Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film.
This is one of those dreadful tongue in cheek dinosaur type films with quite poor quality croc and gator cgi. . . However I love this type of film and have watched it several times. Its the usual story of someone playing about with genetics and creating super beasts that then escape creating havoc. If you like this type of film then you should love this. I recommend it...
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BIG FREAKIN' MUSHROOMS
Two giant croc-type animals escape from an experimental lab in Hawaii and nearly kill everyone one. David Carradine is the owner of the lab and wants to keep everything quiet. He brings in a military team to kill the crocs, only to discover fake TV bullets don't kill giant fake crocs. The team is killed, do next Carradine calls in "The Cajun" an American version of...
Published 16 months ago by The Movie Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BIG FREAKIN' MUSHROOMS, 28 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dinocroc Vs. Supergator [DVD] (DVD)
Two giant croc-type animals escape from an experimental lab in Hawaii and nearly kill everyone one. David Carradine is the owner of the lab and wants to keep everything quiet. He brings in a military team to kill the crocs, only to discover fake TV bullets don't kill giant fake crocs. The team is killed, do next Carradine calls in "The Cajun" an American version of Crocodile Dundee, down to the hat. As the body count increases, so do suspicions. People who successfully escape one croc at one water hole always wind up at the place where the other croc is located.

In addition to men in uniforms, the crocs also feed off of girls in bikinis. Our Cajun hunter teams up with the local authorities to hunt down the crocs, the same people Carradine wants to hide everything from. If the crocs don't kill you, Carradine's men (or woman) will. The final scene was so bad it might as well have been clay-mation.

No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Fake looking creatures, CG muzzle flashes (these actually match the sound) bad lines, bad acting, bad science. Would have been a great movie for 9 year old males in 1960.

If you like watching Asylum films while stoned, such as Moby Dick, or Mega-Shark vs. whatever, then you can't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reptilian chomp-fest good for a laugh and some shocks, but not a lot else, 8 July 2011
By 
Beedo Sookcool (Torbay, Devonshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dinocroc Vs. Supergator [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes, you see a DVD in a supermarket bargain bin, it grabs your eye, you figure it's not much money and buy it for a laugh, and when you get it home, it turns out to be an undiscovered and underappreciated cinematic gem. This is not one of those films. Roger Corman does it again with another of his laughable creature features. As a dinosaur fan since I was four years old and a trained environmental field biologist, I'm a sucker for the Giant Reptiles Eating People genre of films. Emphasis on the "sucker." I bought this thing without first renting it to see what it was like. There's not a great deal of plot in this thing, most of which you can guess from the title alone, so I'll turn to other aspects of the film.

THE GOOD: There were a couple of moments of honest-to-goodness, jump-out-of-my chair shock. Some of the main characters get a bit of depth to them, and are quite likeable. The designs of the two beasts are certainly interesting and rather imaginative, with some basis in reality. Several of the women in the film are attractive. In places, like some of the chase scenes, the CGI is very well done. (But not all of the places; more on that later.) The scenic shots are breathtakingly gorgeous. (At least, the scenic shots that aren't jumping around like a cricket on a hotplate are gorgeous.)

THE BAD: For a science fiction movie, it's kind of light on the science part. Basic physics, for a start. Alligators don't gallop. Even if they did, a 40-foot mutant 'gator would be utterly unable to gallop like a two-meter Australian freshie. Honestly, I could go on and on and on, scene by scene, taking up megabytes of bandwidth with all the wretched mistakes that anyone with a modicum of science training could catch, but I haven't got that much time or patience. And nobody would have the time or patience to read it. The acting in places is stilted, with some of the performers apparently chosen more for their bounce-and-jiggle factor than their thespianic refinement. It got to the point where I actually stopped ogling the bikini-clad lovelies and paid attention to their wooden acting. THAT'S how distracting it was in places! Oh, yes: and the nastiest, most hateful character in the film is meant to be British. Of course.

THE UGLY: While the designs of the creatures are nifty, the actual CGI leaves a bit to be desired in spots. The reptiles often move in unrealistic ways (too fast or jerkily for animals of such bulk). I have yet to figure out how a guy standing KNEE-DEEP in a pool can suddenly have a 40-FOOT REPTILE come up DIRECTLY BENEATH him and chomp him in a single vertical bite, "Jaws"-style. In some places, especially near the beginning, the beasts look like they're carrying around their own personal hovering off-camera light sources, since they don't blend in very well with the backgrounds. The roars and bellows of the critters are easily and distractingly recognisable as the roars and bellows of critters blatantly taken from other Giant Reptiles Eating People films, specifically those that were also filmed in Hawaii and featured a certain Park with a Mesozoic theme to it.

THE VERDICT: Quite good for a mindless, megareptilian buffet film. Laughably bad for a film. Good for mocking with friends (or "MSTifying" as the cognoscenti know it). Still, it's far ahead of "Lake Placid 2" in terms of quality (hence the two-star rating instead of one), if that's any help. Don't make the same mistake I did; rent it first or watch it on TV for free before deciding whether or not to buy it. And if anyone in Hollywood wants to hire a biologist as an advisor on creature-features so the films don't turn out to be too ridiculous, I'll make myself available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinocroc Vs. Supergator [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those dreadful tongue in cheek dinosaur type films with quite poor quality croc and gator cgi. . . However I love this type of film and have watched it several times. Its the usual story of someone playing about with genetics and creating super beasts that then escape creating havoc. If you like this type of film then you should love this. I recommend it but it wont be everyone's cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic in the Making, 2 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. A. Healy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinocroc Vs. Supergator [DVD] (DVD)
Take the best/worst features from every Corman that you've seen, and you get this film. About the only thing that he missed is UFOs though there is a touch of the X-Files here. A very good excuse to let your brain idle in neutral and ENJOY !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supergator, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinocroc Vs. Supergator [DVD] (DVD)
Liked this movie. The creatures were mostly believable. All though there were some parts where it looked unreal. Made me laugh, even though it wasn't supposed to be funny. Mind you all these types of movies are unintentionally funny. If you are in to these kind of films then I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinocroc Vs. Supergator [DVD] (DVD)
good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dinocroc vs supergator, 26 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. I.V. Creeper "igor" (who knows, england,uk ?) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dinocroc Vs. Supergator [DVD] (DVD)
Dodgy firm doing illegal experiments with the 'boss' prepared to have offed anyone who threatens his empire; super hero type and attractive heroine with altruistic father. Is there anything new in the format here? No. But it is refreshingly entertaining, silly, cliched and acheiving this on a low budget. more than can be said for so many 'blockbusters' churned out by the big studios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dinocroc Vs. Supergator [DVD]
Dinocroc Vs. Supergator [DVD] by Jim Wynorski (DVD - 2011)
£3.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews