Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best
excellent compilation of his best material on chess records. available on chess but at far higher price. muddy in his prime at a great price. buy it.
Published 21 months ago by E. Beaumont

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, poor audio quality, better editions elsewhere
This collection comprises of three discs worth of Muddy Water's songs, many of which were released by Chess records during the 1950s. The selection is good, as is the price, but for me the sound quality is terrible. The pack comes with the label 'digitally remastered' as do so many other re-releases of old material - but what does this actually mean? Anyone can take a...
Published 8 months ago by Simon Patrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, poor audio quality, better editions elsewhere, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
This collection comprises of three discs worth of Muddy Water's songs, many of which were released by Chess records during the 1950s. The selection is good, as is the price, but for me the sound quality is terrible. The pack comes with the label 'digitally remastered' as do so many other re-releases of old material - but what does this actually mean? Anyone can take a tune, apply a bit of 3-band equalisation and claim they have 'remastered' a song. The majority of the material on this anthology is either horribly distorted or sounds as though it has been taken from a copy, 'remastered' and then re-encoded which seems to have resulted in a further reduction of quality - many of the tracks sound like lossy re-encoded MP3s.

I returned my copy and purchased '101 - Got My Mojo Working: The Best of Muddy Waters' and 'The Anthology' (2007) which offer an excellent selection and far better audio quality. You can also try these before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 17 Mar 2013
By 
E. Beaumont (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
excellent compilation of his best material on chess records. available on chess but at far higher price. muddy in his prime at a great price. buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap & Priceless, 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
This anthology provides 3½ hours music , or 75 titles with Muddy Waters and his band mostly from the beginning of the fifties. If you are familiar with the Blue Sky Recordings and like them, then you are in for a treat, this is the real thing.Muddy Waters at his best. Only thing missing is a complete discography, but dates and composer are mentioned, and the price is right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I bought it, 19 April 2014
By 
R. D. Barr "Bob Barr" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
A good selection of Muddy Waters, recommended for anyone coming to this artist for the first time. Sound was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anthology, 10 Feb 2014
By 
D. J. Wilden "denise7248" (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
Muddy Waters, the man, I had probably heard something by him years ago as I don't often listen to the radio these days, prefer CD's as I can't stand the inane chatter on the radio by the DJ's, So again, via Rory Gallagher who was a massive admirer of Muddy Waters I bought this Anthology. Brilliant, I love it and its expanding my musical knowledge and appreciation for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Foundation of the Rolling Stones, 22 Jan 2013
By 
R. Jenkinson "Ross" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
Great music and can see why the Rolling Stones and The Beetles got some of their earlier inspiration from. Reading Keith Richards book gave me the reason to buy this Anthology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sep 2014
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
Great CD - Good Service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthology
Anthology by Muddy Waters (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews