Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2011
Been a massive fan of On the Buses since it first blessed our screens back in 1969. I was only 10 when it started but my whole family used to watch the escapades of Stan and Jack every week. The truth is it's not the most PC of shows but I still love it for what it is and have some great nostalgic memories from watching it. Most of all I'm so glad it's got all 3 films and Don't Drink the Water. Been waiting for a box set with the whole lot in for a while!
55 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
BOX SET ON THE BUSES:/ Got it on vhs. Now dvd is the in thing. From 1969 to 1973. Well loved by 1000's of funs, like myself. Its about Reg Varney is the the, no'11 bus and is conductor Bob Grant as Jack his friend. They get upto all sorts of things. Anything but work. One of British best. Please note that it is from the 60's/70;s so some are in B&W. Classic Film. Buy it, if you would like to know what go's on, 'The Buses'? Great box set that I'm sure you will love.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
Well after many releases and re-packeged releases, we finally have all the On the Buses series 1-7, including all 3 films in the one boxset, plus the spin off "Don't Drink The water", it's taken a while but we have finally gotten there.

On the buses as most fans know centre round Stan Butler and Jack Harper, who worked for Luxton buses, and gave hell to The Inspector Cyril 'Blackey' Blake, also Stans family Mum, Oliver his sister and Brother in law Arthur (who left after season 6)It centres around their lives and jack and stans fliting with most of the gorgeous clippies, and usually failing, all the while being bereated by Blackey,It for me was and still is a very funny series which ended the same year i was born however, i think that when Stand left in the middle of season 7, the series had reached it's final destination, and with the departure of Arthur, and Stan, the dynamics just didn't seem to work together, which is a shame that it didn't end on a high.Yes it had a more innocent humour and it wasn't politically correct (the black character was called chalky), but thing's were different 38 years ago.

The series like most comedy series made in the 70's, bore 3 films On The Buses/Mutiny on the Buses/Holiday on the Buses, which were inkeeping in the main to the main series except Olive and Arthur had one child and another on the way, and worked for London transport on red buses not the usual green, except Holiday which was filmed in Pontins wales, all 3 films are enjoyable romps and its good to see the main cast all included in these films

In Addition there is another spin-off called "Don't Drink the Water" Which was written by Ronald Wolfe and Ronald Chesney,and on Cyril Blake who has now retired and gone to Spain with his sister (Pat Coombes)with 13 episodes over 2 series, I'm afraid to say this is a complete letdown, and was eventually axed after only 2 series, and has been said to one of the worst comedies ever made, even with the writers trying to breathe new life into Blakey, unfortunatley without the other main characters, he does not work as a stand alone player, and this is what makes this fail miserably, and i think this is probably for the few die-hard fans.

All in all despite the dire Blakey Spin-Off this Complete boxset has everything for the On the Buses fan, and we can enjoy this series for many years to come.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
This boxset really takes me back every time I look at some episodes. Have seen them all several times now, but they keep making me laugh. really brightens up a rainy day.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
The whole caboodle in one place and a very good price..nostalgia central!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
love love love love,so funny and so great to get them all together
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
It is not easy for an finn to understand every word, but this is super and it works in 2013, which is amazing!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
A classic tv series I can watch all the time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
ITEM AS DESCRIBED, VERY FAST DISPATCH....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
my husband loved this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)