Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Ive been waiting years for this!
I have always loved this story and it has been one of my favourites of all time. The only problem with it (even when I saw it as a child) was not enough daleks.

An epic invasion looks a bit rough with only 3 daleks available, no matter how many camera angles you use! I was a bit worried that adding new sfx to the story would look out of place and be glaringly...
Published on 23 Nov. 2011 by B. Stafford

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Terminator - Doctor Who style
After an absence of five years and twenty four serials, the iconic Doctor Who monsters known as `The Daleks' returned to the show that made them famous, after a failed attempt by creator Terry Nation to spin them off into their own series. With their return came their first appearance in colour, outside of the two Doctor Who cinema releases (starring Peter Cushing)...
Published on 12 July 2012 by J Brackell


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who cares about Star Wars? This is THE thing!, 27 Sept. 2011
By 
M. F. M. (Rio de Janeiro, RJ Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
You know, I have been one of those guys who have been pretty angry about George Lucas tinkering with Star Wars, but you know what? Why should I care when there are things like this which story-wise and "cool"-wise are far much better than Star Wars could ever hope to be. I'm a new Doctor Who fan and I'm watching the classic stories for the first time. I'm currently watching Tom Baker's era but to me, Jon Pertwee is THE Doctor. I reeeealy love everything about this era: Joe Grant, the Brig, Roger Delgado's Master (the one and only) and of course, the resourceful Sergeant Benton. Some people may call it dated or old, but you know what? It's hands down much better than most shows being produced today, besides, if old meant bad, people wouldn't travel from all over the world just to see the Mona Lisa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I prefer the original, 23 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
When I heard this story had been improved on I decided to get it. I like the improved dalek voices but the digitalizing of the time travel scenes and gun fight scenes is no where near the original format from the 1970s and looks very out of place.the producers even admitted this on the interviews. I realise this is not as popular as other Doctor who episodes but I feel is has a nice charm and does give us a message about war and politics that is still relevant in 2012.
Jon Pertwee is brilliant as always, I particularly enjoyed the music and sound effects in this DVD, very haunting and still terrifying as it was when I was a kid in the1970s.
I am a purist and still prefer the original show apart from the lame dalek voices that have been improved recently on DVD-2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hidden Gem *Minor Spoilers*, 6 May 2015
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
When I was a kid, I absolutely loved the Daleks! They were my favourite on-screen villain and I had a beloved collection of toy Daleks. How times have changed! ….Actually they haven’t, I still have a huge love for the evil pepperpots and a vast collection of them in 5”. What has changed though is my recognition for the story in question ‘Day of the Daleks’. Back in my younger days, I wasn’t a fan at all of this one. I’d watch all the other Dalek stories with glee but ‘Day of the Daleks’ just left me bored stiff.

Don’t get annoyed at me hardcore Whovians but I’m afraid it was down to the production values. I watched a lot of older television from a young age like Star Trek, The Avengers, The Prisoner so I was used to it but for me, even at that time, ‘Day of the Daleks’ was poorly produced and that ruined it for me. The main gripes I had were laid at the Daleks themselves as there were only 3 props in the entire serial and their voices were utterly pathetic and non-menacing. It was like the production team had forgotten what Daleks were. On top of that, the special effects and the setting for future Earth were poorly executed as well. This all unfortunately led to a deeply unsatisfying final battle at the end of episode 4. Had you watched the serial as it was broadcast, having waited 5 years for the Daleks’ return and in colour, this would have been a major disappointment.

However, the Doctor Who Restoration Team have breathed new life into this story with new effects, new Dalek voices, extra filmed scenes, cgi set pieces and extra Daleks and what a remarkable impact this has made! Having received the DVD as a gift from my partner, I now absolutely love this story. It’s potentially in my top 10 favourite stories. Through these welcome tweaks, I can now appreciate the story in its full glory, as the plot is excellent. It’s the first ‘timey-wimey’ story in the show’s history, where the Daleks have managed to easily seize control of Earth after World War 3. I won’t spoil the ‘timey-wimey’ revelation, as it’s a corker. The main cast are of course on fine form: Jo Grant and the UNIT family are wonderful as usual while Jon Pertwee is absolutely stellar, owning the role of the nation's favourite Time Lord. The supporting characters are also well performed with no ridiculous costumes in sight.

As for the newly added effects themselves, they have really upped the overall production values of the story. They are done tastefully with respect to the era, so the SFX don’t feel out of place. With the addition of extra Daleks and new voices provided by Nicolas Briggs (who altered his ring modulator to get a more classic Dalek sounding voice), the Daleks feel powerful and menacing once again. The final battle is now a beautiful sight to behold. It has been fleshed out with the inclusion of extra cgi Daleks and extra filmed scenes on location at the mansion using the same model camera used on the original production. It’s now a fantastic face-off between UNIT and the Daleks and Ogrons as it originally should have been.

All in all, I highly recommend you pick up this DVD of ‘Day of the Daleks’ as it is a cracking adventure. Just make sure you watch the Special Edition version, so you can fully appreciate the story. The production values in the original are simply too jarring for you to recognise the hidden gem that lies beneath. EXTERMINATE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Daleks Remastered, 2 Aug. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Doctor Who: Day Of The Daleks (Special Edition).
Doctor: Third Doctor
Companion(s): Jo Grant
Featuring: The Brigader Lethbridge Stewart, Captain Mike Yates, Sergeant Benton
Main enemy:
The Daleks,
The Ogrons,
The Controller
Main setting:
Auderly House and environs, the 1970s
England, the 22nd century (alternative timeline)
Writer: Louis Marks
Director: Paul Bernard
Producer: Barry Letts
Story number: 60
Number of episodes: 4
Season 9
Premiere broadcast: 1 January - 22 January 1972
Premiere network: BBC1
Format: 4x25-minute episodes

Dvd Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Region2
Aspect Ratio: 4:3 - 1.33:1
Number of discs: 2
Classification: PG
Studio: 2 Entertain Video
Running Time: 96 minutes

Special Features:
Disc One:
Day of the Daleks Original four-part TV version
Commentary by actors Anna Barry & Jimmy Winston, producer Barry Letts, script editor Terrance Dicks and vision mixer Mike Catherwood
Blasting the Past Cast & crew look back on the making of this story
A View from the Gallery
Nationwide
Blue Peter
Photo Gallery
Production Subtitles
Radio Times Billings
DVD-Rom Only:
Coming Soon
Digitally remastered picture and sound quality

Disc Two:
Day of the Daleks: Special Edition. A new version with specially shot sequences, brand-new effects and new Dalek voices by Nicholas Brigg, exclusive to this DVD
The Making of Day of the Daleks: Special Edition
The UNIT Family--Part Two
Now and then
The UNIT Dating Conundrum
The Cheating Memory
Teaser trailer
Digitally Remastered Picture & Sound Quality.

Different Versions.
VERSIONS
2 Entertain DVD release of Day of the Daleks contains two versions of the story, Disc one you have the four part story as it was initially broadcast which ha been cleaned up & digitally remastered.

Disc 2 is the special edition version of the story, which contains specially shot sequences, updated special effects & the Dalek voices have been completely re-recorded by new series Dalek voice of the Daleks, Nicholas Briggs gives Day of the Daleks an absolutely fantastic seamless new version that improves & enhances the story.

Cast.
The Doctor - Jon Pertwee
Jo Grant - Katy Manning
Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart - Nicholas Courtney
Sergeant Benton - John Levene
Captain Mike Yates - Richard Franklin
Sir Reginald Styles - Wilfred Carter
Shura - Jimmy Winston
Anat - Anna Barry
Boaz - Scott Fredericks
Controller - Aubrey Woods
Miss Paget - Jean McFarlane
Girl Technician - Deborah Brayshaw
UNIT Radio Operator - Gypsie Kemp
Guerilla - Tim Condren
Monia - Valentine Palmer
Manager - Peter Hill
Senior Guard - Andrew Carr
Guard at Work Centre - George Raistrick
Ogrons - Rick Lester, Maurice Bush, David Joyce, Frank Menzies, Bruce Wells, Geoffrey Todd
Daleks - John Scott Martin, Ricky Newby, Murphy Grumbar
Dalek Voices - Oliver Gilbert, Peter Messaline
Dalek Voices (DVD Special Edition) - Nicholas Briggs
Television Reporter - Alex MacIntosh

Ratings.
RATINGS
Episode 1 - 9.9 million viewers
Episode 2 - 10.6 million viewers
Episode 3 - 9.2 million viewers
Episode 4 - 9.5 million viewers

Trivia.
1)In the alternate future, the Daleks have invented dalekanium bombs.
2)The Daleks' servants are called Ogrons.
3)The Doctor drinks a fair bit of wine during his stay at Auderly House noting (mainly to himself): "That's a most good-humoured wine. A touch sardonic, perhaps, but not cynical. A most civilised wine, one after my own heart."
4(The Doctor speaks of Napoleon Bonaparte as though he were a good friend, or at the least a friendly acquaintance.
5)Styles and the other delegates are due to meet at RAF Manston.
6)China & the Soviet Union are the main belligerents; troops mass at their borders, China has pulled out of the conference before the story begins & Styles has to fly to Peking to persuade them to return.
7)The Blinovitch Limitation Effect is mentioned here for the first time, It is this effect that prevents the guerrillas making multiple attempts to kill Styles.
8)The Daleks use a time vortex magnetron to set a trap for the guerrillas.
9)Voice of the Daleks Nicholas Briggs re-dubs the Dalek voices on the Disc 2 Special Edition.
10)This has the distinction of being the first Daleks story not to be entirely written, or co-written, by Terry Nation. (The Power of the Daleks & The Evil of the Daleks were both written by David Whitaker.

Whats The Story.
Sir Reginald Styles, organiser of a world peace conference, narrowly survives an assassination attempt by a combat-uniformed guerrilla who vanishes like a ghost.

Later the guerrilla is attacked by huge, ape-like creatures called Ogrons & found unconscious by UNIT troops in the grounds of the house, The Doctor deduces that he comes from about two hundred years in the future & that a device found with him is a time machine.

While Styles is away, the Doctor & Jo keep watch. The guerrillas attack again, but the Time Lord convinces them that he is not Styles, One of their party, Shura, is later injured by an Ogron.

Jo meanwhile accidentally activates one of the guerrillas' time machines & is transported to the 22nd Century. When the guerrillas return there, the Doctor goes with them, He learns that the Earth of this period is ruled by the Daleks with the help of the Ogrons & human collaborators, whose leader is known as the Controller. Jo & the Doctor are both taken prisoner at the Dalek base.

The guerrillas rescue them & explain that they are attempting to kill Styles because he caused an explosion at the peace conference, starting a series of wars that left humanity vulnerable to Dalek conquest - a history that they wish to change, The Doctor realises that the explosion was actually caused by Shura in a misguided attempt to fulfil his mission.

Returning to the 20th Century with Jo, he has Styles' house evacuated. Daleks & Ogrons arrive in pursuit, but are destroyed when Shura detonates his bomb.

Timelord Thoughts.
Day of the Daleks special edition release has taken a decent Dalek adventure & upgraded & enhanced the entire story from new effects & live action sequences to the Superb Nicholas Briggs re-dubbing the awful 1972 Dalek voices completely changes the perception of the evilness of the Daleks as Briggs makes the Daleks sound far more menacing & threatening than Oliver Gilbert & Peter Messaline dubbed versions & has laid an old ghost to rest on this release by enhancing the effects & removing a couple of gaffes here & there.

A ever the Late Jon Pertwee is excellent as the Third Doctor whom seemingly has a tendency for fine wine & food here, yet proves to be the dashing dandy & man of action when he's called upon to stop the Daleks threat of starting World War 3.

Katy Manning is always wonderful as Jo Grant who shares such a great chemistry with Jon Pertwee & together the duo make for a formidable Doctor/Companion team up who share several great scenes together in this adventure.

UNIT regulars Nicholas Courtney, Richard Franklin & John Levine as Brigader Lethbridge Stewart, Captain Mike Yates & Sergeant Benton are on fine form throughout this there first Dalek encounterer who aid the Doctor in stopping a potential third World War, while Aubrey Woods is superbly cast as the Controller who seemingly starts to develop conflicting loyalties on both sides giving a very enigmatic mysterious performance.

There's some great extras on this special edition release with a fascinating making of featurette showcasing the painstaking processes involved in creating this DVD's Special Edition, the highlights including Mark Ayres' laborious cutting of the original Dalek voices from the original mono sound mix & Nicholas Briggs excitement at voicing the Daleks in this classic adventure.

The Unit Family Part 2 pick up where The Unit Family Part 1 left off discussing Roger Delgado's arrival as The Master in Terror of the Auton through to the end of the Pertwee era & Delgados tragic death which brought tears to my eye's, at 30 minutes long it feels hurried & would've benefited greatly from being a 60 minute documentary, while The Unit Dating Conundrum is narrated by Toby Hadoke sees this lighthearted 9 minute feature highlights both the passion & the pedantry of Who fandom & reminds us why Mike Yates never got it on with Jo Grant.

Overall this is a excellent quality DVD release featuring a superb Special Edition remaster plus a wealth of great bonus material & delivers a classic Third Doctor Dalek adventure that I highly recommended Doctor Who fan's purchase.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Time, It IS Different, 25 Feb. 2014
By 
Number13 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
A truly special, Special Edition that finally presents the story as it deserves and maybe, how you always thought it was - it almost makes you believe in time travel ... 5*

Hats off to Steve Broster and his team for creating this outstanding Special Edition. The original is on disk 1 and has the commentary, but watch the new version on disk 2 first. All the missing pieces are now in place, CGI effects, replacement Dalek voices from Nicholas Briggs, subtle extra sound effects and careful edits and short new sequences plus extra Daleks where it counts. Not over-the-top flying CGI legions of them, just enough to make the story look as it should. Brilliant! If you're watching the story for the first time just enjoy it, if you bought the VHS release decades ago and thought `hmmm...?' this new version is a delight.

`Day of the Daleks' was one of the most popular Jon Pertwee `Doctor Who' stories but as the years passed it came to be seen as slightly disappointing. Louis Marks' story is very strong and inventive; the script is full of great dialogue and the regular cast look perfectly at home in their roles. Jon Pertwee is obviously having a ball with the Doctor's "one man food and wine society", fight scenes and trike chase. Aubrey Woods plays a classical villain, a silvered aristocrat from a time where such `privileged' people use stylised makeup and protocol to separate themselves from the horrors of the world around them. The fine sets and locations create an atmospheric backdrop for the story to unfold.

But, and it's an Ogron-sized but, the original production lacked the technology to provide credible special effects and it lacked - of all things - Daleks. There were only three Dalek props available and the voices were initially wrong. The original production team generally did a good job working within the limitations of the period, for example the choice of `ultrasonic disintegrator' guns (not `ray guns', as Jo Grant says!) because you can't see sound waves can you?, so no visual effects are needed.

`Day of the Daleks' was a five star story with three star `special' effects. But "not this time"; the special edition is a Five Star production. If only we could send it back to 1972 so the experience would always have been this good...

DVD features:

Disk 1 (The Original Edition):
The best part of the commentary is that for episode 3, discussing the technical aspects of TV studio work in the 1970s.
`Blasting the Past' is a feature about the making of the story, distinctly critical in places.
`A View From the Gallery' is a fascinating insight into the work of the Vision Mixer in the days when studio productions had to be written to tape in real time, not edited later.
If you're old enough to remember the 1970s, the `Blue Peter' segment is priceless.

Disk 2 (The Special Edition):
`The Making of Day of the Daleks - Special Edition' reveals the combination of 1970s film camera, 21st century processing technology, costumes and creative wizardry that produced the Special Edition.
`Now and Then' revisits the locations.
`The UNIT Family - Part Two' continues the story (from the feature on `Inferno' Special Edition) of the actors and shows involving UNIT, up to the departure of `Jo Grant'.
`The UNIT Dating Conundrum' is an appropriately tongue-in-cheek look at this vital question. At the time, I assumed the stories were contemporary - the 1980 reference in `Pyramids of Mars' was a surprise.
`The Cheating Memory' investigates why Steve Broster remembered `Day of the Daleks' as looking so much better than it did. He wasn't the only one! I give credit for my `improved memory' of the show to Terrance Dicks' excellent novelisation, which created images in the imagination far better than the special effects of 1972 could achieve. Much more than a straightforward novelisation, it's a very good science fiction novel in its own right. The early novelisations were the best and now they have been reissued this one is well worth reading. Especially now the screen version lives up to the book!

*** SPOILER ALERT ***: the following paragraphs reveal the plot. (If you read this far you probably know the plot!)

At the heart of the story is a classic time-travel paradox, guerrillas from the Dalek-ruled future travel back 200 years through time, to `terminate' the man they blame for starting the wars that lead to Dalek conquest. The Doctor finds that it is really the guerrillas who accidentally started the war, by their intervention. This is discovered in a quite lengthy exposition scene in episode 4 that comes in for some criticism for its duration and position in the story, but it is the key to the whole plot and an exciting late twist. Don't underestimate the audience!
The commentary and features discuss this time-loop idea and the conceptual problems it raises, but I seem to remember the novelisation dealt with them elegantly. The Dalek time machines are very `simple' and move a fixed distance backwards and forwards in time, so you cannot return to the same day twice. The Doctor is a Time Lord and was dropped into this point in Earth history from outside the time loop, so he can intervene and change the future. There is a second point which is obvious but glossed over perhaps because it reduces the sense of `victory' - when the Doctor succeeds and the wars and Dalek-ruled future are prevented, the people in that future will not be free - they will never have existed at all ...
In any case, it IS only a story(!) And now, better than new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daleks of the Day, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
Neil Frost (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
I didn't watch Day of the Daleks when it was first screened. I have memories, though, of it being shown as an edited compilation on a Bank Holiday Monday, before the new school term started. Sure enough, on referencing The Handbook for the Third Doctor (by David J Howe and Stephen James Walker and recommended here in passing) I see that it was indeed broadcast 3rd September 1973. The only scene that had remained with me, was that of the Ogrons trooping down the embankment by the railway bridge. For months after this, I would peer out of our car window each time we passed under a motorway or railway bridge, to check for signs of Ogrons....

The edited compilation had served for me and probably many others at that time as an appetite following The Green Death at the end of Dr Who's 10th season and the start of what would prove to be Jon Pertwee's final season with the broadcast of The Time Warrior on 15th December 1973.

Watching the episodic version for the first time in 2011 in the digital age, I was more aware of the intricacies of the story, in particular, it's intrigung main plot: a group of guerillas travelling back from the 22nd century with unreliable time travel equipment (probably in the prototype stage of development) to assassinate a high profile politician and prevent his actions that originally led to a Dalek invasion and their subsequent rule. Relevant? It most certainly was in 1972. The IRA were making their point known via a series of attacks that made the term "bomb scare" a part of everyday life and in September of that year, the Olympic Games in Münich were subject to the taking of several palistinian hostages that ended in a grisly massacre.

Day of the Daleks then, has some hard-hitting refernce points. I find it a good story, but not a brilliant one. It could have been better for reasons given in nearly all reviews of the story and the features on this special edition DVD and to which I will come to myself in due course.

The story has a suitably sinister start: a gloomily lit house, a ticking clock , Sir Reginald Styles - the political target for the assassins - working late in his study and the sudden appearance of the first guerilla. The Brigadier's first scene takes place in the radio room of UNIT headquarters and judging by the sound of the typewriter, he could well be in the World of Sports studio in place of Dickie Davis.

And then the hero himself appears, and we see the Doctor analysing data from the TARDIS and being asked the relevant questions by Jo Grant. The second Doctor / second Jo subplot reflects Styles' description of seeing a ghost. And then there's a missing biro pen on the TARDIS console (can you spot when it was retrieved?)

The Doctor shows his ususal reluctance to help UNIT in their task and his reaction here - "I'm a scientist, not a politician" - is similar to that in The Green Death: "I'm not a policeman." One of the highlights of Day of the Daleks is without doubt the location shoot at Dropmore Park in Buckinghamshire, standing in for Styles' house. However, the scences in the study are clearly a studio set, but an impressive one at that and the Doctor in his Edwardian style clothes looks more at home here than Styles himself. One thing is missing though: the sight of Bessie parked on the gravel path in front of this beautiful house.

The Ogrons are average enemies and hardly original, the influence of Planet of the Apes being clear here. Shortly after the activation of the time transmitter comes the first sighting of the Controller of Sector 1. The part is played by Aubrey Woods, an actor selected by director Paul Bernard himself as being "outside the conventional". As the scene fades to him, I thought what a ploy it would have been if it had been The Master that swivelled round in the chair. Quite rightly, the production team saved him for later in the season.

The Controller is an interesting villain: intitially ruthless and calculating, but as the story progresses, we gather sympathy for him as he saves the Doctor's life and realises how different his own life might have been without Dalek rule. Although producer Barry Letts expresses on a couple of the features here that Woods' performance is more suitable to the stage rather than television, I find it a commendable one.

Thirteen minutes into Episode 1, we get our first glance of a Dalek. Why this should be, is not quite clear as the impact is lost. Back at UNIT HQ, the Doctor has discovered that the temporal feedback circuit of the time transmitter has overloaded, which he explains to the Brigadier as the fuse blowing - wonderful stuff.

And so the Dcctor and Jo get to spend the night in Styles' haunted house. The cheese 'n' wine scene is a delight and perfectly fitting for Jon Pertwee's Doctor. He gets the wonderful line here referencing Napolean. First time viewers of the story might be forgiven at this point for thinking that the threat is indeed lurking in Styles' house, but the enemy has just arrived in the nearby tunnel and are about to assassinate who they think to be Styles.

There is some unconventional editing at episode 1's cliffhanger as the music's sting is retained for episode 2. I like the initial confrontation between the gurillas and who they think is Styles, especially as the Doctor casually says "By the way, that machine of yours is bit antiquated isn't it?" to which he receives a swift "shut it!" in true Sweeney-style.

The story jumps back to UNIT HQ where the Brigadier's patience is wearing thin, even though Benton and Yates insist that the Doctor and Jo have disappeared. This scene was shot through a transparent screen with a red pattern on it. I would take this to be a map of Styles' house, as there is a similar plan in the novelisation of the story. The audience is treated to one of those coded conversations between the Doctor and UNIT, which would pepper stories throughout the Pertwee era. This one concludes with the Doctor advising the Brigadier: "Don't forget to tell it to the marines."

Jo's threat with the time machine is very much out of character, yet tells us how much confidence she has gained in her first year with UNIT.

And so to the second Dalek cliffhanger, where the Dalek seems to have recognised the Doctor. Episode 3 sees the Doctor arrive in the 22nd century following his getting caught in the gurilla's time field. His main mission here of course is to find out what has happened to Jo. She has in fact been transported directly in front of the Controller and here her naive character returns as she provides him with as much information about the Doctor and thus the gurillas. The Controller reports to the Daleks and the audience becomes aware that they are the ones behind the goings-on all the while. He mentions almost incidentally that the captured girl referred to a companion called the Doctor. The impact of this is quite good, but it is greater in the novel and I would like to quote it here:

"As the Controller left, their voices rang in his ears ...... But there was something different about those voices. They held some quality the Controller had never heard before, and as he walked from the council hall he recognised it. The quality was fear. For the first time in the Controller's experience of them the Daleks were actually afraid."

A sub-plot starts with a production manager needing to justify the recent decrease in output and there is a hint of dissent in the ranks as it turns out that he is actually working with the guerillas. The Controller clearly has Jo and the Doctor eating out of the palm of his hand, as well as letting them eat at a banquet. Here, the Doctor's logic becomes probing: "When I meet a regime that needs to import savage alien life form, I begin to wonder who the real enemies are." Some nice direction follows and as the Doctor explains to Jo about the Daleks the camera moves out to be framed by the monitor suspended in the Daleks' control centre. Interestingly, the Controller fears he may have the wrong man, but the Daleks point out that the Doctor's appearance has changed once before. To double-check their suspicions, they intend to subject the Doctor to the Mind Analysis Machine and so following the run-around tricycle race, there follows for me one of the iconic scenes in Dr Who, namely Pertwee strapped to the MAM, gazed at by Ogrons and Daleks and backdropped by the pattern of the series opening and closing titles and stills of the Doctor's previous selves. A wonderful cliffhanger and the best so far.

Of course, episode 4 opens with the dramatic entrance of the Controller to prevent the Doctor from being exterminated. He convinces the Daleks, based on the evidence that the production manager had proven to be a subordinate, that the Doctor should be kept alive and that he himself will make an interrogation.

The resulting confrontation shows a side of the third Doctor's character rarely seen: he is positively violent towards the Controller as he hisses: "You sir are a traitor and a quisling!" This is quite a contrast to the charming Doctor who is usually prepared to negociate with his opposite party. Help is at hand as the motives of the guerillas have been changed round and they now kidnap the Doctor from right under the Controller's nose. There is method in their madness, however, as they wish the Doctor to go back to the 20th century and assassinate Styles for them. The Doctor, naturally, is not easily convinced that this is the solution and through this (relative late) exposition realises that "This has happened before. You're trapped in a temporal paradox!" He then realises, through the guerilla's description of an explosion at Styles' house, that he may be able to not only save the conference, but stop history from repeating itself again. Thus, he and Jo are allowed to return to the 20th century, but not before the Controller nearly prevents them from doing so. At this point, his character changes from ruthless follower of the Daleks to believing that the Doctor might just be able to save the future. But once again, in the 22nd century, not many are to be trusted as the chief guard witnesses the Controller letting the Doctor and Jo go. The Doctor's question of "Are you going to stop me?" is quite rhetoric.

The controller's final scene at the fate of the Daleks is rather moving: "Who knows?" he says, "I may have helped to destroy you."

The story concludes at where it started - at Styles' house. Media attention is present in the form of a lone reporter telling the masses about the immenent summit meeting at the house that aims to prevent the outbreak of world war 3. I like the scene of the UNIT troops jumping to attention as the Doctor and Jo rush past them (they would receive a similar welcome later in the season from the navy when they board the diving bell ship in the The Sea Devils).

I would award Day of the Daleks *** but as this is a review of the DVD release, I give it ****. The story's biggest weakness is indeed the Daleks themselves: the use of only three props is not excusable, even by BBC's standards. Of the studio sets, the best is undoubtedly that of Styles' study, with it's leather furniture and tapestries on the wall. The control room of Sector 1 in the 22nd century is sparse to say the least and looks like an amateur stage production (so Aubrey Woods' performance is perfectly fitting), but this is serves as a contrast to Styles' house. What is not acceptable is the use of a multi-story car park with actors tipping gravel from dustbins into a skip to represent, eh, a factory? Once again, there is no excuse on the part of the BBC, not even budget constraints. I like the use of the swipes as changes of scenes which are used particularly in the first part of the story.

As to the cast, UNIT get as a whole seem to be on full alert here (none of them standing around drinking tea), the Brigadier, Yates and Benton put in good performances as does Katy Manning as Jo Grant. The supporting cast of Styles and the Controller are very good but at the top of the totem pole once again is Jon Pertwee as the Doctor: he remains my favourite Doctor and childhood hero. Granted, other Doctors had some better stories, but Pertwee's charm, warmth and means of getting things done always remained an inspiration to me.

The Now and Then feature here I find interesting. Unlike other locations used at the time, most of those for Day of the Daleks are still intact: Dropmore Park, Harvey House and Bull's Bridge. The UNIT Family feature is a wonderful look back at that era of Doctor Who as is Blasting the Past. In the latter, it is pointed out that as soon as the viewer analyses the ramifications of time travel, he gets trapped in the so-called grandfather paradox. Also, it is interesting that such a time travel plot may well have been an influence on James Cameron's film The Terminator. Dr Who influencing Hollywood? It would not be the first time (witness The Ark in Space 1975).

A View from the Gallery offers a technical insight into making Dr Who from then-producer Barry Letts and vision mixer Mike Cathaway. Some of their obversations are repeated on the production commentary, which is generally good, in particular the participation by Anna Barry and Jimmy Winston who were not regular members of the cast.

Making this release special indeed is a new version of the story with improved graphics, new Dalek voices and with fluffs edited out. Some keen fans of Dr Who may find it a sacrilege that the origninal story should be tampered with in such a way. Personally, I find this exercise justified. Firstly, some of the paux fais on the part of the cast (in particular the technician's stuttering of the "Time Zone" line) are unforgivable and could easily have been edited out prior to original broadcast. Secondly, unlike a Rembrandt painting, Dr Who as a whole is a piece of art that is very much a product of the times in which it was made and since many of the stories are now being given the digital treatment, it's improvement using modern techniques is fully justified. Finally, this new edition has been put together, not by the get-rich-quick BBC, but by a group of fans with a heartfelt desire and enthusiasm for the series. Well done to all involved.

In general, I like Day of the Daleks and recommend this DVD to any Dr Who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Day....(of The Daleks)!, 16 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
As a life-long fan of Doctor Who Day of the Daleks has always been the most fondest remembered adventure from the 'classic' series. I wasn't around when this story first aired (my entry into the world was still just short of 2 years away) therefore my first viewing of this adventure wasn't till the story was released on Betamax (remember that?!) in the 80's. I was instantly hooked with Pertwee's Doctor becoming my second favourite after (at that time) the current incarnation Peter Davison. After wearing a hole in the tape this story sank into my unconscious where thoughts always created warm nostalgic memories.

When I first heard about the new version I was gripped and waited anxiously until the day I finally acquired it on its release. I must admit I had concerns that some 25 years later my childhood memories would be shattered when watching it again...and compared to the excellent production values associated with the new show.

I watched the 'new' version first and all I can say is "Wow". It all came back to me (I could almost recite the dialogue as the scenes played away!) yet felt somewhat fresh. The effects have added a whole new dimension to what was an already excellent tale of alternate timelines with its prototype Terminator story. Take a look at the cliffhanger ending to episode 2 - whilst not mind blowing originally, the addition of some new effects creates a whole new depth to the tension. Spoiler alert...materialising Dalek in a canal bridge tunnel!

I've heard all the whinges and gripes from so-called purists who rather bizarrely took offence at this project. Well I'll take the enhanced version anytime. After all, it never stopped George Lucas!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very Special edition, 12 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Now as old Dr who goes Day of the Daleks is an reasonably good story, the Daleks had been off the screens for five years, and although this story is not as good as Evil of the Daleks, its still an entertaining story. The original was let down by some dodgy Dalek acting, it seemed the production team had forgotten how to operate them, and had defiantly got the voices wrong . When my copy arrived I watched the special edition first as the original is still clear in my mind, I was interested to see what the restoration team had done with it. So watching the Day of the Daleks and the comments made by Nick Briggs only echoed what I thought when I had watched this story on the original VHS release. What's wrong with the Dalek voices?. so you get the orginal with awful voices or a second disc, where the voices have been re-created by Nick Briggs which has given them so much more power, than the weak original voices. Not only have the voices been re dubbed by the effects are all CGI and again appear to have added to the story. What is strange the editing appears to let a little bit of the theme tune crash in at the end of the cliffhanger as it is replayed at the beginning of episodes 2,3, and 4 perhaps this was an error on the original master tape. The restoration team do need a pat on the back for this one,the time a painstaking rec=construction is amazing. The extras on this disc include the Unit story part 2 a good historic look at the Unit Family up to the end of the Green Death, the making of the special edition and why they felt the need to do this edition, a clip from Blue peter, an amusing looking at the Unit dating problem(the time zone the stories are set in). As for the original version without CGI and Dalek voices that is here if you like your Doctor who as Broadcast. All in all a good buy and a good edition to the Dr Who cannon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over 10 years of CLASSIC WHO releases - this is the zenith. Unbeatable., 11 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Looking ruefully at the BBC VIDEO 1983 premiere DOCTOR WHO release, REVENGE OF THE CYBERMEN as it gathers dust as well as nearly 30 years worth of fading memories I could hardly imagine then that the series would be so extensively& professionally chronicled as it has become.

In this month's (September 2011) release, DOCTOR WHO - DAY OF THE DALEKS has reached an unimaginable level of superfluous excellent, creativity and attention to detail that it has established a new benchmark for the series by which all future- and the majority of previous CLASSIC SERIES releases - will be measure & judged by.

Flawless.

Sublime.

Distinction.

Simply, DVD release of the Year.

This two-disc contains a "special edition" of the four-parter that has been lovingly and appropriately enhanced with new CGI additions and live-action film inserts that is produced with such subtly and deftness of touch. It is a masterpiece. A genuine masterpiece from Steve Broster of BBC DVD and combined with a clarity of print restoration from the" unofficial" BBC Restoration Team and a stunning aural treatment from Mark Ayres (with Nicholas Briggs as the disturbingly elemental voice of the daleks) this re-working is essential viewing for CLASSIC SERIES and NEW SERIES fans alike.

I have a suggestion. Watch the "special edition" before re-watching the "original version" with the commentary activated or you will be sitting there "new bit spotting" instead of becoming all consumed by the magic, and, if you are like me and not watched DOCTOR WHO - DAY OF THE DALEKS for several years, you may be saying to yourself, "Wait, was that sequence in the original release? Did that really happen like that? Was there UNIT soldier shot there?" At times, the original and the new are seamlessly fluent.

The print's colour restoration, as I said, is incredibly adroit compared to the original VHS releases so much so that the production's 1971 recording flaws are, sadly, evident. Whilst the painted cloth landscape backdrops viewed through the Mansion's French windows are woefully bland, the Doctor's patent black gold buckled shoes are as shiny as they were on the day of filming as are the Controller's Mary Quant styled silver painted fingernails. Glorious. As is episode three's "flash" of Jo Grant's scarlet knickers in a pre-emptive tea-time censored homage to Sharon Stone's appearance in BASIC INSTINCT. As I said, glorious, and unlike a VHS tape cassette you cannot wear-out a DVD with the "pause button" facility.

By all accounts, the audio treatment has had a slightly more difficult task in dovetailing a composite original sound track (and in Mono, too) with new sound effects, atmospheric background sounds and, of course, Briggs' re-working (created by re-using an antiquated 1970s ring-modulator machine instead of a digital treatment) of the original dalek voices. Like a oil painting restorer, Mark Ayres is generous but, thankfully, restrained in delicately touching-up areas of concern, repairing its craquel-glaze and mending any tears or rips to the basic canvas. In the manipulation of new dalek voices must have proved difficult, as, from knowing the original broadcast, dalek and human voices were frequently over-laid, clipping each other's words. However, the result is remarkably precise and effective.

If only Broster had asked Briggs to re-voice the Orgon lethargic pantomime speech too.

The new CGI inserts & sequences are, so it seems, more extensive that in the DVD release, ENLIGHTENMENT and, quite frankly, are superior.

Without question, Broster has had added the polished lacquer to DOCTOR WHO - DAY OF THE DALEKS that the seventies production team could never have realised due to limited resources (a combination of time, budget and technical), and, in effect, deserves a joint credit listing as "Directed by..."

The horrifically gory disembodiment at the trigger of the Orgon pistols echoes the - and this is a truly not a real word - "vinegarisation" of a raxacoricofallapatorian with globs tissue and flesh liberally spewing unapologetically. You actually feel sorry for the hapless UNIT soldiers or "freedom fighters" caught in the crossfire at their undignified demise but as a Sontaran Clone would relish as it breathes it last; "...a glorious death".

Whilst the original overly tedious "motor trike chase scene" is not truncated it is enhanced with a digital treatment as the Organ hunting of the Doctor & Jo Grant is viewed through the ever-present "big brother" CCTV monitors. Neat idea; well thought through.

However, there was one error - if you can call it an "error" - which I surprised by. The Controller's "time location map" was used to both identify two locations (the mansion and the canal tunnel) without being updated accordingly. Probably, due to cost?

Most successful of the CGI treatment is the final episode's battle scene where, originally, five or six Ogrons lumber like Ann Widdecombe in STRICTLY COME DANCING (read: DANCING WITH THE STARS) attempting the Paso Doble alongside a disappointing invasion force of three solitary daleks. However, Broster's reimagineering is like watching Spielberg's opening sequence to SAVING PRIVATE RYAN in comparison. I have said it before but his work is seamlessly integrated into the original production, and I can offer no further plaudits less you think that I'm being paid by BBC DVD to positive about this release. Hopefully, my honesty will ensure you will buy this DVD on the day of its release

Sadly, the DVD EXTRAS (disc two) demonstrate that the "extras" produced for recent releases have been of a very poor quality. Again, as with the "special edition", these "extras" set a new benchmark for future (and there not many to come...) releases.

Broster's affectionate essay, THE CHEATING MEMORY may be slightly surreal for younger and NEW SERIES fans to watch - and accept - but for the more mature fans, like myself, who grew-up in the halcyon days of the series (late sixties and seventies) this documentary is pitch-perfect. How the memory is affected by the passage of time is cheekily assessed and validated by a real-life - who'd thought of it - Psychologist. Discussing "infantile amnesia", "blended memories" and "edited highlights", it goes to prove, perhaps, that DOCTOR WHO should be watched once without a constant reassessment of its messages and content. Intelligent comment within this "extra" is rare within these CLASSIC SERIES releases and is to welcomed. Now, I'm going to watch TIMELASH again.

In THE UNIT DATING CONUNDRUM fans will be the relieved that we now have the most definitive dating of when the UNIT stories were set and that John Nathan-Turner's dystopian view was misguided and categorically incorrect. Working backwards, the dating is founded in THE ABOMINABLE SNOWMAN (set in 1935), leading to 1975 with the Great Intelligence's Yeti-supported invasion of the London Underground in THE WEB OF FEAR and, four years later, 1979, with the establishment of UNIT in THE INVASION. Simple, isn't it?

If you are addicted, as I am, to Chuck Foster's DOCTOR WHO LOCATIONS GUIDE, the NOW AND THEN "extra" is essential viewing as it revisits the seemingly unchanged - bar a wasteland - filming locations of DAY OF THE DALEKS and, under the charmingly dry narration of Toby Hadoke, it is a interesting diversion.

THE MAKING OF DAY OF THE DALEKS featurette demonstrates the skill, dedication and, yes, professionalism of the team as it explains how the different strands of technical expertise were drawn together. In filming new live-action sequences the team purchased a 16MM film camera to match the quality of the print of the original (albeit with extra minor "colorisation" manipulation) in addition to re-visiting the original locations to retain integrity.

The key word for THE UNIT FAMILY - PART TWO (with PART THREE planned for the TERROR OF THE ZYGONS DVD release?) featurette is "fondness". For me, the "UNIT family" is like a second family that I had grown-up with. Lovingly, Courtney, Manning, Levene and Franklin recount their time on the series with the fondness of memories reserved for the talent & friendship of Roger Delgado. Heartfelt and tearful at times.

Interestingly, the featurette includes a glimpse of a "colourised" episode, DOCTOR WHO - THE MIND OF EVIL ripe for release on DVD in the coming year.
The DVD EXTRAS for disc one are as entertaining as the "special edition" inclusions, well balanced and informative.

No more so than a truly fascinating - almost hypnotic - glimpse to the work of the production team as it guided CLASSIC SERIES stories from the technical room known as "the gallery". Barry Letts (former series Producer/Director/Writer) and Mike Catherwood (Vision Mixer) discuss the process of making DOCTOR WHO from the viewpoint of the 1970s and how the lack of money & time caused insurmountable problems in recoding the drama series. In what resulted in a "masterclass in television creation" featurette that puts the sickly-sweet DOCTOR WHO CONFIDENTIAL to shame, Barry Letts was at his usual generous best when his surmised that the Vision Mixer (Catherwood) "fine tuned what the Director made".

Like candyfloss, the clip from NATIONWIDE and BLUE PETER are colourful but vacuous, adding nothing to the narration or assesment of DOCTOR WHO - DAY OF THE DALEKS.

BLASTING THE PAST reviews the genesis of the story (originally there was story called THE DALEKS IN LONDON that would have concluded the 9th season of DOCTOR WHO) interviewing its cast and crew.

Originally, Louis Marks' submission was devoid of daleks (titled THE GHOST HUNTERS) and mirrored the politically motivated issues of "the troubles" in Northern Ireland of the time. Critically, Barry Letts was harsh in Paul Bernard's directing skills (or lack of them) and his handling of his actors ("too theatrical"), whilst Terrance Dicks admitted it was a "mistake" for the Doctor shooting down Ogrons without provocation or reason. However, most disappointing is the overly brief inclusion of the iconic "mask maker", John Friedlander who makes a rare appearance to discuss the origin of the "Ogerons" head-mask. I hope that there will be more contribution from Friedlander in the future.

I have yet to listen the COMMENTARY provided from the production's crew Barry Letts, Terrance Dicks, Mike Catherwood and its cast Anna Barry and Jim Winston.

Overall, DOCTOR WHO - DAY OF THE DALEKS special edition should have been renamed "very special edition" due to the diligence, care and attention to detail that has been lavished (not superficially so) upon it, and all plaudits should be directed to Steve Broster, Mark Ayres and Steve Roberts without hesitation or embarrassment.

It's like an airport greeting of a friend that you haven't seen for many years; the anticipation between the plane landing and the Arrivals gates swinging open is electric and is matched by the mutual smile and the all encompassing hug that follows. It's like that you haven't been apart.

Welcome home, DOCTOR WHO - DAY OF THE DALEKS. You've been missed. Now, let's make out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars day of the daleks special edition 2 disc, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
the second disc and additional effects including a voice over from the daleks to the citys in the future and superb effects with the blasters culminating a whole new up to date series where the old version most definitely missed is a must for anybody with dalek blood pumping through there veins,i would have liked to see more daleks attacking the house at the end with more cgi effects and davros making a secret appearance in the way of a tv broadcast or something but all in all its fantastic as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972]
Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] by Paul Bernard (DVD - 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews