Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best.
I was quite dissappointed with this album the first time I listened to it. It seemed to lack that power Kate had came up with in The Dreaming and Hounds of Love and I quite quickly lost my interest on this album and it rested a long time on my shelf. I also thought this way about The Sensual World, until I fell in love with it and after that I gave another try for The Red...
Published on 14 Dec. 2010 by J. J. J

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's worth mentioning...
...that not even Kate herself was too fond of THE RED SHOES. She felt (and I couldn't agree more) that the whole think drags on for too long. She's had complete control over her recordings since LIONHEART and this was the first effort she didn't consider a success.
I think it would've been much better if she'd expanded and/or extended the earlier tracks, a mini-opera...
Published on 4 Dec. 2008 by M. DALTON


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best., 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Red Shoes (Audio CD)
I was quite dissappointed with this album the first time I listened to it. It seemed to lack that power Kate had came up with in The Dreaming and Hounds of Love and I quite quickly lost my interest on this album and it rested a long time on my shelf. I also thought this way about The Sensual World, until I fell in love with it and after that I gave another try for The Red Shoes and truly fell in love with it too. I just love that Kate uses the Trio Bulgarka in this album like she did in The Sensual World and they sound even better on The Red Shoes. That's why the Song of Solomon has become one of my favourite Kate Bush's songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unearthed work of art!, 13 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Red Shoes (Audio CD)
The precocious title of the review refers to this newly remastered edition of Kate Bush's understated 1993 album The Red Shoes. Having owned an original copy of the album, I thoroughly enjoyed it but I always thought the mastering was awful as the songs sounded quite distorted or "edgy" as Mrs Bush described it. This remastering gives the sound a depth of clarity that was missing from the original. And that has given the album a new lease of life. The album itself, is not my favourite of Kate Bush's catalogue but I've often played to my heart's and vocal content, often to the annoyance of others. So to any budding Kate Bush fans, The Red Shoes should be in your personal collections!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sounds fantastic, 17 May 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Red Shoes (Audio CD)
Like most I was a little confused at this CD being the only album remastered,of the four Kate Bush has put out on her own label. However to be fair this is a re-master of the analogue recording. As it states in the sleeve notes Kate is not a lover of the Digital recording method, hurah. This is not to say that this CD does not sound fantastic in does. The clarity is warm and the drums leap out at you and it all sounds fresh and not sharp, and over compressed like many recording which seemed to be made only for the i-pod generation. The sensible thing here is it is not turned up ridiculously loud to ruin the quality, that has been left for you to do with your own volume knob. As for the songs, all the fans know them Rubberband girl, Eat the music, Moments of pleasure, which are my personal favorites, I could go on. Although not in my opinion her best album it still original and unlike anyone else still to be great. This re-master opens your ears to a knew experience. There is no news as yet if the other three albums that Kate Bush now has complete control of will get them same treatment, I hope she considers to re visit them as The Dreaming is 29 years old now, and the original LP still sounds crisp and warmer than the only CD issue. Lets hope so. Thumbs up Kate Bush you are not alone, not all of us want out music compressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat unfocused and messy, but often yields great results, 16 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: Red Shoes (Audio CD)
Working again at her home studio, Kate Bush was keen to get away from an overly fussy sound indebted to technology and instead wanted to focus again on live tracking and a more band-based sound. Such was the loose feel of the early sessions that she intended to tour the record. However, as recording continued, Bush simply couldn't resist adding and overdubbing and eventually she substituted the idea of a tour for a film ("The Line, The Cross & The Curve.")

'The Red Shoes' was released at the end of 1993 after a fraught few years of stop-start sessions. It's often maligned as the weakest record in the Bush catalogue, but it possesses its fair share of fine moments. As Graeme Thomson points out in Under the Ivy: The Story of Kate Bush, it also must be said that the recording of the album was under something of a black cloud - a couple of close collaborators died just before the making of the album, her romantic relationship with bassist and engineer Del Palmer ended (although they continue to work professionally to this day), and, significantly, Bush's mother died in 1992, stopping work on the album for months.

It has an unfocused, messy quality that is entirely understandable when you consider these circumstances. Sonically, it feels a little outdated in its production style and the recording approach of the drums, but vocally it finds Bush in perhaps her most powerful, elastic voice. Her performance on "Rubberband Girl" is one of her strongest vocals, and rhythmically it's a much more straightforward, propulsive, rock-influenced kind of sound than we had heard from her for a long time.

Curiously, it's an album full of celebrity cameos. Eric Clapton adds bluesy guitar to the beautiful "And So Is Love," and Jeff Beck follows suit on the slow-burning closer "You're The One." The strangest of them all finds Prince and Lenny Henry vying for space on the zany "Why Should I Love You?," a chaotic but somewhat charming mess that also finds room for the Trio Bulgarka, with whom Bush had collaborated on previous album The Sensual World. Henry sings a couple of verses competently, and Prince paints his trademark guitar and vocal sounds all over this weird pop/funk hybrid.

Bush tries out a number of new styles on the album. "Lily" possesses a vaguely hip-hop infused rhythm, "Constellation of the Heart" is a semi-successful funk experiment, and "Big Stripey Lie" finds Bush on electric guitar and recalls some of the weird exotic experimentation of The Dreaming. There are also some more conventional moments to be found - "Moments of Pleasure" is a sort of reprise of "This Woman's Work," while "Top of the City" is a pleasingly beautiful, atmospheric ballad. Title track "The Red Shoes" is enjoyably energetic and rhythmic.

Ultimately, while 'The Red Shoes' features its share of fine material, it's not as cohesive or focused as we had been used to for Kate Bush. It suffers from being a little long, and not all of her experiments work, although they are unquestionably admirable. After its release, Bush was exhausted creatively and personally, and took some time off. It's the sound of an artist reaching some kind of conclusion, and you can feel that a breather was necessary. Still, there's some great work to discover here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing you hear on the radio. What a great pitty!!!!!, 15 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Red Shoes [CD 1] (Audio CD)
This is the third single released from Kate's album with the same name. A very catching, as well as a hypnotic song, influenced by Madagascan music. It has such a depth and quality that even after nine years I still discover new aspects of it. And I have listend to it quite a lot.
But, you have to be willing to really listen to music and not just consume it even though you could do that with this song also, due to its catchyness.
The B-Sides can upkeep that quality. Not just because they have been (Cloudbusting in a slightly different version)singles by themselves.
"You want Alchemy" has not and still does.
It is beautiful and enchanting and just the right thing after the driving title track.
Kate Bush makes music to last and this is another example for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vastly improved version, 20 May 2011
By 
S. D. Nunn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Red Shoes (Audio CD)
I am ever so slightly cynical about Ms Bush's claim to have 'recently come across the back up mixes of this album' - it's true that historically EMI was pretty shoddy with its archives but by 1993 I am fairly sure they'd got themselves organised - anyway, regardless of the story behind this reissue, there's no doubt it marks a huge improvement upon the original CD.

Basically this is slightly more than a remastered reissue, given that it's from a different source. Unsurprisingly the analogue tape remastering provides the classic combination of slight tape compression alongside scooped EQ. Surprisingly this really does wonders for the songs - far more than I'd ever have thought possible.

For the record I did a little comparison test using a totally EQ-free set-up, a Music Fidelity CD player, two massive block amps, and Neat speakers. The outcome is I'll be sticking my original 1993 copy into one of the many charity bags that come through my door, and hanging onto this new version.

In reducing the low mids, this remastering gives the impression of added space and air, so its deep and bright but never brittle ... there's much more continuity and the bass is really warm and beefed up - lovely. One very unexpected surprise is how good 'Top of the City' sounds and even the none too inspiring Clapton guitar solo sits within its track much more successfully. I have to wonder, given this outcome, quite why Ms Bush felt she needed to revisit these songs on 'Director's Cut'. As for 'Big Stripey Lie', remastered it's a revelation; to my mind an overlooked masterpiece. The toms on 'Why Should I Love You?' are slightly distorted at the beginning of the track - I assume this is intentional cos they sound great.

Anyway, I always had a few problems with this album - it certainly wasn't close to being my favourite. I have always had the impression that EMI wanted a Kate Bush album they could flog to mainstream America, so required guest stars (Eric Clapton and Prince) - hence the ghastly sticker on the case of the original release.

It's great to finally (after 18 years) have this opportunity to to hear this album revived and stronger than ever.

Congratulations to Ms Bush - a wise move, a true restorative that brings new life to her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time has been kind to this, 30 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Red Shoes (Audio CD)
Whilst I agree with many other reviewers in that this is my least favourite album - at the same time there are songs on here that match some of her best works.

Eat The Music could easily be part of Hounds of Love, Sensual World or Aerial.

Particularly like Song of Solomon and Lily as these have the mystical quality which was part of Kate's early work.

Perhaps it's main flaw is that Kate appears to have been influenced by the gated drum and keyboard washes of the era rather than sticking to her usual timeless music. Let's not forget the time when Kate made this record was a diffiult time for her for many different reasons, hence new inspiration may have been difficult.

I have re-bought this newly issued version and agree that it's analogue remastering was needed to fit in with the flow of Kate's subsequent work and this version is noticeably easier on the ear whilst still retaining Kate's quest for experimentation.

If there had been a few more songs about nature which has been a theme underpinning Kate's best works, this album would have been a stunner.

Still this album has been invaluable as the inspiration for Director's Cut which rescues the headline songs and stitches them into a canvas that is Kate's ever continuing legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a grower!, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
R. Hallifax - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Red Shoes (Audio CD)
This album really really grew on me. Probably KB's most accessible album.

1. Rubberband Girl - You don't often hear pure pop mayhem like this from KB. This is a soulsearching song about being fickle. It is SO GOOD AND CATCHY! Proper 90s pop (and all the better for it!) 10/10

2. And So Is Love - Eric Clapton is guitaring all over this. That aside, it is a ballad, a very sad ballad. This whole album is tinged with sadness from KB's breakup with Del Palmer and her mother's death. This song really feels that. 'Life is sad and so is love'. BOO HOO!! 9/10

3. Eat the Music - I never really got into this one. Kinda reminds me of 'The Tide is High' by Blondie. 4/10

4. Moments of Pleasure - Oh gosh. Sad and beautiful. At the end she lists people that have died in her life. Real sad, but stunning. 10/10

5. The Song of Solomon - KB says a naughty swearword!! A slow ballad, but so fun to sing along to. 10/10

6. Lily - This song is about the advice given to her by her tarot reader Lily. After a spoken word intro by Lily herself, it bursts into a pop song. Great advice about life and the universe! 10/10

7. The Red Shoes - Sounds quite hollow. It is OK, but not fab. 7/10

8. Top of the City - WOW. Amazing. A big ballad that explodes, kinda like rain. I don't know if anyone else feels that when they hear this song, but that's what I get. 10/10

9. Constellation of the Heart - Big 90s pop track. I love it. A bit of call and response in it. Feels nautical! 10/10

10. Big Stripey Lie - This is a crazy song. KB plays guitar on it, and it is all distorted and feedbacky. Slightly mad and very angry. 9/10

11. Why Should I love You? Are you looking for an unashamed pop song that features both Prince and Lenny Henry? Welcome to this track! It's brilliant, soul tinged pop. Doesn't really sound like a KB track! 10/10

12. You're the One - Ooh. Pain. This song is about splitting with Del Palmer. It is painful to listen to, but so beautiful. One of the best tracks on here. So honest! Yes it is a ballad, but not like any ballad KB usually does. 10/10

People underrate this album. BUY IT. There is something beautiful and honest about this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all about fearless love really..., 26 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Red Shoes (Audio CD)
One of the most missed artists of modern music reality is withought doubt Kate Bush . Although there are many ladies around who have the guts to fully open their souls and reveal their sensitivities to the fans ( Bjork , Tori Amos , Tanya Donelly , P.J Harvey ) Bush still stands out for being a person so dedicated and focused on human love , it makes me wanna cry everytime i realize it .
Considering the fact that " Hounds Of Love " was maybe the best british record of the 80's and " The Sensual World " a ( much much more than just a ) great album by a female singer-songwritter , her 1992 is undeniably not the earthshattering third masterpiece in a row . It had it's good moments and it had it's bad ones .

The epic sadness of " So It's Love " with it's haunting flutes and Clapton's guitar playing is so rich in feelings and deeply affecting while " The Constellation Of The Heart " has a greek tragedy touch in it with Bush discussing and arguing with the backing vocals about what she should do with the challenge of love . Furthermore , " Top Of The City " is powerfull and sweet and even the initially harmless latin folklore of " Eat The Music " features lines like " does he conceal / what he really feels ? / he is a woman at heart / and i love him for that / let's split him open ! " which make it highly addictive . On the other hand , " Song Of Solomon " ( in which Bush asks from her lover just his ' sexuallity ' ) is maybe too bold , maybe too vulnerable to make it , " Rubberband Girl " although catchy in a twisted way doesn't carry the emotion of Kate's past singles ( Cloudbusting , This Woman's Work ) while " Moments Of Pleasure " is somehow more easy to admire than to enjoy .

George Michael named his recent new album " Patience " because it took him eight years to deliver it . With that in mind , Bush should name hers " Lots And Lots And Lots Of Patience " though it's not the ( more than ten ) years that have passed since The Red Shoes' release that have made her fanbase so hungry for a new offering. It's the fact that this album was such an unexpected farewell which despite some uneven moments , it showed an artist on top form , interested in exploring new sounds and certaintly not a music career close to it's end .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kate knows what she is doing, 24 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Red Shoes (Audio CD)
I have always liked the songs on The Red Shoes (TRS) but found it quite fatiguing and not a very easy listen on either vinyl or CD, particularly at a realistic volume ie quite but not deafingly loud.

Recently I bought Directors Cut (DC) on vinyl and really like the sound quality - in my opinion it is the most live sounding, musical and involving recording I have heard for some time. When I saw that the TRS analogue tape was remastered by the same team who mastered DC I decided that I would have to give it a go.

Thankfully it seems to have been remastered in the spirit of DC. I can play it at a realistic volume without the fatigue or harsh (or 'edgy' as KB puts it) sound of the original. Bass and drums are more evident and carry the songs rythmn's more, making the album a whole more involving and musical experience. (I have to agree with another reviewer re Big Stripey Lie - always a favouite of mine and the remastering does wonders).

As someone who always prefers vinyl given a choice, the icing on the cake would be a vinyl release as well - here's hoping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Red Shoes
The Red Shoes by Kate Bush (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews