Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Series 4-and-a-half. Strong series, shame about the extras
Though it's called series 5, this is series 4 part 2 of Primeval. You can tell from the story arc, and there are some giveaways in the 'making of' feature- the scripts refer to these episodes as, for example, "series 4 episode 9" instead of "series 5 episode 2". It was clearly filmed as one thirteen-part series, and then split into two 'series' between filming and...
Published on 23 Sep 2011 by Mr. Stuart Bruce

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Final End?"
Similar to the end of the original run of classic Dr Who this ends on a story never really intended to be the end. The team in the final scenes are clearly heading off for new adventures with a cryptic hint of what series 6 might have had in store, had they been able to go to another year at that time. As it stands though, barring a possible feature film and spinoff New...
Published 4 months ago by Bob Marlowe


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Series 4-and-a-half. Strong series, shame about the extras, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Though it's called series 5, this is series 4 part 2 of Primeval. You can tell from the story arc, and there are some giveaways in the 'making of' feature- the scripts refer to these episodes as, for example, "series 4 episode 9" instead of "series 5 episode 2". It was clearly filmed as one thirteen-part series, and then split into two 'series' between filming and broadcast.

This makes a difference to the series as a whole- rather than having its' own original developing plot, it picks up where the previous seven episodes left off and if you haven't seen series 4, series 5 will make very little sense. So only buy this if you've already got or seen series 4.

The episodes themselves are great. Moving the show's production to Ireland gave it a new lease of life and it ends up being a very polished, confident drama. The special effects are mostly excellent and the acting is strong. It's a bit more predictable than something like "Doctor Who" but it's still good all-round family entertainment sci-fi.

The 'extras' (or rather, 'extra'- singular) is disappointing, as it's really the leftover bits from the 'making the new primeval' documentary that appeared on the series 4 disc, which feels like it's more aimed at trying to persuade new audiences to watch the show, rather than giving existing fans any real behind-the-scenes interest. Some more in-depth extras featuring longer interviews with the cast, or the writers, would've been very welcome.

As I write this the latest news is that "Primeval: New World" will be the next time we'll see Primeval on TV. It'll be American-made, feature a mostly or completely new cast, it'll "start fresh" plot-wise, and they haven't started filming it yet so it won't be on TV for quite a while. So while you're waiting, enjoy these last six episodes of the original Primeval.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going to miss this show!, 28 Jun 2011
This review is from: Primeval Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Ok so I've just finished watching the last episode and I have to say it was incredible. Having been with Primeval since the very first episode, I, like many other fans can probably say that it is different to how it was then. This series not only bought closure to Primeval as a whole but also left it open for what (HOPEFULLY) will be a sixth series.
For those who were disappointed with series 4, then I suggest you check out what is probably the last series as it was a definite improvement over it, moving the plot forward and so forth.
The special feature(s) on this disk is similar to that on the fourth series DVD, so it should be quite interesting. I will be getting this the day it comes out and I hope everyone else, like me, has enjoyed 4 fun years of Primeval : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Series Five, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primeval Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Series Five of Primeval is outstanding. This is a great series. It is easily the best of all five seasons of this science fiction series. Also this series is the best British science fiction series for many years.
The whole production is excellent. The production, the scripts, the acting, the sets and the special effects are all first class.
This series five makes up for the weaker series one and two in so much as it brings all of the elements to a seemingly climactic ending. It makes the whole story from series one to five seem worthwhile. We get to understand all of the simplicity and un explained factors of series one and two through to the more developed series three to five.
Each series has improved on the last one because each has no ultimate conclusion. This series brings everything to a sort of conclusion. Any of the earlier series are incomplete without this one.

Each episode has its own uniqueness and theme except the final two episodes that are effectively a two part story.

This series five and the earlier series four are in fact a new beginning for Primeval. This series five is a continuation of series four. ( It is a bit like series four part two). And both series are distinctly different from the previous series one-three.

Priveval is a British Science Fiction series originally produced for ITV by Impossible Pictures. The first two seasons saw scientists investigate the appearance of temporal anomalies across Britain. Pre historic and future creatures came through the anomalies causing terrible havoc. Both seasons were successful in the UK and both did reasonably well in America when transmitted through BBC America.
Feedback from America influenced the decision to change the cast and improve the production values and season three became a transition series.
This led to further interest and a deal between ITV, BBC Worldwide Watch, Impossible Pictures and German ProSieben companies to produce a new era of Primeval.
The need to improve script, acting and production together with more financial backing and better development of the whole concept resulted in the improved series four and now series five.

Actor Alexander Siddig (also from Star Trek Deep Space Nine) is a great additional actor to season four and now five. His character of Philip is brilliant and this is one of the things to add weight to the plot line.
The special effects are as good as ever and in some ways are actually even better.
There is plenty of action and a good pace to the production. There is room for a series six and I hope there will be one.

The DVD set is the best way to see this show. At the time of writing this review the show has not been screened on ITV like the earlier four seasons. This DVD set may be the only way to see the series. But with out a doubt it is better to see the series on DVD without the adverts and where you can watch each episode closer to the next than you would on TV.

This is a great DVD set of six episodes and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Final End?", 15 Aug 2014
This review is from: Primeval Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Similar to the end of the original run of classic Dr Who this ends on a story never really intended to be the end. The team in the final scenes are clearly heading off for new adventures with a cryptic hint of what series 6 might have had in store, had they been able to go to another year at that time. As it stands though, barring a possible feature film and spinoff New World (haven't seen it), that about wraps it up for Primeval.
Series 4 & 5 are much of a piece & stand as the most consistent 2 series made of the show. They look as if they were shot back to back and there are story arcs (no that really is not intended as a pun) which run across both notably the fate of Victorian Adventuress Emily (she reappears here), Connor and Abby's relationship problems, Matt's foreknowledge of a global disaster plus Philip Burton & New Dawn.
Good range of stories and creatures (well realised as ever) even if the percentage of creature action could perhaps have been a tiny bit higher.
Standout episodes include Matt's trip to the Victorian era where Emily battles against the dinosaur that has given birth to the legend of Spring Heeled Jack (Matt fears Emily's actions may result in her being confined to a mental institution which is where history says she ends up) and a Hunt for Red October style number where the team take a submarine trip through a deep underwater anomaly.

Connor creates a man made anomaly which results in a lockdown as the team battle against swarming insects which come through.

For the last 2 episodes a giant man made anomaly threatens to bring the disaster Matt feared & anomalies open up beyond the capacity to contain them. Eagle eyed viewers will spot some cleverly used footage of earlier episodes to represent them.

The characters are all still working. Even despite the ill advised relationship issues plaguing them, Hannah Spearritt & Andrew Lee Potts are still deservedly most viewers' favourites. Even tough it's been done before they do make the problems the pair are having very real. But please if we ever get series 6, let them be a happy couple between anomalies.
Ciaran McMennamin's Matt seems to be in the ascendant and I'm pretty sure he would have become more central had series 6 been possible. This is no complaint as the character's good and well played, particularly strong on a solo mission rescuing Emily. Speaking of which it's good to have Ruth Bradley back as Emily, now very much a Victorian Ema Peel type. I wonder were the producers building this pair up against Hannah and Andrew possibly declining to return for more?
Ben Mansfield and Ruth kearney are much as in series 4 as Becker & Jess which means just as good, both feature strongly in the lockdown episode.
Ben Miller as Lester is always able to make an impression with the odd put down etc. and it's great fun to see him tell off an admiral and uncomfortably try to encourage the team as he assists Jess in her co-ordination role.

Alexander Siddig still draws the short straw as the thinly written Philip Burton. he's much as in the last series until they finally give him some depth toward the end of the final episode but at the 11th hour, it's just too late. He gets a I don't know, henchwoman? April played by Janice Byrne who although a fun character is only really there to drive a wedge between Abby & Connor. She gets a memorable faceoff with Abby though.

1 extra only and not a good one (that's why it's only 3 stars) "New Dawn: Making the New Primeval part 2" which at 15 minutes is too short to get into anything properly.

Not quite the send off the series deserved but then it was never intended to be, but still some fun adventures and well worth completing the set with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series!, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primeval Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I think I fell in love with the makers of Primeval; Cast and Crew alike; The creatures that emerge through Anomalies are awesome and some, not always the bigger ones, are truly scary! My nephew now works in digital animation and I really hope he ends up working for a team like this. Sometimes with such programs it's the tiniest details which fascinate the most and for me it's a scene in the Ladies Toilets when one of the female team members looks in the mirror. I won't spoil things by saying what she sees but in fact I didnt stop thinking about the significance of that 20sec of footage and it's place in the Bigger Picture. WE can also spot anomalies in our lives; It is no coincidence that half of the word anomalies is "lies". Understanding the at times cataclysmic consequences of lies the is key to understanding and maximising the potential achievements & enjoyment of your life. We don't just suffer for our own transgressions, we also suffer the consequences of the impact of our choices on others. The next time something "unjust" happens to you, think quickly of a time when you quietly celebrated that you "got away with it". Try watching Primeval with the sound turned off, or, without the images, only listening to the soundtrack. Don't just watch it, FEEL IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Sci-Fi Cancelled Prematurely...., 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From Series One until this one - this hugely entertaining British Sci-Fi TV series was underrated and misjudged. Shame. This amazing slice of British Sci-Fi did not stand a chance at peak-time telly against multitudes of vacuous tacky simple-minded "reality tv shows" that has infected British telly nowadays...'Nuff Factual Truth Said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final chapter, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primeval Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best shows that have appeared on UK television and this Season 5 is the best of the best. Why on earth was it cancelled (read that it was a big earner internationally). Anyway this season clears up some of the outstanding plot lines, but still leaves of few questions unanswered if it should return with a Season 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous series, 31 July 2011
By 
A. Butler "tanj666" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Series 5 is brilliant. Only six episodes, but action packed. The effects are the usual high quality CGI that started life in Walking with Dinosaurs. The characters are all nicely settled into their roles. The story line takes some interesting twists and turns which make for an entertaining programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved this show, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primeval Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
this was grate show watch them all I brought them all just a shame they did not complete the show the dvd box set was sent out very quickly and in A1 condition I would buy from this seller again thanks john
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother with Blu-Ray, 11 Nov 2013
By 
C. Harris (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you liked the TV series then you will enjoy this. But don't waste your money on the blu-ray. The video is not fully HD and the sound is only stereo. Save your money and buy it on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Primeval Series 5 [DVD]
Primeval Series 5 [DVD] by Ciarán McMenamin (DVD - 2011)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews