Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL WORKING A TREAT
No longer scattered, the Team is back in Washington's prestigious laboratories for twenty three more intriguing cases.

As ever, "the puke factor" is high - human remains often in advanced stages of decomposition, with flies, bugs, maggots, rats (and whatever) gorging. Bodies turn up in unexpected places, including a tanning bed and a giant chocolate bar...
Published on 9 Aug 2012 by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh go on! Give us The Finder... instead
BONES is a strange way of spelling BOOTH but, since half-way through Season One, when it became clear that one BOOTH was always to be worth at least as much (if not more) than all the squints put together (plus he has all the "skills" and costumes for every occasion), I stopped thinking of the series as BONES.

I bought series 6,7 & 8 as a batch through Amazon...
Published 22 days ago by G. Best


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL WORKING A TREAT, 9 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
No longer scattered, the Team is back in Washington's prestigious laboratories for twenty three more intriguing cases.

As ever, "the puke factor" is high - human remains often in advanced stages of decomposition, with flies, bugs, maggots, rats (and whatever) gorging. Bodies turn up in unexpected places, including a tanning bed and a giant chocolate bar. World expert Temperance Brennan (Emily Deschanel) remains hilariously humourless, FBI's Seeley Booth (David Boreanaz)never missing an opportunity to tease - they still one of television's most unlikely and entertaining double acts. Awesomely talented colleagues continue to work their magic - complemented by highly skilled but quirky interns.

Two storylines run through the season: Angela's pregnancy, health of the unborn baby a concern; a vigilante sniper eradicating villains who have escaped justice - Booth to be targeted if he stands in his way.

Stand-outs? Ep.6 The Shallow in the Deep - a slave ship movingly revealing its secrets. Ep.11 Positively last appearance of that chilling Gravedigger, who caused such misery in earlier seasons. Ep.16 The Blackout in the Blizzard, which Boreanaz directed. (An interesting background feature and, in the commentary, a revelation about Deschanel.) Ep.22 The Hole in the Heart - the sniper again devastatingly at work. Episode 19 deserves a mention. The Finder. For once, the usual cast members are peripheral, focus instead on three very colourful new characters - almost as though this is a trial run for a spin-off series.

Bonuses? A Gag Reel. A feature on special effects - including how so convincingly in Washington although not filmed there. There is also the pilot of "The Killing" (American version).

When BONES 6 appeared on television, some critics were sniffy about various aspects. This boxed set is my first encounter with the season. I can only speak as I find - five stars awarded for a series which from its start has been a favourite and continues most greatly to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Bones - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
bones season 6 is great fun to watch and one i would highly recommend just watch out for that ending it will surprise even the best of people . i just can't wait for season 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Oh go on! Give us The Finder... instead, 2 Dec 2014
By 
G. Best - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
BONES is a strange way of spelling BOOTH but, since half-way through Season One, when it became clear that one BOOTH was always to be worth at least as much (if not more) than all the squints put together (plus he has all the "skills" and costumes for every occasion), I stopped thinking of the series as BONES.

I bought series 6,7 & 8 as a batch through Amazon as they were going cheap and, as I ejected the last DVD, I reflected that seeing them had been a mostly pleasant entertainment for the previous few weeks. However, I find that the escalating humour/farce fails to offset Booth's increasing misbehaviour. His conduct shouldn't come as a surprise: the character's deviancy was displayed at the outset (the pilot) by abusing his "authority" in requesting that Homeland Security unlawfully intercept and hold Brennan upon her return to the USA as the series starts.

Having gone through three seasons of BOOTH I was (let's face it - TV's not something one usually thinks about) surprised that there was one episode that so much stuck in my mind that I found and watched it again. The show was THE FINDER in season 6 on DVD 5.

Gratuitous nudity aside, and with relief that it was shot outside the desiccated conceit that it's filmed in Washington DC, I enjoyed the story again (and wondered if the glass eye was a reference to one of Karl Hiassen's memorable characters).

I think the Finder and his team have all the makings of an enjoyable TV series in their own right. GHB Malta December '14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What has happened to this great show???, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Kash (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bones - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I have eagerly awaited season 6 of Bones and I must admit it was a big let down.

I felt that the story that brought the team back together after 7 months rather than them coming together of their own accord after 12 months was really weak. It implies that Cam (who I really like) has no skill of her own. The relationship with Booth and his new love interest was totally chemistry-free.

I really think this season has focussed too much on trying to come up with more outrageous storylines (the chocolate death? the mythical beast?) and to be brutally honest they were pathetic.

The Squints have even been radically overhauled - Clark just no longer works and Fisher although he is still enjoyable to watch why the big change in personalities?

I didn't really understand the thread of Booth's old army sniper acquaintance - I don't even recall that this was explained before it was 'tied up'.

The best episode was the end and this definitely brought a tear to my eye - but having to slog my way through 20+ epeisodes felt like an endurance test.

I thought that after the photo episode there would be further self reflection for Bones and she identified so much with the woman and she knew the way she acted/ lived was exactly alike but she just carried on as usual. The way Temperance is in the TV series has always been a major gripe for me being a huge fan of the books and I could never understand why she was developed this way. She can't be a woman in her 30's and not know even basic stuff and her answer of 'I don't know what that means' really grates on me! She says it quite a few times in this series!!!

All I can say is 'bring back the Bones of old' PLEASE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but when i heard about the TV version I just presumed they wouldn't be as good. Why did i wait, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I had always read the books by Kathy Reichs, but when i heard about the TV version I just presumed they wouldn't be as good. Why did i wait? During a recent stay in hospital my brother bought me the first 2 boxsets to pass the time Iwas instantly hooked and up leaving the hospital ordered the next 6 seasons. Only problem is now I have to wait for season 9 to be released, its driving me crazy.
I loved the great mix of the science and action you find in the books which has been topped of with good humour.This series is great for anyone who likes a good forensic/crime investigation with a lighter side. The start of each episode has titles saying this series is based on actual events Kathy has experienced in her career, some are darker and more bizarre than others always wondered with are TV and which are from her real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series, just keeps getting better., 25 May 2011
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bones - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
This season is probably one of the best yet in terms of storytelling.

Each episode has been very different and at times quite shocking, you see a few deaths this season including the death of a very beloved character which has severe repercussions on all of our main characters. You also get to see the birth of Angela and Hodgkins baby and i can tell you that the birthing scenes are hilarious to watch.

What i love about Bones in general is that you dont have to watch every single episode to enjoy the episodes in their own right, obviously i have seen them all, but i could go in and watch ep 20 again and not have to watch it from the beginning.

My only real gripe with this season is the very end scene in the finale, as much as i love Booth and Brennan, it just didn't sit right with me at all, and if im honest disregarding the massive smile that comes across Booth's face, im not completely sure how i feel about it, if you have seen it then you guys will know what im talking about, but if you haven't then take a look and let me know what you think.

Cant wait for season 7.

A absolute must have..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Great set love it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars received in perfect condition, Love the series, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
received in perfect condition, Love the series, i have all 6 now, will be looking for 7 next. arrived very quickly, well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this programme and when i was falling behind with the show on T.V i bought the box set to catch up - i havent missed an episode and i hope there are many more to come

Delivery was super fast as always and all the dvd's were in good condition still in the wrapping

Will be buying future series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bones - Season 6 [DVD]
Bones - Season 6 [DVD] by Ian Toynton (DVD - 2011)
£20.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews