Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!!!! xx
Received my cd 2days ago and have been listening to it ever since!!!
The voices and harmonys are just beautiful, the instruments sound fantastic, and there is a song for everyone!!
This is a cd for you if you enjoy REAL music, which warms your heart (and if you like a bit of a sing-a-long too!)
Well Done Fisherman's Friends!!! xxx
Published on 27 April 2010 by R,K Mac

versus
41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missed oportunity
Having seen these a couple of times, I was looking forward to this (with a little bemusement, it must be said).

The songs are mostly a "greatest hits" collection, and fine for all that. However, the appalling accompanyment completely ruins it.

If you're thinking of getting a Fisherman's Friends, get either of their earlier ones - much more...
Published on 8 July 2010 by David K. Wheeler


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!!!! xx, 27 April 2010
By 
Received my cd 2days ago and have been listening to it ever since!!!
The voices and harmonys are just beautiful, the instruments sound fantastic, and there is a song for everyone!!
This is a cd for you if you enjoy REAL music, which warms your heart (and if you like a bit of a sing-a-long too!)
Well Done Fisherman's Friends!!! xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Willcox., 26 April 2010
By 
J. Willcox "Jane Willcox." (Epping, Essex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ive been going to Port Isaac on holiday for over 30 years now. First saw the Fishermans Friends, or 'Shanty Men' as my 4 children call them, since 1999. We have loved them ever since.
There music is brilliant, we have there first cd and have played it to death.
They sing so well together and have a fantastic sense of humour, you always have a great evening watching them on the Platt throughout the summer.
They thoroughly deserve this new found fame, it's long overdue.
All of these songs are a delight to listen to.
Please buy it.!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where did that song come from?!, 24 Mar 2010
These guys are the real deal. You couldn't ever hope to meet a nicer (or funnier) bunch of people. Obviously they've continued to go from strength to strength year on year with their celebrated Friday evening "Live Lounge" sessions on the Platt at Port Isaac. But in the meantime they've quietly brought the roof down three times at the Albert Hall, how cool is that.

I thought I knew them pretty well by now, but where did this new single (No Hopers, Jokers & Rogues - see the video on here) come from? It's a ground breaking sound for them that to my mind takes them into a completely different league. I love the sound of it. Why would anyone not buy that song? In fact sorry, I think I have to listen to it just one more time...

Rock on guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories of port issac with this track, 28 Mar 2010
By 
after visiting port issac for 12 years watching the fishermens friends was one of the highlights and finale to our holidays so pleased they have signed a well deserved record deal this track is fab and we can picture the scene on the platt cant wait for july hope they are still performing good luck to them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missed oportunity, 8 July 2010
By 
David K. Wheeler (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having seen these a couple of times, I was looking forward to this (with a little bemusement, it must be said).

The songs are mostly a "greatest hits" collection, and fine for all that. However, the appalling accompanyment completely ruins it.

If you're thinking of getting a Fisherman's Friends, get either of their earlier ones - much more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! (more than love it! love it! loveit!), 7 May 2010
By 
Mont Blanc "katchris" (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I've never been to Port Isaacs. I don't know these Guys, I'm a Townie who heard 20 seconds on the Telly.
I knew I'd adore it all. You will or you won't
It restores one's faith in Olde England; that things that are great about Britain are being preserved.
Its my childhood, its the rugby club, its my family
The Mingulay Boat Song. Just Fantastic. Grandpa wasn't quite so melodic.
I'm off to Port Isaacs. Just hope they aren't too famous to show
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but suffers from trying to be too commercial., 29 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After "Home From the Sea" I found that the musical accompanyment was obtrusive at times. Also, a lot of the material on this CD is also on the "Home from the Sea" CD which is a pity and it make you wonder just how extensive their repetoire is.
To sum up - OK if you haven't heard the previous offering, disappointing if you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 22 Jun 2010
I am 23 and should be listening to rave or techno or what ever but I really love this I could listen to this music all the time......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big Industry Kills Authentic Sea Shanties, 3 Jun 2010
By 
T. Ruffle-Brandt "T9sus4" (West Dartmoor, Devon, England, UK) - See all my reviews
I was privileged enough to hear the Fishermen's Friends several times live, twice in the Royal Albert Hall and once at the Eden Project. A nicer bunch of guys you cannot wish to meet, they were really enthusiastic about Sea Shanties and, with their affiliation to the sea, they managed to give their singing a great deal of authenticity.

I am so glad I have the first two CDs, the ones that never made it into the press spin and hype about this one. Particularly the first one (Suck It And Sea) is wonderful: heartfelt, windswept, rough around the edges and gives you the right feel of Sea Shanties - you can taste the salt and smell the tar!

However:

I am not sure what happened with this new album. It could be that, with the Big Industry money thrown at them, Fishermen's Friends' judgement went out of the window and they felt it was actually a good idea to have gratuitous instrumentation forced upon their songs, adding nothing to the mix other than sickly icing and the ability to hear sung bum notes better and making the listener wonder who would play them in force ten winds and how.

More likely, though, the record company steamrollered the guys and forced them into a production that was thought to have "mass market appeal", thus killing the beauty of a cappella singing and creating something you'd wish you'd never have to hear outside one of those horrible "talent" shows.

The disappointment of the year - 0/10. (I do hope the money makes them happy, though, any cash put into Port Isaac is good.)

PS: Do go and buy their first two albums, really, do! But give this one a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Commercialised, 17 July 2011
By 
Calico (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Port Isaac's Fisherman's Friends (MP3 Download)
Someone had a brilliant money-making idea. Put this wonderfully musical, bright and entertaining group of singers into a studio, add some 'proper' backing and organise them - can't fail.
Well it does. There is no spontaneity, the backing is annoying, the singers sound tired and uninterested and they might be any 'folk group'. Compare the studio versions with the originals (on this CD) and you will see. Go back to Port Isaac gentlemen, enjoy your singing and entertain us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Port Isaac's Fisherman's Friends
Port Isaac's Fisherman's Friends by Port Isaac's Fisherman's Friends
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews