Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for Supernatural fans, 30 May 2013
I am a huge fan of the original series, so when I found out that an anime series had been made I just had to check it out. To be honest, anime is not something that had originally appealed to me but that has all changed with Supernatural: The Anime Series. I did some research before buying the DVD and found out that this series was made with the blessing of Eric Kripke and featured the voices of the original Sam and Dean, the latter only for the last 2 episodes though.

Supernatural: The Anime Series condenses the first 2 series into 1 and does feature episodes that fans will remember from the live action series, but they have also added new stories that really add and are in keeping to the original.

The animation is beautiful and seems to take the series a step further than what you can see with only using special effects. I would certainly suggest this as a top buy to anyone who is a fan of Supernatural and may be interested in a new take on the series. Now I have discovered anime, where should I go now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great series (and one that's perfect for new fans too!), 16 May 2013
Going into this I had experienced the Supernatural franchise in any way, though I was fully aware of how popular the live-action television was. I am however a big fan of anime, so the idea that I could indulge in one of the most successful programmes in the world in a medium I'm most comfortable with was a thrilling prospect.

Supernatural: The Anime Series encompasses the first two seasons of the live-action series, but it should be noted from the outset that this anime series is not a literal retelling of those first two seasons, but has more been based on them. Some of the stories contained within these 22-episodes are ones that fans will remember from the television show. A prime example being an early episode "Roadkill" but in this version there is an alternate conclusion. What the series also contains, which I only found out later when consulting a friend of mine (who is a big fan of the live-action show) is anime-original episodes that explore more of the backstory of Sam & Dean Winchester. One prime example being we get to see how Sam met his (unlucky) girlfriend, Jessica.

The series was very captivating from the outset, and speaking as someone who (as mentioned) is less than a complete novice to the franchise, I didn't feel alienated at all. In fact it's made me want to watch the live-action show. But where the 22-episodes of the anime series ends, the special features on this 3-disc set begin. There are a boat load of them! Over two hours worth in fact. These include a Making Of... featurette, interviews with the voice actors from both the Japanese and English versions of the anime - of which it should be noted, feature both of their respective language voices of Sam & Dean that are used in the live-action show, even an interview with Supernatural creator Eric Kripke! This entire release is a complete gold mine when it comes to what it's packed with. And for the (pre-order) price of just over £20, you really can't wrong in my opinion. Well worth the purchase, whether you're already a fan or someone new to it (like me.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunters on the road, 26 Aug 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Supernatural: The Anime Series [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I must confess, I've only seen two episodes of "Supernatural." But when I heard they were making an anime based on the first couple seasons, my interest was piqued -- and the resulting series is a dark, eerie one with golden-eyed demons, splatters of blood, and supernatural mysteries aplenty. The one major downside: at times it feels like you need to have seen the live series to understand what's going on.

Sam and Dean Winchester wander through the U.S., searching for their father and/or supernatural incidents that they can deal with (preferably before anyone gets hurt). Also, they're searching for whatever killed their mother and Sam's first love, Jessica.

Among the things they investigate: a lake monster, a murderous shapeshifter, a girl who may be a werewolf, a troubled young boy with a strange father, a bad luck demon, killer ghosts on a country road, mysterious fires at the old Winchester home, flashbacks to an encounter with "Bloody Mary," the serial-killings of blonde women, an abused boy with a strange power, and others.

But they soon discover that a devil -- a golden-eyed demon -- is following them, and he is linked to Sam and others with similar powers. When they reunite with their estranged father, they discover that there is only one thing that can stop that demon.

"Supernatural: The Anime Series" is a very dark series: lots of blood, graphic violence, and quite frequently the Winchester boys aren't able to save the people who need it most. Even the lighter episodes -- such as the lake monster episode, or the bad-luck-in-Vegas story -- have some dark undertones, and we never forget that the Winchesters are being faced with demonic evil.

It's even animated darkly -- the sleek, realistic animation is painted in bleak greys, dusty reds and browns, with lots of shadows. The color that sticks out the most is a vibrant red, whether it's blood or something blood-colored.

And while this series was made in Japan, the people who produced it really grasped the dusty, wild feel of the western half of the U.S., but weaved in a lot of eerie supernatural happenings that are genuinely scary (like the black-hole eyes on possessed people). The biggest problem is that sometimes I felt like I was missing something because I hadn't watched the live-action series.

A lot of the character development is lavished on Sam, his angst over the loss of Jessica, his burgeoning psychic powers, and his importance to the golden-eyed demon. Comparatively, Dean's character development is mostly that he's a goofy flirt/buttkicking warrior, and that he promised to take care of his baby brother long ago. As for the voice acting, it's a little clumsy in the first episode, but Jared Padalecki and... whoever plays Dean settle nicely into their roles.

I can't compare it very much to the original series, but "Supernatural: The Anime Series" stands pretty well on its own feet. Dark, eerie and beautifully-produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like the series you'll love the animation. works well and the tv stars have lent their voices here tooo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must buy, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love superrnatural so decided to buy this and glad i did has it was just has good has the tv series hopefully they will make more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it. Have been a fan of the show since the beginning and hope they do more of the animi series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When obtaining this i was somewhat cautious, being a fan of the original show, I wasnt sure how I would receive the anime adaptation, but it didn't disappoint, it varies from the show in certain ways, whilst keeping true to the show in others, its like an additional universe to the Supernatural show. It has anime exclusive stories, that fans will love and anime watchers would probably enjoy too, regardless of the branding.
Top Buy! Definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars greatttt, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like supernatural so if you like it aswell then you will like the anime it's just as good as the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan Of Supernatch so I was looking forward to this. It's a shame the Jensen Ackles wasn't on board to voice Dean but at least he did the last 2 episodes. I liked it a lot and liked the little tweeks they gave to copied episodes. The original eps are good to.

A must for Supernatural fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars get it!, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have seen the TV series then get this it's the perfect addition to any collection my son loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernatural: The Anime Series [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Supernatural: The Anime Series [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Jared Padalecki (Blu-ray - 2011)
£29.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews