Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


230 of 233 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun!
The Sims 3 Generations is probably the best expansion pack for the Sims 3 yet, possibly with the exception of World Adventures. As previous reviewers have mentioned, it is mainly beneficial if you like to play with families as opposed to only adults, but there are some new aspects for the adults and it certainly makes having children a bit more interesting.

You...
Published on 20 July 2011 by Amazing Annie

versus
59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT A GREAT EXPANSION
This is the fourth expansion pack for the The Sims 3 (PC/Mac DVD) and although it is somewhat interesting, it is my least favorite expansion pack so far. It is aimed to people who like creating big families and play with toddlers, children and teen Sims more, but for adult Sims it doesn't really add much.

First of all, it brings back some things from the Sims 2...
Published on 3 Jun 2011 by Eleni


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

230 of 233 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun!, 20 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The Sims 3 Generations is probably the best expansion pack for the Sims 3 yet, possibly with the exception of World Adventures. As previous reviewers have mentioned, it is mainly beneficial if you like to play with families as opposed to only adults, but there are some new aspects for the adults and it certainly makes having children a bit more interesting.

You can now have an adult sim read toddlers and children to sleep, and sometimes this will be one of their wishes, which is nice. You can only do this if you have certain suitable books. For children and teenagers there are a few more options at school. They can go on field trips from which they can pick up skills and moodlets and they can also sign up for after school activities from which they also pick up skills. Alternatively you can send them to boarding school where they will remain until they reach their next age up or until you remove them. If you leave them there they will pick up certain skills and personality traits. There was some kind of glitch in my game as I sent my teenager to a boarding school and for some reason she was delivered back to the house having not graduated. She received negative personality traits for her 'indifferent' attitude to school and also was unable to get a job! The option to join the ___ career was simply not there when you click on the buildings, although she could still get a vocational profession. Slightly unfair as I did not ask for her to be returned early from school, as I said, I think it was a glitch.

The fact that children can be punished is a bit annoying as the parents will punish the children without you telling them to do so. They can be sent to time out, be grounded or banned from using certain household objects. Fortunately you can just 'let off the hook' if you want to.

There are a few new toys which can be used by children and adults alike. There are rocking toys for toddlers, see saws, water slides and dressing up boxes. Dressing up boxes are good fun and have quite a few options such as dinosaur, princess etc. Furthermore you can even choose they type of dinosaur / princess you want your sim to dress up as. Children can now have imaginary friends, which is amusing, and they can pull pranks such as hairdye in the shower, whoopie cushions and making the toilet overflow. Teenage pranks are slightly more thuggish and involve throwing eggs at neighbours houses and leaving flaming bags of poo (gross). That's a fun aspect and I appreciate that.

Both teenagers and the menopausal (male as well as female!) are subject to hormonal changes. Teenagers on certain days wake up feeling rebellious and you will have the option to select wishes such as snub another sim, skip school, stop being friends with their mother etc etc! Sims having a midlife crisis have a similar thing and have wishes such as breaking up with their partner, flirting with somebody else, changing jobs or moving house.

There is a new day care profession for adults. It's ok, but a bit boring as far as I'm concerned. I'm sure some people would really enjoy it. You get to look after other sims' toddlers and children in your own home.

There a few new cosmetic features. There are a few new hairstyles and clothes and you can now give your sims body hair on their chests. Babies and toddlers can have buggies and elders can have walking sticks. This really doesn't make much difference to gameplay but is nice all the same.

Adult interactions are a bit more fun. You can woo hoo in a few new places including in the shower which I like because they get clean at the same time! They can also star gaze together which is really sweet and gives them a positive moodlet after they've done it. Weddings are a bit more fun with generations. The hen and stag parties are very good, with the options to spray sims with fizzy nectar or ask sims to make a toast. You also get a sexy dancer turn up. Weddings are a bit more organised with the reappearance of the marriage arch.

Sims can now store memories, which I find to be a pointless feature because the memories don't really have any kind of effect on the game. It would be better if sims recalled them occasionally or if they had an effect on their mood like in the sims 2.

There are a few new rewards up for purchase with the lifetime reward points; Hover Bed, Young Again, Clone Voucher, Age Freeze, Inheritance, Super Nanny, Above Reproach, Clean Slate. They all pretty much do what they say on the tin. As for the clean slate and above reproach ones, I find the whole reputation thing a bit annoying as it goes. There are only so many times I need to be reminded that my sims are 'eternally faithful' etc. Oh, and it also tells you that your sim remembers woo hooing with another sim practically every time you do it which is a bit annoying. Maybe they'll iron that kind of thing out later.

All in all it's a pretty good game with some slightly annoying features. If you're a sims addict it will definitely keep you entertained for quite a while. Every time the sims has a new expansion pack the game just becomes a little more 'deep'. It is a ridiculously complex game in terms of the multitude of options and interactions available to you and generations vastly increases that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Great!, 22 Aug 2011
By 
V. Ago (CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If you're a Simmer - then this is a must buy! Ok, there is no new World/Town included. There are no major apparent improvements. But...but...but...but! It makes the game so much more fun and realistic than before! You now have baby prams and walking canes for old people. You also have better interactions with kids when they do naughty things. My fav is the Pillow-fighting command; its just so funny when you first play it. I wasn't that bothered at first, but I think this makes the game more rounded; all that's needed is the Pets, and a Weather EP - if they do that... It will be perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good addition!, 31 Mar 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If like me your like playing the family element more than the career then this is the expansion pack for you!
It opens up the family element more by introducing loads more interactions and activities you can do with your children. It doesnt come with a new world though which is disappointing!
Your sims can have new traits such as nurturing and rebellious.
Teens can play pranks and go to prom, Adults can have midlife crises and Woo hoo in a few more places (tree house and shower)
There are quite a few new toys and object additions such as slides, playground toys, tree houses, chemistry sets and prams etc. There is new wallpapers and spiral stairs for your house among other things. The imaginary friend is a good idea. Your baby gets a doll which when they grow up can turn into an imaginary friend

In create a sim you can now add body hair...i think this is nothing to rave about but its new

There is a new career which is day care. You can do this from home which is a nice little addition to the game.
There are many more additions to the game which i wont go into now such as gnomes, bording school, field trips etc.

Overall its a good expansion pack, it does focus on family but i really like that!

Please rate my review as helpful :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT A GREAT EXPANSION, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is the fourth expansion pack for the The Sims 3 (PC/Mac DVD) and although it is somewhat interesting, it is my least favorite expansion pack so far. It is aimed to people who like creating big families and play with toddlers, children and teen Sims more, but for adult Sims it doesn't really add much.

First of all, it brings back some things from the Sims 2 that even though I missed when I first started to play Sims 3, now I could live without. The most obvious return is the memories, as Sims can again remember important events. They can also have some long forgotten interactions with their fellow Sims, like giving gifts and offering flowers. In addition private schools are back, which is very nice.

So far I considered baby, toddler, and child ages a waste of time, but now there are a lot of new toys and interactions for adolescent Sims, my favorite being the addition of tree houses. In the past, Sims had to stay home when they were raising babies and toddlers or call a babysitter, now they have strollers to take their babies with them, which is definitely an improvement. Also Sims can have an imaginary friend from their birth who grows up with them. Apparently depending on how strong the child's relationship with the imaginary friend is, the imaginary friend can become real at some point; I haven't reached that stage yet, but I am really looking forward to that prospect.

However, this expansion does not add much to adult Sim's lives apart from a few interactions and celebrations. There is a better wedding celebration and bachelor party as well as a graduation celebration. Sadly, there is only one new career as babysitter which is not even interesting in my opinion.

Naturally, there are some new clothes and hairstyles and some new homes but they are not that many or great. The main disappointment however for me was the lack of a new neighbourhood, I really expected one as all previous expansions had this addition.

The game was easy to install to my pc, and I haven't noticed any problems to my gameplay so far, but as I have only played for a couple of hours, time will tell. Obviously I am expecting problems as with all new expansions but I am confident that they will be corrected through patches as they always are.

In total, this is great if you like creating families, if not, you won't get much from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST EXPANSION SO FAR!, 18 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
What can I say? - Basically enjoyment of this pack will depend on what you enjoy most whilst your playing sims.
For instance, spiral stair cases just made it for me, I am so pleased with them.
I also really like the child-minding option because it saves actually having to HAVE kids :)
I love all the new items really, and there are new interactions, especially games for kids which are really fun. There is also Prom which although in uncontrollable, is still a fun event.
There's the wedding, which above all Sims will sit down for (which is fantastic) and the cake can also be cut.
(and before this, bachelor and bachelorette parties are really fun, dancers, spraying champange etc)
Even kids parties are way better, either the ability to throw them whilst the adults are away, or sleepovers being so much better done.

Still, if this isn't the one for you, Sims 3 PETS will come out in the autumn, and that's bound to be AMAZING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sims 3 generations, 15 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I love this game as it adds more to your game. You have more items for the kids and you can also make them dream about things plus i also like the tricks they can play on anyone in the house my favorite is the hair dye trick in the shower it turned one of my sims hair bright yellow. The professional jobs are not the best but overall the game is very good and i am glad i got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sims 3 Generations Pack, 1 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game is a excellent addition to the base game. I love the Imaginary friend options and the boarding schools! I would highly recommend to anyone who loves playing with families rather than single sims and like building a family tree and story progression! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sims 3, 4 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The Sims 3 Generations is the best sims game i own and i have at least 7. You can get bunk beds and high school diplomas (PS- i am sorry about any spelling im a bad speller) your sims graduates and go to prom. Pull pranks on your parents and get a job in child day care. It is a very good game and if you have Sims 3 you have to have The Sims 3 Generations!

-Emma (13)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sims 3 Generations, 17 Mar 2012
By 
R. Zerbini - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Expansion pack dont have : New town, New skills, New community lots, etc, but at the same time this expansion pack is about something EA has never done before : Family! The biggest part of this expansion pack are the children, you get tree-houses, chemistry kits, make-believe and more, there are also a lot of new things for teenagers, pranks, dating, new ways of punishing your kids, and some other stuff like spiral staircases, cranes, video cameras, imaginary friends and more, I recommend this expansion pack and even if you are not into kids stuff you can find a way to enjoy this EP... like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Game depth, yes - value for money? No., 2 Jan 2012
By 
Nicola Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This expansion pack was interesting and added depth to the game, but it really felt more like a stuff pack. I'm really glad I didn't buy it at full price otherwise I would have been very disappointed.

There's an irritating loop with teenage punishments when a teen misbehaves to the point where they are grounded for two whole days. This means that if they try to leave the house, they are shouted at by their parents and the punishment is extended. Unfortunately, some sloppy planning on behalf of the game developers means that if the teen tries to leave the house to go to school, their grounding is extended and they are ordered to stay at home. This only gets worse when the end of the school day comes round as Mum or Dad accuses the teen of skipping school and again extends their extension. Grrrr! If your teen can get into good enough favour with Mum/Dad, they can plead with them to have their punishment lifted but this isn't always immediately possible.

There are a few other irritating quirks that come about from having Generations and other expansion packs, but I won't go into them. They are minor and don't bother game play too much, just cause you to roll your eyes at the game development.

In summary - this is an enjoyable expansion pack that will enhance game play, but buy it when it's reduced by at least half otherwise you will feel like you have wasted your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad57cb7c)

This product

The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD)
The Sims 3: Generations (PC/Mac DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista / XP)
12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews