Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's dark, it's dramatic, it's disconcerting
Kate's fourth studio album is uniquely intense. It's dark and angry - there's lots of wailing and lyrical gnashing of teeth going on here. This is definitely no picnic.
'The Dreaming' is not a concept album although it sounds like one. It could almost be a prototype of 'The Ninth Wave' - the conceptual piece on Kate's next album, 'Hounds of Love'. However, 'The...
Published on 30 Oct 1999

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kate Bush's underrated 'experimental' phase
The Dreaming is another of Kate Bush's albums which, lets say, 'takes a bit of getting used to'. Contrary to popular belief, this is not an album full of our Kate constantly trying to destroy her own vocal chords, although she starts and finishes the album pretty 'loudly' with the excellent single Sat in Your Lap (a UK #11 hit) and the somewhat disjointed screamer, Get...
Published on 30 Jan 2001 by chrishyams


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's dark, it's dramatic, it's disconcerting, 30 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
Kate's fourth studio album is uniquely intense. It's dark and angry - there's lots of wailing and lyrical gnashing of teeth going on here. This is definitely no picnic.
'The Dreaming' is not a concept album although it sounds like one. It could almost be a prototype of 'The Ninth Wave' - the conceptual piece on Kate's next album, 'Hounds of Love'. However, 'The Dreaming' has always been in the shadow of its more commercially viable successor, which is a shame as it is such a remarkable album in itself.
Standout tracks include 'Get Out of My House' - this is an exquisitely furious and dramatic piece of music. 'All the Love' will leave a lump in your throat, while 'Night of the Swallow' and 'Leave it Open' are just sheer ear candy.
I think Kate is at her musical best when she really lets rip - and there is a lot of that going on in 'The Dreaming'. This is a spellbinding album which treats the listener as an emotional punchbag. It'll leave you feeling shaken and exhilarated. Not one for the fainthearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horribly Underrated, 12 July 2001
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
When the popular masses rejected this album originally it was because there was no Wuthering Heights or Babooshka on the album. With this album Bush kicked out the window her kooky but sweet English rose image and showed us her darker side. What is strange is that the songs on this album are even stronger than those on her more commercially successful albums.
I bought this just the other week and was stunned at how fresh and new it is. It certainly does not sound like it is from the 80s. It sounds as if it was recorded yesterday. Bush also puts all those that followed her - Tori Amos and Bjork to name but two - well in the shade.
Her voice is beautiful on this album, and the songs very strong with great melodies and poignant lyrics. Get Out Of My House is TREMENDOUS.
What I don't understand is those who say it takes some getting used to. The Sensual World and Red Shoes did nothing for me on first listening, but this grabbed me the first time I played it.
The Whole Story comes nowhere near in representing Kate's talent or creativity. To do her justice you need the albums. And this tops Never Forever and The Kick Inside.
Lionheart was badly underrated - it also sounds fresh as if recorded recently. But the reception to The Dreaming was simply foolish and cruel. This is is simply one of the greatest albums ever recorded by a female artist.
That this album, Hounds of Love, and Lionheart can sound as new as the day they were recorded after nearly 20 years speaks volumes. How many other artists have 20 year old albums that have not dated? That is a true reflection of greatness, not just commercial success at the time of its release.
Kate has produced 2 of the greatest albums of all time and no record collection is ever complete without this album and The Hounds of Love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Far the Best and Weirdest of Kate Bush's Albums, 7 April 2009
By 
Nobody Famous (The West Country, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
An off-the-wall masterpiece that Kate Bush has never surpassed, and probably few others ever will. After a whole year in the studio, fans were expecting something special but it's probably fair to say that nobody expected this.

It's loud, it's thought-provoking, it's not especially tuneful and it's just plain weird.

Before The Dreaming, Kate Bush was probably known for being that high pitched singer who did Wuthering Heights and a few other unusual but pretty and artistic songs. The Dreaming continues the unusual and arty theme with songs about such diverse subjects as the Vietnam war, Harry Houdini, criminals and (in the title track) the plight of Australian aborigines. But this album is far from pretty.

It's Kate's first major adventure with synthesized music and as you'd expect what she produces with the technology is very different from the 80's standards. As such it hasn't dated and still seems fresh 25 years later.

It's fair to say this album is a real one-off, much like Kate Bush herself. If you only know Kate Bush from her melodic singles: Wuthering Heights, Running up that Hill and so on then some of The Dreaming will come as a surprise. The tunes are still there in places but crank the volume up for songs like Leave it Open and Get out of my House, and enjoy the noise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange Adventures, 80's Style, 18 Nov 2005
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
For me, 'The Dreaming' is undoubtedly the strangest and most adventurous album of KB's illustrious career.
Uniquely adapting ethnic rhythms (strong Celtic and Australian Aborigine influences pervade) and, then, cutting-edge Fairlight technology, in some ways the album is a more extreme and emotionally edgy companion to Gabriel's contemporaneous classics '3' and '4'.
'All The Love' and 'Houdini' are unnervingly beautiful highlights, while 'Get Out Of My House' (featuring a great Fripp-inspired guitar line) sounds as possessed as the demonic subject matter it deals with.
In conclusion, 'The Dreaming' is an astonishingly fresh and genuinely brave statement from 1982 that still sounds vital and surprising today. Taken alongside the likes of Gabriel, Sylvian, Eno, Talking Heads, Talk Talk and The Blue Nile, this is an album that suggests that the 'decade of evil' was just as creative in its own way as the more celebrated 1960s and 1970s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-discovered treasure!!!, 18 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
I bought this CD the other day after not having listened to it for years. I'd forgotten just how strange and beautiful it is, it's everything you want from a classic album. You're taken on a journey through the weird and wonderful, stories of the Vietnam War (Pull Out The Pin), bungled bank heists (There Goes a Tenner), Houdini's wifes part in the illusionists trickery (With A Kiss I'd Pass The Key), Irish jigs (Night of the Swallow) and the most amazing of all is her take on Stephen Kings "The Shining" in "Get Out Of My House" (I read that years ago when she was still writing this album) on which she sounds like a woman possesed, you can't imagine anyone could ever cover this track. I'd also forgotten how beautiful "All the Love" is...why all the 5 stars?? Because even after 20 years it's fresh innovative and bloody amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 18 Aug 2007
By 
C. Knowles (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
This 1982 album was a critical and commercial disaster on its original release, received with disdain and bafflement. Thankfully time has been more than kind to it. Its brilliance is now widely recognised and many now consider it one of, if not THE, greatest albums Kate has ever produced.

It is a determinedly experimental and uncommercial record - there is no instant 'grabber' such as 'Babooshka' here. It requires several listens to reveal itself, then you discover ten absolutely remarkable songs, some to bring you to the verge of tears with their strange, haunting beauty; others almost cinematic in their mood and imagery.

Other reviewers have analysed the individual songs, so I won't repeat their efforts - suffice to say 'The Dreaming' is an absolute masterpiece, one of the greatest albums I have heard in 40 years of listening. It is not perhaps the best introduction to Kate Bush's work ('Hounds Of Love' or 'Never For Ever' are better places to start) but for anyone already entranced by her genius it is a vital addition to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzlingly creative, one of the bravest records of all time, 22 July 2003
By 
Anthony Lynas (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
From the crashing drums that announce Sat In Your Lap to the donkey braying that closes Get Out Of My House, The Dreaming is an astonishing and ground-breaking record. You'll hear it described as uncommercial, difficult and crazy - and to a greater or lesser extent it's all of these things - but, at it's core, it's one of the most creative and rewarding records ever made.
Bear in mind that Kate had just established herself as a major artist with Never for Ever. Most other artists in the '80s followed such a step by recording bland MOR records that guaranteed airplay and record sales. Not Kate. She nearly killed her own career by locking herself away and recording this record.
Weaving world rhythms, pop and progressive rock together, all ten tracks on this album are complex and original. Deeply percussive, the multi-layered tracks are topped with Kate's glorious and challenging vocals. The lyrics, too, are a step on from where she was before. She delves into her own psyche on tracks like Sat in Your Lap, but her penchant for storytelling is still here - There Goes A Tenner is a nostalgic look (!) at bankjobs, Pull Out The Pin deals with the Vietnam conflict, The Dreaming laments white man's impact on Aboriginal culture and features Rolf Harris on didgeridoo.
Indeed, Rolf's appearance is typical of the other thing that makes this album special. Yes, it's creative, yes, it's complex, yes, it purposefully sets out to break barriers down and is even pretentious in places - but there's a playfulness that runs throughout it as well. There's no better an example of this than the aforementioned braying at the end of the last track.
Be warned, though - this is an album you'll have to work at when you first buy it. If you're buying Kate Bush for the first time, choose Hounds of Love. For me, this is just as good an album, if not better, but it is less immediate. What is certain is that the two put together had an impact on pop and rock music that is often understated and both rank amongst the greatest studio albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a fine wine - improves with age. Keep faith with Kates experimental debut!!, 3 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
As stated by other reviewers, this recording can be challenging at first listen, but has stood the test of time.

This is a landmark record for Kate - her debut having been freed from the shackles of direct record company influence. Not everything works but Kate was still refining her art, experimenting both with her voice and in the complex musical arrangements. This would later establish her as a producer as much as a singer/performer.

Strangely, the singles The Dreaming and Sat In Your Lap are not what holds my attention. The real triumphs are the less well known tracks. Houdini, Night of the Swallow, All The Love and Get Out Of My House are all haunting and atmospheric.

Being mainly a fan of Kate's later work, I would encourage new fans to buy this, but needs effort from listeners over a period of time to appreciate it fully. This record will be played more often by me from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
One of the best ever albums, and criminally underappreciated. Its absolutely bonkers nearly all the way through, and a joy from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HER BEST AND ONE OF THE 80s BEST!, 2 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: The Dreaming (Audio CD)
The Dreaming is one of those works that stand out of it's time to remain in the records as a "major". This is Kate Bush's masterpiece. It is completely timeless is a way that very, very few music albums are. It's absolutelly actual today as it was in the nineties or when it came out. It was an inspiration for a whole generation of "weird" songwriters like Bjork or Portishead but it's always more genuine, more visceral, more incredible, more unbelievable. Most people say Kate's best album is Hounds Of Love. Maybe that's true. But there is something about the dreaming that really overpasses Hounds. Hounds has a more POP approach to it, with obvious singles popping out, it's more dated, less free of barriers.
The Dreaming fascinated me as soon as I discoverd it after Sensual World came out. I was never the same person again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dreaming
The Dreaming by Kate Bush (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews