Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a short holiday trip
Having trouble finding enlish literature in o.v. in latinamerica "Paper Money" was the first book of Ken Follet as well as the first one in spanish I read. Putting aside differences that might arise through translating it I found it to be a marvelos novel, concentrating the whole plot taking place in only one day, divided into hours. In his foreword Follet says...
Published on 7 Feb 2001

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fairly quick read with a complex plot
Ken Follett is one of my favourite authors - his epic "Pillars of the Earth" is probably the one work of fiction I enjoyed the most.
This book is a rather different kind of book in several ways - the story is considerably shorter, and thus it won't take you long to read it. There is also less of the lush descriptive detail that makes some of his other books...
Published on 30 Nov 2000


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fairly quick read with a complex plot, 30 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Paper Money (Paperback)
Ken Follett is one of my favourite authors - his epic "Pillars of the Earth" is probably the one work of fiction I enjoyed the most.
This book is a rather different kind of book in several ways - the story is considerably shorter, and thus it won't take you long to read it. There is also less of the lush descriptive detail that makes some of his other books so immersive. Despite this, there is still a very intricate plot, involving many quirky characters with outrageous backgrounds, and there is a sense of dry humour sprinkled throughout.
I did enjoy the book, but I can't say I enjoyed it as much as I did some of his others. I found myself getting characters mixed up, and several times I had to turn back to an earlier page to try and find that missed detail.
It seems appropriate, then, that the author himself should have said in his foreword, "Clever plots satisfy authors more than readers." As a writer I would have been proud of writing "Paper Money", but admittedly it's not one of the first books I would pick up on a cold winter evening by the fireplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a short holiday trip, 7 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paper Money (Paperback)
Having trouble finding enlish literature in o.v. in latinamerica "Paper Money" was the first book of Ken Follet as well as the first one in spanish I read. Putting aside differences that might arise through translating it I found it to be a marvelos novel, concentrating the whole plot taking place in only one day, divided into hours. In his foreword Follet says he considers this book as "his best without success" he ever wrote, stating as well that this might be because of the numerous caracters he uses in a quite complex story. For me it turned out to be a real "pageturner" and I think you should read it right this way. Beeing rather short you can get trough it in just a couple of days. My advice: Worth reading one of Follets very first works published as far back as 1976.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever plot overcomes shortcomings in a great read, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper Money (Kindle Edition)
Paper Money is a pacey thriller which wanders through three seedy worlds towards the intriguing possibilities of a denouement. Reader's of other Follett works should be aware that Paper Money, whilst an excellent read, is a slight departure from Follett's normal fare. The book contains no single protagonist but instead a selection of interesting characters who become entwined in a dynamic and complex plot.

The brisk pace is accelerated slightly at the expense of characterisation: a couple of broad brushstrokes outlining what is needed yet still letting the page turning drive continue. Like the epic Eye of the Needle the reader is lead through the thinking behind dark plans. One of the key threads of the plot follows not just whether justice will prevent these plans but searches for what justice for those involved might be.

Whilst Paper Money was not one of Follett;s biggest sellers, the climax alone is a good reason to buy this book. If you like a thriller which asks more than whether the bad guy(s) will be caught, it's well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best for Author's Enthusiasts; It's Thin Gruel, Indeed, 26 May 2011
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paper Money (Paperback)
"Paper Money," was written in 1976, and originally published in the United Kingdom in 1977 by Ken Follett, international bestselling British author, under the pseudonym Zachary Stone. It's a suspense thriller, obviously an early effort by the author who would make his name immediately afterward with the famous spy thriller Eye of the Needle, (made into a very good movie of the same name, Eye Of The Needle [DVD]). And then The Key to Rebecca, also filmed under the same name. Then he would make his name again with the extraordinary non-fiction On Wings of Eagles. Then he made his name again in historical fiction in 1989 with the huge hit, THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH, set in twelfth century England. And now he's moved onto the twentieth century with The CENTURY TRILOGY. But this early novella-length effort of his has, meanwhile, been found and republished. Though it's doubtful it would have been had he not become such a worldwide publishing phenomenon.

PAPER MONEY is set in London, and is supposed to span, hour by hour, a day in the life of an evening newspaper, similar, I gather, to the one at which Follett worked in 1973/74. There is no central character, but there are a dozen or more characters. An adulterous politician, a corrupt financier, an eager cub reporter - that's a surprise, no? A criminal gang, and a mentally retarded young man. The author intended to show that crime, high finance and journalism may be corruptly interconnected. It is an early exhibition of Follett's ability to produce a complex plot--Follett says in his introduction the cleverest he ever devised--although, at the book's novella length, it is necessarily rather thin. It is also an early showing of his ability to create and manipulate many characters, although again, owing to the book's short length, they are rather thin. Follett has said, "As a writer I have always had to struggle against a tendency to underwrite, and in PAPER MONEY you see me struggling in vain. Consequently the many characters are painted in brisk, bold brushstrokes, and the book lacks the feeling of detailed personal involvement with the private lives of the characters that readers demand of a bestseller."

Follett goes on to say, "Today I am not as sure as I was in 1976 of the links between crime, high finance, and journalism; but I think this book is true to life in another way. It presents a detailed picture of the London that I knew in the seventies, with its policemen and crooks, bankers and call girls, reporters and politicians, its shops and slums, its roads and its river. I loved it, and I hope you will too." Unfortunately, while I found the book to be okay, I think it would mainly be of interest only to the writers' enthusiasts; to the rest of us, it's rather thin gruel indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper Money (Paperback)
One of those books you start and struggle to put down, well structured story and characters; as always Ken Follett can dream up an era evocatively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fast moving 24hrs worth of entwined plots in 70's London, 28 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paper Money (Paperback)
One of Follett's early novellas which could do without the largely apologetic preface from the great man. I enjoyed it as the pace of the story and the sheer amount of sub-plots would today be glorified and acclaimed if filmed and directed by a pseudo Guy Ritchie. Easy read - enjoy it for what it is and what became of the author subsequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper Money (Kindle Edition)
This is the only Ken Follet book that I really did not enjoy at all! Little wonder that the author himself gave an explanation of the
complicated story/plot/characters! Far too "busy" with so much going on that I found it difficult to keep up! Sorry, this one is definitely not getting my approval!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper Money (Kindle Edition)
Interesting characters well integrated in story line ,unusual and surprising conclusion .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with ending, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper Money (Kindle Edition)
Was really enjoying this tale, but felt very let down at the end, end seemed abrupt and lacked explanation. Pity because otherwise a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Half a story, left wanting., 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper Money (Kindle Edition)
Good story but lacked an ending, it finished halfway through. Disappointing. I'd have liked to have known what happened to the characters after the incident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paper Money
Paper Money by Ken Follett
£4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews