Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sci-fi thriller
Picked up this book on a recommendation and it didn't disappoint. The author clearly has a very imaginative mind. The beginning is a little challenging with so many layers in the story however as the characters slowly come together the story picks up pace and keeps you guessing right to the end. Brilliant concept with real, believeable and sometimes gritty characters and...
Published on 3 May 2010 by jro140875

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars An interesting concept poorly executed.
An interesting concept poorly executed.

I'd have given a 1.5 out of 5 stars, had I been able to. The concept for the plot raises the score, but... Oh, so much 'but'.

The book felt like a draft rather than a finished publication. Each absurdly short chapter screamed 'soundbite generation' as if the author wouldn't give the reader anything longer...
Published on 31 May 2012 by Mr A Treacher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sci-fi thriller, 3 May 2010
Picked up this book on a recommendation and it didn't disappoint. The author clearly has a very imaginative mind. The beginning is a little challenging with so many layers in the story however as the characters slowly come together the story picks up pace and keeps you guessing right to the end. Brilliant concept with real, believeable and sometimes gritty characters and the author's background and experience in the science world adds a real sense of realism and possibility to the reading experience. Ultimately the book asks some very interesting questions which means it sticks with you long after you finish reading it. Great debut - looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A delightful little romp :), 3 Mar 2013
By 
M Buckley "Mike Buckley" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good & Evil Angels (Kindle Edition)
I finally got round to reading this, after a friend recommended it to me some while back, and I certainly wasn't disappointed!

The investigations into conciousness put me in mind of the Namshubs used in SnowCrash, and the delights of Tad Williams' Otherland. There was a host of rounded and believable characters taking part in a well realised and imaginative plot... so yeah, it's a good 'un!

There are a few typos goin' on, but these are few and far between... not so much that it drags you out of the story.

Get it, read it, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars An interesting concept poorly executed., 31 May 2012
By 
Mr A Treacher (Hayes, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting concept poorly executed.

I'd have given a 1.5 out of 5 stars, had I been able to. The concept for the plot raises the score, but... Oh, so much 'but'.

The book felt like a draft rather than a finished publication. Each absurdly short chapter screamed 'soundbite generation' as if the author wouldn't give the reader anything longer than two or three pages so as to not overload the attention-span. The book was full of annoyingly intrusive spelling and capitalization mistakes, as well as oddly unnecessary tabs in a few places. It badly needed to be proofread before publication. (This might have fixed some continuity problems and inconsistencies in terminology too.)

Even after building backgrounds and motivations for some of the characters, I felt a complete lack of empathy or identification with any of them. They were shallow, and their behaviour was often implausible.

Possibly the greatest failure that prevented me from enjoying the book was the persistent evidence that very little research had been done; for example, the author showed no understanding of how the police and armed forces actually worked - a prime example of this was a scene involving a Special Constable (I won't mention further specifics so as to avoid it being a spoiler).

The story attempted a degree of cynicism that the author could not deliver, and for a story that was probably meant to be a thriller, it was far too predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multi-layered fiction: one to stretch the mind, 5 Sep 2009
This novel reads like a pacey thriller with interleaving characters, scenarios and plot lines - however you have to put your brain in gear - this is not for the idle reader. The author clearly has huge imagination and the plot lines cover science, philosophy, fantasy, out of body experiences and pondering the mind of (a) god. There is enough material for more than one novel on similar themes. I'm looking forward to seeing what else pours out of the author's subconscious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended Sci-Fi Thriller. Buy Now & Clear Your Diary!, 27 April 2009
By 
Excellent. This books starts off by introducing lots of engaging well-rounded characters and some interesting biological and computer based sci-fi ideas. As the book progresses all the ideas and people slowly intertwine as the plot snowballs into an ambitious global story. About a third of the way into the novel you realise you are losing sleep and cancelling appointments because you are reading an unputdownable thriller. First time author Matt Hayes should also be commended for writing equally believably and sympathetically from the point of a huge variety of characters. Even the smallest bit-part players feel real. Whether female, male, disturbed or even simian the plots protagonists are nailed with nice back-stories and realistic dialogue. An author to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary sci-fi to die and be uploaded for, 16 April 2009
This is a very interesting and exciting book, a kind of modern gothic horror with sci-fi overtones. In places it was moving, in others bizarre, this guy has a warped mind, but the prose was always descriptive and grounded so you were pulled along even though things were getting a bit crazy. I don't want to spoil the plot, there are lots of parallel elements and I had little idea of where we were going to end up until the last few chapters. If you want a read that is a little more demanding, a bit risqué and touching in equal measure, I can't recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a good book is for, 9 Aug 2009
By 
A. P. Short (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book kept me awake because I wanted to keep reading instead of going to sleep. Its a good story, well told based on a nice idea. If Matt Hayes writes another book, I'll buy it.

The fiction involves familiar details and experiences most of us can relate to and the science fiction seems a small extrapolation of current science with a little bit of what-if, that gets you thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will not disappoint, the late bedtimes were worth it., 28 Jun 2011
Sci fi based thriller that is definitely not part of the fantasy realm. A lot of characters to begin with and track, but in the end, you will see how all the threads come together and you will be rewarded in volumes by the end of it.

The short chapter style keeps you on edge and is a great tease keeping you wanting more, encouraging you to turn the page again and again.

Many interesting themes cleverly explored, without distracting away from the main threads of the story itself. Matt keeps it tight, planting enough questions in your head about reality, science and philosophy, whilst maintaining the fast pace to the very end.

Find out who you are, to the core, and be changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent thought-provoking sci-fi novel, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Joseph Nash "jowie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not one to sit down and read fiction often, but I do love a good bit science fiction and this thriller definitely has great sci-fi depth to it. The plot jumps around between different characters in different situations to keep the reader on their toes. Many interesting characters and great use of imagery. A brilliant first novel from Matt Hayes, I look forward to the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good biological sci-fi, 19 Mar 2009
Impressive and enjoyable. A real page turner for me. I thought the characters were full and believable, plot was v interesting - in particular the cloning theories and mind transference...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good & Evil Angels
£2.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews