Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What did you expect then?
If you've found yourself on this page then you almost certainly know what Greenslade sound like and have probably made up your mind about whether you like them or not.

They never competed with prog giants like Genesis, but they carved their niche and produced excellent music. Sure it was 'of its time' but, for me, it still sounds great. My personal fave was...
Published on 11 July 2011 by David Atkinson

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...Inner Space..." - Spyglass Guest/Time And Tide by GREENSLADE (2011 CD Remasters)
Like many longhaired spotty-teenagers in the early to mid 70's, I was completely drawn in by PROG ROCK and its mind-expanding themes. I'd be sat there on a Saturday morning (before Alan Freeman's Rock Show on Radio 1) with my Garrard SP25 turntable, Dustbuster and Emitex Cleaning Cloth all on the go - whilst I devoured the graphically drawn lyrics on Genesis and Yes...
Published on 14 July 2011 by Mark Barry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What did you expect then?, 11 July 2011
This review is from: Spyglass Guest & Time And Tide (Audio CD)
If you've found yourself on this page then you almost certainly know what Greenslade sound like and have probably made up your mind about whether you like them or not.

They never competed with prog giants like Genesis, but they carved their niche and produced excellent music. Sure it was 'of its time' but, for me, it still sounds great. My personal fave was always 'Spyglass Guest' which had a warmth and a reliance on really good songs rather than musicianship. However, the other ablums are all fine too, so dive in!

For a price little more than a London pint, you should buy both these 2CD sets. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...Inner Space..." - Spyglass Guest/Time And Tide by GREENSLADE (2011 CD Remasters), 14 July 2011
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spyglass Guest & Time And Tide (Audio CD)
Like many longhaired spotty-teenagers in the early to mid 70's, I was completely drawn in by PROG ROCK and its mind-expanding themes. I'd be sat there on a Saturday morning (before Alan Freeman's Rock Show on Radio 1) with my Garrard SP25 turntable, Dustbuster and Emitex Cleaning Cloth all on the go - whilst I devoured the graphically drawn lyrics on Genesis and Yes albums. It wasn't long before my sensitive addiction spread to Uriah Heep, Gentle Giant and Badger - in fact anything with a Roger Dean album cover on it. It was therefore a natural progression to stumble on Dave Greenslade's keyboard vehicle - GREENSLADE. I thought the first two albums "Greenslade" and "Bedside Manners Are Extra" (both 1973 on Warner Brothers) had good moments, but their 3rd LP "Spyglass Guest" saw a level of sophistication that was undeniably better - and in places - even rather beautiful. Which is where this timely reissue comes in...

Released May 2011, Rhino/Edsel EDSD 2098 contains Greenslade's 3rd and 4th studio albums on two CDs:
Disc 1 is "Spyglass Guest" - originally released August 1974 in the UK on Warner Brothers K 56055 (38:49 minutes)
Disc 2 is "Time And Tide" - originally released April 1975 in the UK on Warner Brothers K 56126 (32:33 minutes)

The 20-page booklet is much better than I thought it would be - all the original album artwork is here including the lyrics and inner gatefold pictures; there's a knowledgeable history on the band and the albums by ALAN ROBINSON and best news of all is the hugely upgraded sound. PHIL KINRADE has done the remastering at Alchemy Studios in London and a superlative job it is too - far better than the dull Eighties CDs I've had for years just to have the music. Speaking of which - the music is keyboard-driven Prog Rock with sophisticated Jazz rhythms, chord changes and a lyrical lightness of touch that was even fun at times. Bandleader Dave Greenslade played a huge array of instruments - ARP Synthesizers, Fender Rhodes, Clavinet, Harmonium and Mellotron. The band also featured Dave Lawson on Guitars and Keyboards, Tony Reeves on Bass and Lead Vocals with Andrew McCullock on Drums. Ace sessionman and guitarist Martin Briley joined them for "Time And Tide".

To the music - no matter how much affection I once had for these albums - in 2011 a lot of it sounds horribly dated. But while Dave Lawson's vocals are strangulated and forced, there is still wonderful stuff on here to savour - in particular the instrumental that ended Side 1 of "Spyglass Guest" - "Siam Seesaw". Alan Robinson's liner notes describe it as "...thoughtful, elegant and a real gem..." and he's right. I've waited decades to hear it sound this good - and I'll admit that at 52 - a little Proggy tear of joy came out of my eye on rehearing it. "Little Red Fry Up" has the guitar of former Colosseum axeman Dave "Clem" Clemson, while Andy Roberts of Liverpool Scene and Plainsong did acoustic guitar on the lovely "Siam Seesaw". "Joie De Vivre" is excellent (lyrics above) - featuring Violin work from Graham Smith (String Driven Thing) trading off keyboard codas with Greenslade. "Red Light" is the nearest they ever got to a single track - clever lyrics with the keys aping the melody. "Rainbow" opens with rainfall and a sinister piano lead-in - it's then added to by treated drum and cymbal patterns, which fades into a prettier piano passage halfway through that is beautifully produced by Jeremy Ensor. It's very Prog, but it's actually very good. "Spyglass Guest" ends on a cover version of Cream's "Theme For An Imaginary Western". In fact the album saw their only chart action in the UK - 3 weeks - peaking at Number 34.

1975's "Time And Tide" saw collaboration with Patrick Woodroffe on the album artwork (they would work later on 1980's double "The Pentateuch Of The Cosmogony") - Woodroffe's art bearing more than a passing resemblance to Roger Dean's iconic work. While it might have looked the part, the opening "Animal Farm" is awful and the bitchy "Newsworth" isn't much better. The Treverva Male Voice Choir lends itself nicely to "Time" which in turn segues into the full-on Mellotron instrumental "Tide" - as a duo, they're very good. "Doldrums" is nice (like an outtake from "Wind And Wuthering"), but most of the rest sounds wildly out-of-place for 1975 and even tedious.

1976 would see the arrival of PUNK which would blow away all this Hippy nonsense - and rightly so. But for a brief moment back there - to me and many others who held this band and that period of music in great affection - a 25-minute Mellotron solo seemed like the most natural thing in the world - and even beautiful somehow...

To sum up - this 2CD set is a five-star reissue of three-star material - making available again two rare vinyl LPs with enhanced packaging and really great sound. And at less than a fiver - if you've any affection for even parts of them - it's a deal. I'm off now to get a haircut and find a real job...

PS: their first two albums "Greenslade" and "Bedside Manners Are Extra" are also reissued May 2011 on Edsel as a 2CD set for rhe same cheap price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice meeting you again, 19 Sep 2011
By 
P. Schlingemann (The Hague, Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spyglass Guest & Time And Tide (Audio CD)
Greenslades third and fourth album. Largely ignored when they first came out in the seventies. Lo and behold, we did them an injustice: these albums weren't bad at all. Actually, there is more to them than caught our ears back then. It's not as tight as the first two albums, but highly pleasurable all the same. Certainly, they lacked personality, maily because there were too many personalities at work: Dave, Dave and Tony each had their own musical perspective. And some of the tunes never made it and never will. But this apparent lack of unity did lead to variety. I don't think anybody considered Dave Lawson a great singer, but then again, he's not as irritating as some reviewers make him out to be. In fact, I like these albums better than I did back in the seventies, when everything progrock had to sound like Yes - and if it didn't, you could pack it in. This CD is good value for not too much money. Recommended; Greenslade deserves re-appreciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dwindling creativity towards the end...., 8 July 2011
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spyglass Guest & Time And Tide (Audio CD)
Greenslade's first two studio albums, Greenslade and Bedside Manners are Extra, were unique in that here was a band based on drums, bass, and two lead keyboards. The music was in-demand psychdelic blues and jazz. Sadly by the time Spyglass Guest was released, the creative oomph had left the band and they were stretched for new material, even having to do a somewhat pointless cover of Theme For and Imaginary Western to fill the album up. Time and Tide saw a further descent into pop-rock anonymity and much much shorter tracks, many more of them with Lawsons strange vocal stylings - it sounded like a collection of bits that hadn't been considered for the first three albums. Both these albums are here on their own CD, tho the runtime of each means they could easily have been squeezed onto a single CD with room to spare for "extra" b-sides or demo versions. Curious...... Ah well, at least Greenslade stands the test of time and still sounds fresh and interesting, perhaps more relevent than many modern bands from their keyboard approach to rock music. Worth having in your collection - but check out their first two albums also on this dual release series, they're five stars each!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good final effort., 4 July 2013
By 
P. L. Wightman (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spyglass Guest & Time And Tide (Audio CD)
Having the first two albums I was expecting the quality to drop off but these two are at least as good. Time & Tide is best of the lot. Must get Going South now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent double, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spyglass Guest & Time And Tide (Audio CD)
This is good value for money concept, two original records in one package, remastered with great sound and fine artwork. Greenslade was and is not for everyone; but here's a chance at a reasonable cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greenslade memories, 4 May 2012
By 
M. B. Hollands (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spyglass Guest & Time And Tide (Audio CD)
It brought back so many great memories and even better feelings. I'd forgotten just how much I liked Greenslade and at this price it is a real steal. Go on treat yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius prog-rock, 14 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spyglass Guest & Time And Tide (Audio CD)
Spyglass Guest - probably represents the peak of this outstanding band's performances, before the departure of the unique Tony Reeves on bass. On Time and Tide, the band seems to descend into anarchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spyglass Guest & Time And Tide
Spyglass Guest & Time And Tide by Greenslade (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews