Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The modern successor to Columbo.. A future Classic.
I've meant to write a long overdue review for this great TV series for a while, over the years watching each season as they came out on dvd, and then when this complete Series , all 8 season boxset came out I bought this.

Firstly if you've never seen the show, Adrian Monk , was a former police detective for the SFPD until his wife , Trudy was killed in a car...
Published on 18 July 2012 by Mr W

versus
91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monk Collection 1-8: neat, but lacking
I am not going to comment on the program itself; I am sure there are enough reviews out there telling you either to love or hate Monk. I have always loved it, and bought the collection in order to share the joy.
I am focussing mainly on the quality of the product itself as I am not just a Monk fan but also deaf and took the risk with buying this pack...
Published on 17 Nov. 2011 by Ursath


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monk Collection 1-8: neat, but lacking, 17 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I am not going to comment on the program itself; I am sure there are enough reviews out there telling you either to love or hate Monk. I have always loved it, and bought the collection in order to share the joy.
I am focussing mainly on the quality of the product itself as I am not just a Monk fan but also deaf and took the risk with buying this pack.

Subtitles
S1: English SDH, French
S2: English SDH, French
S3: none
S4: none
S5: none
S6: none
S7: none
S8: none

All additional features are in English language (mostly 2.0 stereo) and without subtitles (all of them).
The Special Features are worth it if you are a fan, otherwise some features might be interesting. They include lots of interviews with the cast and producers, as well as some writers, profiles of the characters, behind the scenes, life as a writer, and video commentaries of a few episodes.

The first two seasons come with some additional languages, mostly French, sometimes German, sometimes Dutch. It is completely random and from season3 on, English mostly.

Aspect Ratio:
S1: 1:33:1 Full Frame
S2: 1:33:1 Full Frame
S3: 1:33:1 Full Frame
S4: 1:78:1 Anamorphic
S5: 1:78:1 Anamorphic
S6: 1:78:1 Anamorphic
S7: 1:78:1 Anamorphic
S8: 1:78:1 Anamorphic

Season 1&2 are PAL 2,4; the rest is PAL 2,4,5.

The sound quality overall is OK, but I have to say that especially episodes taking place outside (Mr.Monk takes Manhattan and the like) are sometimes difficult to understand, even for my partner whos hearing is fine.
If you download subtitles from the internet, you will find it is very hard to get them aligned with the DVD's, as most subtitles on the internet are optimized for TV recordings. I am talking some 40 seconds delay (even a pain with VLC player). So if you depend on subtitles, make sure to invest extra time! Googling for transcripts didn't help me much, either.

Overall 3/5 Stars.
Thumbs up for additional content, easy-to-handle DVD menus, compatibility with remote-controlled language/subtitle switch.
Thumbs down for the lack of subtitles- why not even English language subtitles are included is a mystery to me. Also, aspect ratio and language seems to split between the "old" seasons with Sharona, and the "new" seasons with Natalie. There is no apparant reason for it, and I am considering selling the set and buy each season seperately.

It is a fantastic TV Show in my opinion, however the lack of English Subtitles, which I believe to be essential (compared to additional languages) not just for deaf persons but also for those with fine hearing, as well as randomly changing additional languages and aspect ratios as well as audio (2.0 stereo, 5.1, surround) gives the impression that this product was thrown together to make money out of the "all seasons in one" appeal, with no regard to the buyer/viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The modern successor to Columbo.. A future Classic., 18 July 2012
By 
Mr W (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I've meant to write a long overdue review for this great TV series for a while, over the years watching each season as they came out on dvd, and then when this complete Series , all 8 season boxset came out I bought this.

Firstly if you've never seen the show, Adrian Monk , was a former police detective for the SFPD until his wife , Trudy was killed in a car bomb leading to him having a breakdown, being unfit for duty, and all his phobias which include heights, germs, milk amongst others. There is a long-running story arc throughout the 8 seasons as to why this happened and Adrian tries to uncover the truth , whilst doing his best to overcome his phobias and get re-instated back into the san francisco police dept.

Although unable to fulfill his duties in the police department, with the help of his Nurses , firstly Sharona till mid season 3, then Natalie, His Friends at the SFPD , Capt. Stottlemeyer ( Ted Levine) and Lt. Disher ( jason stamford) call on him to help solve tricky cases that only Monks unique Mind can solve . the cases are really cleverly thought out, its not obvious to the viewer who the villain is and usually the case is solved by monk because of his quirky personality, one example was having a button sewn on crooked by the lady at his Chinese laundry, causing him to go back and complain, leading him to solve one of the cases.

Despite the sadness surrounding Adrian and his circumstances, you really root for him, theres a lot of dark humour in the series and its good general family viewing except for some occasional gruesome scenes when the murder takes place, and theres virtually no bad language in all the 8 seasons.

Now about this boxset, it contains all 8 seasons 124 episodes on 34 discs including various extras on each season, plus end of entire series extras on season 8. Each of the 8 seasons comes nicely packaged in a standard thickness Amaray dvd case with 4 or 5 discs in each box, then packaged in a sturdy outer cardboard box, so it all takes minimal space up.

Overall this is an excellent TV series, which will be looked at in future as a classic I'm sure, and this complete boxset is great, I would say this is a must for fans of US detective series like Columbo, Rockford files etc, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars monk season 1 - 8, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
This review is from: Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Join Tony Shallhoub, in his critically acclaimed quirky and irreverent detective show Monk and own this must have complete TV Box set. Includes all 8 Seasons PLUS an additional bonus disc of unreleased material in the UK. Despite his overwhelming fear of germs, crowns and small places... amongst everything else, Monk proves once again why he's the only man for the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Witty, charming and sad; all the same time. Monk is one of those series that you can watch time and again, although having a box set does mean that you can get a bit overloaded as you end up trying to watch a season in one hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Never watched this on TV, bought it on the off chance. I have really enjoyed watching it and would highly recommend. The only problem was when I got to series 8 the first disc would't play - I contacted Amazon and they had a new set if discs out to me the following day - EXCELLENT service.... Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Quirky, grows on you as the series progress, found it enjoyable and a bit different somehow to all the plethora of other detective stuff out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bargain boxset one of the best., 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I absolutely love my Monk boxset, it has got me through many of boring days with nothing to watch at a bargin price too I have no complaints, I just wish there was more disc in the boxset as im at the end of the season 8 and dont know what im going to do now it has ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Great Value, Love it, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I recommend this show to anyone. My family consists of people aged 14 - 60 and we all absolutely love the show. Great value in this pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monk rules, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Have watched many episodes when the series aired on TV but am savouring these and rationing them as I just love his quirky ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Monk still is one of my favourite series. Problem is I was never home at the time it aired, so I missed a lot of episodes.
Now I can watch them all in order of appearance. Even shipment to the Netherlands was rather quick :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002]
Monk - Season 1-8 Complete [DVD] [2002] by Tony Shallhoub (DVD - 2011)
£45.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews