Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming of a remastering
As other reviewers have noted, the sound quality is exactly the same as the original CD issue and has not been remastered. This album is crying out for a deluxe edition, with perhaps bonus tracks included such as 'Dreamtime' (the B-side of The Dreaming 7" - a great instrumental version with some extra Kate vocals not on the original), the original mix of 'Ne T'Enfuis Pas'...
Published on 12 Jun 2011 by Percival Anderson

versus
17 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars misleading
this item would have been great if i hadn't been mislead into thinking it was a remastered version of this great Album.
it is not remastered and as someone else has stated it's just a re-release on kates own label, very dissapointed...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by Pd Canham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming of a remastering, 12 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
As other reviewers have noted, the sound quality is exactly the same as the original CD issue and has not been remastered. This album is crying out for a deluxe edition, with perhaps bonus tracks included such as 'Dreamtime' (the B-side of The Dreaming 7" - a great instrumental version with some extra Kate vocals not on the original), the original mix of 'Ne T'Enfuis Pas' (B-side of There Goes A Tenner in the UK), as well as the remixed version released as an A-side in France in 1983, the 7" version of 'Sat In Your Lap', and 'Night Of The Swallow' and 'The Dreaming' 7" versions, as opposed to the medley on the album.

The good point about this reissue is the booklet, with a clearer 'remastering' of the cover, altered to make Kate's name bigger in the top right with some adjustments made to the photo background to allow for it (the current Amazon cover picture is the old version), and including the illustration by Del Palmer from the title track's single cover. However, I miss the original vinyl's back cover on which the track names were arranged around the edge. The Fish People CD label is brown to match the colour scheme.

All in all, this release is a bit of a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a fine wine - improves with age. Keep faith with Kates experimental debut!!, 3 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
As stated by other reviewers, this recording can be challenging at first listen, but has stood the test of time.

This is a landmark record for Kate - her debut having been freed from the shackles of direct record company influence. Not everything works but Kate was still refining her art, experimenting both with her voice and in the complex musical arrangements. This would later establish her as a producer as much as a singer/performer.

Strangely, the singles The Dreaming and Sat In Your Lap are not what holds my attention. The real triumphs are the less well known tracks. Houdini, Night of the Swallow, All The Love and Get Out Of My House are all haunting and atmospheric.

Being mainly a fan of Kate's later work, I would encourage new fans to buy this, but needs effort from listeners over a period of time to appreciate it fully. This record will be played more often by me from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
One of the best ever albums, and criminally underappreciated. Its absolutely bonkers nearly all the way through, and a joy from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the mad album, 21 May 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
Those were her words my mad album. At the time I bought this thinking it would continue where Never for ever had left off. It did not. It was a drastic move by Kate Bush which at the time confused her audience and made EMI ask questions, like why is Rolf Harris and Percy Edwards on a commercial record. Putting a side all the negatives regarding this record, time makes you re assess music that you may have over looked. Back in 1982 Kate Bush gained full control of her own carrier and therefore no longer required an outside producer. so this album is an experiment, but it is a good one. Without the Dreaming the Hounds of love would never have happed. Ok I have to say the Dreaming, title track is not one of my favorite, but Night of the Swallow, Houdini are classic Kate Bush, and the final get out of my house still makes me turn up the stereo. The only real hit on the album was sat in my lap, which did reach number 11, three other singles failed to dent the top 40. If you are a Bush fan then investigate this very clever step forward. This is not remastered just re released on Bush's own record label and is the same audio as the EMI original 80's release. The only problem is with first issue CD's (this is 29 years old now)is it is a well known fact that when Cd's first appeared no effort was made in the transfer from master tape to CD, tending not to give a real feel or what the original LP gave.(listen to the Dreaming on a good record deck and you will see what I mean). So I only wish Kate Bush would re masters this like the Red shoes from the original analogue tapes as the soundscape on that album is now amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unmistakeable Kate, 8 July 2013
By 
P. James (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
Kate Bush has her own style of music and she is the standard for all the more contemporary artists who have chosen to go down the same road. A good mixture of songs sung with feeling and this makes a good addition to any cd collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kate Bush, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
Brilliant music, did arrive after due date so was disappointed with this part of the procedure, but her music was worth the waut
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Kate Bush album, 10 May 2013
By 
Clarey R (Leeds. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
I love the chaos of this album and it is certainly my favourite up to and including Hounds of Love. Am really nervous about buying the albums post Hounds as most of the reviews that I have read have been really uncomplimentary. If anyone can suggest which one (if any) to go for I would be really interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 6 May 2013
By 
J. Landau "allmusic" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
An album waaaaaaaaaaay ahead of its time-- sounds bang up to date more than 30 years after its release!

By this point (1982) she had perfected her blend of quirky melodicism and cutting-edge production methods and was laying a path that adventurous pop musicians are still following today (Florence Welch and many, many others, raise your hands). As nearly always with Ms. Bush, you may not find the result easy listening, but you can't help but respect (and often marvel at) the complex but always powerfully emotional impact this music has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The simplicity and the shout, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Desordenado (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
Attractive cover of "The Dreaming" doesn`t emphasize the original and innovative style of this one from another Kate`s albums. But certainly this music is unbeaten and high-class. Never I have heard something better from Kate. Some songs here I like more, some less, but this is truly my favourite; there is not any resembling song with any type of she created. There are songs like hammer-beat intensive "Sat In Your Lap", or seems to be easy-listening "There Goes A Tenner", or hard-to-characterize (may be pop, may be avant-garde at the same time) "Pull Out The Pin" - almost of them full of Kate`s heart-rending shout and strange modulation of her voice. Despite of this most of the songs have clear and distinct melody. I read several reviews and no one reminded my favourite song on the album: "Suspended In Gaffa". Actually I don`t know why this one I admire - at first it sounds like childish counting rhyme and then it seems to be taunting though I don`t exactly understand the definitive meaning of the song. The title track is also haunting in spite of broken exquisite melody of sacrifice ritual. And in final of this brilliant Kate totally loses inhibition: "Houdini" started with accords from album "Never for Ever" and then devolved on crazy, blood-curdling scream. The last "Get Out Of My House" is pop-like rapid friendly song with the squalls almost only animals can make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab album!, 10 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
Along with 'The Kick Inside' this is my favourite Kate Bush album. I bought it on cassette when it first came out and now have the cd - and it still sounds great! 'The Dreaming' is a very underrated album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dreaming
The Dreaming by Kate Bush (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews