Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dr Who
I think people just over think things these days when really it should be taken for what it is. A story from the 70's with Jon Pertwee and the Daleks. Personally growing up in the 70's nothing could be better and it's just great to see all the wonderful stories preserved for future generations to view and us older folks to reminisce.
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by Rick Carnes

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Terminator - Doctor Who style
After an absence of five years and twenty four serials, the iconic Doctor Who monsters known as `The Daleks' returned to the show that made them famous, after a failed attempt by creator Terry Nation to spin them off into their own series. With their return came their first appearance in colour, outside of the two Doctor Who cinema releases (starring Peter Cushing)...
Published on 12 July 2012 by J Brackell


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dr Who, 26 Mar 2012
By 
Rick Carnes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
I think people just over think things these days when really it should be taken for what it is. A story from the 70's with Jon Pertwee and the Daleks. Personally growing up in the 70's nothing could be better and it's just great to see all the wonderful stories preserved for future generations to view and us older folks to reminisce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Ive been waiting years for this!, 23 Nov 2011
By 
B. Stafford (Woking, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
I have always loved this story and it has been one of my favourites of all time. The only problem with it (even when I saw it as a child) was not enough daleks.

An epic invasion looks a bit rough with only 3 daleks available, no matter how many camera angles you use! I was a bit worried that adding new sfx to the story would look out of place and be glaringly obvious.

Happily though, the special edition was obviously put together by someone after my own heart. The new CGI (and a few new short live action scenes)blend in really well with the original footage and keeps to the same style. It is not too OTT, but does give a better sense of scale. The quality of the transfer is good, so it looks good even on a big telly.

So there are more daleks, more Ogrons and better lasers. This really appealed to my inner 10 year old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vanished! Disappeared into thin air! like a ghost., 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this one. The best Dr Who DVD of this year. I remember watching this story when it was first shown in 1972(when i was 7),it was the first Dr Who i remember all of it & the reason i became a fan. When i received it, i watched the special edition on disc 2 first. It is brilliant. The new cgi effects are very good & i wasn't too bothered about the dalek voices on the original, but the new ones are much better. I also think the newly filmed bits are very good as well. I would highly recommend this one to even non Dr Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Terminator - Doctor Who style, 12 July 2012
By 
J Brackell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
After an absence of five years and twenty four serials, the iconic Doctor Who monsters known as `The Daleks' returned to the show that made them famous, after a failed attempt by creator Terry Nation to spin them off into their own series. With their return came their first appearance in colour, outside of the two Doctor Who cinema releases (starring Peter Cushing). Originally planned to appear later in the Doctor's ninth season, the producers altered an existing script to include the Daleks earlier and act as a draw to the beginning of the new season.

This four-part serial focuses on Sir Reginald Styles, a British diplomat, who is preparing a peace conference with diplomats from other countries to prevent a third World War. A few nights before his conference, an assassination attempt occurs but the assassin fades into nothingness before landing the fatal blow. The strange events inevitably draw the Doctor to the diplomat's country house to investigate, unknowingly heading towards a conflict with his old enemies, The Daleks.

The plot to this serial is very reminiscent of Terminator, and actually predates it by twelve years, with the use of soldiers attempting to travel back in time to prevent a future where the human race is ruled by tyrannical machines. There is some very interesting discussion over whether or not it is possible to change the future, or if by going back to change the past, you are in fact causing the very future you seek to avoid.

One of the limitations of this serial is that the production team only had access to three Daleks - one Gold and two Black ones, so there is some editing and repeat shots to give the illusion that there is a whole army of Daleks, but it never quite succeeds. On this DVD release, however, is a CGI-remastered version of the four episodes which changes the Dalek voices (for some reason, each Dalek was given slightly different voices than previous serials) and extra Daleks have been edited into the show for the climatic scenes. This kind of retro-editing reminds of George Lucas' obsession with updating his classic Star Wars Trilogy with extra CGI flashiness, but it doesn't over-do it and distract from the storyline, but after watching both versions - I never felt that it needed to be done. I would have spent that extra budget on animating some of the missing episodes from the First and Second Doctor's era.

The story seems a tad too short at only four episodes, which is an unusual thing to say about a classic Doctor Who serial as they often felt padded out to fill more space. I think another episode set in the dystopian future ruled by the Daleks would have added more atmosphere and tension to the storyline and given it a much rounder feel.

Overall, this is a bit of a let-down for those expecting a strong return of the Daleks, as the story lacks that sprawling scale of earlier Dalek stories, such as: The Dalek Invasion of Earth. The whole serial feels that it has been done `on the cheap' and a bit of a rushed job on the script too. It may have been successful at the time, purely for the fact that it had been so long since audiences had seen the Daleks on-screen, but since nowadays we're slightly spoiled by the Daleks appearances, I have to judge it on the storyline and production values, which are somewhat lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is The Day, 9 Oct 2011
By 
A. Clarke "Kit Nubbles" (South Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
5 stars alone must go to the new edition, I was a bit apprehensive before viewing but needn't have worried. Subtle CGI effects, new Dalek voices and cleverly inserted new action pieces make this well worth purchasing. My eldest son watched Episode 4 and didn't spot that there were new sequences (and he has watched the original). Makes me wish that other stories could get the same treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Story and a Wonderful update to DVD, 5 April 2012
By 
Mr. B. J. Weatherup (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Have to admit this has always been one my favorite Jon Pertwee stories, and is pretty much my into to the Daleks (although I do have vague memories of Patrick Troughton confronting the Dalek Emperor in Evil of the Daleks). What I like about it is the way it works on a few different levels - as a kid it was the Doctor and the Daleks, then coming back to again on VHS appreciating the fact that it works as a very good political drama and in some ways would have worked even if the Daleks weren't in it. This despite my video version from being in that period where the Beeb had the habit of editing the stories into 90 minute comps - before bowing to fan pressure and releasing (reissuing in this case) the stories in their original episodic form.
The thing that really enhances this is the upgrade on the Dalek voices - and if there's on thing Nick Briggs does well it's Dalek voices. One slight quibble is that the additional material is slightly out of synch with the original episode endings in a couple of places. But on the whole an excellent package that gives you the original version, and the new enhanced version. So 5 stars from this fan who's not disappointed in the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touch of Sardonic but not cynical, 24 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Day of the Daleks is a Black sheep. For many reasons. Firstly, there arn't that many Daleks & they tend to just hang out in their control room until the end when I guess they thought "Oh well I suppose we'd better go & sort it out!" Peter Hawkins or beloved Roy Skelton have nothing to do with the voices of the Daleks & who ever replaced them, did a bad job! Bless them! How they split words like 'Ac-ter-vate-ing' into 4 parts is far too ambiguous!

But, believe me, there's plenty to make this one of Jon's Best!

The atmosphere of this production is as potent as Vodka. It's Rich, Deep & puts you in a wonderfully relaxed mood. The scenes outside are bright, sunny & well directed. And there's a fair bit of it. And what helps this great tone, is the Incidental music. It's knock out BBC Radiophonic stuff! With lots of phasing, stabs, chimes, & god knows what else that came from many sleepless nights of tweaking knobs on a Moog; it really is a joy to listen to. I miss it so much now.

The acting is veteran. No one stands out at all. They all got it. And for those of you who love Jon.. You're in for a treat! He really fires on all cylinders in this one! Theres light entertainment at the start with the gag of talking to his future self, to his great swarve act with his cheese tasting in Style's House, to having a bash at knocking an Ogron out, to the famous scene where he is disgusted at how the human race is enslaved by higher officials. And there's a great line from Jon - "Try & use your intelligence man even if you are a politician!" Classic stuff!

If you can put the Daleks to one side, you will enjoy this, & it will grow on you! I myself cannot wait for this to be released on DVD. I just hope they do the decent thing & Isolate the Incidental Music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can this really be the same story?, 13 Sep 2011
By 
Iain McClumpha (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Like most reviewers of a certain age this was my first childhood Dalek story on TV. In the 60s they left TV, and I was 2 years old. When this story aired I was 8, ready for them.
I have memories of being excited and instantly fell in love with them, starting a love affair which lasted until the 2010 redesign burned my eyes out. However, in 1972 these were my first Daleks (I hadn't yet seen the films) on TV. My little Rolykin had come alive.

In the VHS era I had bought the BBC tape and oh dear... it was a sad thing to watch. The performances were great, the story excellent... but the Daleks. Three of them invading Earth, and with silly voices. It was like a nightmare... my childhood memories were drowned and washed away.

So, having heard rumours that the Daleks were getting new voices I pre-ordered the DVD and it duly arrived... with 2 discs! One was a special edition with new voices and effects.
With shaking hands I watched it... and it was superb!
This was the way I remembered it being... exciting, dramatic and with menacing Daleks. Thanks to the resoration team and the talented individuals who brought in an extra Dalek, Nick Briggs, Mark Ayres and the CGI people who made an army of Daleks and a ruined future Earth.
Yes, it isn't the same as the transmission I watched in 1972, but it's the way my inner child thought it was.

Modern Doctor Who may have all of the effects, humanity and production values of a modern TV series, but it lacks what these old stories do: pure, unadulterated magic!
8 year old me is over the moon ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who cares about Star Wars? This is THE thing!, 27 Sep 2011
By 
M. F. M. (Rio de Janeiro, RJ Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
You know, I have been one of those guys who have been pretty angry about George Lucas tinkering with Star Wars, but you know what? Why should I care when there are things like this which story-wise and "cool"-wise are far much better than Star Wars could ever hope to be. I'm a new Doctor Who fan and I'm watching the classic stories for the first time. I'm currently watching Tom Baker's era but to me, Jon Pertwee is THE Doctor. I reeeealy love everything about this era: Joe Grant, the Brig, Roger Delgado's Master (the one and only) and of course, the resourceful Sergeant Benton. Some people may call it dated or old, but you know what? It's hands down much better than most shows being produced today, besides, if old meant bad, people wouldn't travel from all over the world just to see the Mona Lisa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Enhancement, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
This two disc set contains not only the original serial as it was broadcast in 1972 but also features the same story with noticeable alterations and new additions that weren't previously there. A cynic would argue against any meddling because the story works very well still in its original format albeit with issues such as invisible bullets and a 3 Dalek attack force in the finale. The special edition however fixes all those issues and actually enhances the story as a result making this the best version of Day of the Daleks to own. Previous and rather silly looking gun fights now feel dangerous and more thrilling to watch with characters now actually looking like they are dodging real bullets. The finale has added more Daleks and new footage that all works thanks to the great decision to enhance this story with new location footage shot and added computer effects that are specifically designed to sit alongside the more dated effects. The special edition is indeed a better version of this somewhat underrated Dalek story that can easily be considered a somewhat wink to the eventual first Terminator movie. Jon Pertwee and Katy Manning are superb in this well paced four part story that is one of my favourite stories of the Pertwee years and a must have for Doctor Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972]
Doctor Who - Day of the Daleks [DVD] [1972] by Paul Bernard (DVD - 2011)
5.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews