Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensuality Guarenteed
Kate Bush, they say, is like Marmite, you either love or hate her work. This album, however, gives some middle ground.
It's as accessible as her best selling Hounds of Love , but more complex,personal and lasting.
The James Joyce inspired title track is possibly her best ever.
However I think this album will be mostly remembered for the sublime "This...
Published on 4 Mar 2006 by Saints FC

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars stodgy to brilliant
have to agree with others on this thread - after the astonishing one-two punch of the dreaming and hounds..., sensual world is spoilt by a lot of clatter, murk and fiddly-diddly production, and some (for kate) ordinary songs (i mean, can you whistle heads we're dancing? thought not). it is redeemed by the title track and the superb trio that finished the old vinyl...
Published on 24 Sep 2006 by lawks


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kate Bush's two best songs and best album, 23 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sensual World (Audio CD)
I first heard about Kate Bush when Pat Benatar covered "Wuthering Heights" and since then I have learned a lot more about her innovative musical career. I think "The Sensual World" is clearly her best album on the strength of what are probably her two best songs: "Love and Anger" (with Pink Floyd's Dave Gilmour on Guitar) and "This Woman's Work" (orchestrations by Michael Kamen). If you think the latter was used effectively in the 1988 movie "She's Having a Baby," you should see Kate's music video. She is certainly one of the most evocative musicians of our generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising sensuous introspection, 12 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Sensual World (Audio CD)
Partly because her Best Of compilation only covers the period ending with her 1985 masterpiece Hound Of Love, forever fixing Kate's "official" canon as her first five albums, and partly due to the unprepossessingness of what one might (although I suspect only I actually do) refer to as Kate's "late-mature-period" works, The Sensual World has never resonated as loudly with the casual fan, the general listener, as her earlier classics.
After the stridency of HOL, TSW sounds almost like a retreat, an exercise in sensuous introspection. Many of the album's most successful moments (of which, of course, it has more than its fair share) are songs which announce themselves quietly, requiring repeated listens before the intricacies of their arrangements finally unravel themselves. Take, for example, 'The Fog', which sets off at a kind of electro-bossa nova lope, mixing in waves of strings and eventually electric guitar (interspersed with samples of speech) to create its haunting, hesitant, beauty.
Not every track is a success - 'Heads We're Dancing" is probably a folly too far - but when a songwriter is capable of crafting a creation of the simplicity and compassionate genius of 'This Woman's Work' and then singing it with the kind of Deep Soul-level of emotion which Kate seems to bring to every vocal performance, we can forgive her odd failure.
And when Kate does take risks more often than not they pay off: her use of the Trio Bulgarka is, in places, inspired - if you listen to the acapella first half of 'Rocket's Tail' I strongly suspect you're hearing the germ of Bjork's subsequent experimentation with Inuit choirs and more recent all-vocal album. As always, Kate is the master of space, giving her songs room to breathe - check out the short instrumental breaks in 'Never be Mine', or the ending of 'Deeper Understanding', for example.
Conversely, and proof of Kate's continuing development as a singer, is the feeling of claustrophobia evoked on the album's last track 'Walk Straight Down the Middle' as she sings "Can't move my arms/ Can't move my legs/ Can't say no I can't say yes...", seemingly through paralysed lips. Mesmerising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kate's under rated masterpiece., 16 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sensual World (Audio CD)
The Sensual World is a remarkably beautiful album. Even though it has been released for over ten years, it still sounds vital and fresh.
There are certain songs on this album that make you feel emotional, as if something will burst out from inside of you. From "Love and Anger" to "Deeper Understanding" to "This Woman's Work", each song penetrates under the skin and makes you feel.
This album has been overlooked, and is overshadowed by Kate's grand "Hounds Of Love". It is true, "The Sensual World" is not a grand album. But it was never meant to be.
Kate still remains ahead and a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Kate Bush Fans!, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensual World (Audio CD)
I am a big Kate Bush fan, but all of my collection was either on cassette or vinyl, so I decided to update it. This CD was of excellent quality and great value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a rare find, 9 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensual World (Audio CD)
I had a copy of this KB Album on tape, and after a few years it got lost.
I decided to get the CD version recently and was amazed to find that it wasn't available anymore. Those available were all 2nd hand and prices up to £20+. Luckily I was able to find a copy in 'as new condition ' from a US supplier via Amazon Market place at a reasonable price.
I had to wait about three weeks for it to arrive - the tracks and Kate Bush sound every bit as good today as it did when first released. This album was breaking new ground for Kate Bush and to me it is the best she recorded.
I play it in the evening - through a Tannoy and Tri amp set up, it is amazing, and tried through a normal amp/ speaker set up it is also very good. The recording quality is just excellent.

Buy it if you can finf it and want the best album Kate Bush ever made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Album not Remastered -Do not make the mistake, 13 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sensual World (Audio CD)
It was always going to be hard to follow the hounds of love, after selling so well and then the Whole story compilation.The Sensual World, brings everything back down to earth, and Kate Bush recorded her most personal album to date. Although some fans found it not as good as her older albums, everyone appeared to be unanimous, with This Woman's work, a beautiful song which has become a firm favorite.
However this album contains some great tracks the title track is still beautiful, as is the the Fog. Heads were dancing is a great insight of having a dance with Hitler, well only Kate could write something like that. Rocket tail is fun, and Deeper Understanding, about a boy in love with his computer for me is still better here than on the directors cut.
This is a reissue and Amazon have labelled in wrong do not fall into the trap of this being a re-master it is not, it is the same audio as the original. Having bought the Directors Box set it clearly states only the Red Shoes is re-mastered, and checking the Directors cut version with the original CD there is no difference at all in volume or quality no matter what anyone says, so don't fall in the trap buying this thinking it has been re-mastered, Apparently one of the reasons is Kate is a lover of the Analogue sound, and therefore does not feel it necessary.
However expanded editions, perhaps with a little cleaning up work would be a step in the right direction. There are so many B sides and rare tracks which are hard to find, unless you shell out for This Woman's work box set, but that still has some rare tracks missing. I can only hope with all the interest with the recent dawn to Dusk tour Kate's back catalog gets the love it deserves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of outstanding beauty and tenderness ..., 16 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Sensual World (Audio CD)
With The Sensual World, Bush turned her songwriting gaze inside. With her earlier albums the songs were mostly external, strong narratives, some with political bents, some literary. With this album even the songs which use literature (the title track, based on the end of Ulysses) or historical (Heads We're Dancing, based on a story of someone who unknowingly met and liked Oppenheimer) do so to consider the emotional reaction of the subject. Twinned with this is a softening of the music, with a strong strand of Celtic influence. The use of the Trio Bulgarka singers is inspired, daring, and perfect.
The closest comparison to draw for this album would be Bjork's Vespertine - the sound of a woman of immense energy and creativity stopping to take stock, and look inside herself for inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sensual & sublime, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sensual World (Audio CD)
Ethereal, mystical and majestic, the sensual world is as diverse in it's sound as it is in the subject of it's songs. There really is no limit to the ideas that kate puts to create these lush sonic soundscapes. The only criticism, and it is only a slight one, is that it has dated a we bit and sometimes there is to much going on in the mix to give it a coherent sound, but apart from these minor discrepencies this truly is a wonderful piece of this woman's work. Is it as good as Kate's previous offering the hounds of love? No but then again what is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Astonishing voice range, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. C. J. Berry "Chris J Berry" (South Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sensual World (Audio CD)
Kate is immortal! With a voice-range of four and half octaves, she cannot fail to take us into the realms of sheer enjoyment. I'll follow her up that hill anytime. I keep her album 'The Whole Story' by my bed for my daily rations of Kate. I can thoroughly recommend any of Kate's albums. Her song 'Lyra' from 'The Golden Compass' (based on the book Northern Lights) is possessively haunting, and I find myself playing the movie just to listen to that song as the film titles play out the disk....-- need I say more??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great re-discovery, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Alan (HERTS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sensual World (Audio CD)
Bought to replace an old cassette version I came across. Better than I remembered and significantly better than the most recent KB offering I have (Aerial). Some really good tunes and....oh that voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sensual World
The Sensual World by Kate Bush (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews