characters, maybe getting to know them a bit more than how violently they deal with what life throws at them, but when the story is this huge and this entertaining I can forgive it.

This is my favourite of Martin Stanley's books so far, and if the sequel's this good, then I'm gonna be a very happy man indeed. Very highly recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty Crime!, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Paul D Brazill (Bydgoszcz, Poland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gamblers (Kindle Edition)
Kandisky is a loser. A deadbeat student who is addicted to porn and gambling. He also owes Priest, a gangster, a wad of money and is given a few days to get it together - or else.

Liam is a drug dealer who finds out his long-time friend Omar has been ripping him off, not realising that Omar has been working on getting an even bigger piece of Liam's pie.

The Gamblers is a hard-core crime story, set in Bristol of all places, which captures the spirit of Ted Lewis and brings us BANG up to date with a cleverly woven, hard-hitting, multi - character story of betrayal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - A must read author, 19 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Gamblers (Kindle Edition)
I'd only read Martin Stanley's 'Stanton Brothers' books before reading 'The Gamblers' as I didn't think it was my type of book, boy was I wrong, I couldn't and didn't want to put it down. A thoroughly enjoyable read.
If you haven't read anything by Martin Stanley yet, then you are missing out on an amazing author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gamblers (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book plenty of action--did not finish like I thought it would. If you do not like blood-guts and sex this book is not for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty crime thriller which doesn't pull any punches, 10 Aug 2013
By 
K. Nixon (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gamblers (Kindle Edition)
Kandinsky is a gambler. He's got way over his head and owes a local money lender, Priest, far more cash than he can afford. He can't see a way out of his predicament until he overhears someone else's plan to steal 750,000. Kandinsky decides to get in on the act and rob the robber, but not everything goes as intended.

The Gamblers is the author's debut novel, however it is not the first of his I've read and reviewed. It is by far the longest and most complex of his work to date, with multiple strands tying together at the conclusion in the fashion of the film Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the story. It is relatively long (for me, at least) but necessarily so - Kandinsky is stealing the money from Spike who is stealing it from gang boss Liam, so all these strands need dealing with. The story nevertheless tripped along and kept my attention, in fact the majority of the time it was gripping.

It was interesting watching the three main characters develop through the novel. Kandinsky is initially largely spineless whereas Spike and Liam are utterly self-assured. The tables turn, however. Don't expect to like any of these people, they have very few, if any, redeeming features and they don't really get any better.

Characters are, in my view, Stanley's strongest suit. He regularly draws firmly outlined people with strong attitudes and behaviours then throws them into tough situations. He also creates a strong sense of place, sufficiently descriptive without being over the top.

As The Gamblers progresses the bodies pile up, sometimes in a gruesome fashion. If a high swear word and death count bother you, this is not a book to read, and vice versa.

I really like Stanley's writing, I'm surprised he's not more visible in the self-publishing world. I particularly enjoyed his previously reviewed Stanton Brothers books. They are short, sharp and to the point, but on the evidence of The Gamblers I'd say the longer story format suits the author -not something I'd usually state. However, if you like this genre, none of Stanley's work will disappoint. Quite the opposite.

**Originally published on Books & Pals blog. May have received free review copy.**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff - but not for me, 19 May 2011
By 
This review is from: The Gamblers (Kindle Edition)
This isn't my usual type of reading - but I gave it a good shot. The style wasn't for me though. Too much bad language, some very irritating characters that I'd rather avoid in fiction as well as in life. Biggest reason for not finishing it though - it didn't "take me there" (good job too - some nasty folk!).

Top marks to Martin for writing a novel though, something he's really keen on and has worked hard at. I hope he sells many copies to those less squeamish than me! Mick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'll bet you a fiver you'll love it., 18 May 2011
This review is from: The Gamblers (Kindle Edition)
As a mate of Martins and someone who's read the book, he's asked me to add a review so here it is;

Yes I just copied and pasted the first paragraph of the previous review and yes, this is another mate giving what you'd expect to be another glowing account.

But.

I genuinely enjoyed it, it's certainly worth 86p and I personally GUARANTEE you will not put this book down thinking Martin's friends are a bunch of liars and deceivers.

I give it 4/5 purely because a 5 star review will induce uncontrollable eye rolling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast and thrilling, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Gamblers (Kindle Edition)
wow, this book was so good, fast paced and exciting, the characters were so real and i needed to pick up where id left off to see what would happen next! an unpredictable tale, up there with simon kernick and martina cole, one of those stories that are in your thoughts at work, wanting the day to end so you can get back home to read more, a brilliant clever crime novel by the talented martin stanley, i will be buying his other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gamblers
The Gamblers by Martin Stanley
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews