Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brooklyn, 1975, Booze, Irishmen and The Rolling Stones!
I thought that this might be one of those films where the stereotypes are the whole basis for the movie and to some extent I was right. However it is actually a really well observed film and had me gripped through out. Like the main character here Brian (Nick Thurston) I am a first generation Irish man and so much of the back plot rang true for me. Brian is the younger of...
Published on 28 Jun 2012 by Tommy Dooley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
ABSOLUTE PISH
Published 7 days ago by Sheila G.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brooklyn, 1975, Booze, Irishmen and The Rolling Stones!, 28 Jun 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Irish Drinkers [DVD] (DVD)
I thought that this might be one of those films where the stereotypes are the whole basis for the movie and to some extent I was right. However it is actually a really well observed film and had me gripped through out. Like the main character here Brian (Nick Thurston) I am a first generation Irish man and so much of the back plot rang true for me. Brian is the younger of two brothers, the elder brother Danny played by Geoffrey Wigdor (`Sleepers') is the Black Sheep and has just come out of prison, he is a cheap street hustler and would be thief. Brian is the thoughtful one who wants to work at the local cinema/rock venue and paint his pictures of urban street life in the shared basement.

Brian has a circle of friends who range from being a proud garbage collector, to a computer pioneer, the only thing they still have in common is their heritage, hatred of disco, love of alcohol and the fact they are white Irish drinkers and they bring some welcome humour to the proceedings.

They have a loving, hard working mother and a hard working, violent, drunken and abusive father. Violence is never far away from the surface when he is around and especially so when he has a skin full, which is pretty much most of the time - a situation I can empathise with. While Brian tries to find love and meaning in his life, Danny seeks only to steal and get away from Brooklyn and a life of being a punch bag, forever. The thing is he loves his brother despite their differences and wants/needs him to get what he wants. Things can only go wrong, but the thing is for who and how ruddy bad?

I really loved this film, it was gritty and dirty and had lots of unnecessary violence, but it struck a nerve with me that meant I could associate with Brian and his hopes and losses. The music is very good too and was done by Mark Snow. It is set in 1975 and the period detail looks quite authentic, they could have made more of the hair do's though and flares but not to worry. A film full of stereotypes that manages to present them in a real and human way and does not pull its punches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Irish Drinkers [DVD] (DVD)
very happy with product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Irish Drinkers [DVD] (DVD)
ABSOLUTE PISH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Irish Drinkers [DVD] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Oct 2014
This review is from: White Irish Drinkers [DVD] (DVD)
a+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 Mar 2014
By 
John Armitt (Stavanger, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Irish Drinkers [DVD] (DVD)
This is gritty, British drama at its best. Definitely worth a look, either to buy or to rent I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Irish Drinkers [DVD] (DVD)
whasok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Irish Drinkers [Blu-ray] [US Import]
White Irish Drinkers [Blu-ray] [US Import] by John Gray (Blu-ray - 2011)
Used & New from: £5.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews