Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait..., 4 Aug 2011
By 
DTdh (Brit in Southern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is surely a release many of The Bill's DVD buying fans will be glad finally came. We can only hope we don't have to wait another year and a half for the next 13!

It's much easier to follow the story through the DVD's than trawling the various internet video sites, then to find one or many episodes are missing there. And great to see which famous faces will crop during the earlier days of their acting careers. Including here, appearances from Stella Gonet (The Chain of Command) and Michael Melia - an actor who's had some great roles but you hardly see on TV anymore (Hothead).

Good to see the UK releases are continuing - keep it up! It's only now that the show is gone (a full year later this month) that you appreciate it more, as with many other axed shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another trip down Sun Hill memory lane, 23 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
By early 1989 The Bill was ranking amongst the most popular programmes on the box and these 13 episodes that were originally aired in January and February that year are a prime reason why. This was the Bill at it's very best, long before it turned into a soap style saga with wooden characters by the time the axe fell in 2010.

All the characters in this seem to be on fine form. After months of not being given much to do the great Graham Cole is finally utilised a bit more as PC Tony Stamp in a few of the episodes. The character of PC Pete Ramsey shows his true colours in the episode 'NFA' and 'Repercussions' in which he crosses swords with Tosh Lines and Yorkie Smith respectively and gets his just desserts! It was such a shame this great character was written out of the show later in the year.

Other episode highlights include 'The Chain Of Command' (in which the underated Chief Insp Conway tries to remove winos off Sun Hill's streets with hillarious results), 'Duty Elsewhere' (in which Malcolm Hayes goes undercover as a yardie) and 'In The Frame' (in which DI Frank Burnside is subject to a bogus set up by an old adversary & in the same episode Sgt Bob Cryer tells an American man to move his illegally parked car with tragic consequences).

Network seem to be really slow in churning out these sets - but hopefully we will eventually get volume six released soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bill - Warning - Can Be Addictive!, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Paul W (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a long term fan of The Bill - gutted when it was canceled.

However re-visiting these older episodes makes me realise just how good it once was. We ended up watching the whole set in a week - it was that good.

The very early episodes of The Bill available on The Bill - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] were ok but I felt a little dated and dare I say sometimes a bit slow. Acting could be a little wooden too.

However by the time they moved to 30 minute episodes the writing and acting had really got very good. In fact at the end of the episode I often felt wanting more!

What is disappointing is the very slow speed these DVDs are being released. At the current rate its going to take a good 30 years for all of the episodes to be available!

Its too good and I'm too impatient for that - there's no sign of the rest of series 5 and beyond in the UK. This disk is actually episodes 5-17 of series five - with another 80 plus episodes to go just in series 5 alone!

However I noticed that the whole of series 5 and series 6 are available from Australia from 7th March 2012 - that's over 200 episodes and works out far cheaper per episode. I've pre-ordered my next fix of The Bill from Australia - can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars please release more, 7 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is great TV. it deals with policing with the minimum of fuss. every scene has a copper in it and there's no superfluous hanky panky or relationship drama. crime and policing. How i wish there was a show like this on tv now. even the bill in later years lost sight of its intentions: to be a show about coppers doing the job. network need to pull their finger out; some of the dross they release instead of this TV classic is a disgrace. Pauline's quirks? seriously!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful performances, 1 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
A couple of real gems in this particular collection, including Haynes going undercover on the first disc, and Cryer and Burnside both getting in schtick with certain 'heavy mob' types in the finale on disc two. Also a very decent two-parter on disc two, which is somewhat unusual for this period of the programme's output, and therefore all the more welcome for it. Plus, on a personal note, my favourite character of all makes a semi-regular appearance as the clinching feature. But I won't expand on that..... Well, we all have our own don't we?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Ello 'ello 'ello, what's all this then?, 22 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps the best cop show of its generation. There are characters to love and to hate. Stories to shock and to make you laugh. Not as hard hitting as 'Sweeney' but miles grittier than 'Heartbeat'. New characters come and go as in real life. This set includes some great episodes that helped make it a ratings winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic Episodes, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Would recommend to lovers of all classic Bill episodes, some great stories in the half hour format and without all the soapy storylines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great The Bill DVD, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been buying these The Bill DVD release since the first complete box set and I am spending a lot of money on these DVD's but the show itself is just great at this point in its history. I like the UK DVD releases because they are uncut, I did read somewhere the Australian DVD versions are cut which is usual because I don't think The Bill is majorly violent. If your a big fan also consider buying Soap Box Volume One as it has the 2003 Live Episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bill Volume 5, 27 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I hope Network release Volume 6, Volume 7 and Volume 8 half way into 2012. Before Christmas 2012 I hope Network release another 4 Volumes [Volume 9, Volume 10, Volume 11 and Volume 12], I hope Network do something like what i have suggested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb41e2474)

This product

The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD]
The Bill - Volume 5 [DVD] by Graham Cole (DVD - 2011)
9.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews