Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect collection for Danny Boyle fans!
I just received this item in my mailbox, and couldn't be more pleased with it! I'll write in short what you can expect from this box set, since there aren't detailed reviews for it yet!

There are four movies, in slim boxes, enclosed together with a special cardboard packaging, containing all the movies info.

127 Hours - Special features include audio...
Published 19 months ago by Martina R

versus
14 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Trainspotting?!!!
If I am going to buy a Danny Boyle collection I would at least hope that Trainspotting and The Beach would be included, certainly one of them over the far inferior (but overhyped) Slumdog Millionaire!! It's all down to personal choice but Renton and co would be the main reason for buying this, along with 28 Days Later and 127 Hours, so no Trainspotting=no sale :(
Published on 22 Sep 2011 by Mrs. Nicole Mcintosh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect collection for Danny Boyle fans!, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danny Boyle Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I just received this item in my mailbox, and couldn't be more pleased with it! I'll write in short what you can expect from this box set, since there aren't detailed reviews for it yet!

There are four movies, in slim boxes, enclosed together with a special cardboard packaging, containing all the movies info.

127 Hours - Special features include audio commentary, deleted scenes, alternate ending and movie special.

28 Days Later - just the movie

Sunshine - Special features include audio commentary, alternate ending, deleted scenes, web production diaries, short films, theatrical trailers

Slumdog Millionaire - Special features include - Jaiho: Slumdog countdown, audio commentary, making of documentary, theatrical trailers

This box set is ideal for Danny Boyle fans, and it's well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danny Boyle Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent films all in one box, what to choose next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie collection. Amazing commentaries from Danny Boyle!, 10 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great collection of films for a great price (relative of course, as the price fluctuates, it worked out at 3 per blu-ray for me).

Just to say; someone else stated that only three of the films had extras, all of the Blu-rays in my collection had the extras you'd normally expect (Directors commentary - more on that in a second, deleted scenes, alternate endings, interviews, trailers, etc, etc).

All 4 films are great, and (I would imagine) have wide appeal. Sunshine is the highlight for me, I gain something every time I watch it, and the commentary gave me a different perspective of the film; one where science and faith collide. Still, this remains very much a pure science-fiction film; except perhaps the final few minutes which I won't spoil. Boyle's explanation of the final scene(s), and the character, and why he is presented to the viewer in the way in which he is, certainly made the ending much more acceptable to me than when I first saw the film and, perhaps more importantly, it continues with the sci-fi theme rather than the deus ex machina/genre change it first appears to be. This is certainly a movie with grows with repeated viewings (and with great commentary tracks from both Boyle and also Professor Brian Cox (!), there are certainly enough reasons for repeat viewings!).

For reasons of brevity I won't mention to much about 127 hours/Slumdog. They are both fantastic films, and look absolutely amazing on Blu-ray. Boyle's recent films tend to be beautifully shot (with colour used thematically; on one director's commentary he explains how he starves the viewer of one colour so when it appears on screen it dazzles, to great effect when you're aware) and these films (127/Slumdog/Sunshine) certainly make you appreciate both the HD format, and the skill of those involved in shooting the films.

Much has been said about the 28 Days Later Blu-ray (here and elsewhere). As others have said, unfortunately the film was shot on a DV camcorder, and on blu-ray it looks like (poorly) up-scaled video. The haziness (which is the best word I can think to describe it) is jarring when you first see it. A real shame, as the movie is of such high quality.

Bluray.com gave the film a 4.5/5 star score for video quality. Which, it has to be said, is an absolute joke. I get the point they are trying to make, that this movie can't look any better, because the source material can't be enhanced like standard film could be. This isn't a transfer issue (but it still remains AN ISSUE for the end viewer).

The result (a pretty muddy, messy, murky picture - no way deserving of 4 1/2 stars!) is still the same, and people are going to gauge the picture in front of them on their expectations and experience of other HD movies. To put it politely; you should have low expectations for the video quality of this film. The film itself is fantastic of course (I love zombie movies, so may be bias). The scenes of an empty London are still spooky and amazing to look at, even though the idea has been copied so often it has lost some of the originality it first had on release. You can't do anything but forgive the picture, it's likely as good as it will ever be, sadly.

I have to mention Danny Boyle. I think perhaps only Tarantino comes close in his enthusiasm for movie making (yes, that's right; I said Tarantino comes close to Boyle, not the other way around!!).

The commentary tracks across all these films are fantastic, he shows genuine respect and warmth towards people he's worked with and a humility you rarely see in "showbiz" (even mentioning during one scene, perhaps half-joking, that he frequently jogs in one park location if you'd like to go and meet him!).

Danny does sometimes focus on the technical aspects of movie making, but it is rare (some directors talk endlessly about the technical details, which may be interesting to budding directors, but can turn off the mainstream audience). The majority of the commentary is filled with amazing back stories, how and why changes were made, stories about cast members and why parts of the film are important. He also frequently gives away some of his ideas behind scenes (often stating it replaced another scene - usually included on the blu-ray, with further commentary available on the extras! Phew!). For example, you'll get a whole 2 or 3 minute dialogue of why the change of scene was important, what effect it had on the characters, how it changed the film, etc. He talks endlessly, yet never gets boring! His enthusiasm is infectious.

If you just like movies, this is a great buy, but if you're a big fan of "all the other stuff included on Blu-ray" (as well) then you'll be absolutely delighted with the extras on offer here. A bargain all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good box, but lacking some titles to be called a DB-collection, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Movies, each one of em. But as the the title says, the box lacks some crucial Danny Boyle movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four excellent films for a good price., 30 Jan 2012
By 
Paul Spencer (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this before Christmas for 19.99, at that price it was an absolute bargain. Even at 29.99 these are 4 excellent films and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Trainspotting?!!!, 22 Sep 2011
By 
Mrs. Nicole Mcintosh "Brodie Bruce is God" (Nairn, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If I am going to buy a Danny Boyle collection I would at least hope that Trainspotting and The Beach would be included, certainly one of them over the far inferior (but overhyped) Slumdog Millionaire!! It's all down to personal choice but Renton and co would be the main reason for buying this, along with 28 Days Later and 127 Hours, so no Trainspotting=no sale :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a gift to my son who, having watched most of the DVDs now says its excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Danny Boyle Collection [DVD]
Danny Boyle Collection [DVD] by Danny Boyle (DVD - 2011)
6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews