Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but perhaps not for complete beginners to app inventor
As computers get more and more easy to use the coding skills of that grew up on ZX Spectrums and Commodore 64s is being lost to the 'youth of today'. It's great then, that this knowledge is making something of a comeback with the popularity of mobile phone 'apps'.

Coding is difficult not because of the concepts, which are simple, but the arcane syntax you need...
Published on 2 Aug. 2011 by Arheddis Varkenjaab

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Google no longer supports App Inventor
I bought two text books in December; beautiful publications, excellent illustrations and examples, top quality paper, etc. Unfortunately, there was no warning on the Amazon site that Google had announced withdrawal of support for App Inventor in August 2011 and it was taken out of service on 31st December 2011!! The starting URL in the book takes you to a Google page...
Published on 24 Jan. 2012 by Geoff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is the book you need., 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
OK so it's not 'for dummies' or an 'idiots guide' but it is just as effective. I found this to be very helpful and user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great if you know what you are doing, 15 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. Simon Paddon "Simon" (Barnstaple, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lets be honest- this game is not simple. If making app's were straight forward, then we would all be doing it, right?

Well, nearly. This books helps get you most of the way, but I did find it a bit bewildering at paces. So much so, that I never actually got to the end goal of a completed app. I do think this may be my fault, and not the books, but lets be honest, that's why I got the book, and it failed in its job.

In fairness, it was clear and precise in the steps required, but it just assumes a level of knowledge which I failed to meet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good starting book for apps, 15 Nov. 2012
By 
Stephen Luff "Stephen L" (Worthing, Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found this book was useful in attempting to write my own apps. It does require that the treaty have some familiarity with programming. Also it's going to take lot off programming to get some ideas of the ground. Books like this take poor all the hard work of research and let the ready feel the author has walked the difficult path of trial and error for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You really can build apps with absolutely no experience., 19 July 2011
By 
Coffee & Vanilla "Margot" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although app inventor itself deserves much of the praise, this book makes it easy for anyone without a programming background to make their own Android App.

If you are the type that learn by doing, then this is the book for you. It teaches you by taking you through the build of individual apps designed to hone in a particular concept.

I would have given it 5 stars because it does exactly what is says on the cover, "build your apps - no experience needed" that is not hyperbole you really can build apps with absolutely no experience and not just a basic "push to play sound" app either.

Why not 5 stars?
I use linux, and as with most publications it's completely ignored. Setting your computer to use app inventor is not a simple task with linux, and with the exception of mentioning where to download and a warning about openJDK the book offers little help in this regard.
Apart from that gripe there nothing but love for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews