Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
The sending was very fast and the product corresponds well to the description. I shall advise(recommend) to a friend.
Published 2 months ago by LORIEUX

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars frustrating
I bought this for my 4 year old son, who loves watching home made doctor who lego episodes on youtube - but this unfortunately should be avoided. we perservered with making the tardis, but it just would not stay in one piece - the slightest knock and it would fall to pieces - i'd say even looking at it, and there it goes again . . . Sigh!
Published on 20 Aug 2011 by Rob State


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars frustrating, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Rob State (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who the Tardis Mini Construction Playset (Toy)
I bought this for my 4 year old son, who loves watching home made doctor who lego episodes on youtube - but this unfortunately should be avoided. we perservered with making the tardis, but it just would not stay in one piece - the slightest knock and it would fall to pieces - i'd say even looking at it, and there it goes again . . . Sigh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collectors only., 10 Jun 2011
By 
Mr K (Sofa of reasonable comfort) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who the Tardis Mini Construction Playset (Toy)
This is a nice looking little Tardis once built, but looking at is really all it's good for. The doors are really flimsy and I can imagine they'd break with very little encouragement, and that's if you manage to close the doors if you at any point push them inward. You almost have to pull the model apart to close them again, which isn't recommended as it's enough of a pain to attach the doors in the first place.

Make sure you like where you place the model as if you move it you're sure to lose the lantern, it doesn't stay securely on top at all and I would really consider glue for it. Definitely not safe for younger fans to play with.

Something nice to look at on a shelf maybe, but really can't recommend it as a toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's more rubbish on the inside than it looks on the outside., 15 Jan 2012
By 
A. Cole - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who the Tardis Mini Construction Playset (Toy)
I was really disappointed with this kit, as I really like the Cybermen / Dalek figures in the range.

The moulding quality of the bricks is terrible - the edges are incredibly sharp and pointy, and could hurt a small child, while there are still mould marks where the bricks have been remove from their production sprues. Some of the design elements are questionable - the base is three 2x6 stud tiles, for example, instead of a more sensible 6x6, while the "roof" brick sits on four 2x4 tiles, when a deeper roof brick would have better. All of these together mean that, when assembled, you can still see the gaps between bricks, in a more obvious way than a Lego kit.

Like other people have said, the doors are fiddly and next to impossible to close without partial disassembly (Which makes the cardboard "TARDIS interior" piece a bit pointless), but a worse problem is that the four "frame" panels around the TARDIS aren't quite the same height as the support pillars, leaving a slight but noticeable gap at the top or bottom.

I haven't had the lantern fall off mine.

The Doctor figure is nice, but Amy just doesn't quite look right (The character design emphasises the lengths of people's faces, which doesn't work for her), and the way her hair has been designed makes moving her head difficult. Oh, and the top of the sonic screwdriver isn't green like in the illustration.

I know I'm probably not the target market, but this could have been a better toy than it ended up being. As it is, if your kids are Who fans, this is probably the best you're going to get; it's just that it feels like the second-best lego-y TARDIS kit, of the one available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 May 2011
By 
M. Jackson "MOJOMIKE" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who the Tardis Mini Construction Playset (Toy)
It was with much anticipation we bought this set (2 of them!) for my two boys age 6&8. They are both well versed in the world of Dr Who and lego. So our expectations were high. Sadly this set was not up to these expectations.
The 11th Dr Figure is probably the highlight of this set, it is a lovely cartoonish replica of the Doctor, captures the doctor well, the Amy figure is also good, but doesn't quite capture real Amy in the same way.
The tardis itself is were the problems start, it is incredibly fiddly to put together. Both of my lad struggled and they are usually pretty good with other similar construction sets, getting the doors on was a particular feat!. When on the doors have no easy way of opening or shutting them. Some of the bricks didn't click together as well as I would expect (such as the lamp on the top of one kit kept popping off!) Since construction, even the smallest amount of play has resulted in the model falling apart (this doesn't happen with usual construction toys). Also since then the flimsy door connectors on one set have broken totally, resulting in me having to do a repair job.
I fear, as with most of the Character Options Doctor Who range now, this has been designed with collectors rather than children in mind. It would happily be built and sit on a collectors shelf, but doesn't have much play strength. Needless to say I wont be buying the other sets.
This is a great idea, but very badly implemented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tardis set, 25 May 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who the Tardis Mini Construction Playset (Toy)
I bought this product thinking the box would be bigger than it is, but the set overall is mostly quite small. It's too much money for 60 bricks. The Tardis doors kept falling apart every time I opened them. The roof of the Tardis takes a while to get on. The stikers are fiddly and the Doctor does not have a sonic screwdriver and where's Rory gone? I recommend you buy the Dalek progenitor room first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who the Tardis Mini Construction Playset (Toy)
The sending was very fast and the product corresponds well to the description. I shall advise(recommend) to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who the Tardis Mini Construction Playset (Toy)
It came quickly and was as expected. Thought the structure would be more complicated/more pieces but ideal for younger children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who the Tardis Mini Construction Playset (Toy)
I am a huge whovian and absolutely love this product, looks great when made and it is good quality stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fiddly!, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who the Tardis Mini Construction Playset (Toy)
I second what everyone is finding about the fiddlyness of this item. The blocks are just too sharp edged and not as good at the micro scale, getting the doors in requires at least 6 hands and the patience of Nelson Mandela. My son and I build a lot of lego and a similar simple rectangular block made in Denmark would have taken like 20 seconds to assemble. I would love to say the 10 minutes we spend on this was 'quality time' but no, there were actual real tears. It gets the second star because once built looks nice ...(just don't open the doors inwards unless you actually can warp time and space to open them again).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great nerdy gift, but quality not as good as lego, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who the Tardis Mini Construction Playset (Toy)
Great fun, and an uber nerdy gift, but the quality of the blocks lets it down a little bit. I had to glue the light on the top of the tardis :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews