Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best soundtrack of Patrick Doyle's career to date - Thor is amazing
Patrick Doyle is no stranger to composing epic fantasy scores, and his previous efforts for Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and Eragon: Music From The Motion Picture were both brilliant, however his name is probably not that familiar to the general public. For those who are familiar with Doyle's previous work, this soundtrack is somewhat of a departure from what you...
Published on 28 April 2011 by L. Hubbard

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for intros, bad for main themes.
I love the film and I do like the soundtrack. All the main themes are here, especially loving the stirring battle music and the up lifting final track.

My main beef with this 'OST' soundtrack, like Iron Man and Kick Ass - they spend about 2 and a half minutes on the intro to the themes and then only about 30 seconds on the actual music itself. You are left...
Published on 6 Oct 2011 by D. Howard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best soundtrack of Patrick Doyle's career to date - Thor is amazing, 28 April 2011
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor (Audio CD)
Patrick Doyle is no stranger to composing epic fantasy scores, and his previous efforts for Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and Eragon: Music From The Motion Picture were both brilliant, however his name is probably not that familiar to the general public. For those who are familiar with Doyle's previous work, this soundtrack is somewhat of a departure from what you might expect. Stylistically, it certainly sounds much closer to the work of Hans Zimmer and Co than Doyle's own previous soundtracks. However, the quality of Doyle's writing really shines through and has turned what could have easily been a rather mundane album into a fantastic one. I had hoped Doyle would deliver the goods for Thor, and he has exceeded my expectations.

This soundtrack is an absolute orchestral powerhouse full of of fantastic action tracks, and a few slower emotive tracks. The heroic main theme is absolutely brilliant, but is not so overused that it becomes dull. The main point of focus should be on the action portions of the score because it is of the highest quality. So many films these days can have pretty mundane action writing - but not in Thor. It's almost like Doyle has found a 6th gear from somewhere and the result is pretty epic.

At 71 minutes, this is a pretty lengthy release and it certainly feels like you get your money's worth. One thing I particularly liked about this release was the track order - this may sound slightly dull, but the album really seems to flow well because the action sections do not become to overpowering or long because they are interspersed with the slower emotive tracks.

I can find nothing to criticise with this release. It cranks epic up to the max and Doyle's orchestral writing is simply stunning. If you like the soundtrack within the movie, you will love this release. However it also works brilliantly as a stand alone album if you are a fan of some top quality epic action writing. I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Score, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: Thor (Audio CD)
I listened to this soundtrack a couple of times before i saw the movie and i was very impressed. I was so moved by this score and so i went to the cinema to see the movie. All i can say is that i love both the score and the movie. I have since listened to the score many times over because it is just so easy to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THOR The Soundtrack to the movie, 27 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor OST (MP3 Download)
Watched Thor tonight and was highly impressed with it, one thing that stood out throughout the entire film was the awesome soundtrack...so much I had to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THOR ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK ON CD, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor (Audio CD)
THIS IS A BRILLIANT SOUNDTRACK FOR ALL THOR LOVERS. THIS IS A MUST HAVE FOR THE LOVERS OF THE DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Soundtrack for a very good film, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor (Audio CD)
Enjoyed it a lot. Makes you remember parts of the film which is what a good soundtrack is supposed to do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thor Soundtrack, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor (Audio CD)
First class soundtrack CD, however may I suggest that the jewel case has better packaging when sending out as mine got broken in transit .Fortunately I was able to replace with a spare which I had in my possession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOR ASGARD !, 27 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor OST (MP3 Download)
After seeing the movie ( Best MARVEL film to date ) the first thing i did was download this EPIC soundtrack , BRILLIANT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for intros, bad for main themes., 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Thor (Audio CD)
I love the film and I do like the soundtrack. All the main themes are here, especially loving the stirring battle music and the up lifting final track.

My main beef with this 'OST' soundtrack, like Iron Man and Kick Ass - they spend about 2 and a half minutes on the intro to the themes and then only about 30 seconds on the actual music itself. You are left wondering how they managed to cover the first 6 minutes of credits at the end of the film with a theme that only lasts 3.32 minutes on the disc. Surely it should last as long as the one we heard in the film???!!!

When will these 'OST's' stop cutting down the actual climatic music that people remember from these films in favour of an overly long (and unfulfilled) promise of what should be coming up?

Buy this soundtrack by all means, but be prepared to only hear about 4 minutes of music that you might actually recognise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sountrack thor, 15 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor (Audio CD)
the soundtracks makes up for the lack of storyline, the film itself lacks substance, but the music is fast paced and backups up the storyline more than it deserves.

On the whole prefer the music to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thor OST
Thor OST by Patrick Doyle
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews