Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing the Sabre
This must be the most original sound of the last twelve months. In a year (and more) of borderline jazz/pop females getting all the accolades, this is the album that stands out. It is possible to detect influences from all kinds of music as diverse as reggae and classical yet it copies non of them. Thank you, Maverick Sabre for putting the soul back into song.
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by B. J. Cooper

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars thought it would be better. Nothing really stood out
Ok , thought it would be better. Nothing really stood out .
Published 29 days ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing the Sabre, 28 Feb 2012
By 
B. J. Cooper "Silver Poet" (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
This must be the most original sound of the last twelve months. In a year (and more) of borderline jazz/pop females getting all the accolades, this is the album that stands out. It is possible to detect influences from all kinds of music as diverse as reggae and classical yet it copies non of them. Thank you, Maverick Sabre for putting the soul back into song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits The Right Notes - Presses The Right Buttons, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
I had never heard of Maverick Sabre until I heard an advert on the TV for this album which played the track Let Me Go. This has been sampled on many TV programmes, trailers etc and I loved it and didn't have a clue who it was until today. I bought the album on the strength of that track alone and do not regret that decision for one moment.

Like Adele and Amy Winehouse, I like the fact that Maverick Sabre has a love and appreciation of a wide range of instruments - not just electronic or digital musings and that combined with thought provoking lyrics and heart touching tunes had me sat in my office chair bopping and doing my thang!

Totally stunning debut album - one of those albums that you absolutely MUST have in your record collection.

Maverick - you have just made an old 40 something bird very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emerging talent, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm 56 years old and love this kid! A brilliant, unique voice, and some great penmanship on the tracks. A brilliantly produced album too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, heartfelt, compelling and entertaning!, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
Ive only just stumbled upon Maverick Ssbre, and to be honest, i was surprised by his voice. I was watching the video for 'I Need', and he didnt sound as i expected. However, his voice was a nice surprise, and i found that i couldnt stop listening. In the end i went all out and bought his album.

And i havent felt one speck of regret. From the opening song mentioned earlier, 'I Need', and the upbeat, catchy second song 'Let Me Go', this album is a great experience.

All of the songs have some sort of connection to real life situations, and the way Maverick sings about them makes them easy to relate to. For example, the song 'I Can Never Be', relates to the fact that some people feel they can never be good enough for the one they love, and 'Sometimes' relates to the fact that people take things for granted and forget where they come from.

Another aspect that makes this album so brilliant is the simple fact that his beautiful voice helps him pull off some brilliant choruses and verses, which helps the listener to take in all his words and join him in reminicing and relating to his life and their own.

Overall, this is an excellent album, and one that has brillaint choruses and lyrics that are really heartfelt and understood. This is recommended to anyone, especially those who were were bored by Ed Sheerans debut and are looking for something far more catchy and far less overrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Are The Brave (Audio CD)
A great album a good mix of songs. Some albums tend to be just 10 or so songs that all sound very similar this offers a nice variety
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maverick sabre, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
a great album all the way through. starts with the most famous of his songs and the quality never drops off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars consistent quality, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
There wasn't a track I didn't like, the songs blended well and I felt very chilled after listening to it.
Mellow enough for older people to enjoy but cool enough for the youngsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique artist ...want more, 5 May 2014
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
Love Lonely are the Brave, one of those albums where every track is as good as the other. Maverick Sabre has a unique voice and style and I never bore of listening to this is my car. Only one negative and that is I want more!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Are The Brave (Audio CD)
Fantastic album - varied styles, great vocals. If you like Plan B and Finlay Quay you'll love this. Best album of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of soul, he has an amazing voice, If you are going to buy this album its definately worth getting the deluxe edition!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely are the Brave
Lonely are the Brave by Maverick Sabre (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews