Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2011
Having read the very odd entry from Palmer's weekend diary entry, this was a must buy for any betting enthusiast. I spent 4 hours charging across London in order to have a copy for Monday mornings light reading on the train to work and the ensuing journeys; that plan is already out the window having finished the book by Monday evening! The joy of my 4 hour escapade on Friday was that I benefited with 2 hours immediate reading time!

Absolutely hilarious from the start! For anyone that is regularly involved in financial combat with the bookmakers, or simply intrigued into what makes thousands of people regularly frit away their finances on a variety of sports, Steve's account is frightfully recognisable. Chasing the dream! The lazy boy lifestyle led with his accomplice through various fast-food establishments adds the required light humour!

I very rarely have a financial interest in golf tournaments which is Steve's main betting medium, but will follow his Wednesday column in the Racing Post with closer interest from now on in order to understand how his Sunday evenings entail! I even considered tonight that he is probably on the losing end of West Brom's controversial equaliser - having begun to understood his betting patterns and choices so carefully. I feel your pain Steve!

Sensational read, hopefully inspires more non-professional gamblers to come out with honest in sites into their gambling exploits instead of the current array of titles on offer purely highlighting their major gambles - no rollercoaster ride in those books unlike Steve's!
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
Bought this for my husband so I am reviewing it on his behalf. My hubby is a "sporting" man and has read the author's blogs, and it appears that this book is a fleshed out version of those blogs. There are some interesting parts, but much of it it is a diary of the "punts" that the author makes on various sports. A book to dip in and out of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
As regular Racing Post buyer but not a Palmer column reader (I will be now)I came upon this book by accident - but what a glorious accident!! A brilliant 'unputdownable' read and a must for any punter. Steve Palmer's 'warts and all' diary tells a familiar tale to all of us who 'love a punt' - the wonderful highs and disastrous lows are here in all their glory. Palmer's anti hero approach to life is refreshingly honest and utterly hilarious. I have opened a Twitter account just so I can keep up to date with his antics !!! Great read - thoroughly recommended. Get a girlfriend Steve - it might be the only thing that can save you!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
Never lay up or lay off!.An easy pick up is hard to find.Steve Palmers diary is honest to a tee,i dont think i have ever left a pub early to see what an English ginger is up to ,only to find like us all he knows nothing really matters.BANG back to punting.Up there with some of the best sporting autos i have read.IDEAL GIFT.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
If you know what its like to wake up in this predominantly terrible, infuriating, venal and nihilistically sad story we're all living in, then you know that you need destractions...

Man made sport...man made sports betting...

But it is WE who decide how far we take it.....and steve palmer has accompanied the theatre with an attempt to make a few quid to support and fuel his love of the games that men play, existing along side them and turning a hope into a dream.

This book outlines all the glory and hope and failure and success a regular man can have in this torturous sham of a society...

We await the update master palmer....youve been doin well recently...

we await the facespit
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
not a book to buy if you`re looking at how to gamble succesfully,in fact it`s the reverse,what palmer does though,in his uniquely talented way is to portray the true feelings of the commited gambler,as any gambler will tell you,one day you`re feeling like the most wretched piece of humanity who ever walked the earth,the next day you`re smiling as if you`de had a lap dance off elle mcpherson,this is the story of his betting year,massive lows followed by massive highs,you`ll find yourself laughing at his laddish antics,then tutting at his self destructive phases and finally wonder,does this guy need a phycologist,whatever your views on the man himself,it`s an excellant read for any gambler
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2011
could not put this thrilling adventure down, read it cover to cover over the weekend and couldn't sleep a wink!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
This does what it says on the tin - SP tells the tale of his numerous wagers throughout 2010
He is convinced that if can land a big win (minimum £30,000) he'll have a big enough kitty to abandon his 'day job' on the Racing Post and become a professional gambler.
Anyone who likes a bet will be able to relate to his string of near-misses.
It's also something of a cautionary tale as his available funds dry up as Christmas is coming.
Steve writes with a refreshing candour which makes this an entertaining and brisk read.
But he seems destined to fail with his long-term aim, largely through a lack of self-discipline.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
This was great. Simple honest diary of a committed sports (mainly golf) punter and enthusiastic beer drinker with an ambition to give himself a large enough betting bank to work with. It's amusing and I find myself willing him to win the BIG one that will give him what he needs. As the diary days passed by, I found myself genuinely disappointed when he reported losses. His scatter-gun approach may hit the target one day; I hope it does - he deserves a bit of luck.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Very funny read. Would love to meet his guy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)