Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
51
4.4 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£5.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2011
I bought red faction Armageddon because of the budget price and I played and enjoyed Red Faction: Guerilla.At first I was disappointed it wasn't a sandbox free roam like its predecessors' the developers adopted a more linear approach to levels design which makes the game seem significantly smaller than Guerilla all tho Soon it became apparent that these changes have improved the flow of the game and cut a vast amounts of going back and forth over sandy boring environment.Saying that I managed to finish the main story in two days and squeezed a few hrs out of Infestation mode and Ruin mode but for £6 that's just what I expected.A good all round game which might get another play-through once skyrims done.
PS......... all achievement junkies this is a easy 850 gs over 2 - 3 days work.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
Many of my reviews champion the underdog. You know, when I feel that something has been sadly overlooked or under appreciated. Poor little Red Faction: Armageddon is the next in line. It's a shame it's free roaming predecessor Guerrilla in many ways killed this one before it even left the blocks. It wasn't sandbox. Well, neither was any Red Faction game before Guerrilla. Besides, why can't you enjoy both? I personally loved the change of pace.

To me Armageddon brought Red Faction back to it's roots. That being getting underground and causing absolute chaos. Armageddon delivers this in SPADES. I thought the campaign was fantastic. It does start a little slowly. However persevere and you'll be rewarded with an exhilarating ride. This is a campaign that gets more exciting the farther you go. It has excellent pacing making it lean, mean and fat free. Sure it's generic, replete with gun turrets and exoskeleton madness but when it's this much fun who cares?

Armageddon has tight controls, some lovely visuals and top notch cut scenes. The "snap to enemy" trigger mechanic is the best I've seen. When you're surrounded by enemies (which will be often) then it works fluently, sweeping from enemy to enemy with consummate ease. Over the course of the campaign your armoury increases, providing many different weapon types. You also purchase upgrades using salvage collected by destroying buildings. This all adds to your general ability to cause utter destruction. Yup, destruction. Don't listen to the naysayers. There's some seriously cathartic devastation to be found on Armageddon. If you feel short changed then surely only nuclear apocalypse could quell your thirst for chaos.

Then there's the co-op survival mode of Infestation. Yes, this is Armageddon's take on the now familiar Horde mode. Nothing new here I confess but it's still brilliant fun. Mainly due to the movement of the aliens. There's no hanging back and waiting for the enemies to plod their way to you. These arachnid style bad boys are above you. Below you. All over you. It's 360 degree fire fighting and there is no respite. Four players ploughing through waves of these necromorph like nasties is an absolute riot. Thousands of bullets will be spent keeping them at bay. It's total chaos and my mates and I love it.

For the price this game is going for these days then I say pick it up. You really have nothing to lose. Appreciate it for what it is rather than what it isn't and you surely won't be disappointed. Five stars for a sterling effort.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
Red Faction Armageddon is the first of the Red Faction series that I've played and to be honest the game started on a downer for me, I read the back of the box to see the green words I love "Co-op 2-4 player", great, my girlfriend and I can play this together!
This, however, is no the case, the co-op isn't local co-op at all, it's over System link or Xbox Live, so why it states Co-op in green, I have no idea...

But on to the review...

As it boasts, it's full of mayhem and destruction of any (specifically) man made structure (However this isn't 100% true, but you have to draw the line somewhere...

I bought this game not expecting much (I only bought this game as Brink was £30 trade-in against it) but I have been pleasantly surprised.

The game starts off, easing you in, letting you get to grips with aiming, shooting and switching weapons before letting you loose on a couple of enemies. As the game goes on it lets you get your hands on a few more "fun" weapons.

To start the game, I wanted to use the Maul as much as possible, but this isn't particularly wise for 2 reasons, 1) On Insane difficulty, I don't think you're meant to and 2) After the first few "levels" the enemies like to jump around out of your reach, it's hard to hit an enemy with a Maul when they're on top of a pillar.

I spent most of my time (and killed most enemies) with the amazing Magnet gun, tag an object (like a Pillar) then tag the enemy and watch it fly into their face and squish them into mush, it's great fun!

The game handles really well, there are upgrades you can buy using Salvage that you find (Or once you have the upgrade, you can get this by killing the enemies), they upgrade a multitude of things, from health, damage done by your weapons and you can even get a "shell" that can reflect damage back at enemies.

To be honest, I'm not the best person at 3rd or even first person shooters, but playing this on Insane difficulty isn't really that challenging, sure I've died once or twice by being outnumbered and overwhelmed by the enemy, but their attacks are usually easy to dodge, and they are pretty simple to kill.

There are also two other game types to play, a (what seems to be standard these days) last stand type game, where you fight wave after wave of enemies, and also a game type called "Ruin", which gives you weapons and freedom to destroy as much as you can in the time limit given. There is a demo given with the game, but it's 400 MS points to unlock the full version (The download is 128kb, so the content is already on the disc, which I feel is a ripoff, but each to their own)

Overall, the game is good, better than most other releases at the moment (perhaps with the exception of LA Noire, but that's a whole different kettle of fish!)

Definitely worth a buy, should entertain you for a while (especially if your friends buy it, the last stand game is always fun to play)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
This review is based purely on the single player campaign.

To start off I was a big fan of Red Faction Guerilla so I was looking forward to more of the free roaming, building bashing, driving off cliffs and generally causing havoc. Unfortunately the free roaming element has gone, RFA is a fairly linear game that directs you on a set course with not much chance of exploring or backtracking.
In RFG you would arrive on areas that were practically small villages of buildings you could have endless fun smashing to pieces or tearing through with a mech, in RFA there seem to be very few areas that you can totally destroy, and as most of the game is set in underground caverns (which gets very dull after a few hours) there is no chance to knock down huge towers and building.
There are no in game challenges as in RFG, no destruction mini games or timed races. There are a few sections of the game that let you drive vehicles, but again they feel very linear and uninspired and involve nothing more than shooting endless hoards of very similar enemies.

I found the storyline in RFG to be much more engaging and well thought out, you became interested in the characters and their relation to each other. In RFA we are given the story in small cutscenes but it is so dull and bland with very average animation and voice acting that you really don't pay much attention to it. By the end of the game I was skipping the cutscenes just to get back to the action, which wasn't a problem as the storyline is so predictable you can see what's coming hours before it happens.

The new weapons and tools in RFA are a welcome addition, sadly they are vastly underused. To have a tool that gives you the ability to rebuild the destroyed scenery opens up a whole world of possibilities, unfortunately it is used for mainly for repairing gaps in the floor or fixing machinery. The other weapons although interesting feel unnecessary because for most of the time (as with the magnet gun) there is no need to use them. I got through most of the game relying on the trusty assault rifle and the rocket launcher. The magnet gun (as with the nano forge) could have been used so much more for problem solving or building.

The enemies you come across are very unoriginal, I appreciate that it's hard to be original with some many other games on the market in this genre, but the same old half insect half alien creatures that jump from floor to ceiling and spit laser beams and bombs is very boring. The AI is practicality non existent as most enemies just come charging at you.

To sum up what we have here is a game that just feels very lazy and badly pieced together. There are some fun elements but the dreary level design and monotonous gameplay out weigh the good. It feels like a watered down version of Gears of War with some interesting weapons and tools thrown in at the last minute.

Rent or wait for the price to drop, not worth the hard cash.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
this is a very linear game compared to guerrilla, its really really fun and adds so much scope for killing baddies and just messing around thanks to the fantastically imagined weapons. A great game and now very cheap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
Ignore all the low star reviews, If they dont like the red faction franchise they shouldnt have bought it.

Okay, I am a real red faction, Ive played it since 2001 when the first game came out.
Each red faction game has its bad points, and its good points, et they still are all awesome!

Armageddon is awesome for the following reasons:

DLC...the ammount of downloadable content is really cool for this game,
We can download the recon pack, and the commando pack, and this gives you two different uniforms which
look similar to dead space 2. Also you get 4 new weapons with these uniforms which...are..AWESOME. you can also download new campaign.

Weapons...the ammount of different weapons in this game is unreal, I've only been so far and I have found tonssss of different guns! and it introduces loads of new cool guns also, its like christmas day with each new weapon you find lol...this also stops the game from getting old and boring.

Combat vehicles...The combat vehicles in this game are numerous and damn awesome, Really fun, really awesome.

The Enemies...The enemies are martian aliens, and they are a nice change, real awesome, the fights with them are insane, especialy with the snap-camera aiming system you can go all out with tons of different weapons against hundreds of foes at once, it never gets old.

The Upgrads...The upgradesi n this game are awesome its like an RPG! when you get salvage, you can spend it in the upgrade computer and become even stronger!

The story...The story is really epic, The graphics are amazing, and the music all go together so well it makes you feel adrenaline when fighting in this game.

OVERALL...If you are a red faction fan, this is a must buy. IF you are new to red faction games, I would reccomend this game AND rf 2001 and rf guerilla (skip rf2 it sucks and is irrelevant.) This game really is an awesome action game.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
A good game with pretty good visuals and gameplay. Have not played the first Red Faction game so did not quite know the background, but it doesn't matter as you are pretty quickly into killing stuff and saving the planet. For the price a well worth purchase if you like killing aliens with loads of different guns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Pretty fun game to go about and break stuff in, but the code I was given for unlocking some of the content didn't work and everyone I spoke to about it essentially said "too bad, buy it.", paying for content I'd already paid for? k. Feels a bit linear at times though.

Still a good game, lots of fun using the various weapons and upgrades. Don't bother with the destruction mode if it's not free, it's not even worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
I must say I was very impressed with this game from the start. I have played it predecessor (Red Faction: Guerrilla) which I thoroughly enjoyed and it was exactly the same case with this one, if not more enjoyable. The campaign is brilliantly long; it feels like a full game which is not the case for most games nowadays which can be completed fairly quickly. I must add that as well as being long it was also exciting and engaging the entirety of the playthrough. The destruction physics on this game also do not disappoint and made the experience even more memorable.

I would definitely recommend this game to others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
As a fan of the Red Faction series since the original PS2 release, I can safely say that this is the best RF since then.
RF 2 was, unfortunately, rather poor and lacked in pretty much every way when compared to the original.
RFA does not suffer from the same drawbacks and problems of the previous games, and instead of concentrating on only the destructive properties of the Geo-Mod engine, they went further in-depth with storyline, character development, weapon & power upgrades and improved the overall playability of the franchise.
As a stand-alone game, this rates highly, and in terms of the franchise, it's #2 only to the original.

4/5!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)