Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Ive been waiting years for this!
I have always loved this story and it has been one of my favourites of all time. The only problem with it (even when I saw it as a child) was not enough daleks.

An epic invasion looks a bit rough with only 3 daleks available, no matter how many camera angles you use! I was a bit worried that adding new sfx to the story would look out of place and be glaringly...
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by B. Stafford

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Terminator - Doctor Who style
After an absence of five years and twenty four serials, the iconic Doctor Who monsters known as `The Daleks' returned to the show that made them famous, after a failed attempt by creator Terry Nation to spin them off into their own series. With their return came their first appearance in colour, outside of the two Doctor Who cinema releases (starring Peter Cushing)...
Published on 12 July 2012 by J Brackell


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Ive been waiting years for this!, 23 Nov 2011
By 
B. Stafford (Woking, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
I have always loved this story and it has been one of my favourites of all time. The only problem with it (even when I saw it as a child) was not enough daleks.

An epic invasion looks a bit rough with only 3 daleks available, no matter how many camera angles you use! I was a bit worried that adding new sfx to the story would look out of place and be glaringly obvious.

Happily though, the special edition was obviously put together by someone after my own heart. The new CGI (and a few new short live action scenes)blend in really well with the original footage and keeps to the same style. It is not too OTT, but does give a better sense of scale. The quality of the transfer is good, so it looks good even on a big telly.

So there are more daleks, more Ogrons and better lasers. This really appealed to my inner 10 year old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Terminator - Doctor Who style, 12 July 2012
By 
J Brackell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
After an absence of five years and twenty four serials, the iconic Doctor Who monsters known as `The Daleks' returned to the show that made them famous, after a failed attempt by creator Terry Nation to spin them off into their own series. With their return came their first appearance in colour, outside of the two Doctor Who cinema releases (starring Peter Cushing). Originally planned to appear later in the Doctor's ninth season, the producers altered an existing script to include the Daleks earlier and act as a draw to the beginning of the new season.

This four-part serial focuses on Sir Reginald Styles, a British diplomat, who is preparing a peace conference with diplomats from other countries to prevent a third World War. A few nights before his conference, an assassination attempt occurs but the assassin fades into nothingness before landing the fatal blow. The strange events inevitably draw the Doctor to the diplomat's country house to investigate, unknowingly heading towards a conflict with his old enemies, The Daleks.

The plot to this serial is very reminiscent of Terminator, and actually predates it by twelve years, with the use of soldiers attempting to travel back in time to prevent a future where the human race is ruled by tyrannical machines. There is some very interesting discussion over whether or not it is possible to change the future, or if by going back to change the past, you are in fact causing the very future you seek to avoid.

One of the limitations of this serial is that the production team only had access to three Daleks - one Gold and two Black ones, so there is some editing and repeat shots to give the illusion that there is a whole army of Daleks, but it never quite succeeds. On this DVD release, however, is a CGI-remastered version of the four episodes which changes the Dalek voices (for some reason, each Dalek was given slightly different voices than previous serials) and extra Daleks have been edited into the show for the climatic scenes. This kind of retro-editing reminds of George Lucas' obsession with updating his classic Star Wars Trilogy with extra CGI flashiness, but it doesn't over-do it and distract from the storyline, but after watching both versions - I never felt that it needed to be done. I would have spent that extra budget on animating some of the missing episodes from the First and Second Doctor's era.

The story seems a tad too short at only four episodes, which is an unusual thing to say about a classic Doctor Who serial as they often felt padded out to fill more space. I think another episode set in the dystopian future ruled by the Daleks would have added more atmosphere and tension to the storyline and given it a much rounder feel.

Overall, this is a bit of a let-down for those expecting a strong return of the Daleks, as the story lacks that sprawling scale of earlier Dalek stories, such as: The Dalek Invasion of Earth. The whole serial feels that it has been done `on the cheap' and a bit of a rushed job on the script too. It may have been successful at the time, purely for the fact that it had been so long since audiences had seen the Daleks on-screen, but since nowadays we're slightly spoiled by the Daleks appearances, I have to judge it on the storyline and production values, which are somewhat lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Story and a Wonderful update to DVD, 5 April 2012
By 
Mr. B. J. Weatherup (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Have to admit this has always been one my favorite Jon Pertwee stories, and is pretty much my into to the Daleks (although I do have vague memories of Patrick Troughton confronting the Dalek Emperor in Evil of the Daleks). What I like about it is the way it works on a few different levels - as a kid it was the Doctor and the Daleks, then coming back to again on VHS appreciating the fact that it works as a very good political drama and in some ways would have worked even if the Daleks weren't in it. This despite my video version from being in that period where the Beeb had the habit of editing the stories into 90 minute comps - before bowing to fan pressure and releasing (reissuing in this case) the stories in their original episodic form.
The thing that really enhances this is the upgrade on the Dalek voices - and if there's on thing Nick Briggs does well it's Dalek voices. One slight quibble is that the additional material is slightly out of synch with the original episode endings in a couple of places. But on the whole an excellent package that gives you the original version, and the new enhanced version. So 5 stars from this fan who's not disappointed in the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is The Day, 9 Oct 2011
By 
A. Clarke "Kit Nubbles" (South Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
5 stars alone must go to the new edition, I was a bit apprehensive before viewing but needn't have worried. Subtle CGI effects, new Dalek voices and cleverly inserted new action pieces make this well worth purchasing. My eldest son watched Episode 4 and didn't spot that there were new sequences (and he has watched the original). Makes me wish that other stories could get the same treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dr Who, 26 Mar 2012
By 
Rick Carnes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
I think people just over think things these days when really it should be taken for what it is. A story from the 70's with Jon Pertwee and the Daleks. Personally growing up in the 70's nothing could be better and it's just great to see all the wonderful stories preserved for future generations to view and us older folks to reminisce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vanished! Disappeared into thin air! like a ghost., 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this one. The best Dr Who DVD of this year. I remember watching this story when it was first shown in 1972(when i was 7),it was the first Dr Who i remember all of it & the reason i became a fan. When i received it, i watched the special edition on disc 2 first. It is brilliant. The new cgi effects are very good & i wasn't too bothered about the dalek voices on the original, but the new ones are much better. I also think the newly filmed bits are very good as well. I would highly recommend this one to even non Dr Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touch of Sardonic but not cynical, 24 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Day of the Daleks is a Black sheep. For many reasons. Firstly, there arn't that many Daleks & they tend to just hang out in their control room until the end when I guess they thought "Oh well I suppose we'd better go & sort it out!" Peter Hawkins or beloved Roy Skelton have nothing to do with the voices of the Daleks & who ever replaced them, did a bad job! Bless them! How they split words like 'Ac-ter-vate-ing' into 4 parts is far too ambiguous!

But, believe me, there's plenty to make this one of Jon's Best!

The atmosphere of this production is as potent as Vodka. It's Rich, Deep & puts you in a wonderfully relaxed mood. The scenes outside are bright, sunny & well directed. And there's a fair bit of it. And what helps this great tone, is the Incidental music. It's knock out BBC Radiophonic stuff! With lots of phasing, stabs, chimes, & god knows what else that came from many sleepless nights of tweaking knobs on a Moog; it really is a joy to listen to. I miss it so much now.

The acting is veteran. No one stands out at all. They all got it. And for those of you who love Jon.. You're in for a treat! He really fires on all cylinders in this one! Theres light entertainment at the start with the gag of talking to his future self, to his great swarve act with his cheese tasting in Style's House, to having a bash at knocking an Ogron out, to the famous scene where he is disgusted at how the human race is enslaved by higher officials. And there's a great line from Jon - "Try & use your intelligence man even if you are a politician!" Classic stuff!

If you can put the Daleks to one side, you will enjoy this, & it will grow on you! I myself cannot wait for this to be released on DVD. I just hope they do the decent thing & Isolate the Incidental Music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can this really be the same story?, 13 Sep 2011
By 
Iain McClumpha (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Like most reviewers of a certain age this was my first childhood Dalek story on TV. In the 60s they left TV, and I was 2 years old. When this story aired I was 8, ready for them.
I have memories of being excited and instantly fell in love with them, starting a love affair which lasted until the 2010 redesign burned my eyes out. However, in 1972 these were my first Daleks (I hadn't yet seen the films) on TV. My little Rolykin had come alive.

In the VHS era I had bought the BBC tape and oh dear... it was a sad thing to watch. The performances were great, the story excellent... but the Daleks. Three of them invading Earth, and with silly voices. It was like a nightmare... my childhood memories were drowned and washed away.

So, having heard rumours that the Daleks were getting new voices I pre-ordered the DVD and it duly arrived... with 2 discs! One was a special edition with new voices and effects.
With shaking hands I watched it... and it was superb!
This was the way I remembered it being... exciting, dramatic and with menacing Daleks. Thanks to the resoration team and the talented individuals who brought in an extra Dalek, Nick Briggs, Mark Ayres and the CGI people who made an army of Daleks and a ruined future Earth.
Yes, it isn't the same as the transmission I watched in 1972, but it's the way my inner child thought it was.

Modern Doctor Who may have all of the effects, humanity and production values of a modern TV series, but it lacks what these old stories do: pure, unadulterated magic!
8 year old me is over the moon ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who cares about Star Wars? This is THE thing!, 27 Sep 2011
By 
M. F. M. (Rio de Janeiro, RJ Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
You know, I have been one of those guys who have been pretty angry about George Lucas tinkering with Star Wars, but you know what? Why should I care when there are things like this which story-wise and "cool"-wise are far much better than Star Wars could ever hope to be. I'm a new Doctor Who fan and I'm watching the classic stories for the first time. I'm currently watching Tom Baker's era but to me, Jon Pertwee is THE Doctor. I reeeealy love everything about this era: Joe Grant, the Brig, Roger Delgado's Master (the one and only) and of course, the resourceful Sergeant Benton. Some people may call it dated or old, but you know what? It's hands down much better than most shows being produced today, besides, if old meant bad, people wouldn't travel from all over the world just to see the Mona Lisa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Daleks Remastered, 2 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Doctor Who: Day Of The Daleks (Special Edition).
Doctor: Third Doctor
Companion(s): Jo Grant
Featuring: The Brigader Lethbridge Stewart, Captain Mike Yates, Sergeant Benton
Main enemy:
The Daleks,
The Ogrons,
The Controller
Main setting:
Auderly House and environs, the 1970s
England, the 22nd century (alternative timeline)
Writer: Louis Marks
Director: Paul Bernard
Producer: Barry Letts
Story number: 60
Number of episodes: 4
Season 9
Premiere broadcast: 1 January - 22 January 1972
Premiere network: BBC1
Format: 4x25-minute episodes

Dvd Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Region2
Aspect Ratio: 4:3 - 1.33:1
Number of discs: 2
Classification: PG
Studio: 2 Entertain Video
Running Time: 96 minutes

Special Features:
Disc One:
Day of the Daleks Original four-part TV version
Commentary by actors Anna Barry & Jimmy Winston, producer Barry Letts, script editor Terrance Dicks and vision mixer Mike Catherwood
Blasting the Past Cast & crew look back on the making of this story
A View from the Gallery
Nationwide
Blue Peter
Photo Gallery
Production Subtitles
Radio Times Billings
DVD-Rom Only:
Coming Soon
Digitally remastered picture and sound quality

Disc Two:
Day of the Daleks: Special Edition. A new version with specially shot sequences, brand-new effects and new Dalek voices by Nicholas Brigg, exclusive to this DVD
The Making of Day of the Daleks: Special Edition
The UNIT Family--Part Two
Now and then
The UNIT Dating Conundrum
The Cheating Memory
Teaser trailer
Digitally Remastered Picture & Sound Quality.

Different Versions.
VERSIONS
2 Entertain DVD release of Day of the Daleks contains two versions of the story, Disc one you have the four part story as it was initially broadcast which ha been cleaned up & digitally remastered.

Disc 2 is the special edition version of the story, which contains specially shot sequences, updated special effects & the Dalek voices have been completely re-recorded by new series Dalek voice of the Daleks, Nicholas Briggs gives Day of the Daleks an absolutely fantastic seamless new version that improves & enhances the story.

Cast.
The Doctor - Jon Pertwee
Jo Grant - Katy Manning
Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart - Nicholas Courtney
Sergeant Benton - John Levene
Captain Mike Yates - Richard Franklin
Sir Reginald Styles - Wilfred Carter
Shura - Jimmy Winston
Anat - Anna Barry
Boaz - Scott Fredericks
Controller - Aubrey Woods
Miss Paget - Jean McFarlane
Girl Technician - Deborah Brayshaw
UNIT Radio Operator - Gypsie Kemp
Guerilla - Tim Condren
Monia - Valentine Palmer
Manager - Peter Hill
Senior Guard - Andrew Carr
Guard at Work Centre - George Raistrick
Ogrons - Rick Lester, Maurice Bush, David Joyce, Frank Menzies, Bruce Wells, Geoffrey Todd
Daleks - John Scott Martin, Ricky Newby, Murphy Grumbar
Dalek Voices - Oliver Gilbert, Peter Messaline
Dalek Voices (DVD Special Edition) - Nicholas Briggs
Television Reporter - Alex MacIntosh

Ratings.
RATINGS
Episode 1 - 9.9 million viewers
Episode 2 - 10.6 million viewers
Episode 3 - 9.2 million viewers
Episode 4 - 9.5 million viewers

Trivia.
1)In the alternate future, the Daleks have invented dalekanium bombs.
2)The Daleks' servants are called Ogrons.
3)The Doctor drinks a fair bit of wine during his stay at Auderly House noting (mainly to himself): "That's a most good-humoured wine. A touch sardonic, perhaps, but not cynical. A most civilised wine, one after my own heart."
4(The Doctor speaks of Napoleon Bonaparte as though he were a good friend, or at the least a friendly acquaintance.
5)Styles and the other delegates are due to meet at RAF Manston.
6)China & the Soviet Union are the main belligerents; troops mass at their borders, China has pulled out of the conference before the story begins & Styles has to fly to Peking to persuade them to return.
7)The Blinovitch Limitation Effect is mentioned here for the first time, It is this effect that prevents the guerrillas making multiple attempts to kill Styles.
8)The Daleks use a time vortex magnetron to set a trap for the guerrillas.
9)Voice of the Daleks Nicholas Briggs re-dubs the Dalek voices on the Disc 2 Special Edition.
10)This has the distinction of being the first Daleks story not to be entirely written, or co-written, by Terry Nation. (The Power of the Daleks & The Evil of the Daleks were both written by David Whitaker.

Whats The Story.
Sir Reginald Styles, organiser of a world peace conference, narrowly survives an assassination attempt by a combat-uniformed guerrilla who vanishes like a ghost.

Later the guerrilla is attacked by huge, ape-like creatures called Ogrons & found unconscious by UNIT troops in the grounds of the house, The Doctor deduces that he comes from about two hundred years in the future & that a device found with him is a time machine.

While Styles is away, the Doctor & Jo keep watch. The guerrillas attack again, but the Time Lord convinces them that he is not Styles, One of their party, Shura, is later injured by an Ogron.

Jo meanwhile accidentally activates one of the guerrillas' time machines & is transported to the 22nd Century. When the guerrillas return there, the Doctor goes with them, He learns that the Earth of this period is ruled by the Daleks with the help of the Ogrons & human collaborators, whose leader is known as the Controller. Jo & the Doctor are both taken prisoner at the Dalek base.

The guerrillas rescue them & explain that they are attempting to kill Styles because he caused an explosion at the peace conference, starting a series of wars that left humanity vulnerable to Dalek conquest - a history that they wish to change, The Doctor realises that the explosion was actually caused by Shura in a misguided attempt to fulfil his mission.

Returning to the 20th Century with Jo, he has Styles' house evacuated. Daleks & Ogrons arrive in pursuit, but are destroyed when Shura detonates his bomb.

Timelord Thoughts.
Day of the Daleks special edition release has taken a decent Dalek adventure & upgraded & enhanced the entire story from new effects & live action sequences to the Superb Nicholas Briggs re-dubbing the awful 1972 Dalek voices completely changes the perception of the evilness of the Daleks as Briggs makes the Daleks sound far more menacing & threatening than Oliver Gilbert & Peter Messaline dubbed versions & has laid an old ghost to rest on this release by enhancing the effects & removing a couple of gaffes here & there.

A ever the Late Jon Pertwee is excellent as the Third Doctor whom seemingly has a tendency for fine wine & food here, yet proves to be the dashing dandy & man of action when he's called upon to stop the Daleks threat of starting World War 3.

Katy Manning is always wonderful as Jo Grant who shares such a great chemistry with Jon Pertwee & together the duo make for a formidable Doctor/Companion team up who share several great scenes together in this adventure.

UNIT regulars Nicholas Courtney, Richard Franklin & John Levine as Brigader Lethbridge Stewart, Captain Mike Yates & Sergeant Benton are on fine form throughout this there first Dalek encounterer who aid the Doctor in stopping a potential third World War, while Aubrey Woods is superbly cast as the Controller who seemingly starts to develop conflicting loyalties on both sides giving a very enigmatic mysterious performance.

There's some great extras on this special edition release with a fascinating making of featurette showcasing the painstaking processes involved in creating this DVD's Special Edition, the highlights including Mark Ayres' laborious cutting of the original Dalek voices from the original mono sound mix & Nicholas Briggs excitement at voicing the Daleks in this classic adventure.

The Unit Family Part 2 pick up where The Unit Family Part 1 left off discussing Roger Delgado's arrival as The Master in Terror of the Auton through to the end of the Pertwee era & Delgados tragic death which brought tears to my eye's, at 30 minutes long it feels hurried & would've benefited greatly from being a 60 minute documentary, while The Unit Dating Conundrum is narrated by Toby Hadoke sees this lighthearted 9 minute feature highlights both the passion & the pedantry of Who fandom & reminds us why Mike Yates never got it on with Jo Grant.

Overall this is a excellent quality DVD release featuring a superb Special Edition remaster plus a wealth of great bonus material & delivers a classic Third Doctor Dalek adventure that I highly recommended Doctor Who fan's purchase.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972]
Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] by Paul Bernard (DVD - 2011)
7.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews